Women and Dance by Adair,C.A broad-ranging account of women's roles and experience in dance, which demolishes the myth that dance is a female art form by demonstrating the way in which it is dominated by male managers, choreographers and directors. While most dancers are women, for the most part they interpret male-constructed images rather than create their own. This is not inevitable, however, the author argues; dance is a possible arena for feminist practice and women's liberation.
Dancing Texts by Adshead-Lansdale,J. (Editor)"This book takes an innovative approach to dance analysis, looking at issues in the interpretation and reading of dances. Building on Janet Adshead-Lansdale's Dance Analysis: Theory and Practice (1988). Dancing Texts reshapes recent developments in post-structuralist and literary theory to illuminate close readings of dances." "Following a thorough introduction to the theoretical basis of intertextuality in relation to dance, the book offers a number of fully worked out examples of dance analysis, with subjects spanning the twentieth century and ranging from video-dance to ballet. The examples chosen include classical, modern and postmodern styles of theatre dance and also explore relations with music, film, architecture, language, popular culture and ethnicity. The interpretations that emerge illustrate the processes of intertextuality itself, opening up a new arena for dance analysis and criticism."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
The Post-Colonial Studies Reader by Ashcroft,B. (Editor); Griffiths,G. (Editor); Tiffin,H. (Editor)The essential introduction to the most important texts in post-colonial theory and criticism, this second edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to include 121 extracts from key works in the field. Leading, as well as lesser known figures in the fields of writing, theory and criticism contribute to this inspiring body of work that includes sections on nationalism, hybridity, diaspora and globalization. The Reader'swide-ranging approach reflects the remarkable diversity of work in the discipline along with the vibrancy of anti-imperialist writing both within and without the metropolitan centres. Covering more debates, topics and critics than any comparable book in its field, The Post-Colonial Studies Readeris the ideal starting point for students and issues a potent challenge to the ways in which we think and write about literature and culture.
Call Number: 809.9358 ASH
Publication Date: 2006
Remembering the Body by Brandstetter,G.This text and picture book reflects questions posed about images and concepts of the body and its movement. It is dedicated to every aspect of the human form and its representation in art, performance, dance and science, and explores topics such as body movement and film, choreography, violation of taboos, aesthetics and violence in both the sciences and the arts. It also sheds light on cults and mnemonic myths, as well as on the mechanical and manneristic body. Designed by Bruce Mau, who also contributes a picture essay, this book explores questions of the body's representation at the close of the 20th cenutry. It includes indexes according to subject and person.
Call Number: 704.942 BRA
Publication Date: 2000
Bodies That Matter by Butler,J.In Bodies That Matter,Judith Butler further develops her distinctive theory of gender by examining the workings of power at the most "material" dimensions of sex and sexuality. Deepening the inquiries she began in GenderTrouble,Butler offers an original reformulation of the materiality of bodies, examining how the power of heterosexual hegemony forms the "matter" of bodies, sex, and gender. Butler argues that power operates to constrain "sex" from the start, delimiting what counts as a viable sex. She offers a clarification of the notion of "performativity" introduced in Gender Troubleand explores the meaning of a citational politics. The text includes readings of Plato, Irigaray, Lacan, and Freud on the formation of materiality and bodily boundaries; "Paris is Burning," Nella Larsen's "Passing," and short stories by Willa Cather; along with a reconsideration of "performativity" and politics in feminist, queer, and radical democratic theory.
Call Number: 305.3 BUT
Publication Date: 1993
The Male Dancer by Burt,R.In this challenging and lively book, Burt examines the representation of masculinity in twentieth century dance. The Male Dancer has proven to be essential reading for anyone interested in dance and the cultural construction of gender.
Call Number: 792.8081 BUR
Publication Date: 2007
Terpsichore in Sneakers by Banes,S.Drawing on the postmodern perspective and concerns that informed her groundbreaking Terpischore in Sneakers, Sally Bane's Writing Dancing documents the background and development of avant-garde and popular dance, analyzing individual artists, performances, and entire dance movements. With a sure grasp of shifting cultural dynamics, Banes shows how postmodern dance is integrally connected to other oppositional, often marginalized strands of dance culture, and considers how certain kinds of dance move from the margins to the mainstream. Banes begins by considering the act of dance criticism itself, exploring its modes, methods, and underlying assumptions and examining the work of other critics. She traces the development of contemporary dance from the early work of such influential figures as Merce Cunningham and George Balanchine to such contemporary choreographers as Molissa Fenley, Karole Armitage, and Michael Clark. She analyzes the contributions of the Judson Dance Theatre and the Workers' Dance League, the emergence of Latin postmodern dance in New York, and the impact of black jazz in Russia. In addition, Banes explores such untraditional performance modes as breakdancing and the "drunk dancing" of Fred Astaire.
