BACP (2018). Ethical framework for the counselling professions. Lutterworth: BACP.
BABCP (2017). Standard of conduct, performance and ethics. Bury: BABCP.
Reflective Practice in Counselling and Psychotherapy by
A good understanding of reflective practice is essential for good practice in counselling and psychotherapy, and is a criterion for accreditation with the British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy. This book takes students on a step-by-step journey through the history of reflective practice, from its origins with Donald Schon through to ideas of knowledge and power and how the counsellor or psychotherapist deals with issues surrounding the ′self′. A central theme of the book is the concept of self-reflection and what motivates a therapist to do an often difficult and sometimes emotionally complex job.
Personal Development in Counselling and Psychotherapy by
There is an increased emphasis on self awareness and self care in counselling and psychotherapy training, with a focus on how the therapist as a person affects the therapeutic outcome. This timely book responds to these complex issues and is designed to help counselling students, trainees and graduates with integrating their personal development into their professional planning. There are chapters on bringing the Self into therapy, choosing the right training and how to succeed as an accredited practitioner. Activities and research summaries throughout give this book a fully-integrated approach ideal for busy students.
The Reflective Practice Guide by
The Reflective Practice Guide supports all students for whom the process of reflecting on developing knowledge and skills is crucial to successful professional practice.　It offers an accessible introduction to a wide range of theories and models that can help you engage more effectively in critical reflection.　Illustrated throughout with examples and case studies drawn from a range of interdisciplinary professional contexts, The Reflective Practice Guide offers models of practice that can be applied in a variety of settings. Reflective questions in each chapter help you apply ideas to your own professional context. Drawing on literature from a range of disciplines, key aspects of reflection explored include: Becoming more self-aware The role of writing in reflection Learning from experience Learning from positives and negatives Emotions and processing feelings Bringing assumptions to the surface Learning from feedback Reflecting in groups Managing change. The Reflective Practice Guide is an essential source of support, guidance and inspiration for all students on education, nursing, social work and counselling courses, who want to think about practice at a deeper level, question approaches, challenge assumptions and gain greater self-awareness.
Standards and ethics for counselling in action by
Get 24 months FREE access to an interactive eBook* when you buy the paperback! (Print paperback version only, ISBN9781473913974) To find out more visit: https://study.sagepub.com/counsellingethics
Textbook with free access to counselling videos and other digital resources! The fourth edition of this classic text includes FREE access to an interactive eBook edition, which gives you on-the-go access to a wealth of digital resources supporting the print edition. It includes:
· 16 counselling scenario videos
· 16 author discussion videos
· an interactive glossary
· journal articles
· interactive multiple choice questions
· live links to useful websites, including ethical codes and frameworks relevant to the UK and internationally.
The 16 counselling scenario videos illustrate key ethical topics, issues and dilemmas arising in counselling practice, including: contracting, confidentiality, working with a client with suicidal intent, counselling in a digital age, counsellor self-care - and much more. In the 16 author discussion videos, leading expert Tim Bond gives his reflections on each counselling scenario, to support you in your ethical practice.
Other updates to the new edition include three new chapters on Working with Social Diversity, Counselling in a Digital Age and Being Accountable: Evidence-based Practice and Monitoring and new content on reflective practice to encourage ethical mindfulness.
This is the ultimate guide to standards and ethics in the psychological therapies and a must read for all trainees and practitioners.
Tim Bond is an Emeritus Professor of the University of Bristol and Visiting Professor to the University of Malta.
We are putting the finishing touches on all of the carefully crafted tools and resources that will soon be available to you on the interactive ebook. Please check back soon to see what the interactive ebook has to offer!
*interactivity only available through Vitalsource eBook
The trainee handbook : a guide for counselling and psychotherapy trainees by
Written by a team of leading trainers, practitioners and supervisors, this bestselling classic is the trainee therapist's best friend. It identifies and guides trainees through the practical skills and knowledge they′ll need to make a success of their training - from writing essays through to case formulation and on to preparing for their first meeting with a client. Along the way, it addresses and allays the concerns which are common to all students. Now in its fourth edition, the book has been fully updated to take account of the significant changes in the therapy professions in recent years. It now includes new and important chapters on: Evidence-based practice Working with diversity Reflective practice Using social media, technology and online therapy The Trainee Handbook is an invaluable companion, and source of information and guidance for all trainees in counselling, psychotherapy and counselling psychology, and newly-qualified therapists entering into practice.
