Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Criminological Theory reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Criminological theory : context and consequences by The seventh edition of Criminological Theory: Context and Consequences builds on its prior success with updated coverage of criminological theory and a fresh look at policy implications. The new edition continues to offer a rich introduction to how scholars analyze crime in a clear, accessible text which moves readers beyond commonsense knowledge of crime to a deeper understanding of the importance of theory in shaping crime control policies. This thoroughly revised edition covers traditional and contemporary theory within a larger sociological and historical context, and offers diverse coverage of major criminological theories includes perspectives ranging from biosocial theories to cultural criminology. The development of theories is covered within a broader sociological and historical context. The authors explore policy implications and applications. Chapter-opening photos of key theorists help motivate the discussions that follow, while a unique chapter on white collar crime is indicative of the comprehensive theory coverage offered in this book.
Call Number: 364.01 LIL
Publication Date: 2019
An Introduction to Criminological Theory by This book provides a comprehensive and up-to-date introduction to criminological theory for students taking courses in criminology at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. Building on previous editions, this book presents the latest research and theoretical developments. The text is divided into five parts, the first three of which address ideal type models of criminal behaviour: the rational actor, predestined actor and victimized actor models. Within these, the various criminological theories are located chronologically in the context of one of these different traditions, and the strengths and weaknesses of each theory and model are clearly identified. The fourth part of the book looks closely at more recent attempts to integrate theoretical elements from both within and across models of criminal behaviour, while the fifth part addresses a number of key recent concerns of criminology: postmodernism, cultural criminology, globalization and communitarianism, the penal society, southern criminology and critical criminology. All major theoretical perspectives are considered, including: classical criminology, biological and psychological positivism, labelling theories, feminist criminology, critical criminology and left realism, situation action, desistance theories, social control theories, the risk society, postmodern condition and terrorism. The new edition also features comprehensive coverage of recent developments in criminology, including ¿the myth of the crime drop¿, the revitalization of critical criminology and political economy, shaming and crime, defiance theory, coerced mobility theory and new developments in social control and general strain theories. This revised and expanded fifth edition of An Introduction to Criminological Theory includes chapter summaries, critical thinking questions, policy implications, a full glossary of terms and theories and a timeline of criminological theory, making it essential reading for those studying criminology and taking courses on theoretical criminology, understanding crime, and crime and deviance
Call Number: 364 BUR
Publication Date: 2018
The Oxford Handbook of Criminology by With contributions from over 60 leading experts in the field, The Oxford Handbook of Criminology is the definitive guide to the discipline providing an authoritative and outstanding collection of chapters on the key topics studied on criminology courses.The Handbook has shaped the study of criminology for over two decades and, with this new edition, continues to be indispensable to students, academics, and professionals alike. Each chapter details relevant theory, recent research, policy developments, and current debates. Extensive references aidfurther research.Extensively revised, the sixth edition has been expanded to include all the major topics and significant new issues such as zemiology; green criminology; domestic violence; prostitution and sex work; penal populism; and the significance of globalization for criminology.The Oxford Handbook of Criminology is accompanied by a suite of online resources providing additional teaching and learning materials for both students and lecturers. This includes selected chapters from previous editions, essay questions for each chapter, web links to aid further research, andguidance on how to answer essay questions.
Call Number: 364 LIE
Publication Date: 2017
The SAGE Handbook of Criminological Theory by For any criminologist looking to make sense of recent developments in the field, this is the go-to book. In essays by leading specialists, it provides the latest updates on traditional theories whilst charting new directions. It also offers intepretive frameworks for criminology′s current flux and fragmentation and closely examines relationships among theory, policy, and criminal justice practice. Invaluable and indispensible!′ - Nicole Rafter, Professor, Northeastern University The SAGE Handbook of Criminological Theory re-centres theory in the boldest, most thought-provoking form possible within the criminological enterprise. Written by a team of internationally respected specialists, it provides readers with a clear overview of criminological theory, enabling them to reflect critically upon the variety of theoretical positions - traditional, emergent and desirable - that are constitutive of the discipline at the beginning of the twenty-first century. Each chapter has been specially commissioned to include the following: " A brief historical overview of the theoretical perspective " Core ideas and key associated concepts " A critical review of the contemporary status of the perspective " Reflections on future developments In addition the Handbook features a substantive introduction by the editors, providing a review of the development of criminological theory, the state of contemporary criminological theory and emergent issues and debates. The SAGE Handbook of Criminological Theory is an indispensable international resource for libraries and scholars of all levels studying the rapidly developing, interdisciplinary field of criminology.
