There is no essential reading for this module
This page provides information specific to your module.
For more information and resources for XX, have a look at your Subject Guide.
Documentary; a history of the non-fiction film by
Now brought completely up to date, the new edition of this classic work on documentary films and filmmaking surveys the history of the genre from 1895 to the present day. With the myriad social upheavals over the past decade, documentaries have enjoyed an international renaissance; hereBarnouw considers the medium in the light of an entirely new political and social climate. He examines as well the latest filmmaking technology, and the effects that video cassettes and cable television are having on the production of documentaries. And like the previous editions, Documentary isfilled with photographs, many of them rare, collected during the author's travels around the world. Covering the full course of the documentary from Louis Lumiere's first effort to recent landmark productions such as Shoah, this book makes the growing importance of a unique blend of art and realityaccessible and understandable to all film lovers.
Dancefilm: Choreography and the Moving Image by
Dancefilm: Choreography and the Moving Image examines the choreographic in cinema - the way choreographic elements inform cinematic operations in dancefilm. It traces the history of the form from some of its earliest manifestations in the silent film era, through the historic avant-garde,musicals and music videos to contemporary experimental short dancefilms. In so doing it also examines some of the most significant collaborations between dancers, choreographers, and filmmakers.The book also sets out to examine and rethink the parameters of dancefilm and thereby re-conceive the relations between dance and cinema. Dancefilm is understood as a modality that challenges familiar models of cinematic motion through its relation to the body, movement and time, instigating newcategories of filmic performance and creating spectatorial experiences that are grounded in the somatic. Drawing on debates in both film theory (in particular ideas of gesture, the close up, and affect) and dance theory (concepts such as radical phrasing, the gestural anacrusis and somaticintelligence) and bringing these two fields into dialogue, the book argues that the combination of dance and film produces cine-choreographic practices that are specific to the dancefilm form. The book thus presents new models of cinematic movement that are both historically informed and thoroughlyinterdisciplinary.
Visual Methodologies by
Now in its Fourth Edition, Visual Methodologies: An Introduction to Researching with Visual Materials is a bestselling critical guide to the study and analysis of visual culture. Existing chapters have been fully updated to offer a rigorous examination and demonstration of an individual methodology in a clear and structured style. Reflecting changes in the way society consumes and creates its visual content, new features include: Brand new chapters dealing with social media platforms, the development of digital methods and the modern circulation and audiencing of research images More ′Focus′ features covering interactive documentaries, digital story-telling and participant mapping A Companion Website featuring links to useful further resources relating to each chapter. A now classic text, Visual Methodologies appeals to undergraduates, graduates, researchers and academics across the social sciences and humanities who are looking to get to grips with the complex debates and ideas in visual analysis and interpretation.
Art Practice as Research by
Art Practice as Research, Second Edition continues to present a compelling argument that the creative and cultural inquiry undertaken by artists is a form of research. The text explores themes, practices, and contexts of artistic inquiry and positions them within the discourse of research. Sullivan argues that legitimate research goals can be achieved by choosing different methods than those offered by the social sciences. The common denominator in both approaches is the attention given to rigor and systematic inquiry. Artists emphasize the role of the imaginative intellect in creating, criticizing, and constructing knowledge that is not only new but also has the capacity to transform human understanding.
Making Video Dance by
Since the advent of digital video technology, ¿dance on camera¿ has become an increasingly popular, and important genre of dance. This is the first ever ¿how-to¿ manual for choreographers, dancers and students who want to make dance films. Specifically written from a personal experience of a complete lack of printed material to help beginners get started, Katrina McPherson has produced an exemplary text which combines practical help with aesthetic discussion in an anecdotal and accessible style. Making Video Dance includes: exercises to be used inside, or outside the classroom a production diary interviews with leading practitioners on both sides of the camera. Also including a glossary of terms, anyone involved in making dance videos needs this helpful and remarkable book.
Practice-As-Research; in performance and screen by
This groundbreaking integrated book and DVD presents an exploration of the major fissures of established knowledge created by a new trans-disciplinary, worldwide project. Through an innovative combination of formats, it aims to embody the principles of performance and screen practice-as-research in its structure and design.
Analyzing Performance by
Analyzing Performance provides conceptual tools for understanding a range of performance, including theater, dance, cinema, other audiovisual media, and mime. This richly illustrated book develops protocols for the analysis of performance at every level -- from the minute gestures and facial expressions of an actor to the social network in which theater is embedded -- and respects the importance of every aspect of performance, including actor, costume, space, time, music, and lighting. With a keen awareness of the roles of social context in the interpretation of performance, Patrice Pavis leads the reader from a purely formal analysis to a semiology and anthropology of performance, where spectator and actor are equally objects of study. Drawn from performance traditions and innovations all over the world, the book's many examples make critical techniques vivid and concrete. Analyzing Performance will be essential reading for critics, scholars, students, and practitioners of theater, who will find that David Williams's elegant translation brings Pavis's insights within reach of English-language readers. Patrice Pavis, Professor of Theater at Paris-VIII University, has written extensively and influentially on performance. David Williams is Professor of Theater, Dartington College of Arts, Devon, England.
Dance on Screen by
Dance on Screen is a comprehensive introduction to the rich diversity of screen dance genres. It provides a contextual overview of dance in the screen media and analyzes a selection of case studies from the popular dance imagery of music video and Hollywood, through to experimental art dance. The focus then turns to video dance, dance originally choreographed for the camera. Video dance can be seen as a hybrid in which the theoretical and aesthetic boundaries of dance and television are traversed and disrupted. This new paperback edition includes a new Preface by the author covering key developments since the hardback edition was published in 2001.
Dance's Duet with the Camera by
Dance's Duet with theCamera: Motion Pictures is a collection of essays written by variousauthors on the relationship between live dance and film. Chapters cover arange of topics that explore dance film, contemporary dance with film onstage, dance as an ideal medium to be captured by 3D images and videodance askin to site-specific choreography. This book explores the ways in which earlypractitioners such as Loïe Fuller and Maya Deren began a conversation betweenmedia that has continued to evolve and yet still retains certain unansweredquestions. Methodology for this conversation includes dance historicalapproaches as well as mechanical considerations. The camera is a partner, adisembodied portion of self that looks in order to reflect on, to mirror, orto presage movement. This conversation includes issues of sexuality, race, andmixed ability. Bodies and lenses share equal billing.
