Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Forensic Psychology reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Introduction to Forensic Psychology 5th edn. by Written by authors with extensive experience in the field and in the classroom, Introduction to Forensic Psychology: Research and Application, Fifth Edition, by Curt R. Bartol and Anne M. Bartol, demonstrates how to analyze psychological knowledge and research findings and then apply these findings to the civil and criminal justice systems. Focusing on research-based forensic practice and practical application, this text uses real-life examples and case law discussions to define and explore forensic psychology. This text introduces you to emerging specializations within forensic psychology, including investigative psychology, family forensic psychology, and police and public safety psychology. You will develop a multicultural perspective with an ethnic and racial sensitivity, which is critical to the successful practice of forensic psychology. New to the Fifth Edition: Updated statistics, research, and case law, such as recent Aid in Dying legislation, as well as analysis of recent events, help you see the real-world applications to current events. Updated Focus boxes empower you to dig deeper into current issues, such as mental health courts, community-oriented policing, child abduction, hate crimes, the death penalty, and more. All Focus boxes also contain discussion questions for you to debate in a classroom setting. All new From My Perspectiveboxes provide you with information about career choices as well as helpful advice about pursuing your career goals. Increased attention to immigration-related issuesoffers you additional insights into immigration proceedings and ways to consult with the courts. Additional coverage of human trafficking and online sexual predatorsenables you to better understand the psychological effects on victims and the services available to help. Current research on violent video games, cyberbullying, and cyberstalking provides real examples of the effects of violent media. New research on juvenilesallows you to see the important contributions of neuropsychologists, particularly in terms of brain development in adolescents and promising community-based treatment approaches for juveniles.
Call Number: 614.15 BAR
Publication Date: 2018
Forensic Psychology by Introduces forensic psychology to students and professionals who want to better understand psychology's expanding influence on the study of law, crime and criminality Forensic psychology is a constantly growing discipline, both in terms of student interest and as a profession for graduates. This book highlights the often sizeable gap between media myths surrounding forensic practice and reality. Editors Graham Davies and Anthony Beech present an exciting and broad range of topics within the field, including detailed treatments of the causes of crime, investigative methods, the trial process, and interventions with different types of offenders and offences. Forensic Psychology: Crime, Justice, Law, Interventions, Third Edition covers every aspect of forensic psychology--from understanding criminal behaviour, to applying psychological theory to criminal investigation, analysing the legal process and the treatment of witnesses and offenders. Each chapter has been thoroughly revised and updated with the latest findings. The book also includes two entirely new chapters--one on psychopathy and crime, the other on female offenders. Drawing on a wealth of experience from leading researchers and practitioners, this new edition will interest and enthuse today's generation of students. All chapters thoroughly revised and updated Features two brand new chapters Supplemented by additional online resource materials, including related links, multiple choice questions, and PowerPoint slides Authored by a wide-range of experienced forensic psychology professionals Forensic Psychology, Third Edition is essential reading for undergraduates' first encounter with the subject area and is an excellent introduction for more specialised postgraduate courses.
Call Number: 614.15 DAV + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Criminal behavior : a psychological approach by For undergraduate and graduate courses in criminal behavior, criminology, the psychology of crime, crime and delinquency, and forensic psychology. A comprehensive psychological approach to criminal behavior. Accurate, researched-based, contemporary, and comprehensive: Criminal Behavior: A Psychological Approach, Tenth Edition, builds on the excellence established in previous editions. The text offers a detailed look at crime, what may lead to it, and how criminal behavior may be prevented, all from a psychological perspective. Focusing on serious crimes, particularly those involving violence, Criminal Behavior offers a comprehensive look at this complex field with effective and engaging material that has been classroom-tested for over thirty years.
Call Number: 364.3 BAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
The Psychology of Criminal Conduct by The Psychology of Criminal Conduct, Sixth Edition, provides a psychological and evidence-informed perspective of criminal behavior that sets it apart from many criminological and mental health explanations of criminal behavior. Drawing upon the General Personality and Cognitive Social Learning theory, James Bonta and Donald Andrews provide an overview of the theoretical context and major knowledge base of the psychology of criminal conduct, discuss the eight major risk/need factors of criminal conduct, examine the prediction and classification of criminal behavior along with prevention and rehabilitation, and summarize the major issues in understanding criminal conduct. This book also offers the Risk/Need/Responsivity (RNR) model of offender assessment and treatment that has guided developments in the subject throughout the world. In this edition, the first since Andrews' death, Bonta carefully maintains the book's original contributions while presenting these core concepts succinctly, clearly, and elegantly. Appropriate for advanced undergraduates and graduate students as well as for scholars, researchers, and practitioners, The Psychology of Criminal Conduct, Sixth Edition, further extends and refines the authors' body of work.