Identity and the Life Cycle by
This book collects three early papers that--along with Childhood and Society--many consider the best introduction to Erikson's theories. "Ego Development and Historical Change" is a selection of extensive notes in which Erikson first undertook to relate to each other observations on groups studied on field trips and on children studied longitudinally and clinically. These notes are representative of the source material used for Childhood and Society. "Growth and Crises of the Health Personality" takes Erikson beyond adolescence, into the critical stages of the whole life cycle. In the third and last essay, Erikson deals with "The Problem of Ego Identity" successively from biographical, clinical, and social points of view--all dimensions later pursued separately in his work.
The SAGE Handbook of Counselling and Psychotherapy by
At over 600 pages and with more than 100 contributions, this Fourth Edition brings together the essentials of counselling and psychotherapy theory, research, skills and practice. Including new content on assessment, theory, applications and settings, and with new chapter overviews and summaries, this continues to be the most comprehensive and accessible guide to the field for trainees or experienced practitioners.
Supervision in the Helping Professions by
"Supervision in the Helping Professions remains a core text in our trainings and we welcome the updates, including the increased focus on ethics and diversity, the discussion of e-enabled modes of supervision and the review of research. What is so encouraging to students, trainers and practitioners is the 'beginner's mind' with which the authors continue to approach the subject, their tireless enthusiasm for enquiry, and their commitment to the learning edge. The launch of this edition coincides with the launch of the first UKCP Professional Register for Supervisors. The authors have done much to promote the development of supervision, and all future professional trainings in supervision will rely on their wisdom and experience. Key words for this edition are sustainability, resourcing and deeper levels of self reflection - mirroring the movement of our profession which increasingly turns outwards, asking how we can effect societal as well as individual change." Tree Staunton, Director of Studies, Bath Centre for Psychotherapy and Counselling, and Chair of the Humanistic and Integrative College of UKCP "This book remains a seminal text in supervision. In the fourth edition the authors bring a contemporary perspective to bear on supervision with an emphasis on the wider contextual and cultural contexts of our work as supervisors. I appreciate above all the 'fearless compassion' with which the authors have addressed the challenges that face us as supervisors in a global culture, and at the same time their ongoing stress on integrating the 'emotional and the rational, the personal and the organizational' in a very accessible model of supervision." Professor Maria Gilbert, Metanoia Institute, West London This bestselling book provides a comprehensive guide to supervision for professionals across the social care and helping professions, as well as those working in education, coaching and human resources. Thoroughly updated, the book has a new introduction showing how the world context in which helping professions operate has fundamentally changed in the last 25 years and the implications of this for supervision. The seven-eyed supervision model at the core of the book has been expanded and developed to reflect its use in many professions and different parts of the world. The authors also incorporate viewpoints from other academics and practitioners who have commented on the model. New to this edition: A new chapter on ethics and handling difficult situations in supervision A new chapter and new models of reflective practice New material on training supervisors, including the important area of supervision of supervision Revised chapters on group and team supervision, with new material on supervising team development and team coaching More case studies of supervision in a wide range of different professions Further practical advice for supervisees on how to recognize, contribute to and ask for good supervision With contributions from Judy Ryde and Joan Wilmot.
