There is no essential reading for this module
This page provides information specific to your module.
For more information and resources for Dance, have a look at your Subject Guide.
Arts Council England Publications: Available at http://www.artscouncil.org.uk
Independent Dance Library Available at https://independentdance.co.uk/library/
IADAM Covid19 Resources: Available at https://iadms.org/resources/covid-response/#mentalhealth
ResDance – A podcast dedicated to Research methodologies: Available at https://anchor.fm/gemma-harman
Available at http://www.ubuweb.com
Available at http://dance-tech.tv
Available at http://everybodystoolbox.net
Available at https://www.spillfestival.com/archives
Live Art Development Agency Online Resources:
Available at https://www.thisisliveart.co.uk/resources/
MOMA:
Available at https://stories.moma.org
Available at https://www.youtube.com/user/MoMAvideos
Welcome Collection/ Reading Room:
Available at https://wellcomecollection.org/readingroom
Additional online dance resources: https://brightspace.uos.ac.uk/d2l/le/content/10923/Home
Reflexive Ethnography by
Reflexive Ethnography is a unique guide to ethnographic research for students of anthropology and related disciplines. It provides practical and comprehensive guidance to ethnographic research methods, but also encourages students to develop a critical understanding of the philosophical basis of ethnographic authority. Davies examines why reflexivity, at both personal and broader cultural levels, should be integrated into ethnographic research and discusses how this can be accomplished for a variety of research methods. This revised and updated second edition includes: a new chapter on internet-based research and ¿interethnography¿ chapters on selection of topics and methods, data collection and analysis, and ethics and politics of research practical advice on writing up ethnographic study new and updated research examples. Postmodernist relativism can lead to an over-emphasis on reflexivity that denies the possibility of social research. Reflexive Ethnography utilises postmodernist insights ¿ incorporation of different standpoints, exposure of the intellectual tyranny of meta-narratives ¿ but proposes that reflexive ethnographic research be undertaken from a realist perspective. Reflexive Ethnography will help students to use and understand ethnographic research practices that fully incorporate reflexivity without abandoning claims to develop valid knowledge of social reality.
Navigating the Unknown by
'Navigating the Unknown' offers an insight into the different kinds of processes that practitioners in the performing arts undertake in their creative work and considers the implications these processes have in the wider world.
Dancing Across the Page by 
Practice as Research by
Practice-led research is a burgeoning area across the creative arts, with studio-based doctorates frequently favored over traditional research. Yet until now there has been little published guidance for students embarking on such research. This is the first book designed specifically as a pedagogical tool and is structured on the model used by most research programs. A comprehensive introduction lays out the book's framework and individual chapters provide concrete examples of studio-based research in art, film and video, creative writing and dance, each conceptualized by a theoretical essay and complete with references. More than a handbook, the volume draws on thinkers including Deleuze, Bourdieu and Heidegger in its examination of the relationship between practice and theory, demonstrating how practice can operate as a valid alternative mode of enquiry to traditional scholarly research. Taking pains to elaborate methodologies, contexts and outcomes, and reemphasizing the process of enquiry and its relationship to the research write-up or exegesis, this is an indispensable tool for educators and students.
Ethics by
Texts examine how the encounter of ethics and aesthetics has become central to the contested space of much recent art. The boundary of a contemporary art object or project is no longer something that exists only in physical space; it also exists in social, political, and ethical space. Art has opened up to transnational networks of producers and audiences, migrating into the sphere of social and distributive systems, whether in the form of "relational aesthetics" or other critical reinventions of practice. Art has thus become increasingly implicated in questions of ethics. In this volume, artist and writer Walead Beshty evaluates the relation of ethics to aesthetics, and demonstrates how this encounter has become central to the contested space of much recent art. He brings together theoretical foundations for an ethics of aesthetics; appraisals of art that engages with ethical issues; statements and examples of methodologies adopted by a diverse range of artists; and examinations of artworks that question the ethical conditions in which contemporary art is produced and experienced. Artists surveyed include Tania Bruguera, Christoph Büchel, Paul Chan, Lygia Clark, Danh Vo, Dexter Sinister, Andrea Fraser, Liam Gillick, David Hammons, Thomas Hirschhorn, Khaled Hourani, Sharon Lockhart, Kerry James Marshall, Renzo Martens, Boris Mikhailov, Hélio Oiticica, Seth Price, Walid Raad, Martha Rosler, Tino Sehgal, Allan Sekula, Santiago Sierra, Rirkrit Tiravanija Writers include Giorgio Agamben, Ariella Azoulay, Alain Badiou, Roland Barthes, David Beech, Claire Bishop, Nicolas Bourriaud, Simon Critchley, T.J. Demos, Maurizio Lazzarato, Jean-François Lyotard, Jacques Rancière, Jan Verwoert
How to Research by
"I found this book brilliant, I had never undertaken anything like a dissertation before and this book had everything in it that I needed to know. It is written in 'simple English' which is a bonus as some books are just too hard to understand. Everything you need to know about writing your dissertation is in here. I would recommend this book to all levels." *****Review of the third edition from Amazon.co.uk How to Research is a bestselling, practical book that reassures the first time researcher by leading them systematically through the whole research process; from the initial meetings with a supervisor to critically evaluating their ideas, doing the research and finally writing up the project. The book includes vignettes to help readers relate to research examples and provides both methodological and process information. New features in this edition include: Additional coverage on literature reviews New material on changes in research ethics More detailed information on the use of diaries, internet ethnographies and visual methods Increased coverage of mixed methodologies How to Research 4e is an ideal resource for the first-time researcher doing a small-scale research project in the social sciences whether they are at university or in the workplace. It supports its readers as they develop their skills to become more experienced researchers.
