Essential Psychology by
The third edition of Essential Psychology provides a thorough introduction for students and anyone who wishes to gain a strong overview of the field. This team of authors provide a student-friendly guide to Psychology, with a vivid narrative writing style, features designed to stimulate critical thinking and inspire students to learn independently, and online resources for lecturers and students. This comprehensive introductory text is relevant for both the specialist and non-specialist psychology student, challenging those who studied psychology before university while remaining accessible to those who did not. The third edition: - Gives students a firm foundation in all areas covered on accredited British Psychological Society degree courses - Includes new chapters on psychopathology, research methods, language, motivation and emotion, lifespan development, health psychology, forensic psychology and critical social psychology- Relates theory to the real world to help students think about where they will employ their degree after undergraduate study
Approaches to Psychology 6th Edition by 
Psychology by
This globally-focused and renowned textbook spans the entire discipline of psychology - from the fundamental principles of psychology as a science, to more nuanced approaches in core disciplines such as cognitive, developmental, social and personality psychology. Woven together with engaging features, research boxes and activities that will help students to both think like a scientist and stretch their imagination. In-depth and yet written with irresistible enthusiasm and humour by a world-renowned team of psychologists and researchers, this book is a complete course companion for all undergraduate psychology students. It is both engaging and yet scientifically sound and theoretically rigorous. The only book students need as they begin their study of psychology.
This page provides information specific to your module.
For more information and resources for Psychology Routes, have a look at your Subject Guide.
The Psychology of Criminal Conduct 5th Ed by
The Psychology of Criminal Conduct, Sixth Edition, provides a psychological and evidence-informed perspective of criminal behavior that sets it apart from many criminological and mental health explanations of criminal behavior. Drawing upon the General Personality and Cognitive Social Learning theory, James Bonta and Donald Andrews provide an overview of the theoretical context and major knowledge base of the psychology of criminal conduct, discuss the eight major risk/need factors of criminal conduct, examine the prediction and classification of criminal behavior along with prevention and rehabilitation, and summarize the major issues in understanding criminal conduct. This book also offers the Risk/Need/Responsivity (RNR) model of offender assessment and treatment that has guided developments in the subject throughout the world. In this edition, the first since Andrews' death, Bonta carefully maintains the book's original contributions while presenting these core concepts succinctly, clearly, and elegantly. Appropriate for advanced undergraduates and graduate students as well as for scholars, researchers, and practitioners, The Psychology of Criminal Conduct, Sixth Edition, further extends and refines the authors' body of work.
The Psychology of Criminal Conduct by
Taken from published reviews: " Dr Blackburn has written a remarkably good book; indeed, the best book on the topic from either side of the Atlantic I have read. the breadth of the author s knowledge is nothing short of encyclopaedic. Not only psychology developmental and social, as well as clinical but also psychiatry, biology, philosophy, and law are addressed in this volume. Finally, the book is written with clarity, economy, and a lucid style. It is as inviting and user-friendly as any work of such complexity can be. I hope that it will find its way into psychiatry residency training programmes as well. It could do wonders for replacing turf-battles with common ground." Criminal Behaviour & Mental Health " The scholarly breadth and accuracy of this work are remarkable. There seems to be no important contribution to our psychological understanding of crime which Blackburn has omitted to discuss, including those approaches from sociological and social psychology which are frequently neglected in straightforward psychological treatments. Moreover, all approaches are intelligently and sympathetically discussed." Expert Evidence " The volume is infused with the author s enthusiasm for a social cognitive perspective on offending behaviour, but he also robustly defends the utility of the notion of personality traits. Overall, this book brings together a vast array of research and theory examined from the perspective of the clinician involved with the individual. It will almost certainly become the key background text for post-graduate courses teaching forensic psychology and would be a valuable addition to the bookshelf of any clinician with forensic concerns." Clinical Psychology Forum " This is undoubtedly an important book. The end result is a book of excellent quality, which I recommend most warmly to clinical psychologists, and indeed, to anybody who is interested in criminological psychology ." Behaviour Research and Therapy " This author is to be congratulated for having produced this impressive volume. It provides a comprehensive review which is critical yet well-balanced. It assumes no prior familiarity with the field, and specialists from many different disciplines will learn a great deal from it." Criminal Law Review
Essential Social Psychology by
From aggression to altruism, prejudice to persuasion, Essential Social Psychology 3e introduces students to the discoveries and debates that define social psychology today. It covers both classic and cutting edge research studies and provides plenty of real life examples and illustrations to help students to develop a good understanding of the subject whilst building the confidence to apply this knowledge successfully in assignments and exams. An extensive range of learning aids including a glossary, summary sections and memory maps - combined with an array of features on the student section of the companion website - will help reinforce this learning and check retention at specific milestones throughout the course. New to the third edition: A new full-colour design Two brand new chapters on Applied Social Psychology and Social Psychological Methods Coverage of some developing research perspectives including social neuroscience and evolutionary psychology New 'Back to the Real World' textboxes which situate academic findings in the context of the world around you An enhanced SAGE edge(tm) companion website (study.sagepub.com/crispandturner3e) with a suite of features to enhance your learning experience.
