JavaScript and JQuery by
Expert techniques to make your websites more interactive and engaging In JavaScript and jQuery: Interactive Front-End Development, best-selling author Jon Duckett delivers a fully illustrated guide to making your websites more interactive and your interfaces more interesting and intuitive. In the book, you'll explore basic programming concepts that assume no prior knowledge of programming beyond an ability to create a web page using HTML & CSS. You'll use core elements of the JavaScript language so you can learn how to write your own scripts from scratch, as well as jQuery, which will allow you to simplify the process of writing scripts (this is introduced half-way through the book once you have a solid understanding of JavaScript). You'll also learn to recreate techniques you have seen on other web sites such as sliders, content filters, form validation, Ajax content updates, and much more. Each chapter: Breaks subjects down into bite-sized chunks with a new topic on each page Contains clear descriptions of syntax, each one demonstrated with illustrative code samples Uses diagrams and photography to explain complex concepts in a visual way By the end of the book, not only will you be able to use the thousands of scripts, JavaScript APIs, and jQuery plugins that are freely available on the web - and be able to customize them - you will also be able to create your own scripts from scratch.
WordPress: the Missing Manual by
Whether you're a budding blogger or seasoned web designer, WordPress is a brilliant tool for creating websites--once you know how to tap into its impressive features. The latest edition of this jargon-free Missing Manual shows you how to use WordPress's themes, widgets, and plug-ins to build just about any kind of site. The important stuff you need to know: Set up WordPress. Configure WordPress on your web host or get it running on your home computer. Create your site. Get hands-on instructions for building all types of websites, from blogs to business sites with ecommerce features. Jazz it up. Add picture galleries, slideshows, video clips, music players, and podcasts. Add features. Select from thousands of plug-ins to enhance your site's capabilities, from contact forms to a basic shopping cart. Build a truly unique site. Customize a WordPress theme to create a site that looks exactly the way you want. Attract an audience. Use SEO, site statistics, and social sharing to reach more people. Stay safe. Use backup and staging tools to protect your content and avoid catastrophe.
HTML, CSS and JavaScript in Easy Steps by
HTML, CSS & JavaScript in easy steps instructs the reader on each of the three coding languages that are used to create modern web pages: HyperText Markup Language (HTML) tags are used to control the structure of web page content; Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) rules are used to determine how web page content appears; and JavaScript functions are used to provide web page interactivity. HTML, CSS & JavaScript in easy steps contains examples and screenshots that illustrate each feature of all three coding languages. You'll learn how to create web pages to display text, images, lists, tables, hyperlinks, forms, audio, and video. Each chapter builds your knowledge so by the end of the book you'll have gained a sound understanding of HTML markup, CSS rules, and JavaScript functions. HTML, CSS & JavaScript in easy steps has an easy-to-follow style that will appeal to anyone who wants to create great functional web pages. It will appeal to programmers who want to quickly add web page coding to their skills set, and to the student who is studying website design at school or college, and to those seeking a career in web development.
CSS in Easy Steps by
CSS in easy steps, 4th edition has an easy-to-follow style that will appeal to anyone who wants to begin creating stylish web pages. It begins by explaining how Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) can determine the presentation of elements within HTML documents. Examples show how style sheet rules can control content position and appearance, and provide dynamic effects with animation, transformations, and transitions. You will also learn how to design responsive web pages that look great viewed on any device. Each chapter builds your knowledge of style sheets. By the end of this book you will have gained a sound understanding of CSS and be able to create your own exciting interactive web pages. CSS in easy steps, 4th edition contains examples that provide clear syntax-highlighted code showing how to selectively style elements of an HTML document and how to endow elements with interactive functionality, to illustrate each aspect of CSS. CSS in easy steps, 4th edition has an easy-to-follow style that will appeal to anyone who wants to begin creating stylish web pages. It will appeal to programmers who want to quickly learn the latest style sheet techniques, and to the student who is studying website design at school or college, and to those seeking a career in web development who need a thorough understanding of CSS. begins by explaining how Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) can determine the presentation of elements within HTML documents. Examples show how style sheet rules can control content position and appearance, and provide dynamic effects with animation, transformations, and transitions. You will also learn how to design responsive web pages that look great viewed on any device. Each chapter builds your knowledge of style sheets. By the end of this book you will have gained a sound understanding of CSS and be able to create your own exciting interactive web pages. CSS in easy steps, 4th edition contains examples that provide clear syntax-highlighted code showing how to selectively style elements of an HTML document and how to endow elements with interactive functionality, to illustrate each aspect of CSS. CSS in easy steps, 4th edition will appeal to programmers who want to quickly learn the latest style sheet techniques, and to the student who is studying website design at school or college, and to those seeking a career in web development who need a thorough understanding of CSS.
