Rad Tech's Guide to MRI by
The second edition of Rad Tech's Guide to MRI provides practicing and training technologists with a succinct overview of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). Designed for quick reference and examination preparation, this pocket-size guide covers the fundamental principles of electromagnetism, MRI equipment, data acquisition and processing, image quality and artifacts, MR Angiography, Diffusion/Perfusion, and more. Written by an expert practitioner and educator, this handy reference guide: Provides essential MRI knowledge in a single portable, easy-to-read guide Covers instrumentation and MRI hardware components, including gradient and radio-frequency subsystems Provides techniques to handle flow imaging issues and improve the quality of MRIs Explains the essential physics underpinning MRI technology Rad Tech's Guide to MRI is a must-have resource for student radiographers, especially those preparing for the American Registry of Radiation Technologist (ARRT) exams, as well as practicing radiology technologists looking for a quick reference guide.
MRI from Picture to Proton by
MR is a powerful modality. At its most advanced, it can be used not just to image anatomy and pathology, but to investigate organ function, to probe in vivo chemistry, and even to visualise the brain thinking. However, clinicians, technologists and scientists struggle with the study of the subject. The result is sometimes an obscurity of understanding, or a dilution of scientific truth, resulting in misconceptions. This is why MRI from Picture to Proton has achieved its reputation for practical clarity. MR is introduced as a tool, with coverage starting from the images, equipment and scanning protocols and traced back towards the underlying physics theory. With new content on quantitative MRI, MR safety, multi-band excitation, Dixon imaging, MR elastography and advanced pulse sequences, and with additional supportive materials available on the book's website, this new edition is completely revised and updated to reflect the best use of modern MR technology.
Magnetic resonance imaging equipment in clinical use: safety guidelines
Relevant safety information for users of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) equipment in clinical use.
MRI Physics by
MRI PHYSICS MRI PHYSICS TECH TO TECH EXPLANATIONS Technologists must have a solid understanding of the physics behind Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), including safety, the hows and whys of the quantum physics of the MR phenomenon, and how to competently operate MRI scanners. Generating the highest quality images of the human body involves thorough knowledge of scanner hardware, pulse sequences, image contrast, geometric parameters, and tissue suppression techniques. MRI Physics: Tech to Tech Explanations is designed to help student MRI technologists and radiotherapists preparing for Advanced MRI certification examinations to better understand difficult concepts and topics in a quick and easy manner. Written by a highly experienced technologist, this useful guide provides clear and reader-friendly coverage of what every MR Technologist needs to know. Topics include safety considerations associated with the magnetic field and RF, pulse sequences, artifacts, MRI math, the much-feared gradients, and I.V. contrast. Provides basic guidance on safety considerations, protocols options, critical thinking, and image contrast optimization Simplifies the challenging topic of MRI physics using straightforward language and clear explanations Covers content for American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) and Continuing Qualifications Requirements (CQR) exams Features numerous illustrations and photographs of various MRI concepts, pulse sequence design, artifacts, and the application of concepts in clinical settings MRI Physics: Tech to Tech Explanations is a must-have resource for the experienced and training MRI technologist, medical students, and radiology residency rotations.
The Physics of Clinical MR taught through images by
To make optimal use of MRI technology, radiologists need an understanding of MRI physics. This can be a difficult area to master for radiologists, and it becomes increasingly challenging as new MRI techniques and new software programs are introduced. While most MRI physics books and chapters are filled with dense text and equations, Runge's book takes a very reader-friendly and practice-oriented approach, leading with images and presenting clear, concise text on understanding MRI physics and on using these principles to acquire optimal MRI Images and interpret results. The new edition text and images are extensively revised to reflect developments in the field, and there are 12 new chapters.
ACR Manual on Contrast Media 2021 by
This manual was developed by the ACR Committee on Drugs and Contrast Media of the ACR Commission on
Quality and Safety as a guide for radiologists to enhance the safe and effective use of contrast media. The
Committee offers this document to practicing radiologists as a consensus of scientific evidence and clinical
experience concerning the use of contrast media. Suggestions for patient screening, premedication, recognition
of adverse reactions, and emergency treatment of such reactions are emphasized. Its major purpose is to provide
useful information regarding contrast media used in daily practice.
