Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Experimental Design and Analysis reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology by The seventh edition of Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology provides students with the most readable and comprehensive survey of research methods, statistical concepts and procedures in psychology today. Assuming no prior knowledge, this bestselling text takes you through every stage of your research project giving advice on planning and conducting studies, analysing data and writing up reports. The book provides clear coverage of experimental, interviewing and observational methods, psychological testing, qualitative methods and analysis and statistical procedures which include nominal level tests, multi-factorial ANOVA designs, multiple regression, log linear analysis, and factor analysis. It features detailed and illustrated SPSS instructions for all these and other procedures, eliminating the need for an extra SPSS textbook. New features to this edition include: Additional coverage of factor analysis and online and modern research methods Expanded coverage of report writing guidelines References updated throughout Presentation updated throughout, to include more figures, tables and full colour to help break up the text Companion website signposted throughout the book to improve student usability Improved and extended web links and further reading associated with every chapter. Each chapter contains a glossary, key terms and newly integrated exercises, ensuring that key concepts are understood. A fully updated companion website (www.routledge.com/cw/coolican) provides additional exercises, testbanks for each chapter, revision flash cards, links to further reading and data for use with SPSS.
Call Number: 150.72 COO + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics, 5th ed. by With an exciting new look, new characters to meet, and its unique combination of humour and step-by-step instruction, this award-winning book is the statistics lifesaver for everyone. From initial theory through to regression, factor analysis and multilevel modelling, Andy Field animates statistics and SPSS software with his famously bizarre examples and activities. What's brand new: A radical new design with original illustrations and even more colour A maths diagnostic tool to help students establish what areas they need to revise and improve on. A revamped digital resource that uses video, case studies, datasets and more to help students negotiate project work, master data management techniques, and apply key writing and employability skills New sections on replication, open science and Bayesian thinking Now fully up to date with latest versions of IBM SPSS Statistics#65533;. Please note that ISBN: 9781526445780 comprises the paperback edition of the Fifth Edition and the student version of IBM SPSS Statistics. More information on this version of the software′s features can be found here.
Call Number: 519.5028 FIE
Publication Date: 2018
Module Journals and Websites
Doing Psychological Research by "This is a book that should definitely be considered for many introductory psychology courses that need a factual and accessible exposition of psychological research principles and methods." Times Higher Education Supplement ". . . covers a wider spectrum than many introductory texts on methods in psychology and has a stronger emphasis on qualitative methods than others. . . it will be particularly attractive to students seeking a lifeline into methods at first year undergraduate level. Nicky Hayes' reputation will strengthen the demand for it, particularly among undergraduates who have already used her texts at 'A' level." Professor Nigel Lemon, University of Huddersfield ". . . there are other research methods textbooks for 'A' level students currently on the market. . . Nicky Hayes has written a book which renders most of these obsolete. The new 'A' level specifications allow students to venture into areas of research that require different forms of qualitative analysis. These are hardly addressed in competing texts and are given thorough treatment by Nicky Hayes. I admire her ability to offer depth of treatment to complex issues without losing her audience. This is an interactive textbook, and I am pleased to see that every chapter contains worked examples, definitions and activities. . . I can highly recommend this book." Mike Stanley, Gordano School, North Somerset, UK Research methodology is one of the most important and also one of the most difficult aspects of psychology for many students to grasp. This new textbook, written by one of the most experienced and respected writers of psychology textbooks in the UK, provides a comprehensive account of both qualitative and quantitative methods. It does so in the friendly, lucid style which has made Nicky Hayes' other textbooks so popular with students and teachers. Doing Psychological Research has been carefully written and designed to help students grasp complex concepts and to provide them with a sound methodological 'toolkit' for carrying out their own projects. The book is divided into data-gathering and analytical sections, and covers the main methods used in psychology for each of these purposes. Exercises and activities, worked examples of statistical tests, and self-assessment questions all help to deepen understanding and illustrate the relevance of the material. A full bibliography and index and a useful glossary of terms complete the package. This is the accessible but comprehensive introductory text which many students and teachers of research methods in psychology have been looking for. It is likely to become essential reading for introductory courses.