Dance in the Field by
This international collection on dance ethnography - the first of its kind - comprises original contributions on fieldwork in dance and human movement. Based on extensive fieldwork experience, it explores the major theoretical approaches, methods and concerns of dance and movement research from anthropological and ethnochoreological perspectives. The result underlines the existing and continuing growth in dance ethnography which will also be of interest to those in dance studies, anthropology, cultural studies, folklore, ethnomusicology and sociology.
Essential Study Skills by
Packed with study tips, activities, templates and quotes from students, this is your essential guide to university, showing you step-by-step how to study effectively and make the best of your time at university. Whether you are going to university straight from school, a mature, or an overseas student studying in the UK for the first time, you′ll find out how to: Sail through those tricky first weeks Get the most out of lectures by understanding how you learn Learn techniques for academic writing and research Effectively work with others in groups, seminars and workshops Write assignments and pass exams with flying colours Build your CV and plan your next steps after graduation. New to this edition is content on how to thrive at university, learn and research digitally, and how to develop your employability skills. Student Success is a series of essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to boosting your employability and managing your wellbeing, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university.
Dissertations and Project Reports by
Faced with your dissertation or major project and need some help getting started? Thinking about how your final project will affect your overall grades? Then read on. Tapping into her tried and tested formula for learning, bestselling author of The Study Skills Handbook, Stella Cottrell, takes you step-by-step through the key stages of planning, developing, researching and writing up your dissertation or project report. Whether you are an undergraduate or a postgraduate, this guide: - Offers comprehensive coverage of the major components essential to producing strong dissertations and project reports - Gives unique emphasis to the importance of project management skills - Gets you involved through interactive activities, checklists and engaging student examples Most importantly, it offers the support you need at every stage and will help ensure that the creation of your academic masterpiece is an enjoyable and rewarding experience.
Writing at University by
Writing at University offers guidance on how to develop the writing you have to do at university along with a greater understanding of what is involved in this complex activity. Writing is seen as a tool for learning as well as a product to be assessed. The importance of what you yourself can bring as a writer to your academic writing is stressed throughout the book. The book looks at an array of writing projects, including essays, reports and dissertations, and analyzes what is expected of each form of assignment. The authors provide examples of student writing and reflections on writing by both tutors and students. This edition includes new sections on: Making an argument and persuading your reader Using sources creatively Avoiding plagiarism Writing online Further sources of information about academic writing Writing at University is an essential resource for all college and university students, including postgraduates, who wish to develop their academic writing. It will also be an invaluable aid for tutors in supporting their students.
The good research guide : for small-scale social research projects 5th ed. by 
Blood, Sweat and Theory by
As a major contribution to the field of postgraduate activity in drama, theater, and performance, this resource identifies the essential characteristics of practice-based research across a range of countries, contexts, forms, and applications. A vital theory-based guide to such study, topics include locating practice-based research within historical, aesthetic, and educational settings; challenging received ideas of dramatic practice as thesis; distinguishing research from reflection and feelings from findings; and pushing practice-based research into new areas of critical inquiry. The reference includes extensively written case studies of projects from Hala Al-Yamani, Annette Arlander, Robert Germay, Helka-Maria Kinnunen, Felix Nobis, Allan Owens, Helen Paris, Yoni Prior, and Leena Rouhiainen.
