Welcome to your Victimology reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Gender Crime and Victimisation by Davies, P.Gender, Crime and Victimisation is a thoughtful and thought-provoking book, exploring gender patterns in both offending and victimisation. It offers a thorough examination of how these patterns in society are variously established and represented, researched, explained and responded to by policy makers and criminal justice agencies. Bringing together key theory, research and policy developments, the book combines perspectives on the study of criminology with those of victimology and gender studies - drawing particularly on the influence of feminism. It analyses processes of criminalisation and social control, and their structural biases. It explores fears, anxieties and worries about crime, as well as particular vulnerabilities to crime. The book employs a range of learning devices to support the student reader, including: o Chapter overviews o Case studies and examples o Study questions o Further reading at the end of each chapter o A comprehensive glossary Comprehensive and robust, Gender, Crime and Victimisation provides a stimulating and topical overview that will appeal to undergraduates,
Handbook of Victims and Victimology, 2nd edn by Walklate, S.This second edition of the Handbook of Victims and Victimology presents a comprehensively revised and updated set of essays, bringing together internationally recognised scholars and practitioners to offer substantial research informed overviews within their specialist fields of investigation. This handbook is divided into five parts, with each part addressing a different theme within victimology: Part I offers a scene-setting exploration of new developments in the field, enduring issues that remain relatively unchanged and the gaps and traps within the contemporary victimological agenda Part II examines of the complex dimensions to victim experiences as structured by gender, age, ethnicity, sexuality and intersectionality Part III reflects on the problems and possibilities of formulating policy responses in the light of the changing appreciation of the nature and extent of victimhood Part IV focused on the value of a comparative lens and the problems and possibilities of victim policies when seen through this lens, explored along three geographical axes: Europe, Australia and Asia Part V considers other ways of thinking about who counts as a victim and what counts as victimhood and extends the boundaries of the victimological imagination outward Building on the success of the previous edition, this book provides an international focus on cutting-edge issues in the field of victimology. Including brand new chapters on intersectionality, child victims, sexuality, hate crime and crimes of the powerful, this handbook is essential reading for students and academics studying victims and victimology and an essential reference tool for those working within the victim support environment.
Victimology: The Essentials by Daigle, L. E.Victimology: The Essentials, Second Edition, is a comprehensive yet concise core textbook that explores the effects of victimization in the United States and internationally, with an emphasis on vulnerable populations. Drawing from the most up-to-date research, this accessible, student-friendly text provides an overview of the field of victimology, with a focus on the scope, causes, and responses to victimization today. Renowned author and researcher Leah E. Daigle expertly relays the history and development of the field of victimology, the extent to which people are victimized and why, and how the criminal justice system and other social services interact with victims and with each other. The highly anticipated Second Edition features contemporary issues such as stalking, hate crimes, human trafficking, terrorism, and more.
Call Number: 362.88 DAI
Publication Date: 2018
Victims, Crime and Society by Davies, P. ; Francis, P. ; Greer, C.The second edition has been fully revised and expanded, with two parts now spanning the key perspectives and key issues in victimology. Covering all the crucial theoretical, social and political contexts in victimology, the book: * Includes new chapters on defining and constructing victims, fear and vulnerability, sexuality, white collar crime and the implications of crime policy on victims * Considers a global range of historical and theoretical perspectives in victimology, as well as a new chapter on researching victims of crime * Reinforces and consolidates learning through critical thinking sections, future research suggestions, chapter summaries and a glossary of key terms * Now includes a companion website, complete with links to relevant journal articles in victimology
Call Number: 362.88 DAV
Publication Date: 2017
Victims of Crime, 4th edn by Davis, R. J. ; Lurigio, A. J. ; Herman, S.Victims of Crime is the ideal core textbook for victims of crime and general victims courses, and an excellent resource for researchers, practitioners, victims' rights advocates, and those who deal with victims in the fields of Law, Social Work, Counseling, and Criminal Justice. Using an engaging and comprehensible format, editors Robert C. Davis, Arthur J. Lurigio, and Susan Herman provide a synopsis of the contemporary literature and debates on significant topics in the field of criminal victimization. They focus on the emerging issues and policies in the areas of violence, abuse, and victims' rights, and the latest research and studies in the fields of victim rights and crime prevention.The Fourth Edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to include newly contributed and updated chapters utilizing the latest research and studies from experts in the field. It has a stronger focus on emerging issues and policies in the field of victimology than other comparable texts, and it offers the most current research, thinking, and best practices regarding crime victims and crime victim services.