The Routledge Dance Studies Reader by Carter,A. (Editor); O'Shea,J. (Editor); Giersdorf,J. (Editor); Wong,Y. (Editor)The second edition of The Routledge Dance Studies Readeroffers fresh critical perspectives on classic and modern dance forms, including ballroom, tango, Hip-hop, site-specific performance, and disability in dance. Alexandra Carter and Janet O'Shea deliver a substantially revised and updated collection of key texts, featuring an enlightening new introduction, which tracks differing approaches to dance studies. Important articles from the first edition are accompanied by twenty new works by leading critical voices. The articles are presented in five thematic sections, each with a new editorial introduction and further reading. Sections cover: Making dance Performing dance Ways of looking Locating dance in history and society Debating the discipline The Routledge Dance Studies Readergives readers access to over thirty essential texts on dance and provides expert guidance on their critical context. It is a vital resource for anyone interested in understanding dance from a global and contemporary perspective.
Call Number: 792.8 CAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Choreographing Difference by Albright,A.C.The choreographies of Bill T. Jones, Cleveland Ballet Dancing Wheels, Zab Maboungou, David Dorfman, Marie Chouinard, Jawole Willa Jo Zollar, and others, have helped establish dance as a crucial discourse of the 90s. These dancers, Ann Cooper Albright argues, are asking the audience to see the body as a source of cultural identity -- a physical presence that moves with and through its gendered, racial, and social meanings. Through her articulate and nuanced analysis of contemporary choreography, Albright shows how the dancing body shifts conventions of representation and provides a critical example of the dialectical relationship between cultures and the bodies that inhabit them. As a dancer, feminist, and philosopher, Albright turns to the material experience of bodies, not just the body as a figure or metaphor, to understand how cultural representation becomes embedded in the body. In arguing for the intelligence of bodies, Choreographing Difference is itself a testimonial, giving voice to some important political, moral, and artistic questions of our time.
Performance Analysis by Counsell,C. (Editor); Wolf ,L.(Editor)This revolutionary introductory performance studies coursebook brings together classic texts in critical theory and shows how these texts can be used in the analysis of performance. The editors put their texts to work in examining such key topics as: * decoding the sign * the politics of performance * the politics of gender and sexual identity * performing ethnicity * the performing body * the space of performance * audience and spectatorship * the borders of performance. Each reading is clearly introduced, making often complex critical texts accessible at an introductory level and immediately applicavble to the field of performance. The ideas explored within these readings are further clarified through innovative, carefully tested exercises and activities.
Call Number: 792 COU
Publication Date: 2001
Done into Dance by Daly,A.This cultural study of modern dance icon Isadora Duncan is the first to place her within the thought, politics and art of her time. Duncan's dancing earned her international fame and influenced generations of American girls and women, yet the romantic myth that surrounds her has left some questions unanswered: What did her audiences see on stage, and how did they respond? What dreams and fears of theirs did she play out? Why, in short, was Duncan's dancing so compelling? First published in 1995 and now back in print, Done into Dance reveals Duncan enmeshed in social and cultural currents of her time -- the moralism of the Progressive Era, the artistic radicalism of prewar Greenwich Village, the xenophobia of the 1920s, her association with feminism and her racial notion of "Americanness."
Call Number: 702.8092 DAL
Publication Date: 2002
Dancing Desires by Desmond,J.C.What happens to the writing of dance history when issues of sexuality and sexual identity are made central? What happens to queer theory, and to other theoretical constructs of gender and sexuality, when a dancing body takes center stage? Dancing Desires asks these questions, exploring the relationship between dancing bodies and sexual identity on the concert stage, in nightclubs, in film, in the courts, and on the streets. From Nijinsky's balletic prowess to Charlie Chaplin's lightfooted "Little Tramp," from lesbian go-go dancers to the swans of Swan Lake, from the postmodern works of Bill T. Jones to the dangers of same-sex social dancing at Disneyland and the ecstatic Mardi Gras dance parties of Sydney, Australia, this book tracks the intersections of dance and human sexuality in the twentieth century as the definition of each has shifted and expanded. The contributors come from a number of fields (literature, history, theater, dance, film studies, legal studies, critical race studies) and employ methodologies ranging from textual analysis and film theory to ethnography. By embracing dance, and bodily movement more generally, as a crucial focus for investigation, together they initiate a new agenda for tracking the historical kinesthetics of sexuality.
