Welcome to your Introduction to Heritage and Visitor Attraction Management reading list. Here you will find resources selected by your course team to support you throughout this module.
Events Management: 87 key models for event, venue and experience (EVE) managers by Edger; C.; Oddy, R.E.This book is the essential text for all Events Management students. It is constructed around the authors' 6E's Event, Venue and Experience (EVE) Management Framework. It contains 87 key models (within the 6E's Framework) that all Events Management students will need to be successful in their studies, setting them up for a fantastic career in the fast-growing events industry. It broadens the definition of Events Managers, which the authors - in the new events paradigm - reframe as Event, Venue and Experience (EVE) Managers. Finally, it is authored by academics (Chris Edger and Richard Oddy) who, between them, have nearly fifty years' experience operating, teaching and writing within the leisure/events domain.
Call Number: 394.2068 EDG
Publication Date: 2018
A Practical Guide to Managing Tourist Experiences by Isabelle FrochotThis book provides students with a concise and practical guide that presents key understandings of the tourist experience and provides strategic guidance on how to develop an impactful and memorable experience. Chapters follow the path of the tourist journey, firstly exploring consumer behaviour, the decision-making process and the tourist's need for escape, and providing insights into the strategic implications of consumer behaviour and the concept of immersion in tourism. Subsequent chapters look at the impact of experiences; consider trends in tourism experience such as wellness, sustainability, authenticity and fantasy; and provide experience design models. The final chapter offers a unique ten-step approach to designing impactful and memorable tourist experiences. Highly practical and engaging, this book is packed full of case studies and examples, from forest bathing in Finland to truffle hunting in Italy, as well as tools and exercises to guide the design process. This book offers students a full understanding of how the experience is lived from the tourist perspective, how tourism providers can manage that process and how to develop successful experimental marketing interventions. This is essential reading for all tourism students and future tourism managers.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2021
Managing Visitor Attractions by Alan Fyall (Editor); Brian Garrod (Editor); Anna Leask (Editor); Stephen Wanhill (Editor)Visitor attractions represent a complex sector of the tourism industry and are the catalytic focus for the development of tourism infrastructure and services. The third edition of this successful text investigates these issues further and provides more solutions and suggestions for the present and future. Now in its third edition, Managing Visitor Attractions has been fully revised and updated to include new content on increased visitor numbers, new destinations and attractions, social media, overtourism, environmental awareness and the experience economy. The book includes case studies on topics such as overtourism at natural attraction sites, new attraction development in Egypt, dark tourism in Latin America, dementia-friendly attractions, and manging sporting venues as attractions. New chapters include the role of the visitor attraction manager, managing safety and risk, themed attractions and storytelling, and digital marketing, among many others. With contributions from around the world, this is an essential text for undergraduate and postgraduate students of visitor attraction management, written by subject specialists with a wealth of experience in this field.
Event Management for the Tourism and Hospitality Industries by Bonita M. KolbEvent Management for the Tourism and Hospitality Industries provides a theoretical and practical approach to teach students of Tourism and Hospitality the basics of planning, managing and evaluating all types of events. Chapters cover skills such as visitor segmentation, product analysis, developing a budget, promotion and after-event assessment. Special emphasis is placed on critical issues now facing event managers such as environmental sustainability and awareness of cultural diversity, technology and community engagement. The reader will learn the necessity of connecting events with the community heritage and culture to provide the local, personalized experienced desired by visitors. Each chapter covers a unique step in the planning process and corresponds to a section of a detailed event plan outline found at the end of the book that can be submitted as a semester-long assignment. Making use of international case studies in every chapter, this book provides real-world examples to contextualize the information given. This will be essential reading for all Tourism and Hospitality students with an interest in Events Management and Design, and for practitioners employed in tour companies, cruise ships, destination management organizations and cultural festivals.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2021
Events Marketing Management by Ivna ReicThis textbook provides students with an essential introduction to the theoretical underpinnings and practicalities of managing the marketing of events. In order to market events effectively, it is vital to consider marketing of events from the organiser's perspective and to link it to that of the consumers attending events. As such, this is the first book on the topic which reflects the unique characteristics of marketing in the Events industry by exploring both sides of the marketing coin - the supply and the demand - in the specific context of events. The book takes the reader from core marketing mix principles to exploring the event marketing landscape to consumer experience and involvement with event marketing and finally strategies and tactics employed to manage the marketing activities related to events. The use of technology, importance of sponsorship and PR are also considered. International case studies are integrated throughout to show practical realities of marketing and managing events and a range of useful learning aids are incorporated to aid navigation throughout the book, spur critical thinking and further students' knowledge. This accessible and comprehensive account of Events Marketing and Management is essential reading for all students and future managers.
