Cognitive Therapy of Depression by
This bestselling, classic work offers a definitive presentation of the theory and practice of cognitive therapy for depression. Aaron T. Beck and his associates set forth their seminal argument that depression arises from a "cognitive triad" of errors and from the idiosyncratic way that one infers, recollects, and generalizes. From the initial interview to termination, many helpful case examples demonstrate how cognitive-behavioral interventions can loosen the grip of "depressogenic" thoughts and assumptions. Guidance is provided for working with individuals and groups to address the full range of problems that patients face, including suicidal ideation and possible relapse.
Cognitive Behavior Therapy by
This book has been replaced by Cognitive Behavior Therapy, Third Edition, ISBN 978-1-4625-4419-6.
Experiencing CBT from the Inside Out by
Engaging and authoritative, this unique workbook enables therapists and students to build technical savvy in contemporary CBT interventions while deepening their self-awareness and therapeutic relationship skills. Self-practice/self-reflection (SP/SR), an evidence-based training strategy, is presented in 12 carefully sequenced modules. Therapists are guided to enhance their skills by identifying, formulating, and addressing a professional or personal problem using CBT, and reflecting on the experience. The book's large-size format makes it easy to use the 34 reproducible worksheets and forms. Purchasers also get access to a Web page where they can download and print the reproducible materials.
Cognitive Behaviour Therapy Case Studies by
This book uniquely combines CBT with the Department of Health stepped care model to provide the first comprehensive case study-approach textbook. A step-by-step guide to using CBT, the book is structured around case examples of clients who present with the most commonly encountered conditions; from mild depression and GAD to more complex, enduring symptoms and diagnosis like OCD, personality disorder and social phobia. The distinctive practical format is ideal in showing how to put the principles of CBT and stepped care into effect. As well as echoing postgraduate level training, it provides an insight into the experiences the trainee will encounter in real-world practice. Each chapter addresses a specific client condition and covers initial referral, presentation and assessment, case formulation, treatment interventions, evaluation of CBT strategies and discharge planning. The book also includes learning exercises and clinical hints, as well as extensive reference to further CBT research, resources and reading. It will be invaluable for trainees on Improving Access to Psychological Therapies (IAPT) programs, and anyone studying graduate CBT courses.
Cognitive Therapy of Anxiety Disorders by
Cognitive therapies are based on the idea that behavior and emotions result largely from an individual's appraisal of a situation, and are therefore influenced by that individual's beliefs, assumptions and images. This book is a comprehensive guide to cognitive therapy of anxiety disorders.
An Introduction to Cognitive Behaviour Therapy by
This bestselling guide to the basic theory, skills and applications of cognitive behaviour therapy is fully updated to reflect recent developments in CBT theory. It includes in-depth material on working with diversity, and new case studies and exercises to help you reflect and explore how theory can be used to develop effective practice.The Companion Website features over 40 videos illustrating the CBT skills and strategies discussed in the book, including: Measuring CBT's effectiveness Socratic method and applications Physical techniques and behavioural experiments Applications of CBT to specific client disorders Using supervision in CBT.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Oxford Guide to Behavioural Experiments in Cognitive Therapy by
Behavioural experiments are one of the central and most powerful methods of intervention in cognitive therapy. Yet until now, there has been no volume specifically dedicated to guiding physicians who wish to design and implement behavioural experiments across a wide range of clinical problems.The Oxford Guide to Behavioural Experiments in Cognitive Therapy fills this gap. It is written by clinicians for clinicians. It is a practical, easy to read handbook, which is relevant for practising clinicians at every level, from trainees to cognitive therapy supervisors.Following a foreword by David Clark, the first two chapters provide a theoretical and practical background for the understanding and development of behavioural experiments. Thereafter, the remaining chapters of the book focus on particular problem areas. These include problems which have been thetraditional focus of cognitive therapy (e.g. depression, anxiety disorders), as well as those which have only more recently become a subject of study (bipolar disorder, psychotic symptoms), and some which are still in their relative infancy (physical health problems, brain injury). The book alsoincludes several chapters on transdiagnostic problems, such as avoidance of affect, low self-esteem, interpersonal issues, and self-injurious behaviour. A final chapter by Christine Padesky provides some signposts for future development.Containing examples of over 200 behavioural experiments, this book will be of enormous practical value for all those involved in cognitive behavioural therapy, as well as stimulating exploration and creativity in both its readers and their patients.
