BNF 84 : September 2022 - March 2023 by 
The Illusion of Evidence-Based Medicine Exposing the crisis of credibility in clinical research. by 
Medical Pharmacology at a Glance by
The internationally best-selling Medical Pharmacology at a Glance is the ideal companion for all medical and healthcare students, providing a visual overview of pharmacology, and describing the basic principles of drug action, interaction, absorption, and excretion. Clear and accessible chapters organised around common diseases and conditions facilitate efficient clinical learning, and include references to drug classes and side effects, disease pathophysiology, prescribing guidelines, and more. Now in its ninth edition, this leading guide has been thoroughly updated to reflect current guidelines and drug information. This edition features new and revised illustrations, additional pedagogical tools, and enhanced online content. Widely recognised as both the best introduction to medical pharmacology and the perfect revision tool for USMLE and pharmacology exams, this invaluable guide: Covers a wide range of drugs used to treat conditions such as hypertension, anaemias, cancer, and affective disorders Explains drug mechanisms and the principles of drug action Discusses practical topics including drug misuse, drug indications, and side effects Includes a companion website featuring online cases, flashcards, and a list of core drugs
The Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry by
The Maudsley® Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry The new edition of the world-renowned reference guide on the use of medications for patients presenting with mental health problems The Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry is the essential evidence-based handbook on the safe and effective prescribing of psychotropic agents. Covering both common and complex prescribing situations encountered in day-to-day clinical practice, this comprehensive resource provides expert guidance on drug choice, minimum and maximum doses, adverse effects, switching medications, prescribing for special patient groups, and more. Each clear and concise chapter includes an up-to-date reference list providing easy access to the evidence on which the guidance is based. The fourteenth edition has been fully updated to incorporate the latest available research, the most recent psychotropic drug introductions, and all psychotropic drugs currently used in the UK, USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and Japan. Several new sections cover topics such as deprescribing of major psychiatric drugs, prescribing psychotropics at the end of life, the treatment of agitated delirium, the genetics of clozapine prescribing, the use of weekly penfluridol, and the treatment of psychotropic withdrawal. Featuring contributions by an experienced team of psychiatrists and specialist pharmacists, the new edition of The Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry: Provides succinct coverage of drug treatment of psychiatric conditions and formulating prescribing policy in mental health Covers a wide range of psychiatric conditions including schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, depression and anxiety, borderline personality, eating disorders, and many others Provides advice on prescribing for children and adolescents, older people, pregnant women, and other special patient groups Offers new sections on genetic prescribing, long-acting injectable formulations, ketamine administration and uses, and dopamine super-sensitivity Includes referenced information on off-label prescribing, potential interactions with other substances such as alcohol, tobacco, and caffeine, and treating patients with comorbid physical conditions Whether in the doctor's office, in the clinic, or on the ward, The Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry, Fourteenth Edition is a must-have for psychiatrists, pharmacists, neuropharmacologists, clinical psychologists, nurses, and other healthcare professionals working in mental health, as well as trainees and students in medicine, pharmacy, and nursing.
He died waiting : Learning the lessons - a bereaved mother's view of mental health services by 
Oxford Handbook of Prescribing for Nurses and Allied Health Professionals by
Prescribing is a relatively recent extension of the nursing role, and there are few resources to support the prescriber through this complex and expanding initiative. The Oxford Handbook of Prescribing for Nurses and Allied Health Professionals, second edition gives concise, practical andexpert advice on all aspects of non-medical prescribing.Giving a complete picture of the role of the prescriber, the handbook provides evidence-based advice for all nurse and non-medical prescribers from novice and student level through to the established prescriber; for all prescribing courses; and following all the competency areas. Helping you achievethe best possible results for your patients, the authors offer a wealth of recommendations, guidance and information from their years of experience as practitioners and teachers.Whatever situation you are in, the Oxford Handbook of Prescribing for Nurses and Allied Health Professionals will give you the information you need. It contains the practical principles required to enable you to practice safely, effectively and cost-consciously. Information included ranges frombasic pharmacology, to the legal aspects and processes of prescribing practice, and prescribing for specific conditions and special groups, such as the older person and the very young. This new edition has been fully revised to include new legislation and changes to prescribing standards. Chapterson complementary and alternative medicine, and evidence-based practice have been expanded, and guidelines regarding prescribing for cosmetic effect have also been included.So you can find the information you need without delay, the book is clearly laid out with one topic per page, and written in an easily readable note-based style. All this is available at your fingertips, in an accessible and pocket-sized handbook. Written by practising nurses and checked by subjectexperts and pharmacologists, the Oxford Handbook of Prescribing for Nurses and Allied Health Professionals is a unique and invaluable companion to those undertaking prescribing training and novice prescribers, as well as qualified nurse prescribers, extended nurse prescribers, supplementary nurseprescribers, and other legally designated health professional prescribers including physiotherapists, radiographers, podiatrists, optometrists and pharmacists.
Non-Medical Prescribing by
The foundations of good prescribing are quality engagement with trusted healthcare staff, access to knowledgeable and skilled personnel, and full involvement in decisions about care. Beginning with a discussion of how prescribing practices have evolved, this book then proceeds to outline how non-medical prescribing is now implemented from the perspectives of nurses, pharmacists and allied health professionals. It explores the impact on practice, and integrates the views and experiences of patients and service users, as individuals assume responsibility for their own health and select from a range of treatment options. The findings reported in this book describe the challenges posed by policy initiatives, the implications they have for healthcare personnel, and highlight areas in which further organisational change is required before the full impact of non-medical prescribing will be felt.