Researching Dance: evolving modes of enquiry by
Chapter 'Every little movement has a meaning all its own: movement analysis in dance research' by Brennan, M.A. pp. 283-308
Handbook of the Arts in Qualitative Research by
"This work's quality, diversity, and breadth of coverage make it a valuable resource for collections concerned with qualitative research in a broad range of disciplines. Highly recommended." -G.R. Walden, CHOICE The Handbook of the Arts in Qualitative Inquiry: Perspectives, Methodologies, Examples, and Issues represents an unfolding and expanding orientation to qualitative social science research that draws inspiration, concepts, processes, and representational forms from the arts. In this defining work, J. Gary Knowles and Ardra L. Cole bring together the top scholars in qualitative methods to provide a comprehensive overview of the past, present, and future of arts-based research. This Handbook provides an accessible and stimulating collection of theoretical arguments and illustrative examples that delineate the role of the arts in qualitative social science research. Key Features Defines and explores the role of the arts in qualitative social science research: The Handbook presents an analysis of classic and emerging methodologies and approaches that employs the arts in the qualitative research process. Brings together a unique group of scholars: Offering diverse perspectives, contributors to this volume represent a wide range of disciplines including the humanities, media and communication, anthropology, sociology, psychology, women's studies, education, social work, nursing, and health and medicine. Offers comprehensive coverage of the genres employed by qualitative researchers: Scholars use multiple ways to advance knowledge including literary forms, performance, visual art, various types of media, narrative, folk art, and more. Articulates challenges inherent in alternative methodologies: This volume discusses the issues and challenges faced when employing art in resea
Practice as research in the arts (and beyond) : principles, protocols, pedagogies, resistances by 
What Moves You? by
Every dissertation is individual and unique - particularly for dance students, who must combine a wide range of approaches into a tailor-made research methodology. What Moves You? fosters a creative approach to dissertations and final projects. By guiding the development of a personal study program, this volume encourages dance students to take ownership of their artistic and academic work, a skill essential both to successful undergraduate study, and to making the first steps towards a career in dance. Rather than propose a prescriptive, step-by-step mantra, Charlotte Nichol and Lise Uytterhoeven draw upon contributions from students, teachers, examiners and practitioners to broaden the notion of ¿research¿ and demystify the purpose of the dissertation.
Undergraduate Research in Dance by
Undergraduate Research in Dance: A Guide for Students supplies tools for scaffolding research skills alongside examples of undergraduate research in dance scholarship. Dance can be studied as an expressive embodied art form with physical, cognitive, and affective domains, and as an integral part of society, history, and vast areas of interdisciplinary content. To this end, the guidance provided by this book will equip future dance professionals with the means to move the field of dance forward. Chapters 1-9 guide students through the fundamentals of research methods, providing a foundation to help students get started in understanding research protocols and processes. Students will learn skills such as how to choose a research topic, refine research questions, conduct literature reviews, cite sources, synthesize and analyze data, develop conclusions and results, and present their findings. Chapters 10-19 detail forms of undergraduate research in a rich diversity of fields within dance that are taught in many collegiate dance programs including dance therapy, history, science, psychology, education, and technology, in addition to public scholarship, choreography, and interdisciplinary topics. The book also includes a final chapter which provides annotated online resources, and many of its chapters are supported by examples of abstracts of capstone projects, senior theses, and conference presentations by undergraduate researchers across the United States. Suitable for both professors and students, Undergraduate Research in Dance is an ideal reference book for any course that has a significant opportunity for the creation of new knowledge, or as an essential interdisciplinary connection between dance and other disciplines.
Qualitative Research and Evaluation Methods by
The completely revised and updated edition of this methodological classic continues to provide practical, comprehensive and strategic guidance on qualitative design, purposeful sampling, interviewing, fieldwork, observation methods, and qualitative analysis and interpretation while integrating the extensive qualitative literature of the last decade. New to this edition: - Twelve primary strategic themes of qualitative inquiry to clarify readers′ understanding of the different strands of qualitative research - Five distinct criteria-based frameworks for presenting and judging qualitative findings - Sixteen different theoretical and philosophical approaches to qualitative inquiry identified, compared and contrasted - Variations in observational methods, including historical perspectives, ethical issues, and case studies - Alternative interviewing strategies and approaches, including focus group interviews, group interviews, and cross-cultural interviews - Additional new coverage on: new issues in and approaches to fieldwork; in-depth treatment of emergent designs and purposeful sampling; detailed analytical guidelines, including software and computer-assisted options; strategies for enhancing quality and credibility of qualitative findings, mixed methods, and triangulation; and, a review and listing of the latest internet resources The book examines and honours both the science and art of qualitative inquiry. The qualities that made previous editions of this widely used book so highly valued by both seasoned professionals and students continue to shine through in this revision, including Patton′s extensive experience, broad perspective, inclusive sensitivity, concrete examples, pragmatic orientation, and fine writing.