The Case Formulation Approach to Cognitive-Behavior Therapy by
This book addresses a critical challenge in evidence-based psychotherapy: how to use empirically supported therapies (ESTs) in real-world clinical contexts. The author explains the basic theories of cognition, learning, and emotion that underlie available ESTs and shows how the theories also guide systematic case formulation. By crafting a sound formulation and continually refining and monitoring it as treatment progresses, the therapist can smoothly "shift theoretical gears" and weave together elements of different ESTs to meet the needs of individual patients, who typically present with multiple problems. Hands-on tools, reproducibles, and many concrete examples are included.
Assessment and Case Formulation in Cognitive Behavioural Therapy by
Offering a unique philosophical, theoretical and process-focused introduction to one of the cornerstones of CBT: assessment and case formulation. Updated and expanded to take account of the vast developments in the field of CBT since its first publication, this second edition follows a clear two part structure: - Part One introduces trainees to the key theory, practice and processes of assessment and case formulation - Part Two provides practical illustrations of the theory through 12 extended case studies, considering both 'simple' and 'complex' presenting issues. Each of these chapters follows a set structure to enable easy comparison. Offering all they need to know about this crucial part of their training, this is essential reading for trainees on any CBT course.
Cognitive therapy and the emotional disorders by 
Cognitive Therapy for Challenging Problems by
This groundbreaking book addresses what to do when a patient is not making progress. Provided is practical, step-by-step guidance on conceptualizing and solving frequently encountered problems, whether in developing and maintaining the therapeutic alliance or in accomplishing specific therapeutic tasks. While the framework presented is applicable to a range of challenging clinical situations, particular attention is given to modifying the longstanding distorted beliefs and dysfunctional behavioral strategies of people with personality disorders. Helpful appendices include a reproducible assessment tool, the Personality Belief Questionnaire. See also Dr. Beck's Cognitive Behavior Therapy, Second Edition: Basics and Beyond, the leading text for students and practicing therapists who want to learn the fundamentals of CBT.
Science and Practice of Cognitive Behaviour Therapy by
In a relatively short period of time, cognitive behaviour therapy has become the leading psychotherapy in most Western countries. Much of the appeal and success of cognitive behaviour therapy is due to the close links between science and practice which characterise the cognitive behaviourtherapy movement and to the demonstrated effectiveness of the treatment approach.This book, which is divided into two parts, illustrates the links between science and practice in modern Cognitive Behaviour Therapy. Part One covers general issues and includes chapters on: The Evolution of Cognitive Behaviour Therapy (Stanley Rachman); The Foundations of Cognitive BehaviourTherapy (Michael Gelder); Information Processing Biases in Emotional Disorders (Andrew Mathews); The Relationship Between Cognition and Emotion (John D Teasdale); Efficacy and Dissemination of Psychological Treatment (David H. Barlow and Stefan G Hofmann). Part Two focuses on specific disorders andincludes chapters on: Panic Disorder and Social Phobia (David M Clark); Generalized Anxiety Disorder (Adrian Wells and Gillian Butler); Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (Paul M Salkovskis and Joan Kirk); Eating Disorders (Christopher G Fairburn); Sexual Problems (John Bancroft); Depression (J Mark GWilliams); Attempted Suicide (Keith Hawton) Hypochondriasis (Paul M Salkovskis and Christopher Bass); Cardiovascular Disease (Derek W Johnston) Atypical Chest Pain (Richard Mayou); Chronic Fatigue (Michael Sharpe); Problem-Solving Treatment in Primary Care (Denis Gath and Laurence Mynors-Wallis).Each of the chapters in Part Two outlines the current cognitive behavioural conceptualization of the disorder, reviews relevant research and describes current cognitive behavioural treatment procedures.The book will be of interest to clinicians and researchers from a wide range of backgrounds, as well as students and trainees in clinical psychology, psychiatry and psychotherapy.
