Illicit Drugs, 2nd edn by
Illicit drugs and their use are a dominant concern of politicians, policy makers and the general public. As such, this second edition of the popular Illicit Drugs: Use and Control provides a timely, up-to-date discussion of the key issues raised in the first edition, whilst also providing new chapters which address: Class, gender and race The geo-politics of illicit drug production and distribution Britain's drug use within a global context Drawing information from wide-ranging sources, Adrian Barton illuminates the complex nature and broad impact illicit drug use carries in its wake and provides an overview of the contemporary state of the drug 'scene'. This accessible book, with its inclusion of new pedagogical features, will be essential reading for students and researchers working in the area of drugs and society.
The Age of Intoxication by
Eating the flesh of an Egyptian mummy prevents the plague. Distilled poppies reduce melancholy. A Turkish drink called coffee increases alertness. Tobacco cures cancer. Such beliefs circulated in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, an era when the term "drug" encompassed everything from herbs and spices--like nutmeg, cinnamon, and chamomile--to such deadly poisons as lead, mercury, and arsenic. In The Age of Intoxication, Benjamin Breen offers a window into a time when drugs were not yet separated into categories--illicit and licit, recreational and medicinal, modern and traditional--and there was no barrier between the drug dealer and the pharmacist. Focusing on the Portuguese colonies in Brazil and Angola and on the imperial capital of Lisbon, Breen examines the process by which novel drugs were located, commodified, and consumed. He then turns his attention to the British Empire, arguing that it owed much of its success in this period to its usurpation of the Portuguese drug networks. From the sickly sweet tobacco that helped finance the Atlantic slave trade to the cannabis that an East Indies merchant sold to the natural philosopher Robert Hooke in one of the earliest European coffeehouses, Breen shows how drugs have been entangled with science and empire from the very beginning. Featuring numerous illuminating anecdotes and a cast of characters that includes merchants, slaves, shamans, prophets, inquisitors, and alchemists, The Age of Intoxication rethinks a history of drugs and the early drug trade that has too often been framed as opposites--between medicinal and recreational, legal and illegal, good and evil. Breen argues that, in order to guide drug policy toward a fairer and more informed course, we first need to understand who and what set the global drug trade in motion.
European Drug Policies by
The drug control regime established by the international community has not succeeded in curbing either the demand for, or the offer of, narcotics. But, despite a series of developments in the Americas - including the legalisation of cannabis in Uruguay and in several states in the United States of America - there is still little support in Europe for repealing drug-prohibition laws. Nevertheless, a gradual policy convergence reveals the emergence of a European model favouring public-health strategies over a strictly penal approach to combatting drugs, while growing transnational support for legalisation indicates the persistence of an alternative paradigm for drug policy. This book examines the various influences on drug policies in Europe, as grassroots movements, NGO networks, private foundations and academic research centres increasingly confront the prevailing discourses of drug prohibition. Pursuing an interdisciplinary approach and bringing together legal scholars, social scientists and practitioners, it provides a comprehensive and critical assessment of drug policy reform in Europe.
Politics of Drugs by
This book explores the complexities of drugs policy in Britain, contradicting the over simplified representation found in the public sphere. It focuses on developments in Britain since the Misuse of Drugs Act of 1971, covering debates at national level and local experiences set in international and European context, emphasizing the interconnectivity between people and countries in this global age. Several institutions and networks are examined to illustrate how they shape the policy process as vessels for ideas and interests and as spaces for individual action. MacGregor discusses arguments around drug policy reform, in particular the role of politicians, the media and advocacy organizations. Her aim is to encourage a more open and intelligent conversation on drugs policy and to question whether the institutional architecture in place is fit for purpose given the great increase of substances available and the underlying variety of conditions and interests currently competing for attention and resources. The is a must read for all scholars of Politics, Medicine and Social Science interested in the current debate raging around British Drug Policy.
Gangs, Drugs and (Dis)Organised Crime by
Drawing upon unique empirical data based on interviews with high-profile ex-offenders and experts, this book sheds new light on drug markets and gangs in the UK. The study shows how traditional methods of tackling gang violence fail to address the intertwined nature of those criminal activities which can overlap with other organised crime spheres. McLean sparks new debate on the subject, offering solutions and alternatives.
Drugs, Crime and Public Health by
Drugs, Crime and Public Health provides an accessible but critical discussion of recent policy on illicit drugs. Using a comparative approach - centred on the UK, but with insights and complementary data gathered from the USA and other countries - it discusses theoretical perspectives and provides new empirical evidence which challenges prevalent ways of thinking about illicit drugs. It argues that problematic drug use can only be understood in the social context in which it takes place, a context which it shares with other problems of crime and public health. The book demonstrates the social and spatial overlap of these problems, examining the focus of contemporary drug policy on crime reduction. This focus, Alex Stevens contends, has made it less, rather than more, likely that long-term solutions will be produced for drugs, crime and health inequalities. And he concludes, through examining competing visions for the future of drug policy, with an argument for social solutions to these social problems.
