BACP (2018). Ethical framework for the counselling professions. Lutterworth: BACP
BABCP (2017) Standard of conduct, performance and ethics. Bury: BABCP
Formulation in Psychology and Psychotherapy by
The first edition of Formulation in Psychology and Psychotherapy caught the wave of growing interest in formulation in a clinical context. This completely updated and revised edition summarises recent practice, research, developments and debates while retaining the features that made the first a leading text in the field. It contains new chapters on personal construct formulation, formulation in health settings, and the innovative practice of using formulation in teams. The book sees formulation as a dynamic process which explores personal meaning collaboratively and reflectively, taking account of relational and social contexts. Two case studies, one adult and one child, illustrate the use of formulation from the perspectives of expert clinicians from six different theoretical positions. The book encourages the reader to take a constructively critical perspective on the many philosophical, professional and ethical debates raised by the process of formulating people¿s problems. Among the issues explored are: The social and political context of formulation Formulation in relation to psychiatric diagnosis The limitations of formulation Controversies and debates about formulation This readable and comprehensive guide to the field provides a clear, up to date and thought-provoking overview of formulation from a number of perspectives, essential for clinicians working in all areas of mental health and social care, psychology, therapy and counselling.
Assessment and Case Formulation in Counselling and Psychotherapy by
This is a thorough and well-structured piece of work, which brings in the recent work of excellent authorities such as Barbara Ingram. It is well arranged, with many examples and case vignettes, which bring the material to life in an engaging way. I enjoyed reading it, and would recommend it unreservedly.' John Rowan, humanistic therapist, private practice 'This is a must-read book for students on courses in counselling, psychotherapy, clinical psychology and psychiatry.' Heather Fowlie, Head of the Transactional Analysis Department, Metanoia Institute, London Conducting a competent assessment and case formulation can be a daunting task for trainee therapists engaging in clinical assessment for the first time. This book is designed to help, by unpicking the many aspects involved in assessment and case formulation across modalities, practice settings and client groups. The book: · Explores key elements of clinical assessment including diagnosis, risk assessment, ethical considerations and accounting for difference. · Highlights the necessary skills, techniques and legal requirements at each stage of the process. · Takes into account the impact of culture, context and theoretical and practical considerations. · Uses case studies and reflective questions to illustrate difficult concepts in context. Equipping you with the knowledge and tools to make successful assessments and case formulations, this is an essential read for trainees and for qualified practitioners wishing to brush up on their understanding. Dr Biljana van Rijn, Faculty Head of Applied Research and Clinical Practice, Metanoia Institute.
The trainee handbook : a guide for counselling and psychotherapy trainees by
Written by a team of leading trainers, practitioners and supervisors, this bestselling classic is the trainee therapist's best friend. It identifies and guides trainees through the practical skills and knowledge they′ll need to make a success of their training - from writing essays through to case formulation and on to preparing for their first meeting with a client. Along the way, it addresses and allays the concerns which are common to all students. Now in its fourth edition, the book has been fully updated to take account of the significant changes in the therapy professions in recent years. It now includes new and important chapters on: Evidence-based practice Working with diversity Reflective practice Using social media, technology and online therapy The Trainee Handbook is an invaluable companion, and source of information and guidance for all trainees in counselling, psychotherapy and counselling psychology, and newly-qualified therapists entering into practice.
Reflective Practice in Psychotherapy and Counselling by
Reflective Practice in Psychotherapy and Counselling
The SAGE Handbook of Counselling and Psychotherapy by
At over 600 pages and with more than 100 contributions, this Fourth Edition brings together the essentials of counselling and psychotherapy theory, research, skills and practice. Including new content on assessment, theory, applications and settings, and with new chapter overviews and summaries, this continues to be the most comprehensive and accessible guide to the field for trainees or experienced practitioners.
Supervision in the Helping Professions. by Formulation in Psychology and Psychotherapy by
The first edition of Formulation in Psychology and Psychotherapy caught the wave of growing interest in formulation in a clinical context. This completely updated and revised edition summarises recent practice, research, developments and debates while retaining the features that made the first a leading text in the field. It contains new chapters on personal construct formulation, formulation in health settings, and the innovative practice of using formulation in teams. The book sees formulation as a dynamic process which explores personal meaning collaboratively and reflectively, taking account of relational and social contexts. Two case studies, one adult and one child, illustrate the use of formulation from the perspectives of expert clinicians from six different theoretical positions. The book encourages the reader to take a constructively critical perspective on the many philosophical, professional and ethical debates raised by the process of formulating people¿s problems. Among the issues explored are: The social and political context of formulation Formulation in relation to psychiatric diagnosis The limitations of formulation Controversies and debates about formulation This readable and comprehensive guide to the field provides a clear, up to date and thought-provoking overview of formulation from a number of perspectives, essential for clinicians working in all areas of mental health and social care, psychology, therapy and counselling.
Assessment and Case Formulation in Counselling and Psychotherapy by
This is a thorough and well-structured piece of work, which brings in the recent work of excellent authorities such as Barbara Ingram. It is well arranged, with many examples and case vignettes, which bring the material to life in an engaging way. I enjoyed reading it, and would recommend it unreservedly.' John Rowan, humanistic therapist, private practice 'This is a must-read book for students on courses in counselling, psychotherapy, clinical psychology and psychiatry.' Heather Fowlie, Head of the Transactional Analysis Department, Metanoia Institute, London Conducting a competent assessment and case formulation can be a daunting task for trainee therapists engaging in clinical assessment for the first time. This book is designed to help, by unpicking the many aspects involved in assessment and case formulation across modalities, practice settings and client groups. The book: · Explores key elements of clinical assessment including diagnosis, risk assessment, ethical considerations and accounting for difference. · Highlights the necessary skills, techniques and legal requirements at each stage of the process. · Takes into account the impact of culture, context and theoretical and practical considerations. · Uses case studies and reflective questions to illustrate difficult concepts in context. Equipping you with the knowledge and tools to make successful assessments and case formulations, this is an essential read for trainees and for qualified practitioners wishing to brush up on their understanding. Dr Biljana van Rijn, Faculty Head of Applied Research and Clinical Practice, Metanoia Institute.