Call Number: 362.8809 DAV
Publication Date: 2012
Victims' Rights, Human Rights and Criminal Justice by Doak, J.In recent times, the idea of 'victims' rights' has come to feature prominently in political, criminological and legal discourse, as well as being subject to regular media comment. The concept nevertheless remains inherently elusive, and there is still considerable ambiguity as to the origin and substance of such rights. This monograph deconstructs the nature and scope of the rights of victims of crime against the backdrop of an emerging international consensus on how victims ought to be treated and the role they ought to play. The essence of such rights is ascertained not only by surveying the plethora of international standards which deal specifically with crime victims, but also by considering the potential cross-applicability of standards relating to victims of abuse of power, with whom they have much in common. In this book Jonathan Doak considers the parameters of a number of key rights which international standards suggest victims ought to be entitled to. He then proceeds to ask whether victims are able to rely upon such rights within a domestic criminal justice system characterised by structures, processes and values which are inherently exclusionary, adversarial and punitive in nature.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Victims and Victimology by Goodey, J.This book provides an introduction to the key debates within the area of victims and victimology. While the mainstay of the text focuses on victim-centred criminal and social justice developments in England and Wales, examples from around the world are provided in order to explore the victims ¿place¿ in the context of wider political and policy debates. The book¿s eight chapters, together with its introduction and end comment, describe and comment on some of the most salient developments, in recent years, in so-called ¿victim-centred¿ justice. Victims and Victimology is suitable for courses at both undergraduate and postgraduate level.
Call Number: 362.88 GOO + eBook
Publication Date: 2005
'Victims, The Criminal Process, And Restorative Justice', in The Oxford Handbook of Criminology, pp. 398-325 by Hoyle, C.The most comprehensive and authoritative single volume text on the subject, the fifth edition of the acclaimed Oxford Handbook of Criminology combines masterly reviews of all the key topics with extensive references to aid further research.In addition to the history of the discipline and reviews of different theoretical perspectives, the book provides up-to-date reviews of diverse topics as public views about crime and justice, youth crime and justice and state crime and human rights.The fifth edition has been substantially revised and updated so that it covers topics being taught at undergraduate level as well as encapsulating the latest developments in the academic and practical spheres of criminology. An impressive line-up of contributors, experts in their respective fields,means the Oxford Handbook of Criminology will continue to be an essential purchase for all students and teachers of criminology and an indispensable resource for professionals.Online Resource Centre* Selected chapters from previous editions* Details about the contributors* Guidance on answering essay questions* Essay questions* Selected further reading* Weblinks* Figures and tables from the text
Call Number: 364 MAG
Publication Date: 2012
‘Victims, Victimisation and Criminal Justice’, in The Oxford Handbook of Criminology, pp. 461-498 by Hoyle, C ; Zedner, LThe most comprehensive and authoritative single volume text on the subject, the fourth edition of the acclaimed Oxford Handbook of Criminology combines masterly reviews of all the key topics with extensive references to aid further research. In addition to the history of the discipline andreviews of different theoretical perspectives, the book provides up-to-date reviews of diverse topics as the criminal justice process, race and gender, crime statistics, and the media and crime. The fourth edition has been substantially revised and updated and is essential reading for all teachersand students of criminology and an indispensable sourcebook for professionals.Online Resource Centre* Web links to key criminological resources allowing students to further research the subject* Notes on the Contributors* Editors' Introduction to the 4th edition
Call Number: 364 MAG
Publication Date: 2007
Critical Victimology by Mawby, R. I. ; Walklate, S.Drawing on a wealth of local, national and international sources, unpublished documents and original research, this book provides a theoretical and practical critique of victimology. The authors outline and discuss the issues facing victims today and address the fundamental question: How can we best ensure justice for victims, while at the same time preserving the rights of defendants? The search for answers raises other key questions: What are the risks of crime and do they vary from country to country? What is the impact of crime on the victim? How are victims treated by police, welfare agencies and courts? Why have governments become interested in victims? Can we learn from the experiences of policies in other nations? How are services developing in the rest of the world, including Eastern Europe? This critical and comparative analysis of `victim services′ offers important insights for students and academics in criminology, social work and social policy, as well as for victim support workers.