Call Number: 792.8 DES
Publication Date: 2001
Moving History/Dancing Cultures by Dils,A. (Editor); Albright,A.C. (Editor)This new collection of essays surveys the history of dance in an innovative and wide-ranging fashion. Editors Dils and Albright address the current dearth of comprehensive teaching material in the dance history field through the creation of a multifaceted, non-linear, yet well-structured and comprehensive survey of select moments in the development of both American and World dance. This book is illustrated with over 50 photographs, and would make an ideal text for undergraduate classes in dance ethnography, criticism or appreciation, as well as dance history--particularly those with a cross-cultural, contemporary, or an American focus. The reader is organized into four thematic sections which allow for varied and individualized course use: Thinking about Dance History: Theories and Practices, World Dance Traditions, America Dancing, and Contemporary Dance: Global Contexts. The editors have structured the readings with the understanding that contemporary theory has thoroughly questioned the discursive construction of history and the resultant canonization of certain dances, texts and points of view. The historical readings are presented in a way that encourages thoughtful analysis and allows the opportunity for critical engagement with the text.
Call Number: 792.809 DIL
Publication Date: 2001
The Matter of Images by Dyer,R.Now published in a revised second edition, The Matter of Imagessearches through the resonances of the term 'representation', analysing images in terms of why they matter, what they are made of, and the material realities they refer to. Richard Dyer's analyses consider representations of 'out' groups and traditionally dominant groups alike, and encompass the eclectic texts of contemporary culture, from queers to straights, political correctness, representations of Empire and films including Gilda, Papillonand The Night of the Living Dead. Essays new to the second edition discuss Lillian Gish as the ultimate white movie star, the representation of whiteness in the South in Birth of a Nation, and society's fascination with serial killers. The Matter of Imagesis distinctive in its commitment to writing politically about contemporary culture, while insisting on the importance of understanding the formal qualities and complexity of the images it investigates.
Bodies of the Text by Goellner,E.W. (Editor); Murphy,J.S. (Editor)Dance and literary studies have traditionally been at odds: dancers and dance critics have understood academic analysis to be overly invested in the mind at the expense of body signification; literary critics and theorists have seen dance studies as anti-theoretical, even anti-intellectual.
Call Number: 792.8015 GOE
Publication Date: 1995
Body of Art by Fortenberry,D. (Editor); Morrill,R. (Editor)The first book to celebrate the beautiful and provocative ways artists have represented, scrutinized and utilized the body over centuries. Body of Artis the first book to explore the various ways the human body has been both an inspiration and a medium for artists over hundreds of thousands of years. Unprecedented in its scope, it examines the many different manifestations of the body in art, from Anthony Gormley and Maya Lin sculptures to eight-armed Hindu gods and ancient Greek reliefs, from feminist graphics and Warhol's empty electric chair to the blue-tinted complexion of Singer Sargent's Madame X. It is the most expansive examination of the human body in art, spanning western and non-western, ancient to contemporary, representative to abstract and conceptual. Over 400 artists are featured in chapters that explore identity, beauty, religion, absent body, sex and gender, power, body's limits, abject body and bodies & space. Works range from 11,000 BC hand stencils in Argentine caves to videos and performances by contemporary artists such as Marina Abramovic, Joan Jonas and Bruce Nauman... Its fresh, accessible and dynamic voice brings to life the thrilling diversity of both classical and contemporary art through the prism of the body. More than simply a book of representations, this is an original and thought provoking look at the human body across time, cultures and media.
Reading Dancing by Foster,S.L.Borrowing from contemporary semiotics and post-structuralist criticism, Foster outlines four models for representation in dance which are illustrated through an analysis of the works of contemporary choreographers and through historical examples beginning with court ballets of the Renaissance.
Call Number: 793.31973 FOS
Publication Date: 1988
The Body by Fraser,M. (Editor); Greco,M. (Editor)The body has become an increasingly significant concept in recent years and this Readeroffers a stimulating overview of the main topics, perspectives and theories surrounding the issue. This broad consideration of the body presents an engagement with a range of social concerns, from the processes of racialization to the vagaries of fashion and performance art, enacted as surgery on the body. Individual sections cover issues such as: the body and social (dis)order bodies and identities bodily norms bodies in health and dis-ease bodies and technologies. Containing an extensive critical introduction, contributions from key figures such as Butler, Sedgwick, Martin Scheper-Huges, Haraway and Gilroy, and a series of introductions summarizing each section, this Readeroffers students a valuable practical guide and a thorough grounding in the fascinating topic of the body.
