Succeeding with Your Master's Dissertation by
Are you looking to find your voice, hone your writing tactics, and cultivate communication skills with impact? Using real-world cases, student vignettes, and reflective questions, Lynn leads you through the A to Zen of the writing process, building your confidence as well as developing your skills. Find out how to: Understand yourself, your audience, and your project, so you better understand your role in communicating research Choose a question and plan an appropriate design Build a foundation of ethics and background research into your writing practice Find your own writing (life)style Work with your supervisor, so you can get the best from the relationship Navigate structure, arguments, and theory, for deeper critical engagement Contextualize your research and maximize its impact. Going beyond the standard 'how to survive' advice, this inspiring writing guide empowers you to develop the voice, tone, and critical engagement required for you to thrive at Master's level SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Doing Your Master's Dissertation: From Start to Finish by
Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy here′From finding a research topic through to the final write up, this clear guide takes the mystery out of graduate-level research. This book will help your project succeed′ -James V. Spickard, Professor of Sociology, University of Redlands, US Just starting your Master′s? Worried about your dissertation? This book is an indispensible guide to writing a successful Master′s dissertation. The book begins by addressing issues you′ll face in the early stages of writing a dissertation, such as deciding on what to research, planning your project and searching for literature online. It then guides you through different aspects of carrying out your research and writing up, helping you to: write a research proposal choose one or more methods write the introduction and conclusion discuss the literature analyse your findings edit and reference formulate research questions build your argument. The book offers guidance that other books often miss, from dealing with emotional blocks, to ways of identifying your strengths and weaknesses, and improving your writing. It addresses the social aspects of the writing process, such as choosing and working with an advisor, using social media and forming student work groups for added help and inspiration. Each chapter ends with an action plan, which is a resource section that features exercises and reflection questions designed to help you apply what you′ve read to your own work. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
Research Methods in Psychology by
Research Methods in Psychology has been substantially revised in its fourth edition. Continuing to offer enviable coverage of the research methods that psychology students at intermediate levels need to cover in their course, the textbook has now been broadened to cover the full suite of beginner level research methods too. The result is extensive coverage of psychological methods, both quantitative and qualitative, and a textbook that will serve students perfectly from day one in their course at university. Research Methods in Psychology in its fourth edition includes: * Extended statistical coverage, including new chapters on Descriptive Statistics, Inferential Statistics, ANOVA, Regression and Correlation, and Latent Variable Models * Further New Chapters on Content Analysis and Writing up your Research * New introductory sections placing each method in context and showing students how they relate to the bigger ′real world′ picture. * Intuitive structure and visual layout makes the book easy to navigate so you can quickly find the content you need. This textbook is ideal for beginner and intermediate level psychological research methods students worldwide. Visit the Research Methods in Psychology companion website www.sagepub.co.uk/breakwell4e to take advantage of additional resources for students and lecturers.
Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology by
The seventh edition of Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology provides students with the most readable and comprehensive survey of research methods, statistical concepts and procedures in psychology today. Assuming no prior knowledge, this bestselling text takes you through every stage of your research project giving advice on planning and conducting studies, analysing data and writing up reports. The book provides clear coverage of experimental, interviewing and observational methods, psychological testing, qualitative methods and analysis and statistical procedures which include nominal level tests, multi-factorial ANOVA designs, multiple regression, log linear analysis, and factor analysis.　It features detailed and illustrated SPSS instructions for all these and other procedures, eliminating the need for an extra SPSS textbook. New features to this edition include: Additional coverage of factor analysis and online and modern research methods Expanded coverage of report writing guidelines References updated throughout Presentation updated throughout, to include more figures, tables and full colour to help break up the text Companion website signposted throughout the book to improve student usability Improved and extended web links and further reading associated with every chapter. Each chapter contains a glossary, key terms and newly integrated exercises, ensuring that key concepts are understood. A fully updated companion website (www.routledge.com/cw/coolican) provides additional exercises, testbanks for each chapter, revision flash cards, links to further reading and data for use with SPSS.