Call Number: 362.88 MAW
Publication Date: 1994
'On becoming a victim', in Key Readings in Criminology, pp. 388-396 by Rock, P.Key Readings in Criminology provides a comprehensive single-volume collection of readings in criminology. It provides students with convenient access to a broad range of excerpts (over 150 readings) from original criminological texts and key articles, and is designed to be used either as a stand-alone text or in conjunction with the same author's textbook, Criminology. This volume can be used in a number of ways in support of the study of criminology: as a source of both 'key' and supplementary reading for lectures; as the basis for organized reading in advance of seminars and tutorials; as the basis for classroom discussion and analysis; as a broad source of reading for exam revision; in addition it provides students with access to a broad range of materials with which to follow up their reading of their main textbook; it includes readings that include more recent summaries of particularly important criminological issues, as well as excerpts from criminological classics; it also introduces students not only to criminological argument and debate, but also encourages them to read primary as well as secondary or summary sources.
Imagining the Victim of Crime by Walklate, S."...the clarity in which the wide range of relevant issues are presented throughout the book makes this must-reading for new entrants to this field and for students." International Review of Victimology This book situates the contemporary preoccupation with criminal victimisation within the broader socio-cultural changes of the last twenty five years. In so doing it addresses not only the policy possibilities that have been generated as a consequence of those changes but also concerns itself with the ability of victimology to help make sense of this change. Written in the post 9/11 context this book considers the efficacy of theory and policy relating to questions of victimhood to accommodate the current political and cultural climate and offers a critical understanding of both. It adopts an explicitly cross-cultural position on these questions. It will be vital reading for anyone interested in the problems and possibilities posed by criminal victimisation understood in the broadest terms.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2006
Handbook of Victims and Victimology by Walklate, S.This second edition of the Handbook of Victims and Victimology presents a comprehensively revised and updated set of essays, bringing together internationally recognised scholars and practitioners to offer substantial research informed overviews within their specialist fields of investigation. This handbook is divided into five parts, with each part addressing a different theme within victimology: Part I offers a scene-setting exploration of new developments in the field, enduring issues that remain relatively unchanged and the gaps and traps within the contemporary victimological agenda Part II examines of the complex dimensions to victim experiences as structured by gender, age, ethnicity, sexuality and intersectionality Part III reflects on the problems and possibilities of formulating policy responses in the light of the changing appreciation of the nature and extent of victimhood Part IV focused on the value of a comparative lens and the problems and possibilities of victim policies when seen through this lens, explored along three geographical axes: Europe, Australia and Asia Part V considers other ways of thinking about who counts as a victim and what counts as victimhood and extends the boundaries of the victimological imagination outward Building on the success of the previous edition, this book provides an international focus on cutting-edge issues in the field of victimology. Including brand new chapters on intersectionality, child victims, sexuality, hate crime and crimes of the powerful, this handbook is essential reading for students and academics studying victims and victimology and an essential reference tool for those working within the victim support environment.
Victimology by Walklate, S.First published in 1989, this book provides a comprehensive introduction to the study of the victims of crime and the way in which they are treated in society generally, and in the criminal justice process in particular. The study of victims of crime is important to academics, the wider community of policy initiation and implementation, and to the political arena. Sandra Walklate examines the nature of this interest, and the contributions of victim-related research and criminal victimization surveys, in order to be able to provide the reader with a critical assessment of the issues involved. This book will be of interest to students of criminology, sociology, social policy and law, as well as victim support workers, probation officers, social workers, police officers and all those interested in the plight of victims of crime.
Call Number: 362.880941 WAL
Publication Date: 2014
Victimology: Victimisation and Victims' Rights by Wolhuter, L. ; Olley, N. ; Denham, D.How should the needs of victims of crime be met by the criminal justice system? Have the rights of victims been neglected in order to ensure that a defendant is brought to 'justice'? Who are the victims of crime and why are they targeted? This new book examines the theoretical arguments concerning victimization before examining who victims actually are and the measures taken by the criminal justice system to enhance their position. Particular attention is paid to the victimization of women, LGBT persons, minority ethnic persons and the elderly. The book engages in a detailed exposition of the law's response to such victimization, focusing on the measures adopted in international human rights law, by the Council of Europe, and in English law and policy. It also assesses alternative models of victim participation in criminal proceedings in European jurisdictions such as Germany, Sweden and the Netherlands. Adopting an interdisciplinary approach which encompasses law, criminology and social policy, the book is ideal for undergraduates taking an option in victimology, race and crime, or gender and crime, whatever their disciplinary background.