Psychology (Comer, Gould, & Furnham) by 
Ch 9 Individual Differences and Offending in The Handbook of Crime and Punishment by
Crime is one of the most significant political issues in contemporary American society. Crime control statistics and punishment policies are subjects of constant partisan debate, while the media presents sensationalized stories of criminal activity and over-crowded prisons. In the highlypoliticized arena of crime and justice, empirical data and reasoned analysis are often overlook or ignored. The Handbook of Crime and Punishment, however, provides a comprehensive overview of criminal justice, criminology, and crime control policy, thus enabling a fundamental understanding of crimeand punishment essential to an informed public. Expansive in its coverage, the Handbook presents materials on crime and punishment trends as well as timely policy issues. The latest research on the demography of crime (race, gender, drug use) is included and weighty current problems (organizedcrime, white collar crime, family violence, sex offenders, youth gangs, drug abuse policy) are examined. Processes and institutions that deal with accused and convicted criminals and techniques of punishment are also examined. While some articles emphasize American research findings anddevelopments, others incorporate international research and offer a comparative perspective from other English-speaking countries and Western Europe. Editor Michael Tonry, a leading scholar of criminology, introduces the 28 articles in the volume, each contributed by an expert in the field. Designedfor a wide audience, The Handbook is encyclopedic in its range and depth of content, yet is written in an accessible style. The most inclusive and authoritative work on the topic to be found in one volume, this book will appeal to those interested in the study of crime and its causes, effects,trends, and institutions; those interested in the forms and philosophies of punishment; and those interested in crime control.
Themes, Issues and Debates in Psychology, 4th Edition by
Stimulate critical thinking with this thematic approach to Psychology by best-selling author Richard Gross, that integrates topics, theories and areas of research. Themes, Issues and Debates in Psychology is ideal reading for all students of Psychology and is relevant to both the synoptic element of A2 and undergraduate courses. This thematic approach is not usually found in traditional textbooks. - Aids understanding with a thematic approach that provides a historical and theoretical context for what are usually treated as 'standalone'topics - Encourages a broader, more integrated approach to essay writing - Motivates critical thinking to stretch and challenge students in areas such as behaviour, culture, consciousness, parapsychology and religion
Essential Evolutionary Psychology by
Electronic Inspection Copy available for instructors here`It is refreshing, in the wake of the sometimes uncritical enthusiasm for evolutionary psychology, to read a thoughtful and balanced account of the problems as well as the benefits of an evolutionary perspective on human behaviour′ - Professor Anne Campbell, Durham University Essential Evolutionary Psychology introduces students to the core theories, approaches, and findings that are the necessary foundations for developing an understanding of the evolutionary psychology. It offers a sound, brief and student friendly explication of how evolutionary theory has been and is applied in psychology. The book unpicks the very essence of human evolution, and how this knowledge is used to give evolutionary accounts of four of the central pillars of human behaviour - cooperation, attraction, aggression, and family formation. It also covers evolutionary accounts of abnormal behaviour, language and culture. Visit the Companion Website at www.sagepub.co.uk/hampton
Psychology and Crime by
Crime is an expensive aspect of society, and each year huge amounts of public money are spent on the courts, police, probation services, and prisons, while the human costs in terms of pain, fear and loss is incalculable. Psychology and Crime comprehensively covers the vital role of psychological theories and methods in understanding and managing criminal behaviour. It analyzes in depth the application of psychological findings to a range of serious crimes, such as arson, violent crime, and sexual crime. It examines the use of psychology by the police and the courts and discusses the role of psychology in crime reduction strategies. Written by a leading authority on the subject and informed by over twenty years of teaching experience, the second edition of this popular text has been thoroughly revised and updated to take account of the most recent research in the field. New features also include: Expansive coverage of the development of criminal behaviour; Chapter summaries and end-of-chapter discussion points; Text boxes throughout highlighting key issues, debates and brief histories; Supplementary online resources at www.routledge.com/cw/hollin. Psychology and Crime is an essential introduction and reference for undergraduate and postgraduate students in psychology, criminology, sociology and related subjects. It also represents an invaluable resource for professional training courses and anyone planning a career in the criminal justice system.