Call Number: 364.3 BON + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Psychology in Probation Services by This book serves as a route map for psychologists and probationofficers working in probation services. Outlines the strategic framework for psychological servicesacross prisons and probation. Gives an up-to-date picture of some key emerging areas ofapplied psychological practice in probation settings. Covers the development of applied psychological services, courtwork, mental health, working with sex offenders, risk assessment,group work, cognitive skills, multi-agency public protectionpanels, and lifer assessments. The editors are Deputy Head and Head of Psychology for Prisonsand Probation Services, and therefore well placed to compile thisbook. Complements Graham Towl?s book Psychology inPrisons (BPS Blackwell, 2003).
Call Number: 364.63019 CRI + eBook
Publication Date: 2005
Criminological and Forensic Psychology by The second edition of Criminological and Forensic Psychology is an even more theoretically rigorous, practically relevant, engaging and fun introduction to this broad and fascinating field. It covers both the conceptual basis within which psychology knowledge is applied in forensic contexts and the practical applications of psychology to the criminal civil justice systems. Key Features: Case studies feature in every chapter and place students in the full context of a criminal case, showing them how psychological theories can be used to explain real-life crimes. In-depth exploration of the fascinating courtroom process including separate chapters on the Defendant's Mind and The Jury. A dedicated chapter on research methods specific to forensic psychology to help students do their research project around this topic, covering the final year and post-graduate research. A new chapter on Intimate relationship aggression: Domestic Violence and Domestic Homicide Online resources including chapter-by-chapter multiple choice questions, additional case studies and links to further readings
Call Number: 364.3019 GAV
Publication Date: 2019
Introduction to Forensic and Criminal Psychology by Introduction to Forensic Criminal Psychology, 6th Edition provides a clear, comprehensive and engaging coverage of the subject. With a continued emphasis on key empirical findings and the theory stemming from this research, this book will equip you with a deep and contextualised understanding of this fascinating area.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Psychology and Law by Now in its fourth edition, Psychology and Law is a comprehensive guide to the complex interactions between psychology and criminal law. Andreas Kapardis explores contemporary psycho-legal issues both in and out of the courtroom, from eyewitness testimony, investigative interviewing, jury decision making, and sentencing as a human process, to restorative justice, terrorism, police prejudice and offender profiling. The book draws upon sources from Europe, North America and Australia to investigate the subjectivity and human fallibility inherent in our systems of justice. It suggests ways of minimising undesirable influences on judicial decision making, and discusses procedures for dealing with witnesses and suspects. Fully revised and with greater emphasis on relevant law, Psychology and Law remains the leading text on legal psychology for students and practitioners in psychology, law, criminology, social work and law enforcement.
Call Number: 340.19 KAP
Publication Date: 2014
The Psychology of Criminal and Violent Behaviour by This indispensable introduction to the psychological theories of criminality and violence examines how both psychology and biology play a role in understanding what may drive individuals to commit crime. Drawing on relevant research, real-world examples, and gripping case studies, The Psychology of Criminal and Violent Behaviour applies theory to provide deep insight into criminal behaviour. FEATURES A theoretical approach helps students identify and understand key psychological theories and concepts Accessible content: While theoretical in approach, the material is presented in a way that meets the needs of both psychology and criminology students Coverage of both psychological and biological factors on a range of topics--including reactive and instrumental violence, aggression, psychopathy, social cognition, and more--explores how and why criminal and violent behaviour occur "Researching Criminal and Violent Behaviour" boxes discuss important research and topics in the field, including the Danish adoption study, the Bobo doll experiments, the Violence Risk Appraisal Guide, attachment theory, threat/control-override symptoms, and cyberstalking Diverse case studies on such notorious figures as Phineas Gage, Charles Whitman, Richard Ramirez, the Manson Family, Karla Homolka, and Ethan Couch provide real-world examples of criminal and violent behaviour and help students apply theory to real life Chapters on homicide and interpersonal violence provide piercing insight into topics like aggression and violent behaviour, serial murder, school shootings, stalking, intimate partner violence, and sexual violence
Call Number: 364.3019 LYO
Publication Date: 2017
Mental Illness and Crime by Mental Illness and Crime comprehensively synthesizes and critically examines what is currently known about the relationship of mental illness and individual psychiatric disorders, in particular with criminal, violent, and other forms of antisocial behavior. The book integrates scholarship from psychology, psychiatry, clinical neuroscience, criminology, and law when presenting explanations for and etiologies of mental illness-related criminal and violent behaviors. Moreover, the book provides the reader with a diagnostic understanding of mental disorders across various classification systems, including the current DSM-5 and ICD-10. In addition, the authors critically examine what is known about the treatment and social implications of this body of research, including its practical applications within the criminal justice system. Unique to the field, this text will contribute to a better understanding of criminality and violence and move society toward a greater acceptance of individuals with these illnesses.
Call Number: 364.380973 SCH
Publication Date: 2014
Psychology in Prisons by Edited by the Head of Psychology for Her Majesty's Prison Service and the National Probation Service, this book gives an account of the work of psychologists in Her Majesty's prisons. Edited by the Head of Psychology for Her Majesty's Prison and Probation Services. Looks at the work of psychologists in prisons. Contributors look at the background, current practice and likely future directions for each topic.
