Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Managing the Deteriorating Child reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Children's High Dependency Nursing by Children may require high dependency care for a variety of reasons,and this care is delivered ideally in a designated high dependencyunit but sometimes on the general paediatric ward or even an adultward as a temporary measure. Children?s HighDependency Nursing is an invaluable resource for nursesdelivering high dependency care to children, providing them withthe knowledge required to deliver effective and high quality highdependency care Children?s High Dependency Nursing explores all thekey areas required for efficient nursing care, including what highdependency care is and how and where it should be delivered,clinical examination skills and the various clinical or bodysystems requiring support., caring for families when a child dies,and mental health and intellectual impairment. With practicalfeatures throughout such as learning outcomes, case studies andactivities, this is an indispensable guide for post-registrationchildren?s nurses who provide high dependency care, andchildren?s nurses starting their career in intensive care
Call Number: 618.920028 COC
Publication Date: 2009
Nursing the Highly Dependent Child or Infant by Nursing the Highly Dependent Child or Infant: A Manual of Care provides an accessible and clinical guide to the caring for the acutely ill child. It provides guidance on the specific nursing skills required to care for children and infants who require a 'step up' level of care from those on the general paediatric ward or a 'step down' level of care on discharge from neonatal or paediatric critical care facilities. Chapters follow a general systems approach, covering themes such as respiratory care, renal care and cardiac care as well as covering specialities such as neuro-trauma, burns and transportation of the acutely ill infant or child. Other areas explored include pain and sedation, monitoring and meeting the nutritional needs of the highly dependent child or infant. Each chapter provides an overview of the anatomy & physiology, guidance on assessment and monitoring, and outlines effective nursing care and management guidance. Case studies are provided throughout as well as information on common drug infusions, feeding guidelines and APLS/NALS algorithms.
Call Number: 618.920028 DIX + eBook
Publication Date: 2008
A Textbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing by This innovative textbook provides a concise and accessible guide for undergraduate students specializing in children and young people's nursing in the UK and further afield. Each chapter has been fully updated to reflect current knowledge and practice. The wide range of topics covered includes all the essentials, such as contemporary child health policy and legal issues; knowledge and skills for practice; and caring for children with special needs. Students will learn how to recognize the deteriorating child, use procedural play and distraction, and consider the mental health of children and young people. A Textbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing is written by multidisciplinary experts, rooted in child-centred healthcare within a family context, and draws upon best contemporary practice. It is an invaluable resource that will help nursing students provide effective, evidence-based care. Key points, summary boxes and clearly defined aims, objectives and learning outcomes to support learning Conversation boxes to enliven the text Patient scenarios to relate theory to practice New chapters on skin health and the use of therapeutic play Suggestions for seminar discussion topics to help teachers Resource lists and online resources for further study or research Online slides to complement chapters within book
Call Number: 618.92 GLA
Publication Date: 2021
Emergencies in Children's and Young People's Nursing by This book is a survival guide for all nurses who provide emergency care to children and young people. It helps those nurses who are at the front-line of care to quickly assess the level of emergency and plan the initial management. The consistent layout and the note-style format allows them tofind and take in information quickly, whilst on the ward. Written by nurses, for nurses, this quick-reference book contains the most important information nurses need to know when caring for children and young people.
Call Number: 618.9200231 GLA
Publication Date: 2011
Child-Centred Nursing: promoting critical thinking by Child-Centred Nursing presents a unique approach by bringing children to the fore of the discussion about their health and health care. It encourages you to think critically about children, their families and contemporary practice issues. It promotes reflection on how you can develop innovative practice so as to improve children's health outcomes and their experiences of health care. Clinical case studies and critical thinking exercises are included in each chapter, creating and sustaining a clear link between professional practice, research and theory. The book is essential reading for all pre-registration and post-graduate students studying children's and young people's health care.
Call Number: 618.92 CAR
Publication Date: 2014
Oxford Handbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing by Children's and young people's (CYP) nursing requires special skills and a unique perspective. The Oxford Handbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing gives concise, practical and expert advice on all aspects of the nurse's role. Helping you achieve the best possible results for yourpatients, the authors offer a wealth of recommendations, guidance and information from their years of experience. Whatever situation you are in, the Oxford Handbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing will give you the information you need.This second edition has been fully revised to include the most up to date legislation, policy and practice including significant changes in child safeguarding, immunisation, medicines, resuscitation protocols and the common assessment framework. It also includes the updated NICE guidelines onvarious aspects of child health care including the management of children with asthma and fever. The chapter on neonatal care has been expanded and enhanced to include care and breastfeeding of the pre-term infant, as well as developmental care and kangaroo care. Additional and updated topicsinclude working with diverse communities, cochlea implants, intussusception, and a revised chapter focusing on professional issues - including new topics such as research and involving young people in health services. Designed to allow any nurse to deliver safe and effective care, basic principles and emergency protocols enable action to be taken in any setting and without expert assistance. The contents are arranged to mirror the key concepts of CYP nursing. Core content includes assessment; management; andadvice to the family; with sections on recognition of deviations from the norm; the interpretation of clinical findings and investigations; and measures to promote successful care practice. Key topics include normal growth and development, religion, culture and spirituality, professional issues,pain, palliative care and a separate section on paediatric emergencies. So you can find the information you need without delay, the book is clearly laid out and concisely written in an easily readable note-based style. All this is available at your fingertips, in a pocket-sized handbook withhard-wearing plastic covers.Written by practising nurses and subject experts, the Oxford Handbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing 2e continues to be a unique and invaluable companion to practising and student nurses, and to all who need to understand the special issues associated with children's and young people'snursing.