Ch 2, Criminological Psychology in The Oxford Handbook of Criminology by
The most comprehensive and authoritative single volume text on the subject, the fifth edition of the acclaimed Oxford Handbook of Criminology combines masterly reviews of all the key topics with extensive references to aid further research.In addition to the history of the discipline and reviews of different theoretical perspectives, the book provides up-to-date reviews of diverse topics as public views about crime and justice, youth crime and justice and state crime and human rights.The fifth edition has been substantially revised and updated so that it covers topics being taught at undergraduate level as well as encapsulating the latest developments in the academic and practical spheres of criminology. An impressive line-up of contributors, experts in their respective fields,means the Oxford Handbook of Criminology will continue to be an essential purchase for all students and teachers of criminology and an indispensable resource for professionals.Online Resource Centre* Selected chapters from previous editions* Details about the contributors* Guidance on answering essay questions* Essay questions* Selected further reading* Weblinks* Figures and tables from the text
A History of Psychology by
A contemporary and engaging student friendly text with a multinational focus conveys the dynamism of the science of psychology. Student focused features offer social context, explore interdisciplinary relationships, reinforce critical thinking and ultimately show the impact and application of the science. Key features: - Each chapter begins with a highly engaging vignette or opening case, which features a familiar-to-most-students theme or topic. - Multinational and multicultural emphasis examines the development of psychology from around the world. - The text examines contemporary psychology yet does not give short shrift to the roots of psychology. - Each chapter contains a section on the impact of psychology on society as well as societal influences on the discipline which includes its influence in various fields such as medicine, education, work, criminal justice, business, advertising, and entertainment. - ′Case In Point′ boxes give students the opportunity to come to their own conclusions about issues and think critically about biases that may have influenced psychology. - Chapter opening time charts place main events, names, and theories in a visual, chronological perspective of psychology′s past and present - ′In their own words′ boxes display quotes made by famous psychologists and other scholars about psychological research and its applications - Checkpoints, chapter summaries and end-of-chapter key terms help students review and prepare for exams
Opening Skinners Box by
Through ten examples of ingenious experiments by some of psychology's most innovative thinkers, Lauren Slater traces the evolution of the century's most pressing concerns--free will, authoritarianism, conformity, and morality. Beginning with B. F. Skinner and the legend of a child raised in a box, Slater takes us from a deep empathy with Stanley Milgram's obedience subjects to a funny and disturbing re-creation of an experiment questioning the validity of psychiatric diagnosis. Previously described only in academic journals and textbooks, these often daring experiments have never before been narrated as stories, chock-full of plot, wit, personality, and theme.
Crime in a Psychological Context by
This book examines the psychological constructs of crime and the criminal lifestyle and includes topics such as psychopathy, antisocial personality disorder, and criminal lifestyle. Written in an engaging style, the author introduces compelling explanations of crime, in part by showing how the criminal lifestyle is capable of integrating two seemingly incompatible crime paradigms: the career criminal paradigm and the criminal career paradigm. Starting with a context for criminality, moving from particular constructs of crime to more evidence-based theories, this volume challenges students to think in a different way about crime and criminal behavior. Each chapter: * Begins with a clinical case study that is periodically referenced throughout the chapter to illustrate and illuminate the context being discussed * examines the latent structure of crime-related constructs such as psychopathy, antisocial personality disorder, and criminal lifestyle * explores evidence-based interventions that could prevent further crime * offers a view of the phenomenological world of the criminal offender to help students further understand the nature of crime.
