The Business of Events Management by
Events Management 1e John Beech, Sebastian Kaiser and Robert Kaspar The Business of Events Management provides an accessible and lively introduction to the practice of managing an event, festival, conference or congress. Written by a team of international experts, the book incorporates the latest thinking in events management and highlights key theories, concepts and models by using a range of case studies and examples. This book will enable you to: Manage the financial aspects of events management Understand the impact of events on built and natural environments Explain the role of volunteers in an event and understand the challenges that managing them involves Understand the key issues in planning and designing a venue Each chapter features a real-life case study to illustrate key concepts and place theory in a practical context, as well as preparing students to tackle any challenges they may face in managing events. Case studies include the Edinburgh International Festival, the 2010 Winter Olympics and Indian Premier League Cricket.
Events MISmanagement by
Events MISmanagement is unique text as it looks at events from a very different perspective - that of how and why events fail and what can be learnt from this in both a practical and academic perspective. Using a wealth of international case studies and examples, the text examines:* Why events fail* What can we learn from event failure * How we can improve practice through learning about event failure * How events can be safer / risk adverse * How to reduce the chance of events failing * A wide range of international examples appealing to a wider audienceEach chapter is designed to explore different aspects of how and why events fail and what we can learn from these. Many events fail due to poor planning or human failure and this new text is aimed at understanding how to overcome these issues or reduce the likelihood of failure in the future. The volume provides a case study approach to the event planning process with the cases illustrating how core planning theory and concepts fails to emerge in practice and why. This provides a consistent thread throughout the entire text to link each chapter succinctly.
Events Management: 87 key models for event, venue and experience (EVE) managers by
This book is the essential text for all Events Management students. It is constructed around the authors' 6E's Event, Venue and Experience (EVE) Management Framework. It contains 87 key models (within the 6E's Framework) that all Events Management students will need to be successful in their studies, setting them up for a fantastic career in the fast-growing events industry. It broadens the definition of Events Managers, which the authors - in the new events paradigm - reframe as Event, Venue and Experience (EVE) Managers. Finally, it is authored by academics (Chris Edger and Richard Oddy) who, between them, have nearly fifty years' experience operating, teaching and writing within the leisure/events domain.
Event Studies by
Event Studies is the only book devoted to developing knowledge and theory about planned events. It focuses on event planning and management, outcomes, the experience of events and the meanings attached to them, the dynamic processes shaping events and why people attend them. This title draws from a large number of foundation disciplines and closely related professional fields to foster interdisciplinary theory focused on planned events. This revised edition has been updated to reflect and examine a number of substantial and important new ideas. New to the fourth edition: new sections on the evolution of design theory, management, planning and marketing theory applied to events, sensory stimulation, leadership, and the nature of crises and security issues; new content on critical event studies and what this means for research and practice, the life-cycle model for event programming, and an action plan for how events can be a positive force in sustainable cities; new and additional case studies from a wide range of international events, and reviews of the evolving theory of contemporary research in events studies are included throughout. This will be an invaluable resource for all undergraduate students of events studies throughout their degree programmes.
Applied Crowd Science by
Applied Crowd Science outlines the theory and applications of the crowd safety course that Keith Still has developed and taught worldwide for over thirty years. It includes the background and applications of the crowd risk assessment tools, as well as essays and case studies from international users (UK, Ireland, Canada, Australia, Holland, Belgium and Japan) -- see Support Material on www.routledge.com/9781138626560. Keith's courses are mandatory training for all UK Police Public Event Commanders. The text covers legislation and guidance for crowd safety in places of public assembly, and outlines the requirements of a crowd risk assessment for mass gatherings. It draws on Prof. Still's expert witness experience, highlighting both the problems you need to understand for your event planning.　
Introduction to Crowd Science by
Includes Case Studies from a Range of Event SitesIntroduction to Crowd Science examines the growing rate of crowd-related accidents and incidents around the world. Using tools, methods, and worked examples gleaned from over 20 years of experience, this text provides an understanding of crowd safety. It establishes how crowd accidents and incidents
Consult your subject guide for recommended journals.