Drugs and Crime by
A high proportion of crimes committed in Britain are drugs-related, with many offenders having a documented history of drug use. However, the direct link between drugs and crime is often less clear than is supposed and this text attempts to achieve a better understanding of these and surrounding issues that have been marred by misunderstanding and a lack of consensus amongst experts. This text offers a major contribution to existing debates and provides an authoritative and much-needed overview of the range of issues associated with drugs-related crime. Coverage includes: a discussion on theoretical approaches to drugs and crime, an overview of the legal position on drugs and drug offenders, a critique of the aims and nature of treatment, an examination of trafficking and laundering, an analysis of the policing of drugs markets, a discussion about the legalisation debates. This new edition has been fully updated to include the latest data and recent developments in policy and particular attention is paid to changes in sentencing and treatment, as well as changes to practice in trafficking. An expanded chapter on women, drugs and crime now offers further coverage of drug-taking and prostitution. This is the only book in Britain which centres on the links between drugs and crime, and deals with the policy implications of that link. It is a comprehensive account of the various aspects of Government policy concerning drugs, and should be particularly useful to academics and students interested in or studying this aspect of criminology.
Understanding Drugs, Alcohol and Crime by
"Bennett and Holloway's Understanding Drugs, Alcohol, and Crime isthe best, most up-to-date and comprehensive examination for theUnited Kingdom of interactions among drugs, alcohol, and crime. Theauthors exhaustively and authoritatively survey current knowledge inthe UK, and from many other countries, on drug and alcohol use ascause, and consequence, of crime, and the effects of law enforcementand treatment responses. Clearly written, unfailingly lucid, andadmirably accurate, this book will be the indispensable work onBritish drug policy for many years to come." Professor Michael Tonry, University of Minnesota Law School, USA "What makes this book particularly interesting is the refreshingly non judgmental presentation which conveys the essence of very important issues in contemporary society. Therefore, this is an ideal text not only for students but also for policy makers, drugs and alcohol counsellors, treatment agencies and everyone interested in doing research on drugs, alcohol and crime." Nicoletta Policek, University of Abertay, Dundee "The publication is not only an excellent summary of the existing research in Great Britain, and to a lesser extent from other jurisdictions, it is a foundation for future research by evoking , and at times provoking, questions and offering a variety of possible responses." Hirsch Greenberg, University of Regina What is the connection between drugs, alcohol and crime? What works in reducing drugs and alcohol-related crime? The book provides a succinct overview of current theory and research on the links between drugs, alcohol use and crime. It discusses the legal and social context of drug and alcohol use and identifies current levels of consumption. Focusing on the UK context, it also takes into account international research where appropriate. Detailed review of the research literature on the connections between drug use and crime Examines the current government anti-drugs policy and assesses the effectiveness of programmes that have been used to reduce drug and alcohol-related crime. The book concludes that future government drugs policy should pay particular attention to the lessons learned from research on the connection between drug and alcohol use and crime. Ideal for criminology, criminal justice, social policy and social work students, this book will also be a useful source of information for policy makers, the police, probation workers, social workers, drugs and alcohol counsellors, treatment agencies, sentencers, voluntary agencies, Drug Action Teams, and others with an interest in research on drugs and crime.
Chilling Out by
"Erudite and wide-ranging, perceptive and provocative, lively and up-to-date - Shane Blackman has produced a book with something to offer to just about anyone interested in drugs in contemporary society. Blackman uncovers hidden histories, points out the contradictions running through media, popular culture and official policy and highlights the challenges facing us. Chilling Out is a book that will be a boon to students and a valuable resource for both teachers and researchers."Nigel South, Professor, Department of Sociology and Research Professor, Department of Health and Human Sciences, University of Essex. How are drug war politics, drug prevention, popular culture and drug consumption interconnected? What are the major contradictions, assumptions and silences within the moral arguments of drug policy makers? What are the implications for the viability of drugs policy? This book critically examines the assumptions underlying drug prohibition and explores the contradictions of drug prevention policies. For the first time in this field, it combines a wide-ranging exploration of the global political and historical context with a detailed focus on youth culture, on the basis that young people are the primary target of drug prevention policies. Chilling Out provides a critical map of drugs, bringing together work on drugs as a source of political state repression and regulation of morality through medical discourse, work on drugs as cultural commodities in film, popular music, advertising and tourism, work on 'drug normalisation', subcultural deviance and the politics of drug education. This clear and enlightening text for sociology, health and media and cultural studies courses argues for an holistic and a critical understanding of drugs in society, which can be the basis for a more coherent approach to drug control. Practitioners and policy makers will find it a thought-provoking and informative source.