Handbook of Cognitive-Behavioral Therapies, Fourth Edition by
Now revised and expanded with over 50% new material, this definitive clinical reference is the text of choice for graduate-level courses in evidence-based psychotherapy. Foremost authorities describe the conceptual and scientific foundations of cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) and provide a framework for assessment and case formulation. Major approaches are reviewed in detail, including emotion-centered problem-solving therapy, rational emotive behavior therapy, cognitive therapy, schema therapy, mindfulness- and acceptance-based interventions, and dialectical behavior therapy (DBT). Applications to specific populations are discussed, including children and adolescents, couples, culturally diverse clients, and more. New to This Edition *Chapter on clinical assessment. *Chapter on DBT. *Chapters on transdiagnostic treatments, CBT-based prevention models, and improving dissemination and implementation. *Existing chapters extensively revised or rewritten to reflect important research and clinical advances.
Behavioral Interventions in Cognitive Behavior Therapy by
Although cognitive behavior therapy (CBT) is the most widely practiced evidence-based clinical approach in mental health today, CBT is a broad term that encompasses a wide array of approaches and techniques that can be difficult for even experienced clinicians to navigate. In this fully updated edition, the authors provide a detailed, step-by-step guide to behavioral interventions in CBT. They discuss case formulation and treatment planning, core behavioral intervention strategies, and innovative approaches such as acceptance, mindfulness, and a behavioral approach to cognition. They look at key behavioral techniques, such as self-monitoring, behavioral activations, exposure therapy, and skills training, that are essential features of CBT practice. The behavioral framework they describe is practical and accessible to clinicians and students with varying degrees of behavioral training. Alongside a comprehensive update of the research literature, this edition features new chapters on enhancing interpersonal effectiveness, emotion regulation, and navigating particularly difficult therapeutic challenges.
Mind over Mood, Second Edition by
Discover simple yet powerful steps you can take to overcome emotional distress--and feel happier, calmer, and more confident. This life-changing book has already helped more than 1,100,000 readers use cognitive-behavioral therapy--one of today's most effective forms of psychotherapy--to conquer depression, anxiety, panic attacks, anger, guilt, shame, low self-esteem, eating disorders, substance abuse, and relationship problems. Revised and expanded to reflect significant scientific developments of the past 20 years, the second edition contains numerous new features: expanded content on anxiety; chapters on setting personal goals and maintaining progress; happiness rating scales; gratitude journals; innovative exercises focused on mindfulness, acceptance, and forgiveness; 25 new worksheets; and much more. Mind Over Mood will help you: *Learn proven, powerful, practical strategies to transform your life. *Follow step-by-step plans to overcome depression, anxiety, anger, guilt, and shame. *Set doable personal goals and track your progress (you can photocopy the worksheets from the book or download and print additional copies). *Practice your new skills until they become second nature. Cited as "The Most Influential Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy Publication" by the British Association for Behavioural and Cognitive Psychotherapies and included in the UK National Health Service Bibliotherapy Program. Winner (Second Place)--American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award, Consumer Health Category See also the Spanish-language edition: El control de tu estado de ánimo, Segunda edición.
Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment for Generalized Anxiety Disorder by
The second edition of Cognitive Behavioral Treatment for Generalized Anxiety Disorderis an essential read for all clinicians, researchers, and anyone who wants to learn about how cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) can be applied to treatment for generalized anxiety disorder. Building on the idea that intolerance of uncertainty keeps people with generalized anxiety disorder (GAD) stuck in repeated cycles of excessive worry, anxiety, and avoidance, this revised and updated edition lays out the essentials of GAD assessment and diagnosis, step-by-step illustrations of CBT treatment, and questionnaires and monitoring forms that can be used in assessment, treatment, and research. Readers will come away from the book with a clear sense of how to: design powerful, individualized behavioral experiments targeting the fear of uncertainty; help clients discover and re-evaluate their beliefs about the usefulness of worry; encourage clients to view worry-provoking problems as challenges to be met, rather than threats; use written exposure to help clients confront lingering worries and core fears. ients discover and re-evaluate their beliefs about the usefulness of worry; encourage clients to view worry-provoking problems as challenges to be met, rather than threats; use written exposure to help clients confront lingering worries and core fears.