Consult your subject guide for recommended websites.
Festival and Special Event Management by 
Strategic Management for Tourism, Hospitality and Events by
Strategic Management for Tourism, Hospitality and Events is the must-have text for students approaching this subject for the first time. It introduces students to fundamental strategic management principles in a Tourism, Hospitality and Events context and brings theory to life by integrating a host of industry-based case studies and examples throughout. Among the new features and topics included in this edition are: Extended coverage to Hospitality and Events to reflect the increasing need and importance of a combined sector approach to strategy New international Tourism, Hospitality and Events case studies from both SME#65533;s and large-scale businesses are integrated throughout to show applications of strategic management theory, such as objectives, products and markets and strategic implementation. Longer combined sector case studies are also included at the end of the book for seminar work. New content on emerging strategic issues affecting the tourism ,hospitality and events industries, such as innovation, employment, culture and sustainability Web Support for tutors and students providing explanation and guidelines for instructors on how to use the textbook and case studies, additional exercises, case studies and video links for students. This book is written in an accessible and engaging style and structured logically with useful features throughout to aid students#65533; learning and understanding. This book is an essential resource to Tourism, Hospitality and Events students.
Events Management by
Taking an explicit international approach to the subject, Events Management combines theory and practice to address the challenges and opportunities of working in a global world to help prepare students for the realities of the events management sector. Written by a high profile international team of editors and contributors, the text features cases spanning Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia and North America, and covers key topics and issues such as fundraising, sponsorship, globalization and sustainability. It also aims to bolster student employability through the inclusion of features such as practical asides and case studies to give students a window into the real life of a practitioner. Brand new to the third edition: - An in-depth examination of the implications of Covid-19 for international events, including sponsorship arrangements, risk management and future job prospects for events management graduates - Two brand new chapters covering developments in digital marketing and accessible events management - Case studies featuring India, Australia, Peru, Europe, UK and USA and covering events such as music festivals, Holi, Mardi Gras as well as mega events such as the Olympics - Updated theory about the critical global issues affecting events and the main drivers of change in the industry - A companion website featuring links to interactive learning resources, an Instructors manual for lecturers, events-related videos for fun additional educational viewing, and author-selected SAGE journal articles for advanced learning. Suitable for courses in Events Management and International Events Management.
Event Management for the Tourism and Hospitality Industries by
Event Management for the Tourism and Hospitality Industries provides a theoretical and practical approach to teach students of Tourism and Hospitality the basics of planning, managing and evaluating all types of events. Chapters cover skills such as visitor segmentation, product analysis, developing a budget, promotion and after-event assessment. Special emphasis is placed on critical issues now facing event managers such as environmental sustainability and awareness of cultural diversity, technology and community engagement. The reader will learn the necessity of connecting events with the community heritage and culture to provide the local, personalized experienced desired by visitors. Each chapter covers a unique step in the planning process and corresponds to a section of a detailed event plan outline found at the end of the book that can be submitted as a semester-long assignment. Making use of international case studies in every chapter, this book provides real-world examples to contextualize the information given. This will be essential reading for all Tourism and Hospitality students with an interest in Events Management and Design, and for practitioners employed in tour companies, cruise ships, destination management organizations and cultural festivals.
