Critical Thinking Skills by Cottrell, S.Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels. New to this Edition: - Brand new chapter on critical thinking and employability - Includes a wider range of examples to highlight the variety of contexts in which critical thinking can be used - Coverage of both academic and professional forms of critical writing
Call Number: STSK 370.152 COT
Publication Date: 2017
Events Management: 87 Key Models by Edger, C..; Richard, E.O.This book is the essential text for all Events Management students. It is constructed around the authors' 6E's Event, Venue and Experience (EVE) Management Framework. It contains 87 key models (within the 6E's Framework) that all Events Management students will need to be successful in their studies, setting them up for a fantastic career in the fast-growing events industry. It broadens the definition of Events Managers, which the authors - in the new events paradigm - reframe as Event, Venue and Experience (EVE) Managers. Finally, it is authored by academics (Chris Edger and Richard Oddy) who, between them, have nearly fifty years' experience operating, teaching and writing within the leisure/events domain.
Marketing 4.0 by Kotler, P.; Kartajaya, H.; Setiawan, I.Marketing has changed forever--this is what comes next Marketing 4.0: Moving from Traditional to Digital is the much-needed handbook for next-generation marketing. Written by the world's leading marketing authorities, this book helps you navigate the increasingly connected world and changing consumer landscape to reach more customers, more effectively. Today's customers have less time and attention to devote to your brand--and they are surrounded by alternatives every step of the way. You need to stand up, get their attention, and deliver the message they want to hear. This book examines the marketplace's shifting power dynamics, the paradoxes wrought by connectivity, and the increasing sub-culture splintering that will shape tomorrow's consumer; this foundation shows why Marketing 4.0 is becoming imperative for productivity, and this book shows you how to apply it to your brand today. Marketing 4.0 takes advantage of the shifting consumer mood to reach more customers and engage them more fully than ever before. Exploit the changes that are tripping up traditional approaches, and make them an integral part of your methodology. This book gives you the world-class insight you need to make it happen. Discover the new rules of marketing Stand out and create WOW moments Build a loyal and vocal customer base Learn who will shape the future of customer choice Every few years brings a "new" marketing movement, but experienced marketers know that this time its different; it's not just the rules that have changed, it's the customers themselves. Marketing 4.0 provides a solid framework based on a real-world vision of the consumer as they are today, and as they will be tomorrow. Marketing 4.0 gives you the edge you need to reach them more effectively than ever before.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Understanding Work-Based Learning by Mumford, J.; Roodhouse, S.This important book is for anyone who wants to make the most of work-based learning: employees, employers, educationalists, policy makers and researchers. It sheds light on ways of giving full-time employees the chance to take up learning opportunities which are of the same level and rigour as those on offer to the full time student. It approaches the subject from the perspective of the learner, drawing on case studies to provide detailed insight. It suggests that universities already have in place much of the machinery needed to support learners who are in work: they just don't make enough use of it. Look closely and you will find a substantial legacy of this kind of activity by universities. This is a book about seizing opportunities. In one volume, Understanding Work-Based Learning makes a valuable contribution to current employer engagement and learner demand debates, and provides first hand learner experiences to guide existing and potential work based learners, employers, educationalists, policy makers, and researchers.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Tourism, 2nd edn by Robinson, P., Lück, M., Smith, S. LJFully revised, Tourism, 2nd edition covers aspects of tourism from a modern perspective, providing students with a range of theoretical and research-based explanations, supported by examples, case studies and unique insights from industry representatives. The many facets of tourism management are presented in a style that is as relevant for 1st year students as it is for postgraduates. The text offers introductory definitions and detailed discussions of contemporary issues that recognize current teaching practice around the world. Covering topics such as policy and planning, heritage management, leisure management, event management and hospitality management, the book tackles the practical elements of academic tourism such as infrastructure management and economic development, together with other important contemporary issues such as sustainable development and post-tourists. This new edition also features: · Updated and new contemporary case studies, including countries such as Egypt, Croatia and The Philippines · New material on · tourism and sustainability including the SDGs · Unions in the travel and tourism sectors · Gender issues in travel and tourism · Augmented reality and robots · Prosumption and co-creation · Contributions from professionals working in the tourism industry for a real-world perspective · A fresh new layout and full colour text and figures that make it easy to locate information and aid learning · Links to new video material throughout, which provide easy access to additional content for further study This will be an essential text for all students of travel and tourism at all levels of study.
Reflective Writing by Williams, K.; Woolliams, M.; Spiro, J.Packed with practical advice, this concise guide explains what reflective writing is and how to approach it. It equips students with all the key information and strategies they need to develop an appropriate reflective writing style, whatever their subject area. Annotated examples from a range of disciplines and contexts show students how to put these tips into practice. It concludes with a section on applying reflective practices to personal development and career planning. This handy guide is an indispensable resource for students of all disciplines and levels, who are required to develop and demonstrate reflective qualities in their work. It will be particularly useful to students writing reflective logs on placements.
Events Management: an introduction by Bladen, C.; Kennell, J.; Abson, E.; Wilde, N.Contemporary events management is a diverse and challenging field. This introductory textbook fully explores the multidisciplinary nature of events management and provides the student with all the practical skills and professional knowledge they need in order to succeed in the events industry. It introduces every core functional area of events management, such as marketing, finance, project management, strategy, operations, event design and human resources, in a vast array of different event settings from sport to political events. This new edition has been updated to include: * New and updated content on developments in technology, risk management and event volunteering. * New and updated case studies that include emerging economies. * New industry voices by international practitioners. Every topic is brought to life through vivid case studies, personal biographies and examples of best practice from the real world of events management. Written by a team of authors with many years' experience of working in the events industry, Events Management: An Introduction is the essential course text for any events management programme.
The Business of Tourism by Holloway, J.C.; Humphreys. C.Tourism as an industry is constantly evolving. Trends and attitudes are susceptible to changes in what people look for in a holiday, which can change within different economic contexts; generational shifts; the political landscape; and most recently, the Covid-19 global pandemic. This popular and comprehensive textbook helps students to not only understand these changes but study them with a critical mindset and historical perspective, desirable for success in assessments. The text also continues to retain its focus on 'business' and the operational aspects of tourism, making it especially useful for students considering a career and/or short term placement in the tourism industry. This 12th edition of The Business of Tourism includes updates to take in changes to the tourism industry and consumption behaviours as a result of: Brexit (the UK's decision to leave the European Union) the pandemic and its impacts on nature; the operation of attractions; event tourism; hotel chains; transport; and governmental support Sustainability and the reduction of the negative impacts caused by tourism Chris Holloway was a former Professor of Tourism Management at the University of the West of England. Claire Humphreys is a former Head of Department and Principal Lecturer at the University of Westminster.