Break Free from OCD by
We all occasionally worry that we might have left the gas on or the window open, not washed our hands thoroughly or forgotten to lock the front door. But do these kinds of thoughts play on your mind, or become obsessive?If so, you are not alone. OCD is one of the most common mental health conditions and is thought to affect 2-3% of the UK population at a clinical level, while many more may experience some symptoms which interfere with their life.Written by three experts in the field of Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT), Break Free From OCD helps us understand OCD and provides an approach to overcoming the disorder. Including real life case studies and examples, this definitive resource will help you reclaim your life and keep OCD away for good.This guide also enables friends and family to understand why OCD can be so difficult, and how they can support someone to tackle it.
Cognitive Behaviour Therapy for Psychiatric Problems by
Cognitive behavior therapy is now firmly established as the leading psychological treatment for many psychiatric conditions, and numerous controlled trials have demonstrated its effectiveness. This innovative book provides detailed guidance on how to practice cognitive behavior therapy with patients suffering from a wide range of emotional disorders. Unlike most existing handbooks this guide concentrates on how to do treatment. The editors have drawn together contributions from acknowledged experts in the practice, teaching, and empirical investigation of cognitive-behavioral principles, followed by a detailed account of how to carry out a cognitive-behavioral assessment. Subsequent chapters provide self-contained descriptions of how to use cognitive behavior therapy to treat particular conditions, including panic and generalized anxiety, phobic disorders, depression, obsessional disorders, somatic problems, eating disorders, chronic psychiatric handicaps, marital problems, and sexual dysfunctions. A final chapter describes problem solving. Each chapter begins with a description of the condition under consideration, outlines assessment procedures and how to formulate the problem, and then takes the reader step-by-step through treatment, emphasizing how to overcome difficulties encountered during treatment. Extensive use is made of clinical material and case illustrations.
Culturally Responsive Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy by
Culturally Responsive Cognitive - Behavioral Therapy: Assessment, Practice, and Supervision is the first book to integrate cultural influences into cognitive - behavioral therapy (CBT). This engagingly written volume describes the application of CBT with people of diverse cultures and discusses how therapists can refine cognitive - behavioral therapy to increase its effectiveness with clients of many cultures. The contributing authors examine the characteristics of some of the most common cultural groups in the United States including American Indian, Latino, Asian, and African American, as well as groups less commonly considered in multicultural psychology books: people of Alaska Native, Arab, and Orthodox Jewish heritage. The volume also describes the use of CBT with older adults, people with disabilities, and gay and lesbian individuals, including examples of people who hold bicultural and multicultural identities. A chapter on culturally responsive assessment, with an emphasis on the most frequently used cognitive - behavioral scales, and a chapter on supervision round out this volume. Numerous case examples provide practical information grounded in an empirically supported theory, making this book a practical resource for every therapist.
Overcoming Resistance in Cognitive Therapy by
This practical guide presents Leahy's multidimensional model of resistance in cognitive therapy. Richly illustrated with case examples and session vignettes, the book addresses a variety of ways that clients may resist basic therapeutic procedures: noncompliance with agenda setting and homework assignments, splitting transference with other therapists, inappropriate behavior, and premature termination. Underlying processes of resistance are explored, from the desire for validation to risk aversion and self-handicapping. Also highlighted are ways that the therapist's own responses may inadvertently impede change. Provided are innovative tools for getting treatment back on track, including targeted interventions, in-session "experiments," and questionnaires and graphic models to share with clients.