Call Number: 394.2068 REI + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Visitor Attractions and Events by Adi Weidenfeld; Richard Butler; Allan M. WilliamsBoth visitor attractions and events play pivotal roles in the appeal of tourism destination regions to visitors by virtue of being the main motivator of tourist trips and determining consumers' choices. However, more recently visitor attractions have become more multifaceted, have proliferated and fragmented in terms of form, location, scale and style, and their role is undergoing major changes in a post-modern world as a result of consumer demands and competitive innovations. Visitor Attractions and Events for the first time theoretically and empirically explores the relations between events and attractions to offer new thinking of the role of space and place in shaping development, management practices and strategies in the sector as well as future implications. The book reveals how location is pivotal in the development, planning, and management of visitor attractions and events. Whereas the location of natural attractions is relatively fixed in space and their locations cannot be predetermined or relocated, human-made or contrived attractions are more influenced by the planning process in the context of the locational decision-making process. Competition and cooperation between visitor attractions and the aspects which shape these relations, including complementarities, compatibility, knowledge spill overs and diffusion of innovations, product similarities and spatial proximity remain largely ignored in the visitor attraction sector and thus are major elements in the focus of this book. Comparative examples ranging from small to major attractions in a wide variety of locations are included. This significant volume will appeal widely to all those interested in the visitor sector, such as tourism, events, leisure studies, destination management and sociology.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
The Business of Events Management by John Beech; Sebastian Kaiser; Robert KasparThe Business of Events Management provides an accessible and lively introduction to the practice of managing an event, festival, conference or congress. Written by a team of international experts, the book incorporates the latest thinking in events management and highlights key theories, concepts and models by using a range of case studies and examples. This book will enable you to: Manage the financial aspects of events management Understand the impact of events on built and natural environments Explain the role of volunteers in an event and understand the challenges that managing them involves Understand the key issues in planning and designing a venue Each chapter features a real-life case study to illustrate key concepts and place theory in a practical context, as well as preparing students to tackle any challenges they may face in managing events. Case studies include the Edinburgh International Festival, the 2010 Winter Olympics and Indian Premier League Cricket.
Call Number: 394.2 BEE + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Winning Meetings and Events for Your Venue by Rob Davidson; Anthony HydeMeetings and events are a major source of revenue for the venues that host them. But competition to win meetings and events is growing fast as new venues, large and small, are opening up all over the world and existing venues are expanding, refurbishing and modernizing their offer in order to increase their share of this lucrative market.However, in properties ranging from conference centres and hotels to universities and unusual venues such as museums and tourist attractions, busy sales and marketing staff often struggle to keep up to date with the many tools and techniques that can help them bring business to their meeting rooms. New staff in particular often feel the need for a structured, comprehensive guide to sources of business for their venue as well as detailed instruction on the most effective ways of winning meetings and events to fill their meetings spaces and create loyal customers.Winning Meetings and Events for Your Venue is the solution to these issues. It provides a clear and comprehensive guide to the wide range of techniques required by sales and marketing staff to effectively win meetings and events business for their venue. An easy-to read manual setting out the most useful and relevant techniques in a coherent and logical manner, it includes:* Guidance on key tools and techniques from traditional face-to-face selling and negotiating skills and the use of social media to site inspections and exhibiting at trade shows.* Case studies of transferable best practice in this field, drawn from a wide range of venues of all sizes in the UK and overseas. * Advice from experienced sales and marketing venue managers, demonstrating original ideas that really work - and explaining why they work. * Checklists at the end of each chapter summarizing key points and also a short quiz for the reader, to check their level of understanding of the chapter's content.Rob Davidson is a Senior Lecturer at University of Greenwich Business School. He is a respected academic in the meetings and events field, and the accomplished author of seven books and a great many reports on trends and developments in the global meetings industry. He has experience of training venue sales and marketing staff both in the UK and overseas. Indeed, it was his experience of running these training courses that led to the realization that there was a vast untapped market for a manual on this subject.Anthony Hyde is the General Manager - Business Events at the highly-successful Barbican venue in the City of London. He is responsible for the commercial sales, marketing and PR, event management and technical production for conferences, banqueting, exhibitions and corporate hospitality. He has 15 years' experience in meetings and events sales within multi-purpose venues, and is widely recognized in the UK and beyond for his work with MPI - Meetings Professionals International, one of the principal global professional associations for the meetings industry. He was UK President of MPI's UK and Ireland Chapter during 2009/10.
