Database systems : a practical approach to design, implementation and management by
This book is ideal for a one- or two-term course in database management or database design in an undergraduate or graduate level course. With its comprehensive coverage, this book can also be used as a reference for IT professionals. This text introduces the theory behind databases in a concise yet comprehensive manner, providing database design methodology that can be used by both technical and non-technical readers. The methodology for relational Database Management Systems is presented in simple, step-by-step instructions in conjunction with a realistic worked example using three explicit phases-conceptual, logical, and physical database design.
NoSQL for Mere Mortals by
NoSQL for Mere Mortals is an easy, practical guide to succeeding with NoSQL in your environment. Students are guided step-by-step through choosing technologies, designing high-performance databases, and planning for long-term maintenance. The author introduces each type of NoSQL database, shows how to install and manage them, and demonstrates how to leverage their features while avoiding common mistakes that lead to poor performance and unmet requirements. He uses four popular NoSQL databases as reference models: MongoDB, a document database; Cassandra, a column family data store; Redis, a key-value database; and Neo4j, a graph database.
Fundamentals of database systems by
"This book introduces the fundamental concepts necessary for designing, using, and implementing database systems and database applications. Our presentation stresses the fundamentals of database modeling and design, the languages and models provided by the database management systems, and database system implementation techniques"
NoSQL Distilled by
The need to handle increasingly larger data volumes is one factor driving the adoption of a new class of nonrelational "NoSQL" databases. Advocates of NoSQL databases claim they can be used to build systems that are more performant, scale better, and are easier to program. NoSQL Distilled is a concise but thorough introduction to this rapidly emerging technology. Pramod J. Sadalage and Martin Fowler explain how NoSQL databases work and the ways that they may be a superior alternative to a traditional RDBMS. The authors provide a fast-paced guide to the concepts you need to know in order to evaluate whether NoSQL databases are right for your needs and, if so, which technologies you should explore further. The first part of the book concentrates on core concepts, including schemaless data models, aggregates, new distribution models, the CAP theorem, and map-reduce. In the second part, the authors explore architectural and design issues associated with implementing NoSQL. They also present realistic use cases that demonstrate NoSQL databases at work and feature representative examples using Riak, MongoDB, Cassandra, and Neo4j. In addition, by drawing on Pramod Sadalage's pioneering work, NoSQL Distilled shows how to implement evolutionary design with schema migration: an essential technique for applying NoSQL databases. The book concludes by describing how NoSQL is ushering in a new age of Polyglot Persistence, where multiple data-storage worlds coexist, and architects can choose the technology best optimized for each type of data access.
Oracle SQL : a beginner's tutorial by
This introduction to SQL for the Oracle database begins by discussing exactly how data is stored and maintained in a relational database, familiarizing readers with SQL INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE statements. The guide then discusses how to construct basic queries, choose an appropriate output, and how to create and use groups. Readers will also learn how to use joins to query data from multiple tables, how to create predefined views that can be stored in a database, and how to utilize the metadata of a database. Appendices round out the book, covering the various indexing techniques available in the Oracle database and discussing how to install Oracle Database Express Edition and list the Oracle built-in data types.