Call Number: 306.4613 FRA
Publication Date: 2005
Queer by Getsy, D.J.Key artists' writings that have influenced and catalyzed contemporary queer artistic practice. Historically, "queer" was the slur used against those who were perceived to be or made to feel abnormal. Beginning in the 1980s, "queer" was reappropriated and embraced as a badge of honor. While queer draws its politics and affective force from the history of non-normative, gay, lesbian, and bisexual communities, it is not equivalent to these categories, nor is it an identity. Rather, it offers a strategic undercutting of the stability of identity and of the dispensation of power that shadows the assignment of categories and taxonomies. Artists who identify their practices as queer today call forth utopian and dystopian alternatives to the ordinary, adopt outlaw stances, embrace criminality and opacity, and forge unprecedented kinships, relationships, loves, and communities. Rather than a book of queer theory for artists, this is a book of artists' queer tactics and infectious concepts. By definition, there can be no singular "queer art." Here, in the first Documents of Contemporary Art anthology to be centered on artists' writings, numerous conversations about queer practice are brought together from diverse individual, social and cultural contexts. Together these texts describe and examine the ways in which artists have used the concept of queer as a site of political and institutional critique, as a framework to develop new families and histories, as a spur to action, and as a basis from which to declare inassimilable difference. Artists and writers include Nayland Blake, Gregg Bordowitz, Leigh Bowery, AA Bronson, A. K. Burns, Giuseppe Campuzano, Tee Corinne, Barbara DeGenevieve, Dyke Action Machine!, Elmgreen & Dragset, Rotimi Fani-Kayode, Simon Fujiwara, Malik Gaines, Felix Gonzalez-Torres, Gran Fury, Sunil Gupta, Hahn Thi Pham, Harmony Hammond, Sharon Hayes, Hudson, Roberto Jacoby, Derek Jarman, Isaac Julien, Mahmoud Khaled, Zoe Leonard, Lesbian Avengers, Catherine Lord, Ma Liuming, LTTR, Allyson Mitchell, Zanele Muholi, Carlos Motta, Ocaña, Hélio Oiticica, Catherine Opie, Ridykeulous (Nicole Eisenman & A.L. Steiner), Marlon Riggs, Emily Roysdon, Prem Sahib, Assoto Saint, Tejal Shah, Amy Sillman, Jack Smith, Wolfgang Tillmans, Toxic Titties, Danh Vo, David Wojnarowicz, Wu Tsang, Yan Xing, Las Yeguas del Apocalipsis, Akram Zaatari, Sergio Zevallos
Call Number: 700.453 GET
Publication Date: 2016
Art in Theory, 1900-2000 by Charles Harrison (Editor); Paul Wood (Editor)This popular anthology of twentieth-century art theoretical texts has now been expanded to take account of new research, and to include significant contributions to art theory from the 1990s. New edition of this popular anthology of twentieth-century art-theoretical texts. Now updated to include the results of new research, together with significant contributions from the 1990s. Includes writings by critics, philosophers, politicians and literary figures. The editors provide contextual introductions to 340 texts. Complements Art in Theory 1648-1815 and Art in Theory 1815-1900 to create a complete survey of the theories underpinning the development of art in the modern period.
Exhausting Dance by Lepecki, A.The only scholarly book in English dedicated to recent European contemporary dance, Exhausting Dance: Performance and the Politics of Movementexamines the work of key contemporary choreographers who have transformed the dance scene since the early 1990s in Europe and the US. Through their vivid and explicit dialogue with performance art, visual arts and critical theory from the past thirty years, this new generation of choreographers challenge our understanding of dance by exhausting the concept of movement. Their work demands to be read as performed extensions of the radical politics implied in performance art, in post-structuralist and critical theory, in post-colonial theory, and in critical race studies. In this far-ranging and exceptional study, Andre Lepecki brilliantly analyzes the work of the choreographers: * Jerome Bel (France) * Juan Dominguez (Spain) * Trisha Brown (US) * La Ribot (Spain) * Xavier Le Roy (France-Germany) * Vera Mantero (Portugal) and visual and performance artists: * Bruce Nauman (US) * William Pope.L (US). This book offers a significant and radical revision of the way we think about dance, arguing for the necessity of a renewed engagement between dance studies and experimental artistic and philosophical practices.