Psychology and Crime, Webber 2nd Ed. by
"Criminologists have been waiting a very long time for a psychology of crime that speaks their language. Finally it has arrived." - Dr David Gadd, Keele University Now in an updated second edition, this book explores the links between psychology and crime, taking the reader through psychological explanations of crime and the use of psychology within the criminal justice system. The book aims to demystify some of the myths of psychological criminology and situates the subject within its historical and theoretical foundations, whilst maintaining a contemporary outlook and critical awareness of the field's advantages and limitations. This second edition includes: Four new chapters, on Psychological perspectives and their approach to crime, Mentally disordered offenders, The Criminal Courts and the role of the Jury, and Victims, Fear of Crime and Offender Management. Improved coverage of the issues around interpersonal violence, sexual violence and deviancy, the psychology of crime in groups, and war crimes. Increased analysis of psychology and the criminal justice system. Essential reading for students in criminology, sociology and psychology.
Forensic Psychology by
This book brings together academics, practitioners and experts in the field of forensic psychology to demonstrate the scope of the discipline and push its parameters. Its aim is to go beyond introductory texts to challenge perceptions, to raise questions for research and to pose problems for practice. The editors hope to inspire and stimulate debate about how forensic psychology can aid the practice of justice. The book is divided into six sections, addressing key topics from the discipline: investigation and prosecution; testimony and evidence; serious and persistent offending; treatment as intervention; intervention and prevention and punishment and corrections. The contributors are drawn from the UK, the USA and Australia. This updated, revised and significantly expanded edition develops the picture of diversity and depth of forensic psychology; considers ways in which the discipline has progressed and identifies challenges for its future sustainability and growth. includes a new section on treatment as intervention with contributions on personality disordered offenders; anger control group work with forensic psychiatric inpatients; and developments in treatment for drug misuse offenders additional chapters throughout including contributions on UK police interviews; the investigation and prosecutoin of rape; the effect of gender in the courtroom; forensic psychology and terrorism; the aetiology of genocide; self harm in prisons; post-corrections reintegration and many more an innovative textbook on forensic psychology exploring application of the subject and setting forensic psychology in a broader context demonstrates ways in which forensic psychology can aid the practice of criminal justice This book will be essential reading for students of forensic psychology and practitioners working in the field.
Psychology and Crime: Myths and Reality by
Peter B. Ainsworth examines the relationship of psychology to crime, criminals and the different stages and aspects of the criminal justice system in this student text that will also be relevant to general readers trained in law.
Ethical Issues and Guidelines in Psychology by
How do we know right from wrong, good from bad, help from hindrance, and how can we judge the behavior of others? Ethics are the rules and guidelines that we use to make such judgements. Often there are no clear answers, which make this subject both interesting and potentially frustrating. In this book the authors offer readers the opportunity to develop and express their own opinions in relation to ethics in psychology. There are a number of famous many psychological studies that appear to have been harmful or cruel to the people or animals who took part in them. For example, memory researchers carried out studies on a man who had no memory for over forty years, but because he had no memory, he was never able to agree to the studies. Is this a reasonable thing to do to someone? Comparative psychologist Harry Harlow found that he could create severe and lasting distress in monkeys by keeping them in social isolation. Is this a reasonable thing to do even if we find out useful things about human distress?If you were able to use psychological techniques to break someone down so that they revealed information that was useful to your government would you do it? If so, why and if not, why not? These ethical issues are not easy to resolve and the debates continue as we encounter new dilemmas. The book uses many examples of psychological research to look at key ethical issues ethical guidelines of psychologists socially sensitive research ethics in applied psychology the use of animals in research This book will be essential reading for and undergraduate and pre-undergraduate students studying psychology and students of other subjects concerned with ethics.
Debates in Psychology by
The idea of studying texts in context has become a major new emphasis in contemporary literary studies. This book explores the idea of contexts and the way they affect texts, concentrating upon: the writer's context; the reader's context; the text's context; the language context; and the meaning context. Through a series of units comprising texts, exercises and readings, Adrian Beard sets out a framework for studying texts and their contexts and shows how this approach can lead to a valuable new understanding of the changing and multiple meanings of any text. This accessible set of materials should be ideal for any students meeting the idea of contexts for the first time.
