Event Planning and Management by Dowson, R. ; Bassett, D.Event Planning and Management, second edition, is an ideal resource for those seeking a step by step formula to plan and deliver a successful event. With the vital balance of professional experience behind them, the authors teach the next generation of event planners with unrivalled knowledge, ensuring an effective event process from start to finish. This book delivers practical understanding of the theory and practice needed to activate each stage of planning, from initial venue selection, budgeting and programme content, to managing stakeholders and sponsors, promotion, risk assessment, safety and post-event evaluation. Fully revised, the second edition of Event Planning and Management expands on managing events on the day, and explores the PR and experiential marketing boom for live brand experiences. Including updated real-world case studies from around the globe, it also features an invaluable toolkit of templates, planning checklists and budget sheets. Accompanied by a host of downloadable resources, this book is the ideal end to end resource for both event planning modules and certifications, plus busy marketing and PR professionals facing the new wave of live brand and customer experiences.
Event Stakeholders by Getz, D.; Van Niekerk, M.This new text and reference focuses on stakeholder theory applied to event management and goes beyond traditional approaches by treating event management as an applied field. The book goes further than the economic impacts of events, and looks with a new perspective at issues such as-* The relationships between stakeholders and the consequences that such relationships create* An approach strongly rooted in management and the commonly-recognized management functions of planning, organizing, staffing, directing and controlling* Introducing throughout the relevant theory and showing how theory is being used in the events sectorThe book uses a wide range of relevant examples and case studies that will be relatable to the real world. Online resources will also be included, such as annotated bibliographies, lists of further readings and periodicals, and relevant websites. It will be an essential introduction for all events students and practitionersThe Events Management Theory and Methods Series examines the extent to which mainstream theory is being employed to develop event-specific theory, and to influence the very core practices of event management and event tourism. Each compact volume contains overviews of mainstream management theories and methods, examples from the events literature, case studies, and guidance on all aspects of planned-event management. They introduce the theory, show how it is being used in the events sector through a literature review, incorporate examples and case studies written by researchers and/or practitioners, and contain methods that can be used effectively in the real world. Series editor: Donald Getz.With online resource material, this mix-and-match collection is ideal for lecturers who need theoretical foundations and case studies for their classes, by students in need of reference works, by professionals wanting increased understanding alongside practical methods, and by agencies or associations that want their members and stakeholders to have access to a library of valuable resources.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Event Management for the Tourism and Hospitality Industries by Kolb, B.M.Event Management for the Tourism and Hospitality Industries provides a theoretical and practical approach to teach students of Tourism and Hospitality the basics of planning, managing and evaluating all types of events. Chapters cover skills such as visitor segmentation, product analysis, developing a budget, promotion and after-event assessment. Special emphasis is placed on critical issues now facing event managers such as environmental sustainability and awareness of cultural diversity, technology and community engagement. The reader will learn the necessity of connecting events with the community heritage and culture to provide the local, personalized experienced desired by visitors. Each chapter covers a unique step in the planning process and corresponds to a section of a detailed event plan outline found at the end of the book that can be submitted as a semester-long assignment. Making use of international case studies in every chapter, this book provides real-world examples to contextualize the information given. This will be essential reading for all Tourism and Hospitality students with an interest in Events Management and Design, and for practitioners employed in tour companies, cruise ships, destination management organizations and cultural festivals.
Events Management: an introduction by Bladen, C.; Kennell, J.; Abson, E.; Wilde, N.Contemporary events management is a diverse and challenging field. This introductory textbook fully explores the multidisciplinary nature of events management and provides the student with all the practical skills and professional knowledge they need in order to succeed in the events industry. It introduces every core functional area of events management, such as marketing, finance, project management, strategy, operations, event design and human resources, in a vast array of different event settings from sport to political events. This new edition has been updated to include: * New and updated content on developments in technology, risk management and event volunteering. * New and updated case studies that include emerging economies. * New industry voices by international practitioners. Every topic is brought to life through vivid case studies, personal biographies and examples of best practice from the real world of events management. Written by a team of authors with many years' experience of working in the events industry, Events Management: An Introduction is the essential course text for any events management programme.