Call Number: 792.82 LEP
Publication Date: 2006
Of the Presence of the Body by Lepecki , A.(Editor)Of the Presence of the Body gathers nine original essays by eminent scholars in the fields of dance and performance studies. Its focus is the historical, cultural and political contexts that inform choreographic and dance practices and critical readings of dance--in other words, how dance operates as critical discourse. The question that runs throughout the essays is the theoretical and political problem of "how dances come to be seen," how the presence of the body leaves its mark on critical theories and performances. Focusing exclusively on 20th century dance, the interdisciplinary perspectives range from history to race studies, deconstruction, Marxist theory, feminist theory, literary studies and feminist ethnography. The anthology provides an overview of the current methodologies and theoretical developments in the field of dance studies. These essays expand our understanding of the performing body, and their organization around the epistemological problem in dance studies--the dynamics of seeing, remembering and writing--will make the collection useful for classes in dance criticism and theory, cultural theory, performance studies, and aesthetics. CONTRIBUTORS: Barbara Browning, Ramsey Burt, Thomas De Frantz, Mark Franko, André Lepecki, Karmen MacKendrick, Susan Manning, Randy Martin, Peggy Phelan.
On Identity by Maalouf, A."The notion of identity personal, religious, ethnic or national is one that has given rise to heated passion and crimes throughout human history. It is one that is at the heart of many of the most difficult social and political issues in the world today. What it is that makes each one of us unique and different from any other individual has been one of the fundamental questions of philosophy from Socrates to Freud and beyond. In this important series of reflections the distinguished novelist Amin Maalouf, a Lebanese who now lives in France, considers how we define ourselves and how identity is understood in the world s different cultures. Maalouf emphasises the importance of respecting the multiplicity of identity and the dangers of reducing it to a single, simple core. We should all be encouraged to recognise our identities as the sum of various parts rather than an irreducible whole. "
The Philosophical Aesthetics of Dance by McFee, G.This work is a comprehensive account of central issues in the philosophical aesthetics of dance, intended for the interested general reader as well as for the postgraduate student. Its fundamental consideration is of danceworks that are artworks. Typically these are performables: they can be re-performed on another occasion or in another place. So discussion begins from whether or not two performances are of the same dancework: that is, from issues of 'work-identity'. Here, notationality (rather than an extant notated score) is stressed, and the idea of an adequate notated score for a dancework is introduced to reflect the normativity of scores. The text explores (a) the making of dance - in particular, locating the conceptual role of authors of dances; (b) the distinctive role of the dancer; and (c) the understanding and appreciation of dances. Both dance-making and dance-understanding are addressed since the 'identity' issue can arise in the staging of a particular dance; whether the perspective is that of the choreographer or that of the dancer; where the concern is with the appreciation of a particular dancework; or, again, when a dancework from the past is being reconstructed. In this text, the reader moves on from the author's previous 'Understanding Dance' (1992). Like that work, this one draws on a range of examples of danceworks from ballet to modern dance, especially as they are represented in dance-criticism. The work contrasts the performance traditions of various dance trainings through which dancers learn to understand dance with traditions of performance for danceworks as acknowledged by audiences. A detailed discussion of the nature of our interest in dance and some historical reflections on the use of examples are also included. This book is a major intervention into the philosophical aesthetics of dance by a philosopher who has devoted much of his professional career to the consideration of dance. It presents a discussion of many of the key topics from the field, rooted in a general framework for philosophical aesthetics. Graham McFee is Professor of Philosophy at the University of Brighton, UK, and at California State University Fullerton. He writes and lectures both nationally and internationally on a wide variety of topics within philosophy, especially the aesthetics of dance and the philosophy of Wittgenstein. His books include 'Understanding Danc'e (1992), 'The Concept of Dance Education' (1994/2004), 'Free Will' (2000), 'Sport, Rules and Values' (2004), 'Ethics, Knowledge and Truth in Sport Research' (2010), and 'Artistic Judgement' (2011). He was formerly the Vice President of the British Society for Aesthetics.
Call Number: 792.801 MCF
Publication Date: 2011
Moving Words by Morris, G. (Editor)Moving Words provides a direct line into the most pressing issues in contemporary dance scholarship, as well as insights into ways in which dance contributes to and creates culture. Instead of representing a single viewpoint, the essays in this volume reflect a range of perspectives and represent the debates swirling within dance. The contributors confront basic questions of definition and interpretation within dance studies, while at the same time examining broader issues, such as the body, gender, class, race, nationalism and cross-cultural exchange. Specific essays address such topics as the black male body in dance, gender and subversions in the dances of Mark Morris, race and nationalism in Martha Graham's 'American Document', and the history of oriental dance.