Qualitative Methods in Psychology: a Research Guide by
"This book provides an introduction to four widely used qualitative research methods, followed by a detailed discussion of a pluralistic approach to qualitative research¿makes exceellent use of questions both in order to help the reader gain clarity as well as to encourage reflexivity" The Psychologist, May 2012
Ethnography : principles in practice by
Now in its fourth edition, this leading introduction to ethnography has been thoroughly updated and substantially rewritten. The volume offers a systematic introduction to ethnographic principles and practice, and includes a new chapter on 'Ethnography in the digital world'. The authors argue that ethnography is best understood as a reflexive process. This requires recognition that social research is part of the world that it studies, and demands that researchers reflect on how they shape both data and analysis. Starting in Chapter 1 with an outline of the principle of reflexivity, against the background of competing research philosophies, the authors go on to discuss the main features of ethnographic work, including: the selection and sampling of cases the problem of access field relations and observation interviewing the use of documents recording and organizing data the process of data analysis and writing research reports. There is also consideration of the ethical issues involved in ethnographic research. Throughout, the discussion draws on a wide range of illustrative material from classic and more recent studies, within a global context. The new edition of this popular textbook will be an indispensable resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students, and for all researchers using ethnographic methods in the social sciences and the humanities. mp;lt;LI>recording and organizing data the process of data analysis and writing research reports. There is also consideration of the ethical issues involved in ethnographic research. Throughout, the discussion draws on a wide range of illustrative material from classic and more recent studies, within a global context. The new edition of this popular textbook will be an indispensable resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students, and for all researchers using ethnographic methods in the social sciences and the humanities.
Unobtrusive Methods in Social Research by
"a book all self-respecting social researchers should read" SRA News * What are unobtrusive methods in social research? * How are they undertaken and what are their advantages? * What are the problems associated with their use? Webb et al's 1966 classic, Unobtrusive Methods introduced the concept of unobtrusive research. Since then very little else has been written in the field. This book revisits the ground covered by Webb et al, re-contextualizing it for the information age and putting the case for an increased use of unobtrusive methods. Unobtrusive Methods in Social Research provides an updated discussion of the role of unobtrusive methods in social research. It explores the theoretical underpinnings of Webb et al's approach in order to understand more explicitly how unobtrusive methods are generated and examines some of the wider ethical issues raised by the use of unobtrusive methods in social research. In addition, it offers a discussion of using the Internet as a tool for unobtrusive research. Unobtrusive Methods in Social Research is a worthy successor to Webb et al. It is up to date, comprehensive and clearly written. It will help undergraduates to understand what has become a standard topic on research methods courses and it is hoped that it will encourage postgraduate students and professionals to make more use of unobtrusive methods in their research.
Researching Life Stories and Family Histories by
'A comprehensive, balanced and judicious treatment of biographical methods in social research, made all the more useful to students by its careful delineation of the practicalities involved' - Raymond M Lee, Royal Holloway, University of London Specifically designed for those carrying out biographical, life history or family history research, this concise guide covers the methods and issues involved. The author demonstrates that biographical research is a distinctive way of conceptualizing social activity. The three main approaches to biographical and family history research are covered: - Realist - focused around grounded-theory techniques of interviewing; - Neo-positivist - more structured interview techniques; - Narrative - with emphasis on the active construction of life stories through the interplay between interviewer and interviewee. An invaluable introduction to the field, which contains much that will be of interest to the experienced practitioner, the book will be ideal for researchers in sociology, psychology, political science, social policy or anthropology.
Real World Research by
Real World Research provides a clear route-map of the various steps needed to carry out a piece of applied research to a high professional standard. It is accessible to those without a social science background while providing rigorous and fully up-to-date coverage of contemporary issues and debates. It brings together materials and approaches from different social science disciplines, seeing value in both quantitative and qualitative approaches, as well as their combination in mixed-method designs.
Researching Society and Culture by
Written by internationally renowned experts, each chapter provides a full introduction to a key aspect of research methodology. From starting out to generating, analyzing, and presenting data, this new Fourth Edition covers foundational concepts in social research, while also keeping readers on the pulse of topics like digital social research, social surveys, and big data. Packed with international examples from across the social sciences, this text shows how to interpret and work with data generated from real-world research. Readers will learn to: Design the right research question for a project Access, understand, and use existing data Effectively write-up projects and assignments Be confident in the A to Z of the research process Supported by an interactive website with videos, data-sets, templates, and additional exercises, this book is the perfect hand-holder for any social science student starting a methods course or project.