Safety and Biological Effects in MRI by
In vivo magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) has evolved into a versatile and critical, if not 'gold standard', imaging tool with applications ranging from the physical sciences to the clinical '-ology'. In addition, there is a vast amount of accumulated but unpublished inside knowledge on what is needed to perform a safe, in vivo MRI. The goal of this comprehensive text, written by an outstanding group of world experts, is to present information about the effect of the MRI environment on the human body, and tools and methods to quantify such effects. By presenting such information all in one place, the expectation is that this book will help everyone interested in the Safety and Biological Effects in MRI find relevant information relatively quickly and know where we stand as a community. The information is expected to improve patient safety in the MR scanners of today, and facilitate developing faster, more powerful, yet safer MR scanners of tomorrow. This book is arranged in three sections. The first, named 'Static and Gradient Fields' (Chapters 1-9), presents the effects of static magnetic field and the gradients of magnetic field, in time and space, on the human body. The second section, named 'Radiofrequency Fields' (Chapters 10-30), presents ways to quantify radiofrequency (RF) field induced heating in patients undergoing MRI. The effect of the three fields of MRI environment (i.e. Static Magnetic Field, Time-varying Gradient Magnetic Field, and RF Field) on medical devices, that may be carried into the environment with patients, is also included. Finally, the third section, named 'Engineering' (chapters 31-35), presents the basic background engineering information regarding the equipment (i.e. superconducting magnets, gradient coils, and RF coils) that produce the Static Magnetic Field, Time-varying Gradient Magnetic Field, and RF Field. The book is intended for undergraduate and post-graduate students, engineers, physicists, biologists, clinicians, MR technologists, other healthcare professionals, and everyone else who might be interested in looking into the role of MRI environment on patient safety, as well as those just wishing to update their knowledge of the state of MRI safety. Those, who are learning about MRI or training in magnetic resonance in medicine, will find the book a useful compendium of the current state of the art of the field.
Handbook of MRI Technique by
Now entering its fourth edition, the market-leading Handbook of MRI Technique has been fully revised and updated to incorporate new technologies and developments essential to good practice. Written specifically for technologists and highly illustrated, it guides the uninitiated through scanning techniques and helps more experienced technologists to improve image quality. The first part of the book considers the main aspects of theory that relate to scanning and also includes practical tips on gating, equipment use, patient care and safety, and information on contrast media. The second half provides step-by-step instruction for examining each anatomical area, beginning with a basic anatomy section followed by sections on indications, patient positioning, equipment, artefacts and tips on optimizing image quality. Written by an international team of technologists from the United States, United Kingdom and Europe Suitable for users for all types of MRI systems Now includes key points throughout for quick reference Companion website at www.wiley.com/go/westbrook/mritechnique with self-assessment and image flashcards Handbook of MRI Technique continues to be the ideal support both for radiographers new to MRI and for regular users looking for information on alternative techniques and suggestions on protocol modifications.
MRI in Practice by
Since the first edition was published in 1993, MRI in Practice has become the standard text for radiographers, technologists, radiology residents, radiologists and even sales representatives on the subject of Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI). This text is essential reading on undergraduate and postgraduate MRI courses. Furthermore MRI in Practice has come to be known as the number one reference book and study guide in the areas of MR instrumentation, principles, pulse sequences, image acquisition, and imaging parameters for the advanced level examination for MRI offered by the American Registry for Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) in the USA. The book explains in clear terms the theory that underpins magnetic resonance so that the capabilities and operation of MRI systems can be fully appreciated and maximised. This fourth edition captures recent advances, and coverage includes: parallel imaging techniques and new sequences such as balanced gradient echo. Building on the success of the first three editions, the fourth edition has been fully revised and updated. The book now comes with a companion website at www.wiley.com/go/mriinpractice which hosts animated versions of a selection of illustrations in the book that are used on the MRI in Practice Course. These animations and accompanying text are aimed at helping the reader's comprehension of some of the more difficult concepts. The website also hosts over 200 interactive self-assessment exercises to help the reader test their understanding. MRI in Practice features: Full color illustrations Logical presentation of the theory and applications of MRI A new page design A companion website at www.wiley.com/go/mriinpractice featuring interactive multiple choice questions, short answer questions PLUS animations of more complex concepts from the book For more information on the MRI in Practice Course and other learning resources by Westbrook and Talbot, please visit www.mrieducation.com