Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Youth Crime and Justice reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
The RHP Companion to Youth Justice by Youth Justice is an expanding field. Over the past few years, not only has it drawn in new groups of professionals and volunteers, but also it has affected the ways other agencies and organisations work with young people in trouble. While those working in mainstream youth justice and these other agencies will know something about this complex and constantly changing field, few will feel that they know enough. It is to this broad audience that The RHP Companion to Youth Justice is directed. The RHP Companion to Youth Justice is a key point of reference for professionals, trainees, volunteers and students undertaking the youth justice training introduced by the Youth Justice Board of England and Wales in 2003/2004, and other relevant forms of training and education, because it offers the most comprehensive and authoritative account of this complex field available; and it does so in an easily digestible form.
Call Number: 364.36 BAT
Publication Date: 2005
Youth justice: A Critical Introduction, 2nd edn by This book provides a comprehensive, student-friendly and critical introduction to youth justice in England and Wales, offering a balanced evaluation of its development, rationale, nature and evidence-base. It explores the evolution of definitions and explanations of youth offending and examines the responses to it that constitute youth justice. Bringing together theory, policy and practice, this book provides a balanced exposition of contemporary youth justice debates, including detailed discussions of governmental rationales, policy developments, practical issues and an extensive evaluation of critical academic positions. It includes a range of features designed to engage and inspire students: 'Stop and think': Activities challenging students to reflect on important issues. 'Conversations': Discussions of key themes and issues from the perspectives and experiences of relevant stakeholders, including policy makers and activists. 'Telling it like it is': Testimonies giving voice to the personalised, subjective and contentious viewpoints of youth justice influencers. 'Controversies and debates': Prompts to stimulate students to question and critique established knowledge and understanding by considering alternative angles. 'Recurring theme alerts': Boxes flagging up recurring themes in the developing construction of youth offending and youth justice. The new edition has been fully revised and updated and includes discussion of revised National Standards in Youth Justice, the new 'Child First' strategic objective for youth justice, the 'trauma informed practice' movement, the impact of coronavirus on children in the Youth Justice System and the continued impact of austerity on policy and practice. This book is essential reading for students taking courses in youth justice, youth offending, youth crime, youth work and social policy"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: 364.360941 CAS + eBook
Publication Date: 2022
Youth Justice: Contemporary Policy and Practice by Published in 1999, the aim of this text is to offer a critical analysis of contemporary policy and practice in relation to children and crime. It provides an integrated edited text combining a critical commentary of contemporary social/criminal justice policy with analyses of progressive practice in the UK. It offers coverage of each discrete stage in the processing of "child offenders" in the criminal justice system. It develops an alternative policy and practice framework drawing on experience from the UK, Europe, the USA, Canada, Australia and New Zealand.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Youth Crime and Justice, 2nd edn by Building upon the success of the first edition, this second - and substantially revised - edition of Youth Crime and Justice comprises a range of cutting-edge contributions from leading national and international researchers. The book: Situates youth crime and youth justice within historical and social-structural contexts; Critically examines policy and practice trends and their relation to knowledge and 'evidence'; and Presents a forward looking vision of a rights compliant youth justice with integrity. An authoritative and accessible book, Youth Crime and Justice (2nd ed) provides a coherent, comprehensive and fully up-to-date analysis of contemporary developments and debates. A must for researchers, teachers, students and practitioners.