Event Studies by Donald Getz; Stephen J. PageEvent Studies is the only book devoted to developing knowledge and theory about planned events. It focuses on event planning and management, outcomes, the experience of events and the meanings attached to them, the dynamic processes shaping events and why people attend them. This title draws from a large number of foundation disciplines and closely related professional fields to foster interdisciplinary theory focused on planned events. This revised edition has been updated to reflect and examine a number of substantial and important new ideas. New to the fourth edition: new sections on the evolution of design theory, management, planning and marketing theory applied to events, sensory stimulation, leadership, and the nature of crises and security issues; new content on critical event studies and what this means for research and practice, the life-cycle model for event programming, and an action plan for how events can be a positive force in sustainable cities; new and additional case studies from a wide range of international events, and reviews of the evolving theory of contemporary research in events studies are included throughout. This will be an invaluable resource for all undergraduate students of events studies throughout their degree programmes.
Strategic Management for Hospitality and Tourism by Okumus, F.; Altinay, L.;Chathoth K.P.Strategic Management for Hospitality and Tourism is a vital text for all those studying cutting edge theories and views on strategic management. Unlike others textbooks in this area, it goes further than merely contextualizing strategic management for hospitality and tourism, and avoids using a prescriptive, or descriptive approach. It looks instead, at the latest in strategic thinking and theories, and provides critical and analytical discussion as to how and if these models and theories can be applied to the industry, within specific contexts such as culture, profit and non-profit organizations. This title also provides online support material for tutors and students, in the form ofnbsp; PowerPoint presentations, extra case studies, additional exercises and web links to aid both teaching and learning.
Attracting Attention by Andi SteinFrom theme parks and museums to zoos and aquariums, attractions draw millions of visitors each year. Regardless of type, they all share one common denominator - they are intended to provide visitors with memorable experiences. This book offers information about how to promote and market tourism attractions for maximum results. It looks at different approaches, strategies, tools, and techniques marketers can use when promoting their organizations to the public. Topics include advertising and marketing; media relations; social media marketing; sales promotion and merchandising; special events; guest relations and customer service; employee relations; crisis communications; and social responsibility and sustainability. In addition, it includes a variety of examples from attractions that have implemented successful promotion and marketing activities. Whether in the form of a news story, television commercial, brochure, website, Facebook posting, or special event, promotion and marketing have the potential to show customers the possibilities that await them. This book addresses the many different ways to reach this potential. It explains how to make the most of promotion and marketing to bring people into an attraction and keep them coming back for more. Attracting Attention offers valuable information for practitioners and for students enrolled in tourism, hospitality management, marketing, and communications programs. It is a handy resource for those working for attractions and tourism-related organizations.
Call Number: 910.688 STE
Publication Date: 2015
Development and Management of Visitor Attractions by John Swarbrooke; Stephen J. PageNow in its second edition, the successful 'Development and Management of Visitor Attractions' has been fully revised and updated to cover the latest issues in this ever-changing area of tourism. New features/topics include: * The Millennium Dome * National Lottery funded projects * International case studies * Updated statistics and examples The author examines the factors that contribute to the success of visitor attractions. 'The Development and Management of Visitor Attractions' 2nd Edition, covers every aspect of the process of developing and managing different kinds of attractions. Theories explored throughout the text are illustrated through a range of examples and case studies drawn from a number of countries.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2002
Strategy for Tourism by Tribe, J.An internationally focused text which explains strategic management, analysis and implementation specifically in the tourism industry. Fully revised and updated, this second edition covers strategic management in a variety of tourism contexts.