The Methodologies of Art by
Since the nineteenth century, when art history became an established academic discipline, works of art have been 'read' in a variety of ways. These different ways of describing and interpreting art are the methodologies of artistic analysis, the divining rods of meaning. Regardless of a work's perceived difficulty, an art object is, in theory, complex. Every work of art is an expression of its culture (time and place) and its maker (the artist) and is dependent on its media (what it's made of). The methodologies discussed here (formal analysis, iconology and iconography, Marxism, feminism, biography and autobiography, psychoanalysis, structuralism, race and gender) reflect the multiplicity of meanings in an artistic image. The second edition includes nineteen new images, new sections on race, gender, orientalism, and colonialism, and a new epilogue that analyzes a single painting to illustrate the different methodological viewpoints.
Practice-led Research, Research-led Practice in the Creative Arts by
This book addresses one of the most exciting and innovative developments within higher education: the rise in prominence of the creative arts and the accelerating recognition that creative practice is a form of research. The book considers how creative practice can lead to research insights through what is often known as practice-led research. But unlike other books on practice-led research, it balances this with discussion of how research can impact positively on creative practice through research-led practice. The editors posit an iterative and web-like relationship between practice and research. Essays within the book cover a wide range of disciplines including creative writing, dance, music, theatre, film and new media, and the contributors are from the UK, US, Canada and Australia. The subject is approached from numerous angles: the authors discuss methodologies of practice-led research and research-led practice, their own creative work as a form of research, research training for creative practitioners, and the politics and histories of practice-led research and research-led practice within the university. The book will be invaluable for creative practitioners, researchers, students in the creative arts and university leaders. Key Features*The first book to document, conceptualise and analyse practice-led research in the creative arts and to balance it with research-led practice*Written by highly qualified academics and practitioners across the creative arts and sciences *Brings together empirical, cultural and creative approaches*Presents illuminating case histories of creative work and practice-led research
Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art by
First published in 1996, this irreplaceable resource has now been updated, revised, and expanded by Kristine Stiles to represent thirty countries and more than one hundred new artists. Stiles has added forty images and a diverse roster of artists, including many who have emerged since the 1980s, such as Julie Mehretu, Carrie Mae Weems, Damien Hirst, Shirin Neshat, Cai Guo-Qian, Olafur Eliasson, Matthew Barney, and Takashi Murakami. The writings, which as before take the form of artists' statements, interviews, and essays, make vivid each artist's aesthetic approach and capture the flavor and intent of his or her work. The internationalism evident in this revised edition reflects the growing interest in the vitality of contemporary art throughout the world from the U.S. and Europe to the Middle East, Asia, Africa, Latin America, and Australia.
Writing Your Dissertation by 
Research Methods in Physical Activity 7th ed by
Research Methods in Physical Activity, Seventh Edition, systematically guides students through the research process, introducing methods and tools specifically for kinesiology and exercise science disciplines, including the subdisciplines of physical therapy, rehabilitation, and occupational therapy. The seventh edition leads students and novice researchers to research competency with the distinctive humor that has become a trademark of this internationally recognized text. This text provides step-by-step information for every aspect of the research process, from identifying and devising research questions to analyzing data and compiling results for presentation. Methods for qualitative, quantitative, and mixed-methods research approaches are addressed, and real-world research questions--including historical, experimental, epidemiological, and philosophical--are presented by scholarly contributors who give suggestions for approaches to follow. Photos, anecdotes, and humorous stories are used throughout the text to put students at ease and emphasize key points through practical applications. Enhancements to the seventh edition include the following: - Updated information and techniques for electronic searches to ensure students use best research practices - New information on meta-analysis and the benefits of journal-style writing that teach readers to evaluate and prepare data for scholarly journals and publication - Special attention to ethical issues to help readers understand the regulations involved in using human and animal subjects - New information on logistic regression that aids in the understanding of complex ideas - Further explanation of qualitative and mixed-methods research approaches, in addition to quantitative approaches, to ensure readers use the most appropriate methodology for their research The content of the seventh edition maintains and expands upon the logical content progression that has made Research Methods in Physical Activity the leading text in the field. Part I presents an overview of the research process, including problem development, preparation of the research plan, and understanding ethical issues in research and writing. Part II introduces statistical and measurement issues in research, and part III presents various types of or approaches to research and methodology from expert researchers in the field. Part IV includes a writing guide for result findings and details how to develop and organize research papers and presentations. Statistical tables and guides are available in the appendix. To aid instructors, Research Methods in Physical Activity, Seventh Edition, includes a suite of ancillary materials featuring an instructor guide, test package, an extra data set for instructors who wish to create specialized learning activities, and presentation package plus image bank. Research Methods in Physical Activity, Seventh Edition, instills in students the confidence to devise, collect, analyze, and present their research in a competent manner by systematically guiding them through the research process. It is an essential text for all emerging researchers in physical activity.
