Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Law for Criminologists reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Criminal Law by
Criminal Law: Text, Cases, and Materials offers comprehensive legal coverage and insightful analysis alongside expertly selected extracts from key cases and academic sources.The effective two-part structure of each chapter in the book - the first part explaining the law as it is, the second examining the theoretical aspects of the law - ensures that readers not only gain a secure understanding of the law itself but also acquire a fundamental appreciation of thesurrounding philosophical and ethical debates. Important theoretical material is made accessible to students through a particularly engaging writing style. The author's clarity of expression brings the subject to life and places the law in context.This text is an essential and complete resource for all those wanting to get to grips with the fascinating and sometimes challenging area of criminal law.Online ResourcesThis book is accompanied by online resources, including:DT An introductory video from the author DT Multiple choice questions DT Guidance on selected questions from the book DT Key case flashcards DT Useful web links DT A full bibliography
Call Number: 345.42 HER
Publication Date: 2020
Criminal Law by
Criminal Law provides a concise account of all the relevant aspects of criminal law in a manageable and thought-provoking way. Underpinned by the author's expert insight, this is an essential introductory guide to criminal law. In an area where case law is so integral to effectiveunderstanding of the different legal principles, Criminal Law provides numerous key case summaries to help students remember the key points of law, with an authoritative guiding commentary to help them think critically about and around the subject.Students are able to consolidate their own learning through supporting chapter summaries, further reading, and self-test questions throughout the book.
Call Number: 345.42 PAD
Publication Date: 2016
Slapper and Kelly's the English Legal System by
Slapper and Kelly's The English Legal System explains and critically assesses how our law is made and applied. Trusted by generations of academics and students, this authoritative textbook clearly describes the legal rules of England and Wales and their collective influence as a sociocultural institution. This latest edition has been extensively restructured and updated, providing up-to-date and reliable analysis of recent developments that have an impact on the legal system in England and Wales. Key learning features include: useful chapter summaries which act as a good check point for students; 'food for thought' questions at the end of each chapter to prompt critical thinking and reflection; sources for further reading and suggested websites at the end of each chapter to point students towards further learning pathways; and an online skills network including how tos, practical examples, tips, advice and interactive examples of English law in action. Relied upon by generations of students, this book is a permanent fixture in this ever-evolving subject.
Call Number: 349.42 KEL
Publication Date: 2020
There are no specific websites recommended for this module.
Criminal Law by
Criminal Law, now in its sixteenth edition, has been providing students with a readable and reliable introduction to this fascinating subject for over twenty-five years. This thorough text enables readers to feel confident in their knowledge of the law, while its concise approach ensures thatthey are not overwhelmed.The expanded contextual coverage brings the subject to life whilst the thought-provoking commentary on judicial and legal decisions means that the text is fascinating and entertaining as well as accurate.A range of helpful features are included, including end-of-chapter 'law in context' features, highlighted case fact summaries, questions, examples, and key points, ensuring that the information provided is broken down and easy to comprehend. Further reading sections provide students with a carefullyselected starting point for further research.In short, any student studying criminal law for the first time should not be without this book.Digital formats and resourcesThe sixteenth edition is available for students and institutions to purchase in a variety of formats, and is supported by online resources.The e-book offers a mobile experience and convenient access along with functionality tools, navigation features and links that offer extra learning support: www.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/ebooksThis edition is also accompanied by a selection of online resources to support and further student learning, including:DT Multiple choice questionsDT An additional chapter on Misuse of Drugs Act OffencesDT Legal updates
Call Number: 345.42 ALL
Publication Date: 2021
Ashworth's Principles of Criminal Law by
Ashworth's Principles of Criminal Law, now in its ninth edition, takes a distinctive approach to the subject of criminal law, whilst still covering all of the vital topics found on criminal law courses. Uniquely theoretical, it seeks to enlighten the reader as to the underlying principles andtheoretical foundations of the criminal law, critically engaging readers by contextualizing and analysing the law.This is essential reading for students seeking a sophisticated and critically engaging exploration of the subject.Online ResourcesThe text is accompanied by online resources housing a full bibliography as well as a selection of useful web links.
Call Number: 345.42 HOR
Publication Date: 2019
Legal Method by
The Palgrave Macmillan Law Masters series is a long-running and successful list of titles offering clear, concise and authoritative guides to the main subject areas, written by experienced and respected authors. This ninth edition of Legal Method provides a lively introduction to the nature of the English legal system and its sources, and to the techniques which lawyers use when handling those sources. The text assumes no prior knowledge and makes its content accessible by clarity of expression rather than by dilution of content. In addition to more conventional sources, writers as varied as Jonathan Swift, Alexander Pope and T. S. Eliot are cited. This is an ideal course companion for both law undergraduate and GDL/CPE students. Includes end of chapter summaries and self-test exercises.
Call Number: 349.42 MCL
Publication Date: 2013
Smith, Hogan, and Ormerod's Text, Cases, and Materials on Criminal Law by
Smith, Hogan, and Ormerod's Text, Cases, and Materials on Criminal Law is a thorough and accessible guide to criminal law, combining extracts from key cases and statutes, together with invaluable extracts from expert reports and articles. Ormerod and Laird expertly guide the reader through thevarious facets of the law while posing numerous questions for further investigation and reflection.The contents of the twelfth edition have been substantially revised and restructured to closely match the structure of contemporary courses. This new edition includes significantly more explanatory text and third-party critical commentary, ensuring that the book is suitable for use as a coretextbook.This book provides the law student with everything they need to develop a thorough understanding of this fascinating subject.Online Resource Centrewww.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/orc/sho/This book is accompanied by a selection of online resources, including detailed annual updates, useful web links, and outline answer guidance to selected in-text questions.
Call Number: 345.42 ORM
Publication Date: 2017