Call Number: 364.360941 GOL + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Youth and Crime, 4th edn by This book provides you with the most comprehensive and authoritative overview of youth crime and youth justice available. Keeping you abreast of contemporary debates, this fourth edition of Youth and Crime : Includes updated chapters on youth crime discourse and data, youth victimology, youth and social policy, youth justice strategies and comparative and international youth justice, providing a critical analysis of issues such as institutional abuse, child poverty, cyberbullying, child trafficking, international children′s rights and transnational policy transfer. Covers numerous issues raised by the UK coalition government's law and order and austerity policies including ages of criminal responsibility, the 'rehabilitation revolution', 'troubled families', abolition of antisocial behaviour orders (ASBOs), initiatives in gangs, gun and knife crime, responses to the August 2011 riots, prospects for restorative justice and reductions in child imprisonment. Keeps you up to date with contemporary research into explanations of youth crime, youth and media, youth cultures, youth unemployment and training programmes, and youth justice policies and takes into account recent legislative reform. Features a new companion website, featuring links to journal articles, relevant websites, blogs and government reports. Complete with chapter outlines, summary boxes, key terms, study questions, further reading lists, web-based resources and a glossary, this is the textbook to take you through your studies in youth and crime.
Call Number: 364.36 MUN
Publication Date: 2015
Thinking Seriously about Gangs by This book examines the current debate about UK street gangs termed the 'UK Gang Thesis' debate. It argues that policy formations in the UK aimed at addressing street gangs preceding and succeeding the English riots of 2011 have encompassed positions of both gang denial and gang blame. The policy pendulum of denial and blame raises questions about where UK gang-policy stands, and which ideas and influences have framed our responses to this issue. The book will explore the UK Gangs Thesis using an analysis of empirical evidence from three sites in three English regions which encompasses periods of both gang denial and gang blame. This book is an examination of the relationship between theory, policy and practice in the context of the current UK gangs-discourse, and one of the first to examine the country lines phenomena. There is a need to formulate a less partisan analysis of gangs in the UK, and to recapture the debate from analyses which understate or overstate the gang problem. In order to do so, Andell argues that a realist approach is needed which defines what constitutes social reality and overcomes theoretical and methodological difficulties in order to critique present formulations of gangs. This book provides this critique and makes suggestions for a more comprehensive and democratic approach to gang policy, in what can be termed a critical realist approach to gangs.
Call Number: 364.1066 AND + eBook
Publication Date: 2020
The Moral Foundations of the Youth Justice System by When is it fair to hold young people criminally responsible? If young people lack the capacity to make a meaningful choice and to control their impulses, should they be held criminally culpable for their behaviour? In what ways is the immaturity of young offenders relevant to their blameworthiness? Should youth offending behaviour be proscribed by criminal law? These are just some of the questions asked in this thoughtful and provocative book. In The Moral Foundations of the Youth Justice System, Raymond Arthur explores international and historical evidence on how societies regulate criminal behaviour by young people, and undertakes a careful examination of the developmental capacities and processes that are relevant to young people's criminal choices. He argues that the youth justice response needs to be reconceptualised in a context where one of the central objectives of institutions regulating children and young people's behaviour is to support the interests and welfare of those children. This timely book advocates a revolutionary transformation of the structure and process of contemporary youth justice law: a synthesised and integrated approach that is clearly distinct from that used for dealing with adults. This book is a key resource for students, academics and practitioners across fields including criminal law, youth justice, probation and social work.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Understanding Youth and Crime by Reviewers' comments on the first edition "This is an excellent introductory textbook on youth and crime. It is excellent not only in its analysis of criminological questions about youthful offending, but also because it positions the debate within a wider context of the relationship between young people and society." Young People Now "The style is lively and readable, and the reader is pointed unobtrusively within the text towards the work of the leading authors in the field. a thorough and thoughtful introduction to the subject." Social Policy "a critical and scholarly summary of the state of research and theorizing around 'youth and crime' . This book provides a useful and challenging overview of the topic for undergraduate students." The Times Higher Education Supplement This book is an accessible introduction to the subject of youth and crime. The author explores the social construction of childhood and youth, and looks at the role of the media in creating a strong association of young people with crime and disorder, which sustains processes of marginalization and exclusion and leads to frequent 'panics' about youth crime. The importance of media representations of race and gender in these processes are also explored.The second edition is substantially revised and updated to take account of new political events and legislative developments, including: A new chapter on the phenomenon of 'cybercrime' A critical examination of recent developments in youth justice policy A new chapter on the impact of globalization on young people, which raises major issues around poverty, war and the commercial exploitation of children. This is a key text for students in criminology, sociology, social policy, and cultural studies.
