Criminal Justice by
This revised and expanded third edition offers a comprehensive and engaging introduction to the criminal justice system of England and Wales. Starting with an overview of the main theories of the causes of crime, this book explores and discusses the operation of the main criminal justice agencies including the police, probation and prison services and the legal and youth justice systems. This book offers a lively and critical discussion of some of the main themes in criminal justice, from policy-making and crime control to diversity and discrimination to the global dimensions of criminal justice, including organized crime and the role of the EU. Key updates to this new edition include: increased discussion of the measurement, prevention and detection of crime; a revised chapter on the police which discusses the principle of policing by consent, police methods, power and governance as well as the abuse of power; further discussion of pressing contemporary issues in criminal justice, such as privatization, multi-agency working and community-based criminal justice policy; a brand new chapter on victims of crime, key developments in criminal justice policy, and the response of the criminal justice system. This accessible text is essential reading for students taking introductory courses in criminology and criminal justice. A wide range of useful features includes review questions, lists of further reading, timelines of key events and a glossary of key terms.
Sentencing and Criminal Justice by
Now in its sixth edition, Sentencing and Criminal Justice has been extensively rewritten to reflect recent legislation, guidelines and judicial decisions. New material includes comparative sentencing research, which looks at models from other countries in comparison with the approach in England and Wales, and an additional chapter focusing on civil preventive orders and other ancillary orders. Written with clarity of expression coupled with critical analysis, this textbook offers an unrivalled combination of expertise, accessibility and coverage. This is the essential text for anyone interested in criminal justice.
The Policy Making Process in the Criminal Justice System by
How the state 'deals with' crime and criminality is a major issue for all students of criminology and criminal justice. This book offers a fresh perspective on the policy making process in the criminal justice system of England and Wales by presenting a detailed overview of both the theory behind it and how it plays out in practise with contemporary policy examples. The key features of this text include a detailed analysis of the basic political concepts surrounding the relationship between the citizen and the state as well as an overview of the state departments, organizations and individuals who are instrumental in creating and influencing policy. This book also analyses how criminal justice policy is interpreted and implemented on the street and comprises a range of discussion points and suggested further readings. By taking a unique criminal justice focussed approach to policy making, this text is perfect for the undergraduate taking modules in criminology, criminal justice, policing, the voluntary sector and social and public policy. It will also be of interest to those who are taking more vocational routes and practitioners.
The Criminal Process by
The fifth edition of The Criminal Process continues in the tradition of previous editions in providing an insightful and stimulating analysis of the key issues in criminal processes and procedures. The authors draw on arguments from the law, research, policy, and principle, to present an authoritative overview of this area of study. This edition includes a new chapter on the interface between criminal and civil (preventive) justice, and the addition of questions for discussion and suggested readings at the end of each chapter to facilitate debate and further research.
International and Comparative Criminal Justice by
International criminal justice is in transition. This book explores the growing internationalisation of criminal justice as a phenomenon of global governance. It provides students with a critical understanding of 　the international institutions for regulating transnational crime, the development of alternative justice processes across the globe, and international and supra-national co-operation criminal justice policies and practices. Key topics covered include: The historical development of International Criminal Justice institutions and traditions International Restorative Justice Victim communities and collaborative justice The relationship between crime and war International Human Rights The 'War on Terror' The globalisation of crime and control Developments in global governance, communitarian justice and accountability This text will familiarize students with the literature and debates surrounding international criminal justice and enable them to critically appreciate their theoretical and policy context. In doing so, it encourages students to assess the strengths and weaknesses of different approaches to the study of global justice and the analysis of comparative policy convergence and research. It will also help students to reflect on, and communicate in an informed and critical way theoretical accounts and empirical studies within the field of international criminal justice. This book will be essential reading for upper level undergraduates taking courses in criminal law, international relations and governance and postgraduates engaged in international criminal justice, international law, regulation and governance and human rights.
The English Legal System by
The English Legal System combines comprehensive and thorough coverage of the main topics covered on English legal system courses with a lively and engaging style to capture students' attention and provide them with a firm foundation for their study of law. This book enables students to firstunderstand all of the key areas of the English legal system, and then to engage with the subject fully for themselves. The law is not just presented but critiqued, with a range of learning features which encourage students to actively engage with contentious issues and difficult questions. Everydayexamples help students to apply their knowledge of the law in a practical way, while questions for reflection help students to analyse, evaluate, and think critically.Aided by a clear structure, arranged in five parts, students will be able to fully grasp the processes involving in making and reforming the law.The English Legal System is accompanied by a wide range of online resources, to help students to take their learning further:For Students:* Introductory podcasts - an invaluable guide through the book and its features* Web links - provide opportunities to take learning further* Activities - help students to put their knowledge into practice* Glossary - outlining the key terms related to the English legal system* Podcasts - accompany the questions for reflection in the textbookFor Lecturers:* Test bank - a customizable electronic testing resource
An Introduction to Criminal Justice by
A contemporary guide to the criminal justice process, the broad scope of this book means it will be a trusted companion throughout a Criminology and/or Criminal Justice degree. The contents of An Introduction to Criminal Justice include: 23 chapters spanning all that's involved with, and fully contextualising, the criminal justice process: the agencies, institutions and processes and procedures that deal with victims, offenders and offending A detailed timeline of criminal justice since 1945 Consideration of victims and witnesses, complaints and misconduct A comprehensive review of policing, prosecution, the courts, imprisonment and community sanctions A focus on community safety, crime prevention and youth justice A review of the effectiveness of the criminal justice process Exploration of global and international dimensions as well as the futures of criminal justice Lots of helpful extras including further reading suggestions, case studies, self-study questions and a glossary of terms. The accompanying website to An Introduction to Criminal Justice has: A podcast interview with a police officer Practice essay questions Multiple choice questions Suggested website resources to explore Videos.