Responding to Drug Misuse by
Responding to Drug Misuse provides a unique insight into the current shape of the drugs treatment system in England. Reporting findings from research linked to the government's ten year drugs strategy Tackling Drugs to Build a Better Britain, the book places these in the context of policy, practice, and service development. It goes on to discuss the implications of these findings for the government's new strategy Drugs: Protecting Families and Communities. Throughout the book contributors reflect on current debates on drug strategies and social policy and consider the relevance of the findings for policy and practice. Topics discussed include: recent trends in drug policy and how these link to crime responses of dedicated drug treatment services service users' perceptions and suggestions for improvement the impact of drug misuse on children, families and communities. This timely addition to the literature on drug misuse will be essential for substance use practitioners, including social workers, psychiatrists, psychologists and nurses. It will also supply helpful guidance for health and social care commissioners and policy providers.
Controversies in Drugs Policy and Practice by
This is a lively and provocative book on a topic of deep public and professional interest. Addressing a host of issues surrounding the place of illegal drugs in society, the text draws readers in to debates about key contemporary issues including drug treatment, harm reduction, €classification, legislation and research.
County Lines: Criminal Networks and Evolving Drug Markets in Britain. by
This brief sheds light on evolving drug markets and the county lines phenomenon in the British context. Drawing upon empirical research gathered in the field between 2012-2019 across two sites, Scotland's West Coast and Merseyside in England, this book adopts a grounded approach to the drug supply model, detailing how drugs are purchased, sold and distributed at every level of the supply chain at both sites. The authors conducted interviews with practitioners, offenders, ex-offenders and those members of the general public most effected by organised crime. The research explores how drug markets have continued to evolve, accumulating in the phenomenon that is county lines. It explores how such behavior has gradually become ever more intertwined with other forms of organised criminal activity. Useful for researchers, policy makers, and law enforcement officials, this brief recommends a rethinking of current reactive policing strategies.
Evidence Versus Politics by
The initial enthusiasm for the evidence-based policy agenda has recently been replaced with increasing scepticism. Critics point out that 'policy-based evidence' characterises the relationship more accurately. Analysing the role and nature of evidence in the context of UK drug policy and drawing on a range of theories of the policy process and research utilisation, this book pursues an alternative route for conceptualising the evidence and policy connection, which moves beyond zero-sum statements of evidence-based policy and policy-based evidence. It will be essential reading for students and researchers in public policy and criminology.
Illegal Drug Use Through the Lifecourse by
Hidden older illegal drug users are a seldom researched group; most research on illegal drug users instead focusses on the young or the institutionalised. To counter this trend, this book reports on a study of current 'hidden' users of illegal drugs aged 40 and over. These are individuals who have sustained illegal drug use over the long term, largely away from the gaze of the authorities, whilst living otherwise 'conventional' lives, holding down jobs, raising families and so on. Thus they have much to tell us about how illegal substances can be integrated into life over the long term, how that integration intersects with other aspects of one's existence, and how illegal drug use is ultimately shaped by changes in personal circumstances and wider social contexts. Utilising insights from the 'life course perspective', the development of the participants' use over their lives is analysed and placed in social context. The book also details the nature of their current drug use. Thus, the book illustrates the place of illegal drugs in the lives of the participants, and how this came to be over the decades as they also juggled work, family and the everyday minutiae of life with their use. The result is a unique look at the illegal drug use of an often ignored group of older drug users, which charts the changing role that illegal drugs have played - and continue to play - in their lives.
Drugs: Without the Hot Air by
The science of what drugs are and how they work lets us quantify and compare the harms caused by different drugs. With this information we can radically transform drugs law, and hugely reduce crime and all the other social, economic and health harms currently caused by drugs. The book is written in plain English. It is intended for people who take drugs, and those dealing with the harms drugs cause: parents, teachers, doctors, politicians, social workers and law enforcement agencies. - It explains what drugs are, how they work, and how people become addicted. - How harmful are alcohol and tobacco compared to illegal drugs? - Does the 'War on Drugs' cause more harm than good? How does it affect legitimate scientific research into potentially valuable therapies? - What should you tell your children about drugs, and at what age?
UK Drugs Unlimited by
The appetite for illicit drugs in the UK continues to grow and diversify. Young Britons consume more drugs than their peers anywhere else in Europe. Why and how has this happened and why have all official efforts to stem drug 'abuse' so far failed. Will the new UK drugs strategy fair any better? This unique collection of contemporary studies from the frontline by a leading social research group describes the drugs landscape in an accessible and authoritative way.
Outsiders by
One of the most groundbreaking sociology texts of the mid-20th century, Howard S. Becker's Outsiders is a thorough exploration of social deviance and how it can be addressed in an understanding and helpful manner. A compulsively readable and thoroughly researched exploration of social deviance and the application of what is known as "labeling theory" to the studies of deviance. With particular research into drug culture, Outsiders analyzes unconventional individuals and their place in normal society.