WordPress for Beginners 2021 by
Master WordPress using our proven step-by-step visual approach (over 330 screenshots). This book is a major new release for 2021, covering the latest version of WordPress. If major changes do occur to WordPress during 2021, you can visit our updates web page for details, so you can always be up to date. Building a beautiful, professional-looking WordPress website (or a blog) is no longer the computer geeks'' domain. WordPress makes it possible for anyone to create and run a website that looks great on any device - PC, Mac, tablet, and phone. Whether you want to build a business site, an affiliate site, a hobby site, or a blog, WordPress is a great choice, and this book shows you how. The primary goal of this book is to take anyone, even an absolute beginner, from zero to WordPress "guru" in a few short hours. Inside this book, veteran WordPress expert Andy Williams will start at the very beginning. You''ll learn essential topics like: * The two different versions of WordPress. * How to set up web hosting and domain registrar the correct way. * Installing WordPress. * A Dashboard overview. * Cleaning out the stuff that is installed by default. * Finding and installing WordPress themes to change the look and feel of your website instantly. * Plugins. What they are and how they can add fabulous features to your site. * How to update WordPress, themes, and plugins. * Understand every single setting. You can use our suggested defaults. * How to find and use the RSS feeds to help search engines find your content. * Importance of user-profiles and assigning an image (Gravatar) to your email address. * Creating great navigation systems on your site, with custom menus, internal linking, and related posts. * Enabling and dealing with visitor comments. * Using the media library for images, video, and more. * The difference between pages and posts, and when to use each one. * Effective use of categories and tags. Misusing these can get your site penalized or even banned from search engines. * How to create content using both the Classic editor and the new Gutenberg editor. * Publish or schedule posts for a future date. * Post revisions. * Two different types of homepage. A blog-style page v a more traditional "static" homepage. * Using widgets on your site to add neat features. * Types of sites you can build with WordPress (blog, business, typical site), with videos on setting these up. We''ll also cover a few vital plugins to: * Automatically take backups and get them sent to the cloud. * Automatically create important legal pages on your site, like terms and privacy policy. * Creating a contact page so visitors can contact you. * Add a related posts section to the end of every post to keep visitors on site longer. * Setup good SEO practices. * Setup social sharing buttons on your site, so visitors can easily share your pages with friends. Most people learn better when they can see what they are reading about, so this book isn''t shy with screenshots. There are over 330 of them, plus additional videos, showing you precisely what you will see on your screen and prompting you to take specific actions as you learn and master WordPress. You may have heard that WordPress has a steep learning curve. With this book, you won''t even notice it. Most chapters end with a "Tasks to Complete" section. By completing these tasks, you''ll not only become proficient with WordPress; you''ll become confident at using WordPress. By the end of the book, you''ll be building great looking, professional WordPress websites that look fantastic on any device. And you''ll enjoy doing it! Note: This book covers the self-hosted .org version of WordPress but contains a hack for the .com users to switch their dashboard so they can follow along.
Fundamentals of Project Management by
Project mishaps are all too common but often easy to avoid. Fundamentals of Project Management gets both new and current managers up to speed on the basics--the first crucial step for completing projects timely and on budget. Having already helped many generations of project managers navigate the ins and outs of every aspect of successful project management, this revised edition remains the perfect resource for succeeding in this complex discipline that has changed greatly in recent years. In Fundamentals of Project Management, management expert Joseph Heagney contains new information on topics including: Clarify project goals and objectives Develop a work breakdown in structure Create a project risk plan Produce a realistic schedule Manage change requests Control and evaluate progress at every Fully updated in accordance with the latest version of the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK®), this all-encompassing book contains expanded coverage on areas such as estimating, stakeholder management, procurement management, creating a communication plan, project closure, PMP certification requirements and more. Full of tools, techniques, examples, and instructive exercises, Fundamentals of Project Management will refresh your knowledge and equip you with the proper skills to succeed.
Learning Agile by
Learning Agile is a comprehensive guide to the most popular agile methods, written in a light and engaging style that makes it easy for you to learn. Agile has revolutionized the way teams approach software development, but with dozens of agile methodologies to choose from, the decision to "go agile" can be tricky. This practical book helps you sort it out, first by grounding you in agileâ??s underlying principles, then by describing four specificâ??and well-usedâ??agile methods: Scrum, extreme programming (XP), Lean, and Kanban. Each method focuses on a different area of development, but they all aim to change your teamâ??s mindsetâ??from individuals who simply follow a plan to a cohesive group that makes decisions together. Whether youâ??re considering agile for the first time, or trying it again, youâ??ll learn how to choose a method that best fits your team and your company. Understand the purpose behind agileâ??s core values and principles Learn Scrumâ??s emphasis on project management, self-organization, and collective commitment Focus on software design and architecture with XP practices such as test-first and pair programming Use Lean thinking to empower your team, eliminate waste, and deliver software fast Learn how Kanbanâ??s practices help you deliver great software by managing flow Adopt agile practices and principles with an agile coach