Call Number: 364.36 BRO
Publication Date: 2005
Dictionary of Youth Justice by 1843922932, 9781843922933
This Dictionary explicitly addresses the historical, legal, theoretical, organisational, policy, practice, research and evidential contexts within which 'modern' youth justice in the UK and beyond is located. The entries cover a spectrum of theoretical orientations and conceptual perspectives and engage explicitly with the key statutory provisions and policy and practice imperatives within each of the three UK jurisdictions.
This book is a key resource for those teaching and studying under-graduate and post-graduate courses in criminology, criminal justice, sociology, social policy, law, socio-legal studies, community justice, social work, youth and community work and police studies, together with policy-makers, managers and practitioners working within the youth justice sphere (including staff training officers, youth justice officers, social workers, probation officers, police officers, teachers and education workers, health professionals, youth workers, drug and alcohol workers and juvenile secure estate staff).
The Dictionary of Youth Justice:
is designed to meet the needs of researchers, policy-makers, managers, practitioners and students;
begins with an introductory chapter that maps the key shifts in contemporary national and international youth justice systems;
contains over 300 alphabetically arranged entries - written by almost 100 experts in the respective fields - that explicitly address the core components of youth justice in England and Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland;
Provides specifically tailored recommended key texts and sources in respect of each entry;
is closely cross-referenced and contains a detailed index to assist readers to make connections between and across entries;
includes a detailed 'Directory of Agencies' that relate to youth justice in each of the three UK jurisdictions;
is compiled and edited by one of the UK's leading authorities in youth justice.
Call Number: 364.36 GOL + eBook
Publication Date: 2008
The New Youth Justice by This text provides an analysis of the most recent developments in state policy response to youth crime, in tandem with the implementation of the far-reaching provision of the Crime and Disorder Act 1998.
Call Number: 364.360941 GOL
Publication Date: 2000
Youth Justice: Critical Readings by `An excellent reader. It contains all the basic ingredients of a superb teaching book with the qualities of a thought-provoking text.... Should be required reading for all students of criminal justice policy and it will be a valuable teaching resource for all those involved in the delivery of courses on young people, justice and punishment′ - Punishment and Society `This is a valuable student text; carefully collated and with an abuntant array of material... and will surely become a widely used course reader. For the practitioner and general reader it is a book to dip into, a means to access debates and remind oneself of the ebb and flow of policy′ - Youth Justice Youth Justice brings together for the first time the most influential international contributors to the emergent field of youth justice studies. Youth Justice provides: · a critical introduction to the intellectual reframing of the history, theory, policy and practice of youth justice. · an essential resource of key debates and controversies from across the range of disciplines engaged in the study of youth in the social sciences · editorial essays at the beginning of each substantive section of the volume · specially commissioned chapters at the end of each section, which place the readings in their theoretical and historical context. The Reader is the set text for The Open University course, Youth Justice, Penality and Social Control (D864).