The Handbook of Transcultural Counselling and Psychotherapy by
"With its diversity throughout including almost 40 authors from different therapeutic modalities, continents and professional fields the book indeed is both an 'invitation and challenge' and a means 'to aid transcultural therapists in conducting their work in a sensitive and informed manner'. It brings to mind a colourful and well stocked market comprising two parts. The first provides nourishing food for practitioners such as contributions to theory, use of interpreters, training, supervision, research and case studies. The second offers an outstanding exploration of the impact of different cultural backgrounds orchestrated by the editor, whose compilation from a UK perspective might be a useful example for other cultural and language areas. The involved reader will be delighted to have this inspiring handbook to hand." Gerhard Stumm, Ph.D., psychotherapy trainer, Vienna "Therapists pride themselves on cherishing the uniqueness of every client. This book offers a powerful challenge for it plainly demonstrates that a commitment to honouring uniqueness cannot be divorced from a sensitivity to the cultural, racial, spiritual and ethnic differences that clients present in an increasingly multicultural society. Here is an impressive compendium that illuminates the many clinical, training, relational and supervisory issues involved together with the widest range of contributions from diverse cultures that I have ever encountered in one volume. Colin Lago is to be congratulated on editing an invaluable resource which is both stimulating and disturbing in its implications." Brian Thorne, Emeritus Professor of Counselling, University of East Anglia and Co-founder of The Norwich Centre This fascinating book examines recent critical thinking and contemporary research findings in the field of transcultural counselling and psychotherapy. It also explores the effects of different cultural heritages upon potential clients and therapists. The first part of the book reflects the curriculum, context and content of counselling and psychotherapy training courses, with regards to sensitivity to diversity. It covers key issues such as: Implications of identity development for therapeutic work Ethnic matching of clients and therapists Working with interpreters and bi-cultural workers Overcoming racism, discrimination and oppression within the counselling process An overview of current research within this field In the second part, the authors give personal accounts that explore the impact of cultural heritage on people who have moved from their countries of origin to 'Western' countries,, such as the UK or the USA. The Handbook of Transcultural Counselling and Psychotherapy will be of immense value to a wide range of readers, including counselling and therapy practitioners, supervisors, trainees, agency managers and colleagues in other therapy-related services. Contributors: Aileen Alleyne, Alison Barty, Anita Chakraborty, Divine Charura, Riccardo Draghi-Lorenz, Patricia Eschoe, Farkhondeh Farsimadan, Tiane Corso Graziottin, Delroy Hall, Fiona Hall, Addila Khan, Indu Khurana, Colin Lago, Courtland C. Lee, Yair Maman, Susan McGinnis, Isha Mckenzie-Mavinga, Roy Moodley, Renate Motschnig, Sheila Mudadi-Billings, GoEun Na, Seamus Nash, Bernie Neville, Yuko Nippoda, Ladislav Nykl, Simon du Plock, Judy Ryde, Antony Sigalas, Harbrinder Dhillon Stevens, Patsy Sutherland, Rachel Tribe, Andrea Uphoff, Valerie Watson, Tony Wright, Jin Wu and Neelam Zahid.
Anti-Discriminatory Practice in Counselling & Psychotherapy by
Anti-discriminatory 'Practice in Counselling and Psychotherapy' is a ground-breaking text which identifies the ease with which individuals can be disadvantaged merely on the basis of their gender, race, culture, age, sexuality or ability."Anti-Discriminatory Practice in Counselling and Psychotherapy is a ground-breaking text which identifies the ease with which individuals can be disadvantaged merely on the basis of their gender, race, culture, age, sexuality or ability. Examining these and other areas of discrimination, leading experts highlight how vital it is for counsellors, psychotherapists and others in the helping professions, to be aware of and engage with their own social, political and cultural attitudes, and how they must develop their skills as culturally sensitive, reflective practitioners if counselling is to be truly accessible to all members of society. is a ground-breaking text which identifies the ease with which individuals can be disadvantaged merely on the basis of their gender, race, culture, age, sexuality or ability. Examining these and other areas of discrimination, leading experts highlight how vital it is for counsellors, psychotherapists and others in the helping professions, to be aware of and engage with their own social, political and cultural attitudes, and how they must develop their skills as culturally sensitive, reflective practitioners if counselling is to be truly accessible to all members of society. This substantially revised and updated Second Edition also includes chapters on working within an anti-discriminatory approach with: refugees; people with mental health difficulties; people with disfigurement or visible differences. Each thought-provoking chapter: links theory to practice by providing case studies and extracts from therapeutic dialogues; assesses the most recent research findings provides exercises for enhancing awareness and skills within each different domain or care setting; presents references for further recommended reading. Clearly written and accessible, Anti-Discriminatory Practice in Counselling and Psychotherapy is an indispensable addition to the toolkit of everyone either training to be or practicing in the counselling and psychotherapeutic professions.
