Managing Long-Term Conditions and Chronic Illness in Primary Care. 2nd edn. by
Effective management of long-term conditions is an essential part of contemporary nursing policy and practice. Systematic and evidence-based care which takes account of the expert patient and reduces unnecessary hospital admissions is vital to support those with long-term conditions/chronic diseases and those who care for them. Reflecting recent changes in treatment, the nurse's role and the patient journey and including additional content on rehabilitation, palliative care, and non-medical prescribing, this fully updated new edition highlights the key issues in managing long-term conditions. It provides a practical and accessible guide for nurses and allied health professionals in the primary care environment and covers: -　　　　　　　　　 the physical and psychosocial impact of long-term conditions -　　　　　　　　　 effective case management -　　　　　　　　　 self-management and the expert patient -　　　　　　　　　 behavioural change strategies and motivational counselling -　　　　　　　　　 telehealth and information technology -　　　　　　　　　 nutritional and medication management. Packed with helpful, clearly written information, Managing Long-term Conditions and Chronic Illness in Primary Careincludes case studies, fact boxes and pointers for practice. It is ideal reading for pre- and post-registration nursing students taking modules on long-term conditions, and will be a valuable companion for pre-registration students on community placements.
A Textbook of Community Nursing by
A Textbook of Community Nursingis a comprehensive and evidence-based introduction covering the full range of professional issues, including community nursing roles, personal safety, public health, and health promotion. This is an essential text for all pre-registration nursing students, students on specialist community nursing courses, and qualified nurses entering community practice for the first time. Completely up-to-date with current theory, policy, and guidelines for practice, all chapters are underpinned by a strong evidence base User-friendly and accessible, with learning objectives for each chapter, plus exercises and activities to test current understanding, promote reflective practice, and encourage further reading Case studies and examples from practice draw on all branches of community nursing to illustrate practical application of theory
Health Promotion for Nurses by
With the increase of chronic disease and pressure on health professionals to improve patient outcomes, the demand for skilled professionals in the field of health promotion is stronger than ever before. This timely text provides insight into the principles of health promotion, and enables the reader to translate them into practice. The book covers traditional health promotion concepts, and incorporates their use with chronic diseases. Furthermore, the authors cover program planning, implementation, and evaluation, and discuss practical applications of this process. This text helps bridge the gap between the theoretical and the practical, and provides professionals working in the field of health promotion the necessary tools to apply the skills in their practice. It contains case studies and exercises to provide examples of how theoretical concepts can be applied in real-life situations, and also includes chapter objectives, summaries, articles, key terms, and review questions to help guide readers through the material.This text is divided into four sections: -Health Promotion and Theory -Health Promotion in Action -Health Promotion and Evidence Based Practice -Resources for PracticeInstructor Resources include: -Suggested Answers for Case Studies -Review Questions -Ask Yourself Exercises -PowerPoint Presentations -Test Bank
Fundamental aspects of legal, ethical and professional issues in nursing. 3rd ed. by 
Compassion and Caring in Nursing by
'Compassion, in its many manifestations, is the key to rediscovering what lies at the heart of nursing practice all over the world. It is absolutely essential that nurses start to revisit compassion as a central focus for nursing practice...' This user-friendly book adopts a patient-centred approach to care. The challenging theories are grounded in practical applications, encouraging readers to recognise opportunities for change in their daily practice. The book focuses on six key concepts central to compassionate care: A*
The sociology of long term conditions and nursing practice by 
The primary care guide to mental health: a practical and theoretical guide for nurses and AHPs by 
Nursing Adults with Long Term Conditions by 
Community and Public Health Nursing by 
Community Nursing and Primary Healthcare in Twentieth-Century Britain by 
Case Management in Long-Term Conditions by 
Essential Decision Making and Clinical Judgement for Nurses by 
Professional Issues in Primary Care Nursing by
As both [practice and walk-in centre] nurses continue to adapt to the constant on-going change demanded by both the public and the government paymasters they will face ever-growing self questioning about their role responsibilities and their need to remain competent, knowledgeable and safe practitioners. From the foreword by Professor Dame Betty Kershaw, DBE, FRCN, Education Advisor, The Royal College of Nursing, President of the Scholarship Society for Nurses and Midwives This book enables nurses to get to grips with the professional issues that affect their practice in primary care. It is structured around the RCN domains of practice and considers a wide variety of issues including health promotion, reflective practice and leadership. Part One sets the scene for the domains of practice which follow and considers the unique aspects of practice and walk-in centre nursing. Part Two considers practical aspects of each of the RCN domains of practice in turn and is centred around nurse-patient relationships. Provides greater understanding of issues that affect the nature of practice Addresses the considerable changes in practice nursing and walk-in centres Evidence-based but also contains personal experiences Suitable for nurses undertaking community specialist practitioner degree courses, qualified practice nurses and walk-in centre staff
The Informed Practice Nurse by
This level of nurse works largely independently and their work is managed rather than supervised. They are able to demonstrate their duties to less experienced employees and supervise students, and can undertake surveys or audits. They may occasionally participate in research and development, clinical trials or equipment testing. The second edition of The Informed Practice Nurse offers both the new and experienced practice nurse the opportunity to reflect on their current practice. The chapter content is evidence based and accurately referenced, making it an essential text for students on undergraduate and post-graduate courses. Management and ethical issues in general practice are placed in context to government directives and the dynamic ethos of nursing. Women's, men's and young peoples health care are addressed in separate chapters, concentrating on health issues often neglected in other nursing texts and the health needs of lesbian women and gay men are discussed in a sensitive manner.
Oxford Handbook of Primary Care and Community Nursing. 2nd edn. by 
Practice Nurse Handbook. 5th edn. by
There have been major advances in practice nursing in recent years, and a rapid expansion in the role of the practice nurse. The Practice Nurse Handbook is an essential guide to all aspects of clinical practice, health promotion, and practice management, for nurses in general practice. The handbook includes chapters on common medical conditions, screening tests, sexual health, mental health, chronic disease management, travel health, immunisations, and emergency situations. It addresses legal issues, changes in primary care, nurse prescribing and covers key issues in team working. Each chapter contains suggestions for reflection on practice and presents the underlying evidence base. The fifth edition of the Practice Nurse Handbook has been revised and updated to include the latest policy developments, including the National Service Frameworks, changes to the GP contract, information on primary care organisations, Quality and Outcomes Frameworks and new roles for practice nurses
The Minor Illness Manual by
This new edition of the best-selling Minor Illness Manual has been completely revised and updated with the latest clinical guidance and prescribing information, and includes a new chapter on the changing demands of Primary Care. The simple, clear and easy-to-use format enables Primary Care professionals - such as nurses, pharmacists, midwives, doctors, and paramedics - to quickly access the current procedures for dealing with situations they are likely to encounter in their daily practice.