Non-Medical Prescribing in Healthcare Practice by
This text offers a contemporary insight into non-medical prescribing initiatives in everyday situations, covering the latest phase in this ever-evolving field of professional practice. With contributors from a variety of health professions, this practical text examines prescribing as it stands now, how it may develop in the future.
Independent and Supplementary Prescribing by
The second edition of Independent and Supplementary Prescribing builds on the success of this classic text by providing a unique resource for prescribing and medicines management for both new and experienced prescribers. This is an essential resource for anyone undertaking the non-medical prescribing programme. The book explores a number of key areas for prescribers, including the ethical and legal issues surrounding prescribing, prescribing within a public health context, evidence-based prescribing, basic pharmacology, medication safety, monitoring skills and drug calculations. Each chapter has been updated for the second edition and an additional chapter 'Minimising the risk of prescribing error' has been added. Written by a group of multi-professional authors working at all stages of the medication management process, this book will be essential reading for all nurses, midwives, pharmacists and allied health professionals qualified to prescribe as independent and/or supplementary prescribers.
Clinical Reasoning in the Health Professions by
Clinical reasoning lies at the core of health care practice and education. Clinical Reasoning in the Health Professions, therefore, occupies a central place in the education of health professionals, the enhancement of professional decision making of individuals and groups of practitioners with their clients, and research into optimal practice reasoning. Key themes presented: Clinical reasoning as a composite of encultured capabilities Clinical reasoning embedded within situated practice including the wider socio-economic and political contexts, the practitioner's and the client's contexts, and shared goals such as promoting health communities The importance of narratives, language and culture in clinical decision making Changing reasoning practices linked to increasing autonomy of practitioners working without the requirement of medical referrals Clinical reasoning as an increasingly team-based practice, including shared decision making with clients The need for sound strategies and tools to facilitate the expanding collaborations in health care across disciplines and with clients and carers Advanced education approaches promoting expansion and enhancement of reasoning strategies The importance of building good practices for learning clinical reasoning into curricula and into students' own practice development approaches Strengthening links between orthodox and complementary medicine reasoning practices New to this edition: All chapters updated and 20 new chapters added Concrete examples, cases and vignettes were added to bring discussions to life for the reader Reflection points strategically placed to assist readers to extend their insights and build learning from their own practical experiences and theoretical knowledge Devices of particular value to reflective practitioners and educators. This is a book for teachers and learners, practitioners, practice leaders, researchers and curriculum managers. Indeed, it is a valuable resource for educators seeking to ground their teaching practices in educational theory, sound knowledge of clinical reasoning and practice-based evidence, and researchers seeking to expand their research horizons. All chapters updated and 20 new chapters added Concrete examples, cases and vignettes were added to bring discussions to life for the reader Reflection points strategically placed to assist readers to extend their insights and build learning from their own practical experiences and theoretical knowledge Devices of particular value to reflective practitioners and educators.
The Textbook of Non-Medical Prescribing by
The Textbook of Non-Medical Prescribing is an authoritative and accessible overview of the vital skills, contemporary issues and essential knowledge relevant to both students and healthcare practitioners. Written as a response to the growing emphasis placed on prescribing in the modern health service, this text provides up-to-date information on safe and effective prescribing. This wide-ranging book helps students and trainees develop foundational knowledge of the key areas and prescribing competencies and provides healthcare professionals with a continued source of current information. Now in its third edition, this text has been fully updated and revised to reflect changes in legislation, current practices and new guidelines. New and updated topics include independent prescribing for therapeutic radiologists, supplementary prescribing for dietitians, paramedics working in advanced roles to independently prescribe and the Royal Pharmaceutical Society's Competency Framework for all Prescribers. Provides up-to-date information essential to safe and effective prescribing in a clear, easy-to-understand style Discusses current issues and practices in pharmacology, prescribing and therapeutics and medicine management Links to the Royal Pharmaceutical Society's Competency Framework for all Prescribers for non-medical prescribers Presents learning objectives, key theme summaries, activities and numerous case studies Offers access to additional online resources including interactive exercises, quizzes, self-assessment tests and web links The Textbook of Non-Medical Prescribing is an essential resource for students, nurses, dieticians, pharmacists, and allied health practitioners pursuing a prescribing qualification or looking for an updated refresher on the subject.
Non-medical Prescribing by
Non-medical Prescribing is an essential new guide designed to ensure confident prescribing in specialist areas. The need for this text stems from the necessity to develop non-medical prescribing in practice. It will be an indispensable resource for all non-medical prescribers including nurses, pharmacists, optometrists, physiotherapists and other healthcare professionals who desire to become supplementary or independent prescribers in their field. The book is divided into two comprehensive sections and provides an overview of non-medical prescribing by healthcare professionals other than doctors. In addition to providing background information on history and prescriber insights and reflections, it includes: competencies needed (including RPSGB guidelines); the moral aspects of prescribing; nine specialist clinical topics from prescribing in diabetes, through to prescribing in oncology and palliative care; clinical case studies for support; sources for more detailed information in areas such as consultation skills. Non-medical Prescribing is aimed both at those studying to obtain a prescribing qualification and at those who are qualified and need to develop their practical clinical skills. It is an indispensable guide to the key areas which consider safe and effective prescribing.