Drug Users in Society by
This book provides a candid insight into the lives of individuals who are addicted to heroin and other opiates. The processes of obtaining and using drugs are explored within the wider context of personal biographies and daily routines. Key issues considered include childhood experiences, crime and violence, housing situations, family relationships, prison life, health matters and drug treatments. Drug users' statements are related to policy, service provision, previous research, and theoretical debates in the hope that this might increase understanding and improve future responses to drug problems.
Drug Affliction: What You Need to Know by
This is a book that is essential reading for anyone who needs
to know about the problems associated with global drug trafficking and the
abuse of illicit drugs. It has been written by a person with a rare
understanding and experience of drugs culled from extensive research,
thirty seven years as a police officer, over seven years as an independent
consultant to the United Nations International drug control programme, and
membership of expert international committees. It is valuable material
either in whole or in part because it is easily read and understood and it
gives a clear picture for those who believe that illegal drugs have no
direct effects on them and their families. Everyone from concerned parents
and grandparents, teachers, social workers, police, medical personnel,
prison officers, employers, policy makers and ordinary members of the
public will acquire valuable information from this book. It may be used
either to gain a thorough knowledge of the drugs problem and how it affects
everybody in one way or another, or to become informed about a particular
issue such as the effects of specific drugs or the need for employers to
adopt a policy about the impact of drugs in the workplace.
The book covers a range of subjects and deals with some perceptions of the
problem together with the different proposals for dealing with it including
the debate on legalisation. It includes information on the international
agreements and UN conventions about drugs and examines the anti-drug
strategies of both the United Kingdom and the United States of America with
particular reference to the policy of harm reduction, which has been
hi-jacked by those who seek to legalise drugs. There is specific
information on the convergence of drug trafficking, organised crime and
terrorism and the ways in which the vast profits from this trade are
laundered to the serious disadvantage of global financial stability.
It is estimated that drug trafficking equates with 8-10% of world trade and
that the unimaginably huge profits are tax free. At least £500 billion is
laundered annually and this equates with over 2% of global GDP.
In addition to peddling drugs, traffickers promote false information and
mythology to enhance their hugely damaging trade. Many parents and
grandparents as well as teachers will avoid discussing the problem in
detail with their children, grandchildren or pupils because they believe
that children and young people know more about drugs than they do. Even if
this happens to be true, reading this book will solve that particular
difficulty and will enable informed discussion and debate that will
encourage a sensible approach to drugs and may save lives. Unfortunately,
most people gain the sparse information that they have about drugs from
incomplete or inaccurate stories in the media or from word of mouth on the
street or in clubs and pubs. If we leave our children to gain their
information on this subject from the streets then we should not be
surprised if that knowledge is seriously and sometimes dangerously
deficient.
There is a strong culture of tolerance and acceptance of drugs as a normal
part of life experience and some advocate legalising them either because
they believe that anti-drug policies have failed or because they believe
that there should be `freedom of choice' about personal drug use. Of
course, there are also the unscrupulous people who see legalised drugs as
another commodity from which they may make additional profits.
In the world of education it is fashionable for some to say that because
children will inevitably experience drugs they should be protected by
giving them information that will enable them to make "informed choices"
about their possible drug use. Some advocate that children and young people
should be taught to take drugs safely when in reality the only safe thing
about drugs is their avoidance. There may be freedom of choice but there is
seldom freedom from the consequences.
This book contains hugely valuable information about the commonly abused
drugs such as cannabis, heroin, cocaine and "crack", and amphetamine type
substances such as Ecstasy. It deals with the date rape drugs and others
which are less frequently used such as hallucinogens (LSD) and `magic
mushrooms'. The mythology associated with these drugs is exposed and the
most up-to-date research about their effects has been included.
The book concludes with information about the internationally agreed
methods of addressing the global drug problem and offers some further
suggestions as to how domestic anti-drug policy may be improved.
Reading this book offers an easy and informed way of learning about a
serious social problem that affects all of us.
Illegal Leisure by
Illegal Leisure offers a unique insight into the role drug use now plays in British youth culture. The authors present the results of a five year longitudinal study into young people and drug taking. They argue that drugs are no longer used as a form of rebellious behaviour, but have been subsumed into wider, acceptable leisure activities. The new generation of drug user can no longer be seen as mad or bad or from subcultural worlds - they are ordinary and everywhere. Illustrated throughout with interview material, Illegal Leisure shows how drug consumption has become normalised, and provides a well-informed analysis of the current debate.
Drugs in Britain by
Drawing on well-respected authors in the field, this textbook is at the cutting edge of current debates about illicit drug use. Comprehensive and straightforward, it examines the major theoretical questions, themes and policy debates. Contains study exercises to highlight important points to students.