Call Number: 792.8 MOR
Publication Date: 1996
Everynight Life by Delgado, C.F. (Editor) ; Muñoz, J.E. (Editor)The function of dance in Latin/o American culture is the focus of the essays collected in Everynight Life. The contributors interpret how Latin/o culture expresses itself through dance, approaching the material from the varying perspectives of literary, cultural, dance, performance, queer, and feminist studies. Viewing dance as privileged sites of identity formation and cultural resistance in Latin/o America, Everynight Life translates the motion of bodies into speech, and the gestures of dance into a provocative socio-political grammar. This anthology looks at many modes of dance--including salsa, merengue, cumbia, rumba, mambo, tango, samba, and norteño--as models for the interplay of cultural memory and regional conflict. Barbara Browning's essay on capoeira, for instance, demonstrates how dance has been used as a literal form of resistance, while José Piedra explores the meanings conveyed by women of color dancing the rumba. Pieces such as Gustavo Perez Fírmat's "I Came, I Saw, I Conga'd" and Jorge Salessi's "Medics, Crooks, and Tango Queens" illustrate the lively scope of this volume's subject matter. Contributors. Barbara Browning, Celeste Fraser Delgado, Jane C. Desmond, Mayra Santos Febres, Juan Carlos Quintero Herencia, Josh Kun, Ana M. López, José Esteban Muñoz, José Piedra, Gustavo Perez Fírmat, Augusto C. Puleo, David Román, Jorge Salessi, Alberto Sandoval
Call Number: 792.8098 DEL
Publication Date: 1997
Race-ing Representation; voice, history and sexuality by Myrsiades, K. (Editor) ; Myrsiades, L. (Editor)Die Traumzeit oder Anderswelt ist ein lebendiges Gewebe von Licht, Klang und Schwingung, welches alles, was existiert, miteinander verbindet. Indem wir auf diese Ebene des Geistes einwirken, konnen wir unsere Realitat verandern. Durch schamanisches Reisen in die Anderswelt und Traumzeit nimmt die Seele Kontakt zu ihren Seelenkraften auf. Sie kann somit Einfluss auf die ursachliche Ebene der Seele und des Geistes nehmen und diese heilen, harmonisieren und transformieren. Die Seelenkrafte zeigen sich haufig als Krafttiere, Schutzgeister, Pflanzenkrafte und innere Fuhrer, die den Menschen unterstutzen und sowohl Kraft als auch Hilfestellungen im konkreten Leben geben. Somit kann die Realitat geformt und gestaltet werden.Mit viel Einfuhlungsvermogen und Liebe beschreibt Bianka Denise Albrecht ihre Beziehung zur Natur und ihren Kraften und nimmt den Leser mit auf eine Reise in die Tiefen der Seele, um sich selbst in der Natur zu begegnen. Sie gibt praktische Hinweise und Tipps fur die Herstellung von Tinkturen, Olen und Raucherkrautern, die Ausfuhrung von Ritualen, die Arbeit im Medizinrad und ausfuhrliche Anleitungen fur verschiedene Moglichkeiten des Schamanischen Reisens in die Anderswelt. Somit ist dieses Buch ein Arbeitsbuch, um sich selbst, andere und die Erde zu entdecken und zu heilen.
Call Number: 810.2 MYR
Publication Date: 1997
Modern Theories of Performance by Milling, J. ; Ley, G.The modern era in the theatre is remarkable for the extraordinary role and influence of theoretical practitioners, whose writings have shaped our sense of the possibilities and objectives of performance. This study offers a critical exploration of the theoretical writings of key modern practitioners from Stanlislavski to Boal. Designed to be read alongside primary source material, each chapter offers not only a summary and exposition of these theories, but a critical commentary on their composition as discourses. Close scrutiny of the cultural context and figurative language of these important, and sometimes difficult, texts yields fresh insight into the ideas of these practitioners.
Call Number: 792.028 MIL
Publication Date: 2000
Beyond Words by Moore, C.L. ; Yamamoto, K.Beyond Words presents a range of illuminating approaches to examining every day social interactions, to help the reader understand human movement in new ways. Carol-Lynne Moore and Kaoru Yamamoto build on the principles that they expertly explored in the first edition of the book, maintaining a focus on the processes of movement as opposed to discussions of static body language. The authors combine textual discussion with a new set of website-hosted video instructions to ensure that readers develop an in-depth understanding of nonverbal communication, as well as the work of its most influential analyst, Rudolf Laban. This fully-revised, extensively illustrated second edition includes a new introduction by the authors. It presents a fascinating insight into this vital field of study, and will be an invaluable resource for scholars and practitioners in many activities, from performing and martial arts, athletics, to therapeutic and spiritual practices, conflict resolution, business interactions, and intercultural relations.