Call Number: 365 TOW + eBook
Publication Date: 2003
Forensic Psychology by A comprehensive overview of forensic psychology as it applies to the civil and criminal justice systems in the UK, which draws on the international evidence base, with contributions from leading international experts Designed to cover the British Psychological Society training syllabus in forensic psychology, meeting the needs of postgraduate students Chapters are each written by leading international experts, and provide the latest research and evidence base practice for students Ideal for qualified practitioners as a resource for continuing professional development The text is written in a style designed to support and direct students, and includes specific learning aids and guides to further study Linked to an online site providing additional learning materials, offering further aid to students
Call Number: 614.15 TOW + eBooks
Publication Date: 2010
Mad or Bad?: a Critical Approach to Counselling and Forensic Psychology by Is an offender with mental health problems fully responsible for their offences? Should certain criminal behaviors be treated with incarceration and rehabilitation--or counseling and psychotherapy? Mad or Bad? asks these questions, and more. It is a cutting-edge text that provides a comprehensive introduction to mental health problems and criminal behavior, and considers the most common and effective therapeutic approaches for working with offenders and victims of crime. Part 1 explores the predominant tensions between forensic and therapeutic agendas; Part 2 considers how criminal and 'insane' identities and careers may be considered gendered, classed, culturally, and age-dependent experiences, and be related to power and oppression; Part 3 examines issues around sex and sexuality in forensic and therapeutic settings; Part 4 introduces a range of therapeutic approaches for working with offenders and victims of crime; Part 5 covers forensic and therapeutic practices, including programs for the prevention of both mental health issues and offending. Edited by an expert team from the Open University and written by a broad range of contributors, this book draws on a wealth of experience in this popular subject area. It will be a key text for students of forensic psychology, counseling and psychotherapy, and for health and social care professionals working in therapeutic and forensic settings.
Call Number: eBooks
Publication Date: 2017
Forensic Psychology by This book brings together academics, practitioners and experts in the field of forensic psychology to demonstrate the scope of the discipline and push its parameters. Its aim is to go beyond introductory texts to challenge perceptions, to raise questions for research and to pose problems for practice. The editors hope to inspire and stimulate debate about how forensic psychology can aid the practice of justice. The book is divided into six sections, addressing key topics from the discipline: investigation and prosecution; testimony and evidence; serious and persistent offending; treatment as intervention; intervention and prevention and punishment and corrections. The contributors are drawn from the UK, the USA and Australia. This updated, revised and significantly expanded edition develops the picture of diversity and depth of forensic psychology; considers ways in which the discipline has progressed and identifies challenges for its future sustainability and growth. includes a new section on treatment as intervention with contributions on personality disordered offenders; anger control group work with forensic psychiatric inpatients; and developments in treatment for drug misuse offenders additional chapters throughout including contributions on UK police interviews; the investigation and prosecutoin of rape; the effect of gender in the courtroom; forensic psychology and terrorism; the aetiology of genocide; self harm in prisons; post-corrections reintegration and many more an innovative textbook on forensic psychology exploring application of the subject and setting forensic psychology in a broader context demonstrates ways in which forensic psychology can aid the practice of criminal justice This book will be essential reading for students of forensic psychology and practitioners working in the field.
Call Number: 614.15 ADL + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
The Cambridge Handbook of Forensic Psychology by Forensic psychology has developed and extended from an original, narrow focus on presenting evidence to the courts to a wider application across the whole span of civil and criminal justice, which includes dealing with suspects, offenders, victims, witnesses, defendants, litigants and justice professionals. This Handbook provides an encyclopedic-style source regarding the major concerns in forensic psychology. It is an invaluable reference text for practitioners within community, special hospital, secure unit, prison, probation and law enforcement forensic settings, as well as being appropriate for trainees and students in these areas. It will also serve as a companion text for lawyers and psychiatric and law enforcement professionals who wish to be apprised of forensic psychology coverage. Each entry provides a succinct outline of the topic, describes current thinking, identifies relevant consensual or contested aspects and alternative positions. Readers are presented with key issues and directed towards specialized sources for further reference.
Call Number: 614.15 BRO + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Forensic Psychology by Lie detection, offender profiling, jury selection, insanity in the law, predicting the risk of re-offending , the minds of serial killers and many other topics that fill news and fiction are all aspects of the rapidly developing area of scientific psychology broadly known as ForensicPsychology. Forensic Psychology: A Very Short Introduction discusses all the aspects of psychology that are relevant to the legal and criminal process as a whole. It includes explanations of criminal behaviour and criminality, including the role of mental disorder in crime, and discusses how forensic psychologycontributes to helping investigate the crime and catching the perpetrators. It also explains how psychologists provide guidance to all those involved in civil and criminal court proceedings, including both the police and the accused, and what expert testimony can be provided by a psychologist about the offender at the trial. Finally, David Canter examines how forensicpsychology is used, particularly in prisons, to help in the management, treatment and rehabilitation of offenders, once they have been convicted.
Call Number: 614.15 CAN
Publication Date: 2010