Technology and Events by
As the modern attendee has more access to knowledge and is infinitely more connected, technology has become crucial to enhancing the event experience. Successful use of technology can make an event more incredible, personal, pervasive, tangible and unforgettable and the modern event must engage, connect, interact and stimulate participation in ways that have until now not been possible. 'Technology and Events: organizing an engaging event' explores the use of technology to improve results on all kinds of events from initial planning stages right through to post event debriefing. In times of full communication where the individuals are on the front line of almost everything, this book provides all the solutions and tips on how to maximize the participation of your audience, cut costs and have better revenues from your events. This book is perfect for those seeking knowledge and a better understanding of how to effectively use technology to engage and connect attendees, sponsors, organizers, and suppliers. By clearly demonstrating how to increase profits and provide attendees with the tools to better interact and participate, it enables organizers to match their audience with the appropriate sponsor and ensure close communication. Divided into 2 sections Technology and Events looks firstly at the important concepts in the fields of events and technology and then moves on to describe and highlight successful applications and uses of technology in the events market. Fully supported with online tutor resources and up to date links for further reference. * Studies the evolution of the use of technology within the events industry throughout time; * Discusses the impact of technology on the events industry today, through real life case studies; * Identifies and foresees trends that may shape this industry in the near- and long-term future; * Contains international case studies, testimonials from industry experts and infographics to contextualise, illustrate and highlight key points and theories.
Special Event Production: the Process by
This must-have guide to special event production looks deep behind the scenes of an event and dissects what it is that creates success. It analyses the process - the planning and business aspects - to provide a unique guide to producing a variety of events from weddings to festivals. It explains thoroughly budgeting and resource concerns, planning and cost projections and the role of the well-crafted proposal. This new edition has been significantly updated to include: Three new chapters: Event Design, Information Technology and Sustainability and Event Production. Updated and new case studies from USA, Canada , India, Russia and Malaysia. New Industry Voice feature, including an interview with industry experts from around the world commenting on their experiences of event planning and production. New content on: technology, volunteers, venues and PR and marketing. Enhanced online resources including: PowerPoint lecture slides, checklists, glossaries, additional questions and challenges, web links, sample contract templates, production schedule templates, and evaluation forms. Incorporating pedagogical features, this easy-to-read book is packed with photographs, diagrams, flow charts, checklists, sample forms, and real-life examples. It steps through the whole process from the creativity and proposal at the outset, to budgeting, the contract and risk management with event follow up to conclude. A must have resource for event planners, managers, caterers and students. This text is part two of a two book set - also available is Special Events Production: The Resources (978-1-138-78567-0). This book offers an in - depth guide to the technical aspects of a big event such as lighting and audio systems, visual presentation technology, special effects and temporary outdoor venues.
Crowd Management by
This is the first text to present a system for crowd management which integrates security with the other concerns for the health and safety for crowds, looking at the theories and practices of the management processes, plans, monitoring and evaluation of crowds. The management of crowds in events and festivals is extremely complex as such situations are unpredictable. Whilst traditional planning is initially used, a fixed plan only works when the crowd is compliant. Every event management team now needs to understand the complexity, the decisions under uncertainty and the long tail risks in order to successfully plan and maintain optimum crowd safety.Structured into four sections (Risk, Management, Security and Health) with templates, explanation points and case studies throughout, each of the sections is written by experts who have global experience in their field of excellence.By William O'Toole, Events Management Specialist, Sydney, Australia with Dr Stephen Luke (Health) Senior Registrar, Team Rubicon Australia College of Intensive Care Medicine, Australia, Peter Ashwin (Security) Principal, Event Risk Management Solutions LLC, Idaho, USA, Dr Jason Brown (Risk) National Security Director, Thales Australia & New Zealand, and Andrew Tatrai (Crowds) Chairman (Non-Executive Director), Australian Concert and Entertainment SecurityThe Events Management Theory and Methods Series examines the extent to which mainstream theory is being employed to develop event-specific theory, and to influence the very core practices of event management and event tourism. Each compact volume contains overviews of mainstream management theories and methods, examples from the events literature, case studies, and guidance on all aspects of planned-event management. They introduce the theory, show how it is being used in the events sector through a literature review, incorporate examples and case studies written by researchers and/or practitioners, and contain methods that can be used effectively in the real world. Series editor: Donald Getz.With online resource material, this mix-and-match collection is ideal for lecturers who need theoretical foundations and case studies for their classes, by students in need of reference works, by professionals wanting increased understanding alongside practical methods, and by agencies or associations that want their members and stakeholders to have access to a library of valuable resources.
Risk and Hazard management for festivals and events by 