The Cambridge Handbook of Forensic Psychology by
Forensic psychology has developed and extended from an original, narrow focus on presenting evidence to the courts to a wider application across the whole span of civil and criminal justice, which includes dealing with suspects, offenders, victims, witnesses, defendants, litigants and justice professionals. This Handbook provides an encyclopedic-style source regarding the major concerns in forensic psychology. It is an invaluable reference text for practitioners within community, special hospital, secure unit, prison, probation and law enforcement forensic settings, as well as being appropriate for trainees and students in these areas. It will also serve as a companion text for lawyers and psychiatric and law enforcement professionals who wish to be apprised of forensic psychology coverage. Each entry provides a succinct outline of the topic, describes current thinking, identifies relevant consensual or contested aspects and alternative positions. Readers are presented with key issues and directed towards specialized sources for further reference.
Psychology: a Very Short Introduction by
Psychology is part of everyone's experience: it influences the way we think about everything from education and intelligence, to relationships and emotions, advertising and criminality. People readily behave as amateur psychologists, offering explanations for what people think, feel, and do.But what exactly are psychologists trying to do? What scientific grounding do they have for their approach? This Very Short Introduction explores some of psychology's leading ideas and their practical relevance.In this new edition, Gillian Butler and Freda McManus explore a variety of new topics and ways of studying the brain. Until recently it was not possible to study the living human brain directly, so psychologists studied our behaviour, and used their observations to derive hypotheses about what wasgoing on inside. Now - through neuroscience - our knowledge of the workings of the brain has increased and improved technology provides us with a scientific basis on which to understand the structure and workings of the brain, and allows brain activity to be observed and measured. Exploring some ofthe most important advances and developments in psychology - from evolutionary psychology and issues surrounding adolescence and aggression to cognitive psychology - this is a stimulating introduction for anyone interested in understanding the human mind.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Forensic Psychology: a Very Short Introduction by
Lie detection, offender profiling, jury selection, insanity in the law, predicting the risk of re-offending , the minds of serial killers and many other topics that fill news and fiction are all aspects of the rapidly developing area of scientific psychology broadly known as ForensicPsychology.Forensic Psychology: A Very Short Introduction discusses all the aspects of psychology that are relevant to the legal and criminal process as a whole. It includes explanations of criminal behaviour and criminality, including the role of mental disorder in crime, and discusses how forensic psychologycontributes to helping investigate the crime and catching the perpetrators.It also explains how psychologists provide guidance to all those involved in civil and criminal court proceedings, including both the police and the accused, and what expert testimony can be provided by a psychologist about the offender at the trial. Finally, David Canter examines how forensicpsychology is used, particularly in prisons, to help in the management, treatment and rehabilitation of offenders, once they have been convicted.
Personality and Individual Differences 2nd Ed by
Personality and Individual Differences is a state-of-the-art undergraduate textbook that covers the salient and recent literature on personality, intellectual ability, motivation, and other individual differences such as creativity, emotional intelligence, leadership, and vocational interests. As well as introducing all topics relating to individual differences this book examines and discusses many important underlying issues, such as the psychometric approach to latent variables, validity, reliability, and correlations between constructs. An essential textbook for first-time as well as more advanced students of the discipline, Personality and Individual Differences provides grounding in all the major aspects of differential psychology. Accompanying website featuring instructor material, further web resources and electronic versions of chapters Covers BPS syllabus for differential psychology Written by a rising star in the field of individual differences New full colour page design More real-life (and informal) examples 20% more figures and tables to use as study-tools and summaries Expanded sections on validity, temperament, creativity and hot intelligence New material on protective and non-psychometric tests
Individual Differences by
Colin Cooper's Individual Differences has been a favourite among lecturers and students of differential psychology since it was published in 1997. Where other texts focus on either the theories of personality or the techniques of psychometric testing, Individual Differences remains unique in being the only textbook to cover both aspects of this intriguing subject. This second edition has been thoroughly updated in the light of recent research and users' comments.