Call Number: 150.72 HAY
Publication Date: 2000
Statistics Explained, 3rd ed. by Statistics Explained is an accessible introduction to statistical concepts and ideas. It makes few assumptions about the reader's statistical knowledge, carefully explaining each step of the analysis and the logic behind it. The book: provides a clear explanation of statistical analysis and the key statistical tests employed in analysing research data gives accessible explanations of how and why statistical tests are used includes a wide range of practical, easy-to-understand worked examples. Building on the international success of earlier editions, this fully updated revision includes developments in statistical analysis, with new sections explaining concepts such as bootstrapping and structural equation modelling. A new chapter - 'Samples and Statistical Inference' - explains how data can be analysed in detail to examine its suitability for certain statistical tests. The friendly and straightforward style of the text makes it accessible to all those new to statistics, as well as more experienced students requiring a concise guide. It is suitable for students and new researchers in disciplines including Psychology, Education, Sociology, Sports Science, Nursing, Communication, and Media and Business Studies. Presented in full colour and with an updated, reader-friendly layout, this new edition also comes with a companion website featuring supplementary resources for students. Unobtrusive cross-referencing makes it the ideal companion to Perry R. Hinton's SPSS Explained, also published by Routledge. Perry R. Hinton has many years of experience in teaching statistics to students from a wide range of disciplines and his understanding of the problems students face forms the basis of this book.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Introduction to Statistics in Psychology by Introduction to Statistics in Psychology4th edition is the complete guide to statistics for psychology students. Its range is exceptional in order to meet student needs throughout their undergraduate degree and beyond. By keeping to simple mathematics, step by step explanations of all the important statistical concepts, tests and procedures ensure that students understand data analysis properly. Pedagogical features such as ‘research design issues’, ‘calculations’ and the advice boxes help structure study into manageable sections whilst the overview and key points help with revision. Plus this 4th edition includes even more examples to bring to life how different statistical tests can be used in different areas of psychology.
Call Number: 150.15195 HOW + eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Introduction to SPSS Statistics in Psychology by Using this book, students should quickly master statistical analysis with SPSS. Screenshots of all the steps for each statistical technique build students' confidence when performing their own analysis.
Call Number: 150.727 HOW
Publication Date: 2011
Introduction to Statistics with SPSS for Social Science by This is a complete guide to statistics and SPSS for social science students.nbsp;Statistics with SPSS for Social Science provides a step-by-step explanation of all the important statistical concepts, tests and procedures.nbsp;It is also a guide to getting started with SPSS, and includes screenshots to illustrate explanations.nbsp;With examples specific to social sciences, this text is essential for any student in this area.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics by The bestselling Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics is now in its Fifth Edition and now also available in an interactive eBook edition! Lecturers - contact your local SAGE representative to discuss your course needs or to request an inspection copy.Continuing its hallmark use of humour, this text helps students develop an understanding of an often intimidating and difficult subject with an approach that is informative, personable, and clear. Author Neil J. Salkind takes students through various statistical procedures, beginning with descriptive statistics, correlation, and graphical representation of data, and ending with inferential techniques and analysis of variance. In addition, the book covers SPSS and includes reviews of more advanced techniques, such as reliability, validity, and introductory non-parametric statistics. The new Fifth Edition offers more examples than ever before, and a new Real World Stats feature at the end of each chapter. Interactive eBook Edition available!The interactive eBook edition features animations of figures in the book, step-by-step videos that demonstrate how to carry out various procedures, data sets that are clickable right from the book pages, quick quizzes, video clips of the author talking about statistics in everyday life, and much more to help students boost their confidence with statistics. The interactive eBook is available for FREE when purchased as a bundle using ISBN 9781483344201 and provides 180 day access.Click here to see a video walk-through of the rich Interactive eBook features.Click here to view a sample chapter from the Interactive eBook.