Science and Practice in Cognitive Therapy by
From leading experts in cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT)--including CBT originator Aaron T. Beck and many who have worked closely with him--this book provides an overview of where the field is today and presents cutting-edge research and clinical applications. Contributors explain how Beck's cognitive model has been refined and tested over the last 45 years and describe innovative CBT approaches that integrate mindfulness, imagery, emotion-focused interventions, and other strategies. Chapters on specific clinical problems cover the conceptualization and treatment of depression, anxiety disorders, posttraumatic stress disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, insomnia, suicidality, substance abuse, couple and family problems, bipolar disorder, psychosis, and personality disorders.
Oxford Guide to Surviving As a CBT Therapist by
For the newly trained Cognitive Behavioural Therapist, there are a wealth of challenges and difficulties faced, as they try and apply their new found skills in the outside world. These might include the stresses of working in isolation, and finding it difficult to widen their scope or bounce ideas of other CBT therapists; or the need for practical advice on setting up group therapy; the possible conflicts betweens ethical practice and theory; how to retain ones integrity as a therapist, while maintaing a viable business practice; dealing with diverse communities, or becoming a supervisor. The Oxford Guide to Surviving CBT Practice is the one-stop resource for the newly trained therapist. It offers practical guidance on a range of issues and challenges faced by the therapist. Written by people with vast experience of training and practising CBT, it draws on real life situations to help the reader hone and develop their skills, adjust to life as a therapist, and maintain a successful and satisfying career whilst helping others. With thousands of new CBT therapists being trained over the coming years, this book will be a constant companion for all those starting life as a therapist, one they will want to have to hand at all times.
Frontiers of Cognitive Therapy by
Bringing together leading experts in the field, this book explores how cognitive therapy has become a treatment of choice not just for depression but for such diverse problems as eating disorders, health anxiety, OCD, panic, personality disorders, sexual problems, social phobia, and substance abuse. Theoretical and clinical issues that apply to particular populations, including children, adolescents, and the medically ill, are discussed in detail. In addition, important issues related to therapist competency, the therapeutic relationship, and empathy are systematically examined.
Case Formulation in Cognitive Behaviour Therapy by
Since the successful first edition of Case Formulation in Cognitive Behaviour Therapy, there has been a proliferation of psychological research supporting the effectiveness of CBT for a range of disorders. Case formulation is the starting point for CBT treatment, and Case Formulation in Cognitive Behaviour Therapy is unique in both its focus upon formulation, and the scope and range of ideas and disorders it covers. With a range of expert contributions, this substantially updated second edition of the book includes chapters addressing; the evidence base and rationale for using a formulation-driven approach in CBT; disorder-specific formulation models; the formulation process amongst populations with varying needs; formulation in supervision and with staff groups. New to the book are chapters that discuss: Formulation amongst populations with physical health difficulties Formulation approaches to suicidal behaviour Formulation with staff groups Case Formulation in Cognitive Behaviour Therapy will be an indispensable guide for experienced therapists and clinical psychologists and counsellors seeking to continue their professional development and aiming to update their knowledge with the latest developments in CBT formulation.
Innovations in Cognitive Behavioral Therapy by
Innovations in Cognitive Behavioral Therapy provides clinicians with a powerful arsenal of contemporary, creative, and innovative strategic interventions for use in cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT). This book goes well beyond standard CBT texts by highlighting new developments in the field and advancing a new definition of CBT that reflects the field's evolution. Throughout these pages, clinicians will find empirical research to back up recommended strategies and discussion of ways to translate this research into their clinical practice. Readers can also turn to the book's website for valuable handouts, worksheets, and other downloadable tools.
How to Become a More Effective CBT Therapist by
How to Become a More Effective CBT Therapist explores effective ways for therapists to move beyond competence to "metacompetence", remaining true to the core principles of CBT while adapting therapeutic techniques to address the everyday challenges of real-world clinical work. This innovative text explores how to: Work most effectively with fundamental therapeutic factors such as the working alliance and diversity; Tackle complexities such as co-morbidity, interpersonal dynamics and lack of progress in therapy; Adapt CBT when working with older people, individuals with long-term conditions (LTCs), intellectual disabilities, personality disorders and psychosis; Develop as a therapist through feedback, supervision, self-practice and training.