Criminal Justice by
What is the criminal justice system for? How does it operate? How does it treat victims, suspects, defendants and offenders? Does it work? Is it fair?Criminal Justice provides a thought-provoking and critical introduction to the challenges faced by the UK's criminal justice system including policing, sentencing and punishment at the beginning of the 21st Century. Expert contributors, including criminologists and lawyers, provide students with acritical introduction to issues, institutions and agencies which shape the operation of the criminal justice system.A fascinating book which provides students from a range of disciplines including criminology, law, sociology, psychology and social policy with knowledge and understanding of the key areas of the subject and an appreciation of contemporary debates, policies and perspectives.Each chapter features questions, summaries, tables, diagrams, annotated further reading and weblinks, to ensure the book is as accessible and engaging as possible, and provides clear guidance on further study. An illuminating glossary of key terms is also included.Online Resource Centre:This title is accompanied by an Online Resource Centre containing an online version of the glossary of key terms and annotated web links. Adopting lecturers will also have access to a test bank of multiple choice questions with answers and feedback.
State Crime and Immorality by
This is the first book to examine the activities of UK and international 'role models' through the lens of state crime and social policy. Written by experts in the field of sociology and social policy, it defines the ideal state as a single, functioning whole that ensures uniformity in the name of legitimacy. It then details the ways that states do not constitute the ideal in terms of the dangers associated with the maintenance of legitimacy and state power. Anti-democratic measures, such as the invasions of other nation states, the idea that the media can both reinforce and influence the state and the problems of over-zealous policing of a state's own populace, are covered. Using the topical example of Rupert Murdoch and the activities of his media organisation to show how powerful individuals and corporations can and do exert political influence, the book provides a comprehensive discussion of state immorality and deviance generally and state crime in particular. It will appeal to range of academics and practitioners in broader disciplines such as criminology, sociology, politics and political science.
An Introduction to Comparative Legal Models of Criminal Justice by
Updated to reflect changes in the criminal justice systems in several countries, An Introduction to Comparative Legal Models of Criminal Justice, Second Edition explores and illustrates the idea that a country's legal model determines the character of its police, corrections, and legal system. It focuses on how law shapes policing, including how it
Criminal Justice by
What does it mean to be 'under arrest'? Who can limit police powers, and why do miscarriages of justice occur? The fourth edition of Criminal Justice provides a comprehensive overview of the criminal justice system in England and Wales, as well as thought-provoking insights into how it mightbe altered and improved. Tracing the procedures surrounding the apprehension, investigation and trial of suspected offenders, this book is the ideal companion for law and criminology students alike. As the authors combine the relevant legislation with fresh research findings and policy initiatives,the resulting text is a fascinating blend of socio-legal analysis.Whilst retaining its authoritative treatment of the issues at the heart of criminal justice, the fourth edition has been fully updated with recent developments, including recent terrorism legislation and the Criminal Justice and Immigration Bill. Students are aided by the addition of chaptersummaries and further reading lists, while a new Online Resource Centre directs them to related cases and current events, successfully highlighting the importance and ever-changing nature of the subject.Online Resource Centre* Updates* Web links
Slapper and Kelly's the English Legal System by
Slapper and Kelly's The English Legal System explains and critically assesses how our law is made and applied. Trusted by generations of academics and students, this authoritative textbook clearly describes the legal rules of England and Wales and their collective influence as a sociocultural institution. This latest edition has been extensively restructured and updated, providing up-to-date and reliable analysis of recent developments that have an impact on the legal system in England and Wales. Key learning features include: useful chapter summaries which act as a good check point for students; 'food for thought' questions at the end of each chapter to prompt critical thinking and reflection; sources for further reading and suggested websites at the end of each chapter to point students towards further learning pathways; and an online skills network including how tos, practical examples, tips, advice and interactive examples of English law in action. Relied upon by generations of students, this book is a permanent fixture in this ever-evolving subject.
