Information Warfare and Security by
This is a comprehensive and detailed view of information warfare. It presents methods, laws, and case examples stressing actual incidents to illustrate such instances. What individuals, corporations, and governments need to know about information-related attacks and defenses Every day, we hear reports of hackers who have penetrated computer networks, vandalized Web pages, and accessed sensitive information. We hear how they have tampered with medical records, disrupted emergency 911 systems, and siphoned money from bank accounts. Could information terrorists, using nothing more than a personal computer, cause planes to crash, widespread power blackouts, or financial chaos? Such real and imaginary scenarios, and our defense against them, are the stuff of information warfare-operations that target or exploit information media to win some objective over an adversary. Dorothy E. Denning, a pioneer in computer security, provides in this book a framework for understanding and dealing with information-based threats: computer break-ins, fraud, sabotage, espionage, piracy, identity theft, invasions of privacy, and electronic warfare. She describes these attacks with astonishing, real examples, as in her analysis of information warfare operations during the Gulf War. Then, offering sound advice for security practices and policies, she explains countermeasures that are both possible and necessary.
The Information Systems Security Officer's Guide by
The Information Systems Security Officer's Guide: Establishing and Managing a Cyber Security Program, Third Edition, provides users with information on how to combat the ever-changing myriad of threats security professionals face. This entirely updated edition presents practical advice on establishing, managing, and evaluating a successful information protection program in a corporation or government agency, covering everything from effective communication to career guidance for the information security officer. The book outlines how to implement a new plan or evaluate an existing one, and is especially targeted to those who are new to the topic. It is the definitive resource for learning the key characteristics of an effective information systems security officer (ISSO), and paints a comprehensive portrait of an ISSO's duties, their challenges, and working environments, from handling new technologies and threats, to performing information security duties in a national security environment. Provides updated chapters that reflect the latest technological changes and advances in countering the latest information security threats and risks and how they relate to corporate security and crime investigation Includes new topics, such as forensics labs and information warfare, as well as how to liaison with attorneys, law enforcement, and other agencies others outside the organization Written in an accessible, easy-to-read style
Threat Modeling by
The only security book to be chosen as a Dr. Dobbs Jolt Award Finalist since Bruce Schneier's Secrets and Lies and Applied Cryptography! Adam Shostack is responsible for security development lifecycle threat modeling at Microsoft and is one of a handful of threat modeling experts in the world. Now, he is sharing his considerable expertise into this unique book. With pages of specific actionable advice, he details how to build better security into the design of systems, software, or services from the outset. You'll explore various threat modeling approaches, find out how to test your designs against threats, and learn effective ways to address threats that have been validated at Microsoft and other top companies. Systems security managers, you'll find tools and a framework for structured thinking about what can go wrong. Software developers, you'll appreciate the jargon-free and accessible introduction to this essential skill. Security professionals, you'll learn to discern changing threats and discover the easiest ways to adopt a structured approach to threat modeling. Provides a unique how-to for security and software developers who need to design secure products and systems and test their designs Explains how to threat model and explores various threat modeling approaches, such as asset-centric, attacker-centric and software-centric Provides effective approaches and techniques that have been proven at Microsoft and elsewhere Offers actionable how-to advice not tied to any specific software, operating system, or programming language Authored by a Microsoft professional who is one of the most prominent threat modeling experts in the world As more software is delivered on the Internet or operates on Internet-connected devices, the design of secure software is absolutely critical. Make sure you're ready with Threat Modeling: Designing for Security.
Cybersecurity and Cyberwar by
A generation ago, "cyberspace" was just a term from science fiction, used to describe the nascent network of computers linking a few university labs. Today, our entire modern way of life, from communication to commerce to conflict, fundamentally depends on the Internet. And the cybersecurity issues that result challenge literally everyone: politicians wrestling with everything from cybercrime to online freedom; generals protecting the nation from new forms of attack, while planning new cyberwars; business executives defending firms from once unimaginable threats, and looking to make money off of them; lawyers and ethicists building new frameworks for right and wrong. Most of all, cybersecurity issues affect us as individuals. We face new questions in everything from our rights and responsibilities as citizens of both the online and real world to simply how to protect ourselves and our families from a new type of danger. And yet, there is perhaps no issue that has grown so important, so quickly, and that touches so many, that remains so poorly understood. In Cybersecurity and CyberWar: What Everyone Needs to Know®, New York Times best-selling author P. W. Singer and noted cyber expert Allan Friedman team up to provide the kind of easy-to-read, yet deeply informative resource book that has been missing on this crucial issue of 21st century life. Written in a lively, accessible style, filled with engaging stories and illustrative anecdotes, the book is structured around the key question areas of cyberspace and its security: how it all works, why it all matters, and what can we do? Along the way, they take readers on a tour of the important (and entertaining) issues and characters of cybersecurity, from the "Anonymous" hacker group and the Stuxnet computer virus to the new cyber units of the Chinese and U.S. militaries. Cybersecurity and CyberWar: What Everyone Needs to Know® is the definitive account on the subject for us all, which comes not a moment too soon. What Everyone Needs to Know® is a registered trademark of Oxford University Press.
Handbook of System Safety and Security by
Handbook of System Safety and Security: Cyber Risk and Risk Management, Cyber Security, Adversary Modeling, Threat Analysis, Business of Safety, Functional Safety, Software Systems, and Cyber Physical Systems presents an update on the world's increasing adoption of computer-enabled products and the essential services they provide to our daily lives. The tailoring of these products and services to our personal preferences is expected and made possible by intelligence that is enabled by communication between them. Ensuring that the systems of these connected products operate safely, without creating hazards to us and those around us, is the focus of this book, which presents the central topics of current research and practice in systems safety and security as it relates to applications within transportation, energy, and the medical sciences. Each chapter is authored by one of the leading contributors to the current research and development on the topic. The perspective of this book is unique, as it takes the two topics, systems safety and systems security, as inextricably intertwined. Each is driven by concern about the hazards associated with a system's performance. Presents the most current and leading edge research on system safety and security, featuring a panel of top experts in the field Includes several research advancements published for the first time, including the use of 'goal structured notation' together with a 'judgment calculus' and their automation as a 'rule set' to facilitate systems safety and systems security process execution in compliance with existing standards Presents for the first time the latest research in the field with the unique perspective that systems safety and systems security are inextricably intertwined Includes coverage of systems architecture, cyber physical systems, tradeoffs between safety, security, and performance, as well as the current methodologies and technologies and implantation practices for system safety and security
Risk Analysis and Security Countermeasure Selection by
This new edition of Risk Analysis and Security Countermeasure Selection presents updated case studies and introduces existing and new methodologies and technologies for addressing existing and future threats. It covers risk analysis methodologies approved by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security and shows how to apply them to other organizations