Call Number: 519.5 SAL
Publication Date: 2014
Statistics Without Maths for Psychology by Highly praised for its clear, straightforward approach, Statistics without Maths for Psychology 8th edition provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to statistics and SPSS. This widely used and trusted textbook is packed with examples, activities and questions to help you to test your learning and deepen your understanding in a practical and manageable way. Statistics without Maths for Psychology, 8e, will help you to gain the confidence to apply statistical concepts and use SPSS to analyse data within your studies and future independent research
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020
Understanding Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology by Understanding Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology offers broad-ranging coverage of basic and advanced qualitative and quantitative methods, exploring similarities and tensions between the two; a sequential structure starting from first principles to more advanced techniques; and a commitment to anchoring each of these techniques in relations to real psychological research, laying a foundation of necessary skills that will allow psychology students to confidently carry out their own investigations.Key Features: An organization that works well for students starting at basic level, then moving on to more advanced research methods and statistics study at higher levels;A creative and practical selection of heuristic devices that will cement knowledge of the techniques and skills covered in the textbook; andFully interactive and password protected companion website for instructors and students, providing an array of features to help teaching and learning.Understanding Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology will be essential reading for undergraduate students taking research methods and statistics in psychology. Helen Gavin is Head of the Division of Psychology at the University of Huddersfield, U.K.
Call Number: 150.72 GAV + eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Learning to Use Statistical Tests in Psychology, 3rd ed. by Praise for the first edition: "An excellent textbook which is well planned, well written, and pitched at the correct level for psychology students. I would not hesitate to recommend Greene and d'Oliveira to all psychology students looking for an introductory text on statistical methodology." Bulletin of the British Psychological Society Learning to Use Statistical Tests in Psychology third edition has been updated throughout. It continues to be a key text in helping students to understand and conduct statistical tests in psychology without panic! It takes students from the most basic elements of statistics teaching them: How psychologists plan experiments and statistical tests Which considerations must be made when planning experiments How to analyze and comprehend test results Like the previous editions, this book provides students with a step-by-step guide to the simplest non-parametric tests through to more complex analysis of variance designs. There are clear summaries in progress boxes and questions for the student to answer in order to be sure that they have understood what they have read. The new edition is divided into four discrete sections and within this structure each test covered is illustrated through a chapter of its own. The sections cover: The principles of psychological research and psychological statistics Statistical tests for experiments with two or three conditions Statistical tests based on ANOVA (Analysis of Variance) conditions as well as tests for multiple comparisons between individual conditions Statistical tests to analyze relationships between variables Presented in a student-friendly textbook format, Learning to Use Psychological Tests in Psychology enables readers to select and use the most appropriate statistical tests to evaluate the significance of data obtained from psychological experiments. An errata sheet detailing the Decision Chart which is referred to can be downloaded by clicking here
Call Number: 150.72 GRE + eBook
Publication Date: 2005
Revealing Statistical Principles by Written by a renowned statistician, this book presents the basic ideas behind the statistical methods commonly used in studies of human subjects. It is an ideal guide for advanced undergraduates who are beginning to do their own research. It presents the basic principles in a non-mathematicalway and is accessible to a wide audience with little background in statistics. It collects a large amount of material scattered throughout the literature and will be an invaluable tool for projects in a wide range of disciplines.
Call Number: 519.5 LIN
Publication Date: 1999
Introduction to Statistics and SPSS in Psychology by Introduction to Statistics and SPSS in Psychology guides the reader carefully and concisely up the statistics staircase to success. Each step is supported by helpful visuals as well as advice on how to overcome problems. Interactive, lively, but never patronising, this is the complete guide to statistics that will take readers through their degree course from beginning to end. Take a step in the right direction and tackle statistics head on with this visual introduction.
Call Number: STSK 150.15195 MAY
Publication Date: 2013
The Visual Display of Quantitative Information, 2nd ed. by Paperback edition of Edward Tufte's classic book on statistical charts, graphs, and tables, The Visual Display of Quantitative Information. "Best 100 books of the 20th Century." Amazon.com.
Call Number: 001.4226 TUF
Publication Date: 2013