Call Number: 394.2068 BLA + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Events Management by Bowdin, G.Events Management is the must-have introductory text providing a complete A-Z of the principles and practices of planning, managing and staging events. The book: introduces the concepts of event planning and management presents the study of events management within an academic environment discusses the key components for staging an event, covering the whole process from creation to evaluation examines the events industry within its broader business context, covering impacts and event tourism provides an effective guide for producers of events contains learning objectives and review questions to consolidate learning. Each chapter features a real-life case study to illustrate key concepts and place theory in a practical context, as well as preparing students to tackle any challenges they may face in managing events. Examples include the Beijing Olympic Games, Google Zeitgeist Conference, International Confex, Edinburgh International Festival, Ideal Home Show and Glastonbury Festival. Carefully constructed to maximise learning, the text provides the reader with: a systematic guide to organizing successful events, examining areas such as staging, logistics, marketing, human resource management, control and budgeting, risk management, impacts, evaluation and reporting fully revised and updated content including new chapters on sustainable development and events, perspectives on events, and expanded content on marketing, legal issues, risk and health and safety management a companion website for lecturers and students which includes PowerPoint slides, extra case studies and multiple choice questions to aid both teaching and learning.
Call Number: 394.2068 BOW + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Events Management: 87 Key Models by Edger, C..; Richard, E.O.This book is the essential text for all Events Management students. It is constructed around the authors' 6E's Event, Venue and Experience (EVE) Management Framework. It contains 87 key models (within the 6E's Framework) that all Events Management students will need to be successful in their studies, setting them up for a fantastic career in the fast-growing events industry. It broadens the definition of Events Managers, which the authors - in the new events paradigm - reframe as Event, Venue and Experience (EVE) Managers. Finally, it is authored by academics (Chris Edger and Richard Oddy) who, between them, have nearly fifty years' experience operating, teaching and writing within the leisure/events domain.
Call Number: 394.2068 EDG
Publication Date: 2018
Event Evaluation: Theory and Methods for Event Management and Tourism by Getz, D.This is the first textbook and reference work on evaluation intended for event management andevent tourism. Drawing upon generic evaluation theory and methods, event and tourism researchand real-world experiences, the author provides concepts and tools needed for the establishment of a comprehensive evaluation system and the implementation of varied evaluation projects.The strength of this book lies in its emphasis on evaluation foundations, both theoretical andmethodological, enabling the student and practitioner to adapt the evaluation process to manysituations using:*A range of tools from simple checklists to more advanced logic models;*Specific chapters devoted to the most challenging evaluation contexts: the visitor and theirexperience, quality and human resources;*A chapter devoted to exploring different evaluation challenges in the full range of plannedevents, including the tourism dimension;*An introduction of impact assessment.The Events Management Theory and Methods Series examines the extent to which mainstream theory is being employed to develop event-specific theory, and to influence the very core practices of event management and event tourism. Each compact volume contains overviews of mainstream management theories and methods, examples from the events literature, case studies, and guidance on all aspects of planned-event management. They introduce the theory, show how it is being used in the events sector through a literature review, incorporate examples and case studies written by researchers and/or practitioners, and contain methods that can be used effectively in the real world. Series editor: Donald Getz.With online resource material, this mix-and-match collection is ideal for lecturers who need theoretical foundations and case studies for their classes, by students in need of reference works, by professionals wanting increased understanding alongside practical methods, and by agencies or associations that want their members and stakeholders to have access to a library of valuable resources.
Call Number: 394.2068 GET
Publication Date: 2018
Event Impact Assessment by Getz, D.Impact assessment can be highly technical and complex, requiring a broad knowledge base and diverse skills, but like evaluation, it is a process fraught with philosophical, technical and political perils. Why is it done, by whom, and how, must be carefully planned. Impacts cannot always be 'proven', so the nature of evidence becomes critical. Accordingly, a strong theoretical base is needed by all IA practitioners.Whilst economic impacts have received a great deal of attention, with sufficient material available to guide all applications, for social, cultural and environmental IA the theory and practice has lagged. In the context of Triple Bottom Line, social responsibility and sustainability approaches most of the available literature is on normative goals (such as going green, meeting sustainability standards), the nature of positive and negative impacts (a descriptive approach or based on public input), or theory about how impacts occur; very little theory development or praxis has been directed at impact assessment for these applied fields.In response to this lack of information, Event Impact Assessment is the first text to: * Develop professionalism for IA and evaluation in these applied management fields.* Position impact assessment within sustainability and responsibility paradigms.* Recommend goals, methods and measures for planning, evaluation and impact assessment pertaining to events and tourism.* Encourage the adoption of standard methods and key performance indicators in evaluation and impact assessment in order to facilitate valid comparisons, benchmarking, reliable forecasts, transparency and accountability.* Provide concepts and models that can be adapted to diverse situations.* Connect readers to the research literature through use of Research Notes and provision of additional readings.This text also works well as a companion text to Event Evaluation: Theory and methods for event management and tourism. The Events Management Theory and Methods Series examines the extent to which mainstream theory is being employed to develop event-specific theory, and to influence the very core practices of event management and event tourism. Each compact volume contains overviews of mainstream management theories and methods, examples from the events literature, case studies, and guidance on all aspects of planned-event management. They introduce the theory, show how it is being used in the events sector through a literature review, incorporate examples and case studies written by researchers and/or practitioners, and contain methods that can be used effectively in the real world. Series editor: Donald Getz.With online resource material, this mix-and-match collection is ideal for lecturers who need theoretical foundations and case studies for their classes, by students in need of reference works, by professionals wanting increased understanding alongside practical methods, and by agencies or associations that want their members and stakeholders to have access to a library of valuable resources.
