Welcome to your Designing and Developing HR Activities for Maximum Impact reading list. Here you will find resources selected by your course team to support you throughout this module.
Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice by Armstrong, M. ; Taylor, S.Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice is the bestselling and definitive resource for HRM students and professionals, which helps readers to understand and implement HR in relation to the needs of the business. It covers in-depth all of the areas essential to the HR function such as employment law, employee relations, learning and development, performance management and reward, as well as the HR skills needed to ensure professional success, including leadership, managing conflict, interviewing and using statistics. Illustrated throughout in full colour and with a range of pedagogical features to consolidate learning (e.g. source review boxes, key learning points, summaries and case studies from international organizations such as IBM, HSBC and Johnson and Johnson), this fully updated 15th edition includes new chapters on the HRM role of line managers, evidence-based HRM, e-HRM and the gender pay gap, further case studies and updated content covering the latest research and developments. Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice is aligned with the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD) profession map and standards and is suited to both professionals and students of both undergraduate degrees and the CIPD's level 5 and 7 professional qualifications. Online supporting resources include comprehensive handbooks for lecturers and students, lecture slides, all figures and tables, toolkits, and a literature review, glossary and bibliography.
Call Number: 658.3 ARM
Publication Date: 2020
Human Resource Management at Work by Marchington, M., Wilkinson, A., Donnelly, R. and Kyhighou, A.A leading textbook in its field, Human Resource Management at Work is a comprehensive guide to the theory and practice of HRM. Aligned to the CIPD Level 7 qualification yet also relevant on non-CIPD accredited HR masters courses, this book covers everything students need to excel in their academic studies and will ensure that they can hit the ground running in a practitioner role after university.Divided into four key parts, the first part of the book covers HRM strategy and the global context, the forces shaping HRM at work and international and comparative HRM. Part Two discusses the role of HR professionals and line managers in the workplace, and how the responsibilities for delivering effective HR vary in a changing world of work, Part Three has expert coverage of the key areas of HR including resourcing and talent management, learning and development (L&D), reward and employment relations. The final part examines the impact that HRM can have on business performance and also outlines the key knowledge and skills required to carry out a business research project. Fully updated through, this seventh edition now has new coverage of diversity and inclusion (D&I), workplace analytics, ethics, wellbeing and precarious work as well as additional coverage of the alignment of HRM with organisational strategy and the integration of different components of HRM. Human Resource Management at Work includes new global case studies, reflective practice activities to encourage critical thinking, exercises to help the consolidation of learning and 'explore further' boxes to encourage wider reading. Online supporting resources include an instructor's manual and lecture slides.
Call Number: 658.3 MAR
Publication Date: 2021
Employee Recruitment, Selection, and Assessment by Nikolaou, I. and Oostrom, J.K.Personnel selection is changing. Whilst traditional face-to-face interviews are still common, the range of assessment processes that inform the selection of candidates is increasingly diverse, taking advantage not only of new technologies, but also using new methods and strategies, such as assessment centres and personality testing. This new collection looks at the most important contemporary issues in recruitment, selection and assessment today, highlighting the latest research from the perspective of both recruiter and applicant. The book is written by an international range of prominent scholars in this area, and provides up-to-date analysis of key topic areas, including: How measurements of intelligence can impact on recruitment policies The use and value of personality tests An analysis of social interaction in the interview process The value and impact of video resumes in recruitment How social networks affect how applicants are perceived Job analysis and competencies modelling Part of the Current Issues in Work & Organizational Psychology series, this is an important book that shines a light on the latest theory and practice in employee recruitment. It will interest not only students and researchers of Organizational Psychology, HRM and Business and Management, but will also engage professionals in the field.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Strategic People Management and Development by Gary Rees (Editor); Raymond French (Editor)Strategic People Management and Development maps to the CIPD Level 7 module 'People Management and Development strategies for performance'. It focuses on the need for evidence-based and outcome-driven practice in the people profession and explains how HR and Learning and Development (L&D) professionals can create value and drive performance in an organisation. It provides a thorough grounding in the theory and practice of how to lead and manage employees and effectively develop a workforce as well as extensive coverage of how to ensure professionalism and ethical behaviour in the people function. This book also includes discussion of organisation development and how high-performance work practices drive positive organisational and employee outcomes. This book also includes practical advice on key HR activities including recruitment, job design,and reward. Fully updated throughout, this book includes case studies to help students see how the theory applies in practice, reflective practice activities to help them think critically about the content and self-test their learning progress as well as 'explore further' boxes to encourage wider reading. Online resources include an instructor's manual, lecture slides, and sample essay questions.
Call Number: 658.3 REE
Publication Date: 2022
Human Resource Management by Taylor, S. and Woodhams, C.Human Resource Management: People and Organisations provides thorough coverage of key HR topics and their context to enable students to excel in their academic studies and begin a successful career as a people professional. Now fully updated for a third edition, Human Resource Management: People and Organisations covers everything from essential UK employment law and managing the employment relationship through to resourcing and workforce planning, employee engagement and reward management. There is also expert discussion on organisation design and development as well as advice on how to improve organisational performance. This edition now includes brand new chapters on people management in an international context, wellbeing at work and equity, diversity and inclusion This book is fully supported by a range of pedagogical features including learning outcomes to summarise the content that will be covered in each chapter and track progress, reflective activities to consolidate learning and further reading suggestions to aid wider engagement with areas of particular interest. Case studies throughout also help students understand how the theory applies in practice. It is ideal reading for anyone studying the CIPD Associate Diploma in People Management as well as those in the early stages of their career in HR.. Online resources include PowerPoint slides, a lecturer guide and annotated web links.
Call Number: TBC - on order
Publication Date: 2022
Human Resource Practice by Whiting,F.; Martin,M.Human Resource Practice is a practical and accessible guide for students and anyone looking to gain a thorough understanding of HR and is the definitive text for the CIPD's Level 3 Foundation Certificate in HR Practice.This book covers all the core areas of HR including recruitment and selection, performance management, reward and learning and development (L&D). It also provides students with the broader coverage of the business environment that they need to succeed including topics such as change management, organisational context and the legal background to employment.This fully updated 8th edition of Human Resource Practice now includes new coverage of the changing nature and demographic of the workforce, the continuing impact of technology and new developments that may be used. There is also coverage of the importance of data and people analytics to HR as well as an enhanced final chapter which includes additional material on working in a team, influencing skills and the importance of empathy, resilience and emotional intelligence. Reflective activities, case studies and explore further boxes throughout encourage students to think critically about the content and understand how it applies in practice in the workplace. Online resources include an instructor's manual, lecture slides and annotated web links.