Self Awareness and Personal Development by
Personal development is integral to much counselling and psychotherapy training. Self-awareness and critical reflection are also vital for developing effective therapeutic relationships. This uniquely focused sourcebook offers a fascinating range of approaches to the challenging and sometimes elusive task of self-development and self understanding. This textbook begins by introducing four core ways of seeing the 'self': as multiple, contextual, open to change, and always in relation to the 'other', and finishes by bringing together a range of specialist practitioners to explore different pathways to self understanding. Self Awareness and Personal Development provides hands-on resources for the ongoing project of exploring the self. It is an invaluable text for students, trainees and practitioners in counselling and psychotherapy.
Interacting Selves by
The counselling and psychotherapy professions have experienced a rapid growth and expansion throughout Europe, and internationally. State regulation of these professional practices has required personal development hours for those in training, continuing professional development for all qualified practitioners as well as supervision of their practice. Interacting Selves provides concepts and principles of personal and professional development (PPD) in training and supervision as part of an approach to lifelong learning for all those involved in psychotherapeutic work. Leading European trainers and practitioners draw on their shared background in systemic therapy to articulate a strong theoretical base for PPD. The volume functions not simply as a coherent description of the philosophy and rationale underlying PPD but also as a practice workbook whose chapters contain an array of elegantly crafted exercises, portable across the broad range of disciplines that give life to the social care and mental health fields at the same time as meeting the PPD needs of counsellors and psychotherapists of different theoretical persuasions. The approaches work through constant attention to PPD as an interpersonal process where¿thoughts, ideas and emotions need to be nurtured. PPD can involve working at the extremes, and the book provides a secure basis for confronting abuse and violence head on. Each chapter shows how personal and professional development promotes a focus on emotional competence, positive emotion, resilience and ethical practice.¿ Interacting Selves introduces and develops the concepts and principles of personal and professional development (PPD) in training and supervision as part of an approach to lifelong learning for all psychotherapists undergoing or providing PPD. This pioneering book will appeal to psychotherapy trainees, trainers, practitioners and supervisors in the mental health field and social care professionals.
Reflective Writing in Counselling and Psychotherapy by
In this book Jeannie Wright takes readers on a journey from how to start writing, through the various approaches, on to how to deal with obstacles, and how to maintain reflective enquiry as a professional habit. Reflective writing exercises, case studies and ideas for self-directed learning will help readers practice and apply their skills. This second edition includes more content on: the new Ethical Framework technological developments impacting counselling diversity and difference in the therapeutic relationship This book is an essential how-to guide for trainees and practitioners that provides them with all the tools they need to develop writing for reflective practice.
The Learning Relationship by
This book offers a psychoanalytic perspective on learning and teaching and on many of the issues which preoccupy those who work in educational institutions. It looks at the origins of learning in childrens early relationships and at factors which help and hinder the educational process in later childhood and adolescence. Amongst the topics addressed in the book are the significance of play and playfulness, the impact of change, separation, times of transition, bereavement, bullying and racism. The author has aimed to set well-established psychoanalytic ideas about learning within the context of current educational practice and to look at the teachers experience alongside that of the students.This volume is a collection of papers, each of which is a version of a lecture previously given as part of the Tavistock course, "Emotional Factors in Learning and Teaching; counselling aspects in education". The course, which is for teachers and others working in educational settings, has been running for more than thirty years. It began as a collaboration between Martha Harris, then Head of the Child Psychotherapy training at the Tavistock Clinic and her husband, Roland Harris, an educationalist and writer. This partnership between clinical thinking and expertise in educational theory and practice continues to the present day, with child psychotherapists and educationists working closely together. The ideas underpinning the course were first elaborated by Isca Saltzberger Wittenberg, Gianna Henry and Elsie Osborne in 1983 in The Emotional Experience of Learning and Teaching, a book which remains a valued, core text. This new volume represents an attempt to revisit some of the same themes and to set the applied psychoanalytic thinking in the current educational context.
The Emotional Experience of Learning and Teaching by
This book aims to heighten the awareness of the emotional factors which enter into the process of learning and teaching. It is based on the work done by the authors with a group of teachers who attended the Tavistock Clinic for a course called Aspects of Counselling in education.
Therapy Today - published by the BACP. A good and very readable resource.