Call Number: 364.36 MUN
Publication Date: 2002
Doing Justice to Young People by There is an impasse in current thinking about youth crime and justice, represented by punitive and harmful practices, and liberal objections to these processes on the other, based predominantly on arguments for 'rehabilitation'. This book aims to arrive at an alternative strategy for resolving the tensions between young people -nbsp; especially those on and beyond the margins - and the social world which frames their lives. The book is split into three sections: Part 1 focuses on young people, their attitudes and behaviour; Part 2 considers the way in which their behaviour is constructed as criminal and then addressed; Part 3 considers the limitations of current practices and potential alternatives. Within this broad framework, the differentiated and contested nature of young people's experiences and our (and their) ideas of 'youth' can be counterposed to prevailing one-sided and often discriminatory assumptions about them; in order then to open up questions about the nature and purposes of the youth justice system, and to introduce some possibilities for reconstructing it according to fundamental principles of rights, welfare and social justice. Doing Justice to Young People will be essential reading for anybody working in or studying youth crime and youth justice.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Youth Justice: Ideas, Policy, Practice by This is a thoroughly revised edition of Roger Smith's book published in 2003. The book provides a comprehensive and critical overview of the youth justice system. It begins by setting the youth justice system in historical context, and then assesses the impact of political ideas and influence on both the structural arrangements for delivering youth justice (such as the Youth Justice Board and Youth Offending Teams) and practice initiatives (such as moves to implement forms of restorative justice). Taken together, these present serious challenges to those delivering youth justice. The book goes on to offer a critique of current developments, explores the options open to practitioners and service providers, and some of the possibilities for positive intervention. Finally, a detailed agenda for improvement at all levels is set out. This new edition offers an up-to date analysis of the most recent developments and trends, including the increased reliance on Anti-Social Behaviour Orders to control the behaviour of young people. This book will be a resource for youth justice practitioners and essential to students taking courses in youth crime and youth justice.
Call Number: 364.36 SMI + eBook
Publication Date: 2007
Diversion in Youth Justice by Diversion in youth justice is a subject of enduring interest. It concerns the processes by which decisions are made about whether or not to prosecute young offenders, and this book explores the continuing debates and historical developments which shape these processes. The treatment of young offenders is a contentious subject, and this book provides a comprehensive review of out of court decision-making in the context of wider arguments about how we should deal with the crimes of the young. This book follows a broadly historical structure, exploring the development of ideas and approaches to agency decision-making at the point of prosecution. This leads to the identification of a number of distinctive 'models' of diversion, reflecting both specific periods of time and particular philosophies of intervention with young people in trouble with the law. Based on this classification, this book explores the implications for wider debates about childhood, crime and punishment and how these relate to theories of social control. This, in turn, leads to the conclusion that diversionary ideas and practices act as a kind of barometer for wider developments in the governance of youth. This is one of the very few books that focuses exclusively on diversion as a feature of youth justice, and it provides a range of original and contemporary insights into this subject area which remains of considerable interest in this field, both academically and in practice. The ideas outlined here will contribute to new thinking in youth criminology, as the discipline responds to a prolonged period of apparent liberalisation in the treatment of young offenders which has yet to be fully understood or properly theorised.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Youth Justice in Practice by This book examines youth justice in a UK and international context, while drawing on the author's experience in Scotland to highlight the challenge facing all jurisdictions in balancing welfare and justice. It explores the impact of political ideas and influences on both the structural and practical challenges of delivering youth justice and practice initiatives including early intervention, restorative justice, structured risk assessments, intensive supervision, maintaining change over time, and practice evaluation. The theoretical framework draws on social learning theory and the tradition of socio-education/social pedagogy as reflected in the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child. This is the only book to focus specifically on the application of evidence to service delivery within youth justice. It will be an essential text for social work students undertaking university-based modules or practice-based learning in services which address youth crime and youth justice, as well as other students interested in the application of criminology and youth justice principles. It will also be valuable for practitioners involved in delivering youth justice services, including those on post-qualifying social work training courses.
Call Number: 364.36 WHY
Publication Date: 2008
Young Offenders and the Law by How does the law deal with young offenders, and to what extent does the law protect and promote the rights of young people in conflict with the law? These are the central issues addressed by Young Offenders and the Law in its examination of the legal response to the phenomenon of youth offending, and the contemporary forces that shape the law.
This book develops the reader's understanding of the sociological, criminological, historical, political, and philosophical approaches to youth offending in England and Wales, and also presents a comparative review of developments in other jurisdictions. It provides a comprehensive critical analysis of the legislative and policy framework currently governing the operation of the youth justice system in England and Wales, and evaluates the response of the legal system in light of modern legislative framework and international best practice. All aspects of trial and pre-trial procedure affecting young offenders are covered, including: the age of criminal responsibility, police powers, trial procedure, together with the full range of detention facilities and non-custodial options.