Ethics in Criminal Justice by
Introducing the fundamentals of ethical theory, this text exposes the reader to the ways and means of making moral judgments by covering the teachings of the great philosophers, sources of criminal justice ethics and unethical patterns in the criminal justice system. It is presented from two perspectives: a thematic perspective that addresses ethical principles common to all components of the discipline, and an area-specific perspective that addresses the state of ethics in criminal justice in the fields of policing, corrections, and probation and parole. The fourth edition features expanded discussion of the formula of ethical discretion to enhance students' understanding of ethics decision making in real-life situations, as well as a new chapter on the ethics of loyalty and loyalties in the workplace.
Human Rights and the Criminal Justice System by
We now live in a world which thinks through the legislative implications of criminal justice with one eye on human rights. Human Rights and the Criminal Justice System provides comprehensive coverage of human rights as it relates to the contemporary criminal justice system. As well as being a significant aspect of international governance and global justice, Amatrudo and Blake argue here that human rights have also eclipsed the rhetoric of religion in contemporary moral discussion. This book explores topics such as terrorism, race, and the rights of prisoners, as well as existing legal structures, court practices, and the developing literature in Criminology, Law and Political Science, in order to critically review the relationship between the developing body of human rights theory and practice, and the criminal justice system. This book will be of considerable interest to those with academic concerns in this area; as well as providing an accessible, yet sophisticated, resource for upper level undergraduate and postgraduate human rights courses.
Women, Crime and Criminal Justice by
Women, Crime and Criminal Justice is the winner of the Division of International Criminology's Distinguished Book Award 2014 and the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences International Section's 2015 Outstanding Book Award and the first fully internationalised book to focus on women as offenders, victims and justice professionals. It provides background, as well as specialized information that allows readers to comprehend the global forces that shape women and crime; analyze different types of violence against women (in peacetime and in armed conflict); and grasp the challenges faced by women in justice professions such as the police, the judiciary and international peacekeeping. Provocative, highly topical, engaging and written by an expert in the field, this book examines the role of women in crime and criminal justice internationally. Topics covered include: the role of globalization and development in patterns of female offending and victimization, how a human rights framework can help explain women´s crime, victimization and the criminal justice response, global women's activism, international perspectives on violence against women, including femicide, violence in conflict and post conflict settings, sex work and sex trafficking, women's access to justice, as well as the increased role of women in international criminal justice settings. This book will be essential reading for those involved in the study of development, human rights, governance, security sector reform, international relations and public health, as debates about these subjects are intrinsically linked to the issues surrounding women, crime and justice. It will also be useful for students taking courses on gender, crime and criminal justice, violence against women, international criminal justice and gender studies.
Perceptions of Criminal Justice by
In recent decades, research into the legitimacy of criminal justice has convincingly demonstrated the importance of procedural justice to citizens' sense of trust and confidence in legal authorities and their resulting willingness to conform to the law and cooperate with the legal authorities. Reversing the age-old question 'why do people break the law?', theories of procedural justice have provided insight into the factors that encourage people to abide by the law, suggesting that experiences of procedural fairness are crucial to achieving compliance with the law and to enhancing the legitimacy of criminal justice. While these studies are important in showing that legal authorities need to pay attention to the fairness judgements of the people involved in legal procedures, the focus on showing the importance of procedural justice has had the ironic consequence of distracting researchers from studying the equally important question of what fairness means to the people involved in legal proceedings. In one of the first studies on procedural justice to use a qualitative research design, the author provides the reader with detailed and insightful descriptions of the elements that determine how victims and defendants assess the fairness of their contact with the police and the courts. Focusing on both the pre-trial and the post-trial phases, this book will be of interest to academics and students engaged in the study of the psychology of law, procedural justice and the legitimacy of criminal justice.
Debates in Criminal Justice by
This innovative new book recognises that, while criminal justice studies is a core component of all criminology/criminal justice undergraduate degrees, it can be a confusing, overwhelming and a relatively dry topic despite its importance. Taking an original approach, this book sets out a series of ten key dilemmas - presented as debates - designed to provide students with a clear framework within which to develop their knowledge and analysis in a way that is both effective and an enjoyable learning experience. It is also designed for use by lecturers, who can structure a core unit of their courses around it. Debates in Criminal Justice provides a new and dynamic framework for learning, making considerable use of the other already available academic key texts, press articles, web sources and more.
World Criminal Justice Systems by
World Criminal Justice Systems, Ninth Edition, provides an understanding of major world criminal justice systems by discussing and comparing the systems of six of the world's countries -- each representative of a different type of legal system. An additional chapter on Islamic law uses three examples to illustrate the range of practice within Sharia. Political, historical, organizational, procedural, and critical issues confronting the justice systems are explained and analyzed. Each chapter contains material on government, police, judiciary, law, corrections, juvenile justice, and other critical issues. The ninth edition features an introduction directing students to the resources they need to understand comparative criminal justice theory and methodology. The chapter on Russia includes consideration of the turmoil in post-Soviet successor states, and the final chapter on Islamic law examines the current status of criminal justice systems in the Middle East.