An Introduction to Criminal Psychology by
Crime is a topic that is of considerable interest to policy-makers, politicians and the public alike. We want to know what factors can explain the nature and prevalence of crime in society and use this knowledge to better develop approaches for managing criminal behaviour. This book provides a comprehensive overview of approaches to understanding crime and criminal behaviour, with a focus on psychological perspectives. A wide range of different types of criminal behaviour are considered, including juvenile crime, violent offending, sexual offending, collective violence and drug use. For each type of offence a clear overview of key conceptual and methodological issues is provided, along with a detailed consideration of the major theoretical approaches that have been developed. The book concludes by considering how our theoretical understanding of crime can inform our responses to criminal behaviour in terms of punishment, prevention and rehabilitation. Key features of the book include: ¿ an in-depth coverage of a broad range of different types of criminal behaviour; ¿ inclusion of a diverse range of different theoretical perspectives; ¿ accessibly written, with extensive use of case studies, boxes and activities; ¿ an extensive use of up-to-date references that highlight the current state of knowledge in the field of criminal psychology. This book should be of interest to students, academics, researchers and practitioners with an interest in criminal behaviour, and is particularly suitable for undergraduate courses in criminal psychology, forensic psychology and psychological criminology.
Individual Differences: Normal and Abnormal by
A title in the modular "Principles of Psychology" series, designed for A- level and other introductory courses. While normal individuals obviously differ from each other in various ways, psychologists have emphasized differences in intelligence and personality. This emphasis is reflected in the book, and various different views are discussed at length.; Abnormality has always been a source of fascination, although it has been difficult to form a good understanding of why and how abnormality develops. Psychologists have also grappled with other complex issues, such as how to classify abnormal individuals and what forms of treatment will prove beneficial. In spite of complexities, much progress has been made.
Individual Differences and Personality by
One of the most important ways in which psychology differs from the natural sciences arises from the existence of individual differences. In its study of individual differences, this book aims to identify dimensions that are applicable to everyone, but that discriminate among people.
Introduction to Forensic and Criminal Psychology 6th Ed by
Introduction to Forensic Criminal Psychology 6th edition provides a clear, comprehensive and engaging coverage of the subject. With a continued emphasis on key empirical findings and the theory stemming from this research, this book will equip you with a deep and contextualised understanding of this fascinating area.
Older Editions available in print
Understanding Psychology and Crime by
"This is an exceptional book that comprehensively covers the interface between psychology and criminology regarding an empirical understanding of crime. It is written in an engaging and accessible manner, nicely linking key themes in order to situate the contribution of psychology to theories of criminal behaviour, strategies for informed practice, and contemporary challenges. It should prove to be an incredible resource for students, but also be of interest to researchers and clinicians. I cannot recommend this text more heartily." Dr Ralph Serin, Carleton University, Canada "James McGuire is one of the leading international experts on what works in reducing reoffending, and he has written an extremely valuable and accessible textbook on psychology and crime. The book is a clearly written, well-researched and up-to-date survey of important contributions of psychology to key criminological issues. It is especially noteworthy for its illuminating reviews of cognitive-social learning theories, risk factors and longitudinal studies, risk assessment, cognitive-behavioural programmes and meta-analyses of treatment effectiveness." Professor David Farrington, Institute of Criminology, University of Cambridge What contributions can psychology make to our understanding of crime? How can psychological models and research help to prevent crime and reduce repeat offending? This highly readable book discusses the complex relationships between psychology, criminology and criminal justice. Challenging the assumptions of those who object to the use of psychology within criminology, this book shows how a methodical approach to the study of criminal behaviour can generate both systematic findings and practical solutions to problems. McGuire argues for a broader understanding of crime, based on factors such as the individual's cognitive and emotional development, in addition to the influences of socialization, peer groups, and the social and economic environment. He highlights the value of understanding 'pathways' to offending behaviour, and the critical points at which choices are made. Topics include: Theoretical and empirical research foundations of 'criminogenic risk factors' Theory turned into practice - the development of offending behaviour programmes A psychological perspective on some core concepts in criminology: retribution, deterrence and incapacitation Major practical applications of psychology in policing, prosecution and sentencing This authoritative and stimulating text is essential reading for students in criminology and psychology and for criminal justice practitioners and policy makers.
Criminal Psychology by
This book provides an accessible introduction to the increasingly popular subject of criminal psychology. It explores the application of psychology to understanding the crime phenomenon, criminal behaviour,solving crimes, the court process and punishment rehabilitation. It will be an invaluable resource for anybody taking courses in this field, in particular students taking the criminal psychology/forensic psychology components of the main A-level psychology specifications. The book is fully in line with the new A-level specifications being taught from September 2009. Each chapter includes case studies, keystudies, evaluations and a range of discussion questions. Apart from providing in depth and up-to-date knowledge on criminal psychology, the book is equally up-to-date on trends and issues in criminal justice today.