Structured Search for Big Data : From Keywords to Key-objects by
The WWW era made billions of people dramatically dependent on the progress of data technologies, out of which Internet search and Big Data are arguably the most notable. Structured Search paradigm connects them via a fundamental concept of key-objects evolving out of keywords as the units of search. The key-object data model and KeySQL revamp the data independence principle making it applicable for Big Data and complement NoSQL with full-blown structured querying functionality. The ultimate goal is extracting Big Information from the Big Data. As a Big Data Consultant, Mikhail Gilula combines academic background with 20 years of industry experience in the database and data warehousing technologies working as a Sr. Data Architect for Teradata, Alcatel-Lucent, and PayPal, among others. He has authored three books, including The Set Model for Database and Information Systems and holds four US Patents in Structured Search and Data Integration. Conceptualizes structured search as a technology for querying multiple data sources in an independent and scalable manner. Explains how NoSQL and KeySQL complement each other and serve different needs with respect to big data Shows the place of structured search in the internet evolution and describes its implementations including the real-time structured internet search
Big data analytics : from strategic planning to enterprise integration with tools, techniques, NoSQL, and graph by
Big Data Analytics will assist managers in providing an overview of the drivers for introducing big data technology into the organization and for understanding the types of business problems best suited to big data analytics solutions, understanding the value drivers and benefits, strategic planning, developing a pilot, and eventually planning to integrate back into production within the enterprise. Guides the reader in assessing the opportunities and value proposition Overview of big data hardware and software architectures Presents a variety of technologies and how they fit into the big data ecosystem
SQL & NoSQL databases : models, languages, consistency options and architectures for big data management by
This book offers a comprehensive introduction to relational (SQL) and non-relational (NoSQL) databases. The authors thoroughly review the current state of database tools and techniques, and examine coming innovations. The book opens with a broad look at data management, including an overview of information systems and databases, and an explanation of contemporary database types: SQL and NoSQL databases, and their respective management systems The nature and uses of Big Data A high-level view of the organization of data management Data Modeling and Consistency Chapter-length treatment is afforded Data Modeling in both relational and graph databases, including enterprise-wide data architecture, and formulas for database design. Coverage of languages extends from an overview of operators, to SQL and and QBE (Query by Example), to integrity constraints and more. A full chapter probes the challenges of Ensuring Data Consistency, covering: Multi-User Operation Troubleshooting Consistency in Massive Distributed Data Comparison of the ACID and BASE consistency models, and more System Architecture also gets from its own chapter, which explores Processing of Homogeneous and Heterogeneous Data; Storage and Access Structures; Multi-dimensional Data Structures and Parallel Processing with MapReduce, among other topics. Post-Relational and NoSQL Databases The chapter on post-relational databases discusses the limits of SQL - and what lies beyond, including Multi-Dimensional Databases, Knowledge Bases and and Fuzzy Databases. A final chapter covers NoSQL Databases, along with Development of Non-Relational Technologies, Key-Value, Column-Family and Document Stores XML Databases and Graphic Databases, and more The book includes more than 100 tables, examples and illustrations, and each chapter offers a list of resources for further reading. SQL & NoSQL Databases conveys the strengths and weaknesses of relational and non-relational approaches, and shows how to undertake development for big data applications. The book benefits readers including students and practitioners working across the broad field of applied information technology. This textbook has been recommended and developed for university courses in Germany, Austria and Switzerland.
NoSQL Data Models by
The topic of NoSQL databases has recently emerged, to face the Big Data challenge, namely the ever increasing volume of data to be handled. It is now recognized that relational databases are not appropriate in this context, implying that new database models and techniques are needed. This book presents recent research works, covering the following basic aspects: semantic data management, graph databases, and big data management in cloud environments. The chapters in this book report on research about the evolution of basic concepts such as data models, query languages, and new challenges regarding implementation issues.
SQL for Dummies by
Get ready to make SQL easy! Updated for the latest version of SQL, the new edition of this perennial bestseller shows programmers and web developers how to use SQL to build relational databases and get valuable information from them. Covering everything you need to know to make working with SQL easier than ever, topics include how to use SQL to structure a DBMS and implement a database design; secure a database; and retrieve information from a database; and much more. SQL is the international standard database language used to create, access, manipulate, maintain, and store information in relational database management systems (DBMS) such as Access, Oracle, SQL Server, and MySQL. SQL adds powerful data manipulation and retrieval capabilities to conventional languages--and this book shows you how to harness the core element of relational databases with ease. Server platform that gives you choices of development languages, data types, on-premises or cloud, and operating systems Find great examples on the use of temporal data Jump right in--without previous knowledge of database programming or SQL As database-driven websites continue to grow in popularity--and complexity--SQL For Dummies is the easy-to-understand, go-to resource you need to use it seamlessly.
Getting Started with Nosql by
NoSQL Starter is a great resource for someone starting with NoSQL and an indispensable guide for technology decision makers. It is assumed that you have a background in RDBMS modeling and SQL and have had exposure to at least one of the programming languages - Java or JavaScript.Friendly, practical tutorial with lots of hints and tips from several experienced Solr users and developers.