Call Number: 364.01 MCL + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Key Readings in Criminology by Key Readings in Criminology provides a comprehensive single-volume collection of readings in criminology. It provides students with convenient access to a broad range of excerpts (over 150 readings) from original criminological texts and key articles, and is designed to be used either as a stand-alone text or in conjunction with the same author's textbook, Criminology. This volume can be used in a number of ways in support of the study of criminology: as a source of both 'key' and supplementary reading for lectures; as the basis for organized reading in advance of seminars and tutorials; as the basis for classroom discussion and analysis; as a broad source of reading for exam revision; in addition it provides students with access to a broad range of materials with which to follow up their reading of their main textbook; it includes readings that include more recent summaries of particularly important criminological issues, as well as excerpts from criminological classics; it also introduces students not only to criminological argument and debate, but also encourages them to read primary as well as secondary or summary sources.
Call Number: 364 NEW
Publication Date: 2011
Vold's Theoretical Criminology by The standard text in the field, Vold's Theoretical Criminology is universally known by scholars in the discipline. Taking a largely historical approach, it discusses both classic and contemporary theories, presenting historical context, empirical research, and policy implications for each one. The book concludes with a critical assessment of the state of theory in criminology.
Call Number: 364.2 BER
Publication Date: 2019
Criminological Theories: Introduction, evaluation and application by With a focus on empirical evaluation and practical application, Criminological Theories: Introduction, Evaluation, and Application, Seventh Edition, helps students draw connections between criminological theory and practical applications. In clear, engaging language, authors Ronald L. Akers, Christine S. Sellers, and Wesley G. Jennings explore each principal criminological theory using a three-part analysis: An Introduction presents a succinct exposition of the theory's central concepts, assertions, and hypotheses An Evaluation provides a detailed critique of the theory, with an emphasis on empirical validity An Application extends the evaluation to determine each theory's relevance and its potential for controlling and preventing crime and delinquency
Call Number: 364 AKE
Publication Date: 2016
Criminological Theory in Context by This book provides a lively, concise and definitive introduction to the study of the causes of crime. Authoritative yet accessible, it offers a guide to the historical development of criminology as an academic discipline and in doing so: presents an overview of a range of different theories of crime, including classical, biological, psychological and sociological approaches analyses the strengths and weaknesses of each theory discussed provides chapter overview boxes and key summary points helps you to take your studies further with self-study tasks and suggestions for further reading. In covering key theoretical positions and placing them in their historical context, Criminological Theory in Context is perfect for students taking introductory courses in criminological theory.
Call Number: 364.01 CHA
Publication Date: 2015
New Directions in Criminological Theory by This edited collection brings together established global scholars and new thinkers to outline fresh concepts and theoretical perspectives for criminological research and analysis in the 21st century. Criminologists from the UK, USA, Canada and Australia evaluate the current condition of criminological theory and present students and researchers with new and revised ideas from the realms of politics, culture and subjectivity to unpack crime and violence in the precarious age of global neoliberalism. These ideas range from the micro-realm of the 'personality disorder' to the macro-realm of global 'power-crime'. Rejecting or modifying the orthodox notion that crime and harm are largely the products of criminalisation and control systems, these scholars bring causes and conditions back into play in an eclectic yet thematic way that should inspire students and researchers to once again investigate the reasons why some individuals and groups elect to harm others rather than seek sociability. This collection will inspire new criminologists to both look outside their discipline for new ideas to import, and to create new ideas within their discipline to reinvigorate it and further strengthen its ability to explain the crimes and harms that we see around us today. This book will be of particular interest to academics and both undergraduate and postgraduate students in the field of criminology, especially to those looking for theoretical concepts and frameworks for dissertations, theses and research reports.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Criminological Theory: a Text/Reader by The most accessible and comprehensive book for criminological theory courses available today, Criminological Theory: A Text/Reader, Second Edition provides the best of both worlds--substantial but brief authored sections on all of the major course topics, followed by carefully edited, policy-oriented, original research articles covering criminological theory from past to present and beyond. The Second Edition's dozens of articles reflect both classic studies and state-of-the-art research. Designed throughout to enhance understanding, the book includes a helpful "How to Read a Research Article" before the first reading, as well as article introductions, photographs, and discussion questions that capture student interest and help them develop their critical thinking skills. The new 2nd edition has added 8 new readings that are more recent and applicable to theoretical models discussed in text.
Call Number: 364.01 TIB
Publication Date: 2014