Psychology and Crime: Understanding and Tackling Offending Behaviour by
Society today is fascinated by crime. Crime is a hot topic in the media, so that people are continually exposed to criminal events, portrayals of those who commit them, and the suffering of victims. Yet the reality of crime is often very different from how it is portrayed in the media. Most crime is neither violent nor morbid; most offenders are not psychopaths, and although prison generally does not work, there may well be other, less punitive but more constructive interventions that are actually quite effective. This book exposes some of the most prevalent myths about crime and criminal behaviour. In addition it provides the reader with up-to-date knowledge on crime and offending behaviour. It also highlights the ways in which psychological methods of research and psychological knowledge can help us to understand criminal behaviour and the ways that targeted interventions are developed based upon this. Pakes' and Winstone's Psychology and Crime is essential reading for students taking courses in the psychology of crime, criminal and forensic psychology, criminology, and community justice, as well as for other courses where a knowledge of the complex relationship between psychology and crime - and its application in practice - is required. Practitioners and policy-makers will also find it highly informative.
The Anatomy of Violence by
With a 4-page full-color insert, and black-and-white illustrations throughout Why do some innocent kids grow up to become cold-blooded serial killers? Is bad biology partly to blame? For more than three decades Adrian Raine has been researching the biological roots of violence and establishing neurocriminology, a new field that applies neuroscience techniques to investigate the causes and cures of crime. In The Anatomy of Violence, Raine dissects the criminal mind with a fascinating, readable, and far-reaching scientific journey into the body of evidence that reveals the brain to be a key culprit in crime causation. nbsp; Raine documents from genetic research that the seeds of sin are sown early in life, giving rise to abnormal physiological functioning that cultivates crime. Drawing on classical case studies of well-known killers in history--including Richard Speck, Ted Kaczynski, and Henry Lee Lucas--Raine illustrates how impairments to brain areas controlling our ability to experience fear, make good decisions, and feel guilt predispose us to violence. He contends that killers can actually be coldhearted: something as simple as a low resting heart rate can give rise to violence. But arguing that biology is not destiny, he also sketches out provocative new biosocial treatment approaches that can change the brain and prevent violence. nbsp; Finally, Raine tackles the thorny legal and ethical dilemmas posed by his research, visualizing a futuristic brave new world where our increasing ability to identify violent offenders early in life might shape crime-prevention policies, for good and bad. Will we sacrifice our notions of privacy and civil rights to identify children as potential killers in the hopes of helping both offenders and victims? How should we punish individuals with little to no control over their violent behavior? And should parenting require a license? The Anatomy of Violence offers a revolutionary appraisal of our understanding of criminal offending, while also raising provocative questions that challenge our core human values of free will, responsibility, and punishment.
Forensic Psychology by
A comprehensive overview of forensic psychology as it applies to the civil and criminal justice systems in the UK, which draws on the international evidence base, with contributions from leading international experts Designed to cover the British Psychological Society training syllabus in forensic psychology, meeting the needs of postgraduate students Chapters are each written by leading international experts, and provide the latest research and evidence base practice for students Ideal for qualified practitioners as a resource for continuing professional development The text is written in a style designed to support and direct students, and includes specific learning aids and guides to further study Linked to an online site providing additional learning materials, offering further aid to students
Conceptual Issues in Psychology by
First published in 1991. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
The Lucifer effect : how good people turn evil by
In The Lucifer Effect, the award-winning and internationally respected psychologist, Philip Zimbardo, examines how the human mind has the capacity to be infinitely caring or selfish, kind or cruel, creative or destructive. He challenges our conceptions of who we think we are, what we believe we will never do - and how and why almost any of us could be initiated into the ranks of evil doers.At the same time he describes the safeguards we can put in place to prevent ourselves from corrupting - or being corrupted by - others, and what sets some people apart as heroes and heroines, able to resist powerful pressures to go along with the group, and to refuse to be team players when personal integrity is at stake.Using the first in-depth analysis of his classic Stanford Prison Experiment, and his personal experiences as an expert witness for one of the Abu Ghraib prison guards, Zimbardo's stimulating and provocative book raises fundamental questions about the nature of good and evil, and how each one of us needs to be vigilant to prevent becoming trapped in the 'Lucifer Effect', no matter what kind of character or morality we believe ourselves to have.The Lucifer Effect won the William James Book Award in 2008.
