The business student's handbook : skills for study and employment by 
Critical Thinking Skills by
Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
Events Management by
This book is the essential text for all Events Management students. It is constructed around the authors' 6E's Event, Venue and Experience (EVE) Management Framework. It contains 87 key models (within the 6E's Framework) that all Events Management students will need to be successful in their studies, setting them up for a fantastic career in the fast-growing events industry. It broadens the definition of Events Managers, which the authors - in the new events paradigm - reframe as Event, Venue and Experience (EVE) Managers. Finally, it is authored by academics (Chris Edger and Richard Oddy) who, between them, have nearly fifty years' experience operating, teaching and writing within the leisure/events domain.
Employability and Skills Handbook for Tourism Hospitality and Events Students by
This handbook provides students with an essential understanding of the skills and knowledge needed to work in the tourism, hospitality and events industries. It offers reflective, reflexive and critical analysis on personal, academic and professional development. Not only looking at how to develop the skills, attributes and prospects for employment in these competitive industries, this handbook also focuses on what the employers in tourism, hospitality and events sectors require of graduate employees. Highly illustrated, the chapters contain think points and activities, and case studies are integrated throughout offering first hand advice from both employer and graduate perspectives. The first book to focus on skills and employability in tourism, hospitality and events, this is a must read for all students studying these fields.
Understanding Work-Based Learning by
This important book is for anyone who wants to make the most of work-based learning: employees, employers, educationalists, policy makers and researchers. It sheds light on ways of giving full-time employees the chance to take up learning opportunities which are of the same level and rigour as those on offer to the full time student. It approaches the subject from the perspective of the learner, drawing on case studies to provide detailed insight. It suggests that universities already have in place much of the machinery needed to support learners who are in work: they just don't make enough use of it. Look closely and you will find a substantial legacy of this kind of activity by universities. This is a book about seizing opportunities. In one volume, Understanding Work-Based Learning makes a valuable contribution to current employer engagement and learner demand debates, and provides first hand learner experiences to guide existing and potential work based learners, employers, educationalists, policy makers, and researchers.
Reflective Writing by
Packed with practical advice, this concise guide explains what reflective writing is and how to approach it. It equips students with all the key information and strategies they need to develop an appropriate reflective writing style, whatever their subject area. Annotated examples from a range of disciplines and contexts show students how to put these tips into practice. It concludes with a section on applying reflective practices to personal development and career planning. This handy guide is an indispensable resource for students of all disciplines and levels, who are required to develop and demonstrate reflective qualities in their work. It will be particularly useful to students writing reflective logs on placements.
Academic Writing by
Now in its fifth edition, Academic Writing helps international students succeed in writing essays and reports for their English-language academic courses. Thoroughly revised and updated, it is designed to let teachers and students easily find the topics they need, both in the classroom and for self-study. The book consists of five parts: The Writing Process Elements of Writing Language Issues Vocabulary for Writing Writing Models The first part explains and practises every stage of essay writing, from choosing the best sources, reading and note-making, through to referencing and proofreading. The four remaining parts, organised alphabetically, can be taught in conjunction with the first part or used on a remedial basis. A progress check at the end of each part allows students to assess their learning. All units are fully cross-referenced, and a complete set of answers to the practice exercises is included. New topics in this edition include Writing in Groups, Written British and American English, and Writing Letters and Emails. In addition, the new interactive website has a full set of teaching notes as well as more challenging exercises, revision material and links to other sources. Additional features of the book include: Models provided for writing tasks such as case studies and essays Use of authentic academic texts from a wide range of disciplines Designed for self-study as well as classroom use Useful at both undergraduate and postgraduate level Glossary to explain technical terms, plus index Written to deal with the specific language issues faced by international students, this practical, user-friendly book is an invaluable guide to academic writing in English.
Skills for Success by
Now in its fourth edition, this indispensable guide helps students to create their own personal development programme and build the skills and capabilities today's employers want. Step by step, it takes students from the initial stages of setting goals and defining success through to the application process for their dream job. Part 1 prompts students to think about what 'success' means to them and to think more deeply about what matters to them, what inspires them, and what will help them to achieve their long-term ambitions. This section also helps students to better manage their time, energies and resources so that they can achieve the kind of success they want. Part 2 shows students how to refine their people and task management skills, enabling them to become the effective communicators and problem-solvers that today's employers want. Part 3 develops students' creative and reflective thinking, thereby strengthening students' academic and professional abilities. Part 4 helps readers to reflect on what employers really want from job applicants and explains how they can take concrete action to improve their job prospects. Chapters contain guidance on how to put forward a strong application, how to make the best use of placements, and how to keep records so that students feel more in control during the application process. Internationally acclaimed study skills author Stella Cottrell provides students with the ingredients they need to create their own recipe for success. Whether you're just starting at college or university, or about to leave a postgraduate programme, Skills for Success will help you to think creatively and constructively about personal, academic and career goals.New to this Edition:- Contains increased coverage of different styles and models of leadership, and managing and leading teams- Includes more material on engaging with cultural difference- Provides students with guidance on looking after their mental health and wellbeing, to help reduce stress around planning for life after university- Features more insights and case studies from employersAccompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/skills-for-success. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.
The Study Skills Handbook by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
Event Studies by
Event Studies is the only book devoted to developing knowledge and theory about planned events. It focuses on event planning and management, outcomes, the experience of events and the meanings attached to them, the dynamic processes shaping events and why people attend them. This title draws from a large number of foundation disciplines and closely related professional fields to foster interdisciplinary theory focused on planned events. This revised edition has been updated to reflect and examine a number of substantial and important new ideas. New to the fourth edition: new sections on the evolution of design theory, management, planning and marketing theory applied to events, sensory stimulation, leadership, and the nature of crises and security issues; new content on critical event studies and what this means for research and practice, the life-cycle model for event programming, and an action plan for how events can be a positive force in sustainable cities; new and additional case studies from a wide range of international events, and reviews of the evolving theory of contemporary research in events studies are included throughout. This will be an invaluable resource for all undergraduate students of events studies throughout their degree programmes.
The work-based learning student handbook by 
You're hired! Graduate career handbook : maximise your employability and get a graduate job by 
Developing Employability for Business by 
Ready to start your own business by