Young Offenders and the Law provides, for the first time, a primary source of reference on youth offending. It is an essential text for undergraduate and postgraduate students of Law, Criminology, and Criminal Justice Studies
Call Number: 345.4208 ART
Publication Date: 2010
Understanding Youth Offending by This book aims to provide an understanding of youth offending and policy and practice responses, particularly the risk-focused approaches that have underpinned much recent academic research, youth justice policy and interventions designed to reduce and prevent problem behaviour. There has been growing concern, however, on the part of critical criminologists and others, about the theoretical, epistemological, methodological and ethical bases of risk-focused research with young people. They have pointed particularly to the overly-deterministic and prescriptive nature of the risk factor paradigm.
This book aims to meet the need for an exploration of youth justice and youth offending which takes account of the origins and contemporary manifestations of risk-focused work with young people. It analyses the influence of concepts of risk upon policy development in both England and Wales as well as internationally, highlighting tensions between the proponents of risk factor research and methodological and ethical criticisms of the risk factor paradigm. It will be essential reading for anybody wishing to understand risk factor explanation of crime, contemporary youth justice policy and responses to offending behaviour.
Call Number: 364.36 CAS
Publication Date: 2009
Devils and Angels by Youth Justice is a key area of the current governments criminal justice policy in England and Wales. It has been the subject of an inordinate amount of recent legislation seeking to enhance the criminal courts powers to punish and prevent offending and re-offending by young people. This legislation attempts to prevent offending through criminal justice measures and there is little attempt to use non-criminal or civil law procedures to achieve the same result. This book seeks to challenge that focus and to question why delinquency in young people has been so firmly criminalized in this jurisdiction.
The book addresses the consequences of criminalization in terms of the effectiveness of the measures used as well as the implications for the social construction of youth and childhood and our attitudes towards the young. Criminalization of young peoples behaviour results in them being labeled as criminal,losing identity as an individual, losing their childhood through the process of taking adult responsibility for their actions and, in policy terms, becoming viewed as a crime problem rather than as a product of failing social policy regarding employment, education and youth culture. At a society level it is contended that the identification of young people with criminal activity and the negative public image that results creates a culture of fear and distrust which may in turn create further possibilities for criminalization of their behaviour. A comparative perspective in this work examines welfare-based responses to youth crime in other European jurisdictions and questions whether the criminal justice process is an appropriate context in which to deal with young peoples problematic behaviour.
Call Number: 364.36 FIO
Publication Date: 2005
Hooligan: A History of Respectable Fears by Clears up misconceptions about British crime, looks at public opinion concerning street crime since Victorian times, and discusses the use of crime statistics
Call Number: 941.0608692 PEA
Publication Date: 1983
Reluctant Gangsters by This book provides an account of the emergence, nature and impact of armed youth gangs in an East London Borough over the last decade. It describes the challenges these armed young men and women pose to their communities, those charged with preventing crime and those struggling to vouchsafe 'community safety'. While the focus of the book is 'local', the processes it outlines and the effects it chronicles have both a national and international relevance. It argues that the main reason behind the emergence of the armed youth gang has been the coalesence of two previously discreet socially deviant groups; the rowdy, episodically criminal, adolescent peer group on the one hand and the locally-based organized criminal network on the other. The book analyses the impact of the globalisation of the drugs trade and the consequent shift in the focus of local organized crime from the 'blag' to the 'business'. It also discusses how socio-economic and cultural factors, as well as family and neighbourhood histories and loyalties and localized racial antagonisms all play their part in the emergence of the armed youth gang. s well as family and neighbourhood histories and loyalties and localized racial antagonisms all play their part in the emergence of the armed youth gang.
Call Number: 364.36 PIT + eBook
Publication Date: 2008
ASBO Nation by This collection brings together opinion, commentary, research evidence, professional guidance, debate and critique in order to understand the phenomenon of anti-social behaviour.
Call Number: 364.4 SQU + eBook
Publication Date: 2008