Call Number: 792.8 MOO
Publication Date: 2011
Critical Terms for Art History by Nelson, R.S. (Editor) ; Shiff, R. (Editor)"Art" has always been contested terrain, whether the object in question is a medieval tapestry or Duchamp's Fountain. But questions about the categories of "art" and "art history" acquired increased urgency during the 1970s, when new developments in critical theory and other intellectual projects dramatically transformed the discipline. The first edition of Critical Terms for Art History both mapped and contributed to those transformations, offering a spirited reassessment of the field's methods and terminology. Art history as a field has kept pace with debates over globalization and other social and political issues in recent years, making a second edition of this book not just timely, but crucial. Like its predecessor, this new edition consists of essays that cover a wide variety of "loaded" terms in the history of art, from sign to meaning, ritual to commodity. Each essay explains and comments on a single term, discussing the issues the term raises and putting the term into practice as an interpretive framework for a specific work of art. For example, Richard Shiff discusses "Originality" in Vija Celmins's To Fix the Image in Memory, a work made of eleven pairs of stones, each consisting of one "original" stone and one painted bronze replica. In addition to the twenty-two original essays, this edition includes nine new ones--performance, style, memory/monument, body, beauty, ugliness, identity, visual culture/visual studies, and social history of art--as well as new introductory material. All help expand the book's scope while retaining its central goal of stimulating discussion of theoretical issues in art history and making that discussion accessible to both beginning students and senior scholars. Contributors: Mark Antliff, Nina Athanassoglou-Kallmyer, Stephen Bann, Homi K. Bhabha, Suzanne Preston Blier, Michael Camille, David Carrier, Craig Clunas, Whitney Davis, Jas Elsner, Ivan Gaskell, Ann Gibson, Charles Harrison, James D. Herbert, Amelia Jones, Wolfgang Kemp, Joseph Leo Koerner, Patricia Leighten, Paul Mattick Jr., Richard Meyer, W. J. T. Mitchell, Robert S. Nelson, Margaret Olin, William Pietz, Alex Potts, Donald Preziosi, Lisbet Rausing, Richard Shiff, Terry Smith, Kristine Stiles, David Summers, Paul Wood, James E. Young
Call Number: 709 NEL
Publication Date: 2003
Performativity and Performance by Parker, A. (Editor) ; Sedgwick, E.K. (Editor);From the age of Aristotle to the age of AIDS, writers, thinkers, performers and activists have wresteled with what "performance" is all about. At the same moment, "performativity"--a new concept in language theory--has become a ubiquitous term in literary studies. This volume grapples with the nature of these two key terms whose traces can be found everywhere: in the theatre, in the streets, in philosophy, in questions of race and gender, and in the sentences we speak.
Call Number: 792.01 PAR
Publication Date: 1995
Nine Ways of Seeing a Body by Reeve, S.This book presents nine lenses through which the body is conventionally viewed. The body as object, the body as subject, the phenomenological body, the contextual body, the interdependent body, the environmental body, the cultural body and, finally, the ecological body. Designed to be a guide and stimulus for teachers, students and practitioners of dance, performance, movement, somatics and the arts therapies - and for anyone troubled by the idea of a brain on legs.
Judith Butler by Salih, S.Since the publication of Gender Troublein 1990, Judith Butler has revolutionised our understanding of identities and the ways in which they are constructed. This volume examines her critical thought through key texts, touching upon such issues as: * The subject * Gender * Sex * Language * The Psyche With clear discussions of the context and impact of Butler's work and an extensive guide to further reading, this book offers an excellent introduction to one of the most influential critical thinkers writing today.
Performance Studies by Schechner, R. ; Brady, S. (Editor)The publication of Performance Studies: An Introduction was a defining moment for the field. Richard Schechner's pioneering textbook provides a lively and accessible overview of the full range of performance for undergraduates at all levels and beginning graduate students in performance studies, theatre, performing arts, and cultural studies. Among the topics discussed are the performing arts and popular entertainments, rituals, play and games, and the performances of everyday life. Supporting examples and ideas are drawn from the social sciences, performing arts, poststructuralism, ritual theory, ethology, philosophy, and aesthetics. This third edition is accompanied by an all-new companion website curated by a dedicated media editor, with the following resources for instructors and students: Interactive glossary Multiple choice questions Powerpoint Slides. Videos Website links for further study Tutorials on specific skills within Performance Studies Sample Discussion Questions Exercises and Activities Sample Syllabi The book itself has also been revised, with 25 new extracts and biographies, up-to-date coverage of global and intercultural performances, and further exploration of the growing international presence of Performance Studies as a discipline. Performance Studiesis the definitive overview for undergraduates, with primary extracts, student activities, key biographies and over 200 images of global performance.