Call Number: 394.2068 GET
Publication Date: 2018
Event Studies by Getz, D.; Page, S.J.Event Studiesis the only book devoted to developing knowledge and theory about planned events. It focuses on event planning and management, outcomes, the experience of events and the meanings attached to them, the dynamic processes shaping events and why people attend them. This title draws from a large number of foundation disciplines and closely related professional fields, to foster interdisciplinary theory focused on planned events. It brings together important discourses on events including event management, event tourism, and the study of events within various disciplines that are able to shed light on the roles, importance and impacts of events in society and culture. New to this edition: New sections on social and intangible influences, consumer psychology and legal environment, planning and policy framework to reflect recent developments in the field Extended coverage of philosophy and research methods and how they can best be used in event studies; social media as a marketing tool; and the class and cultural influences of events New and additional case studies throughout the book from a wide range of international events Companion website to include PowerPoint slides and updated Instructor's Manual including suggested lecture outlines and sequence, quizzes per chapter and essay questions.
Call Number: 394.2 GET + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Event Sponsorship and Fundraising by Lunt, T.; Nicotra, E.Securing sponsorship and other sources of funding for events is becoming increasingly competitive, making differentiation and delivery vital. Event Sponsorship and Fundraising explores this complex area of event management, drawing on both experiential marketing and consumer behaviour theories, and developing critical insights on the dynamics of successful event sponsorship. Its coverage includes professional guidance on prospecting for sponsors, brand activation and evaluation, as well as advice on relationship management, proposal writing and pitching to potential sponsors. Event Sponsorship and Fundraising places each of these concepts at the heart of the Integrated Marketing Communications Mix, alongside cutting edge literature on the topic. Written by two highly experienced industry practitioners, both of which now teach on two of the UK's leading event management degree courses, and supported by a comprehensive set of online resources, this book is an invaluable go-to resource for event management students, tutors and professionals alike.
Call Number: 394.2068 LUN
Publication Date: 2018
The Experience Economy by Pine, B.J.; Gilmore, J.H.In 1999, Joseph Pine and James Gilmore offered this idea to readers as a new way to think about connecting with customers and securing their loyalty. As a result, their book The Experience Economy is now a classic, embraced by readers and companies worldwide and read in more than a dozen languages. And though the world has changed in many ways since then, the way to a customer's heart has not. In fact, the idea of staging experiences to leave a memorable--and lucrative--impression is now more relevant than ever. With an ongoing torrent of brands attacking consumers from all sides, how do you make yours stand out? Welcome to the new Experience Economy. With this fully updated edition of the book, Pine and Gilmore make an even stronger case that experience is the missing link between a company and its potential audience. It offers new rich examples--including the U.S. Army, Heineken Experience, Autostadt, Vinopolis, American Girl Place, and others--to show fresh approaches to scripting and staging compelling experiences, while staying true to the very real economic conditions of the day.
Call Number: 658.56 PIN + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Events Marketing Management by Reic, I.This textbook provides students with an essential introduction to the theoretical underpinnings and practicalities of managing the marketing of events. In order to market events effectively, it is vital to consider marketing of events from the organiser's perspective and to link it to that of the consumers attending events. As such, this is the first book on the topic which reflects the unique characteristics of marketing in the Events industry by exploring both sides of the marketing coin - the supply and the demand - in the specific context of events. The book takes the reader from core marketing mix principles to exploring the event marketing landscape to consumer experience and involvement with event marketing and finally strategies and tactics employed to manage the marketing activities related to events. The use of technology, importance of sponsorship and PR are also considered. International case studies are integrated throughout to show practical realities of marketing and managing events and a range of useful learning aids are incorporated to aid navigation throughout the book, spur critical thinking and further students' knowledge. This accessible and comprehensive account of Events Marketing and Management is essential reading for all students and future managers.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Introduction to Crowd Science by Still, G.K.Includes Case Studies from a Range of Event SitesIntroduction to Crowd Science examines the growing rate of crowd-related accidents and incidents around the world. Using tools, methods, and worked examples gleaned from over 20 years of experience, this text provides an understanding of crowd safety. It establishes how crowd accidents and incidents