Call Number: 618.92 GLA + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology by Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology introduces nursing and healthcare students to the pathophysiology of the child, and offers an applied full-colour visual approach throughout. Explaining the anatomy of the human body, and the effects of disease or illness on normal physiology, it enables the reader to develop the understanding, knowledge, and skills required to know how to respond and provide safe and effective high-quality care to children and their families. Key features: Written by an experienced author team Filled with superb full-colour illustrations Packed with learning features, including key words, test-your-knowledge, exercises, further reading, and learning outcomes Includes case studies to help readers understand how to apply the knowledge in clinical practice Contains links to clinical observations, vital signs to look out for, investigations boxes, red flags to indicate essential information to be aware of when providing care, and medication alerts Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology is an ideal book for pre-registration nursing students, including child and adult nurses, as well as for all healthcare professionals who come into contact with children and their families.
Call Number: 618.92007 GOR + eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Law and Ethics in Children's Nursing by Law and Ethics in Children's Nursing is an important andpractical guide on the legal and ethical spects of child healthcarethat enables nurses to understand the legal and ethicalprinciples that underpin everyday nursing practice. It explores theconcept of childhood and children's rights, the extent to whichtheir rights are upheld in a variety of settings, and therelationship between law and ethics and how they interact inresolving problems and dilemmas that commonly arise in practice. With case studies, learning outcomes and scenarios throughout,Law and Ethics in Children's Nursing places the care andtreatment of children in a legal and ethical framework, andexplores the way in which legal and ethical aspects of children'snursing differ from those of adults. It explores general principlessuch as autonomy and consent, confidentiality, accountabilityand negligence. It then goes on to look at specialist areas such asabortion, sterilisation, research, mental health, organ donation,child protection and death.
Call Number: 174.29892 HEN + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Fundamentals of Children's Anatomy and Physiology by When caring for the well or ill child, recognising andresponding to their anatomical and physiological differences isessential. Fundamentals of Children?s Anatomy andPhysiology provides child nursing students and registerednurses with a succinct but complete overview of the structure andfunction of the child?s body, plus clinical applicationsthroughout to demonstrate how the concepts relate to real-lifenursing. Each chapter lists learning outcomes and includes clinical considerations, body maps, a range ofhigh-quality illustrations and test-your-knowledge questions. The book is also accompanied by a companion website with furtherself-assessment and quizzes.
Call Number: 612 PEA + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Essentials of Nursing Children and Young People by This innovative and student-friendly textbook provides up-to-date information on the core content of child nursing courses and helps students understand how it applies to practice. Covering all settings throughout, including the acute and community ones, it focuses on the importance of child and family centred care, by having them directly involved through the use of voices and case studies. This book provides a comprehensive framework for student knowledge development by including: Activities and theory stop-points to encourage students to develop their critical thinking skills. Pointers to further reading resources, including journal articles and videos for students to explore and build knowledge more independently. A range of online resources including extra scenarios for lecturers to use in their teaching and MCQs for students to revise. Essential reading for undergraduate nursing students specialising or wanting to specialise in children and young people nursing.
Call Number: 618.92 PRI
Publication Date: 2018
Children and Young People's Nursing at a Glance by Children and Young People?s Nursing at a Glance, isthe perfect companion for study and revision for pre-registrationchildren?s nursing students from the publishers of themarket-leading at a Glance series. Divided into sevensections it explores assessment and screening, working withfamilies, the newborn infant, the developing child, child healthpolicy, nursing the sick child and young person and chronic andlife-limiting conditions. This comprehensive book is an invaluable resource forpre-registration nursing students as well as newly qualified nurseswanting to consolidate and expand their knowledge of children andyoung people?s nursing. Breaks down complex aspects of child health care in anaccessible and un-intimidating way The perfect revision and consolidation textbook Linked closely with the NMC standards for pre-registrationnursing education, and the essential skills clusters framework Highly visual colour presentation, with approximately 130illustrations Includes boxes, summary boxes, key points and recommendationsfor practice to improve the learning experience Supported by a companion website featuring over 500 interactivemultiple choice questions(www.ataglanceseries.com/nursing/children) Available in a range of digital formats - perfect for 'on thego' study and revision
Call Number: 618.9200231 GLA + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Managing Pain in Children by Providing an evidence-based, practical guide to care in all areas of children's pain management, Managing Pain in Children offers nurses and other healthcare professionals an introduction to the skills and expertise to manage children's pain effectively. This fully-updated second edition first explores the relevant anatomy and physiology of children, the latest policy guidelines surrounding pain management and ethical issues involved in managing children's pain. Various pain assessment tools available for children and non-drug methods of pain relief are then explored and applied to practice in relation to acute pain, chronic pain, palliative care and the management of procedural pain. The evidence base, assessment techniques, pain-relieving interventions, and guidance for best practice in both hospital and community settings are covered throughout, making this title an ideal resource for all nurses and healthcare professionals working with children.
Call Number: 618.920472 TWY + eBook
Publication Date: 2013