Call Number: 792 SCH
Publication Date: 2013
Performance Theory by Schechner, R.Few have had quite as much impact in both the academy and in the world of theatre production as Richard Schechner. For more than four decades his work has challenged conventional definitions of theatre, ritual and performance. When this seminal collection first appeared, Schechner's approach was not only novel, it was revolutionary: drama is not just something that occurs on stage, but something that happens in everyday life, full of meaning, and on many different levels. Within these pages he examines the connections between Western and non-Western cultures, theatre and dance, anthropology, ritual, performance in everyday life, rites of passage, play, psychotherapy and shamanism.
Call Number: 792.015 SCH
Publication Date: 2003
Ageing, Gender, Embodiment and Dance by Schwaiger, E.This book explores the nexus between gender, ageing and culture in dancers practicing a variety of genres. It challenges existing cultural norms which equate ageing with bodily decline and draws on an interdisciplinary theoretical framework to explore alternatives for developing a culturally valued mature subjectivity through the practice of dance.
Call Number: 792.8092 SCH
Publication Date: 2011
Dance in a World of Change by Shapiro, S.Dance in a World of Change: Reflections on Globalization and Cultural Differencewill help you -understand how dance instruction is affected by globalization; -discover the ways in which the discourse and curriculum of dance connect it to the critical, political, moral, and aesthetic dimensions of contemporary society; and -learn from the rich and generative set of experiences of international dance educators, choreographers, critics, and scholars. Dance in a World of Change: Reflections on Globalization and Cultural Differencepresents a range of international perspectives on dance pedagogy, the body, performance, and dance and culture. The text expands the discourse of dance that connects it to the critical, political, moral, and aesthetic dimensions of contemporary society, and it explores how globalization is influencing and shaping the future of dance. The contributing writers hail from around the world: South Africa, Brazil, Croatia, Ireland, Canada, Taiwan, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, Holland, Jamaica, and the United States. They bring their distinguished records as dance educators, choreographers, critics, and scholars to this book as they address -a form of human empowerment or cultural resistance; -a means of recognizing diverse cultural experience and communicating common humanity; -an expression of social conflict, injustice, violence, and marginalization; and -an educational process that transcends the particular and encompasses commonality. As growing connections between diverse communities transform our sensibilities, people's assumptions about what is good and bad, beautiful and ugly, or rational and irrational are often challenged. The changes that result can produce new and sometimes startling forms of art, create new identities formed from disparate histories and experiences, and help people rethink how they came to value one dance form over another. As new forms of dance expression are created, dance educators are using these changes to illustrate to their students what they might mean. For example, cultural borrowing in dance and pedagogy has evoked questions concerning the meaning of the tradition itself: What is African dance? Is it African dance if it is taught by a non-African? Does it remain a cultural dance if it is performed simply as a dance and no longer as a story of the people? This text helps dance educators celebrate cultural traditions while recognizing the forces and forms that bridge our common experience. In part I of this book, contributors explore how traditional dance forms are being shaped by the global dance environment and how this environment is influencing new forms of popular dance. Part II takes a look at sexual orientation, racism, and prejudice and challenges the assumptions of what is normative. Multicultural issues as they relate to dance pedagogy are examined in part III, andpart IVhelps readers to transcend the differences between cultures and embrace the commonalities shared through dance. Each chapter includes an introduction and ending reflections that provide insight and create a place for dialogue. References, which are grouped by chapter at the end of the book, provide additional information for follow-up. Dance in a World of Changeis a catalyst for new thinking about dance among teachers, choreographers, and scholars in the field. Readers will experience the passion and excitement of the contributing writers, who delineate the connections that help form a global community.
Call Number: 792.8 SHA
Publication Date: 2008
An Introduction to Theories of Popular Culture by Strinati, D.An Introduction to Theories of Popular Culture is widely recognized as an immensely useful textbook for students taking courses in the major theories of popular culture. Strinati provides a critical assessment of the ways in which these theories have tried to understand and evaluate popular culture in modern societies. Among the theories and ideas the book introduces are: mann culture, the Frankfurt School and the culture industry, semiology and structuralism, Marxism, feminism, postmodernism and cultural populism. This new edition provides fresh material on Marxism and feminism, while a new final chapter assesses the significance of the theories explained in the book.
Call Number: 306 STR + eBook
Publication Date: 2004
The Body, Dance and Cultural Theory by Thomas, H.This book takes its point of departure from the overwhelming interest in theories of the body and performativity in sociology and cultural studies in recent years. It explores a variety of ways of looking at dance as a social and artistic (bodily) practice as a means of generating insights into the politics of identity and difference as they are situated and traced through representations of the body and bodily practices. These issues are addressed through a series of case studies.