Health and Well-Being in Early Childhood by
The true wealth of a nation can be measured by the health of its youngest citizens and in the twenty-first century, children's health and well-being is largely determined by social, environmental and economic influences. This book explores how factors such as parent-child relationships, family networks and social support, housing, poverty and the safety of the environment impact on children's early experiences and have consequences for their later health and well-being. Topics include: Promoting infant mental health Family transitions Poverty, relative poverty and health inequalities Growth and nutrition Young children under stress Child public health Young children's involvement in health Research with young children and families Underpinned by the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child and an ecological systems framework, this book takes difference and diversity into account to celebrate the rights of every individual child. Young Children's Health and Well-Being is a comprehensive health text for students of early childhood. It is also important reading for student teachers, community practitioner nurses, social work students and others who work with young children and their families.
Health for All Children by
Since publication of the fourth edition of this highly successful book, there have been a number of Government initiatives, reports and policies on how the health of children can best be protected and promoted. This revised fourth edition incorporates recent material on the National ServiceFramework, 'Every Child Matters', the public health report 'Choosing Health', and the Children Act. It has also been informed by new research on a variety of topics including Sure Start, obesity, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) and language acquisition.Health for all Children 4/e (revised) continues the themes of previous editions, in particular highlighting the growing evidence that behavioural problems and educational failure are not inevitable, and can be prevented. Thus the role of screening for developmental problems, while not ignored, isset in the context of what can be done to promote language development, reading, and enthusiasm for learning.Changes made to the fourth edition, and continued in this revised edition, include dealing with the health care needs of children of school age as well as pre-school children. It also outlines the needs of special groups of children, including those who are vulnerable or disabled and those livingin unusual circumstances. The legislative framework is outlined and hallmarks of good practice described. Promoting children's health is a key focus, with updated information on nutrition and injury prevention, and emphasis on the importance of parent education and support, language, and literacyskills, with a review of behavioural management programmes for parents. It also describes the duties laid on PCTs with regard to education and social services support.This established and successful book continues to be essential reading for all health professionals who work with children, whether in the community or at the receiving end of referrals. It will also provide vital background knowledge for those charged with the responsibility of planning,commissioning and monitoring. This revised fourth edition provides the most up to date evidence in a rapidly changing field.
Food and Health in Early Childhood by
The media interest surrounding children, food, and nutrition continues to influence policy and practice in early childhood settings, and food and eating is of fundamental importance to early childhood practice. Food and Health in Early Childhood gives students a comprehensive overview of food and eating, covering all areas of food and nutrition including: Policy development Healthy eating guidelines Promoting healthy eating Multi-professional working Each chapter includes case studies, links to useful websites and further reading and activities, the answers to which feature on the books companion websites along with links to journal articles and relevant websites.
Human Growth and Development by
Written for students training for careers in the helping professions, this Fourth Edition covers all the essential topics central to understanding people whether they are clients, service users, patients or pupils. Following the shape of a human life, beginning with birth and ending with death, it combines theoretical concepts and reflective learning to help your students develop an understanding of what makes us grow and change over our lives.The NEW Online Case Study Resource - Tangled WebsNow you and your students can explore key issues and themes raised in the book and develop the skill of linking theory to practice with free access to a new online case study resource. By following the lives of people living in the fictional London Borough of Bexford, this series of interlinked and extended case studies will allow your students to explore complex situations, much as they might do as practitioners in their working lives, and consider what ideas about Human Growth and Development might inform their thinking and practice.
Maternal, Fetal, and Neonatal Physiology by
Awarded first place in the 2018 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Maternal-Child Health/Prenatal Nursing/ Childbirth category! Learn to provide the best prenatal, intrapartum, postpartum, and neonatal care possible. Maternal, Fetal, & Neonatal Physiology: A Clinical Perspective, 5th Edition includes expert insight and clinically relevant coverage of the physiologic changes that occur throughout all major periods of the perinatal experience. This classic reference gives you a solid foundation for assessment and therapeutic interventions, featuring an emphasis on the evolving interrelationships between mother, fetus, and neonate and adaptations of preterm and term infants to the extrauterine environment. Solid coverage of the physiologic bases for assessment and therapeutic interventions make this an ideal resource for maternity, neonatal, women's health, or midwifery programs. Synthesis of the latest research studies and evidence-based practice provides vital data on normal physiologic changes during the antepartum, intrapartum and postpartum periods; anatomic and functional development of the fetus; and developmental physiology of preterm and term neonates. Coverage of pathophysiology and interventions for the pregnant woman, fetus, and newborn for selected abnormal events gives you a solid understanding of physiologic adaptations and developmental physiology relating to major body systems and metabolic processes. Pharmacology tables offer quick access to key pharmacology information and drug effects with clinical examples. NEW! Thoroughly updated content addresses the very latest practice issues and provides the basis for understanding physiologic adaptations in pregnant women, infants, and children. NEW! Expanded coverage of maternal, fetal, neonatal, and pediatric physiology. NEW! Soft cover and added color provide a contemporary look and feel.
The Well-Being of Children in the UK by
The well-being of children is a vital and highly topical issue. This important new book is the third in a series and updates the findings from a wide range of data to evaluate the outcomes of the Labour government's policies for children. Edited by a highly regarded expert in the field, it uses a framework to compare policy areas, making it an excellent source book for researchers, policy makers and students.
A Practical Guide to Child Nutrition 3rd Edition by
This book covers the theoretical and applied aspects of child nutrition. It is written in a clear and concise style and includes activities and assignments.
The Sociology of Healthcare by
A comprehensive collection of classic and contemporary readings in the sociology of health. The Sociology of Healthcare will stimulate debate, reflexive practice and critical thinking in applied sociology and is aimed at the teaching and learning needs of both lecturers and students.
Children's Health and Children's Rights by
This volume examines critically some of the most pertinent and controversial issues relating to children and health care. Insights are offered into some of today's leading controversies about children and their rights. The focus is on such issues as anorexia, circumcision, autism and gender reassignment. A number of the essays in this collection were previously published in the International Journal of Children's Rights.
Typical and Atypical Development by
Martin Herbert's latest book provides an interesting and informative account of the child's journey from the womb to the world outside, through childhood and into adolescence. It is based on the belief that it is vital for those training to work with children who have problems to understand what is typical or atypical in children's development. Herbert deliberately links developmental and clinical psychology approaches in order to help readers connect their theoretical understanding of the physical and psychological problems of childhood with the practicalities of assessment, rehabilitation and treatment. 'Although many have attempted to write a developmentally based book on child and adolescent behavior problems, few have achieved this lofty and elusive goal. Professor Herbert does so, however. He nicely bridges the gap or, some would say, chasm between developmental psychology, educational psychology, and clinical child and adolescent psychology.' Thomas H. Ollendick, PhD, University Distinguished Professor, Virginia Tech
Reproduction and Society: Interdisciplinary Readings by
A collection of essays, framed with original introductions, Reproduction and Society: Interdisciplinary Readings helps students to think critically about reproduction as a social phenomenon. Divided into six rich and varied sections, this book offers students and instructors a broad overview of the social meanings of reproduction and offers opportunities to explore significant questions of how resources are allocated, individuals are regulated, and how very much is at stake as people and communities aim to determine their own family size and reproductive experiences. This is an ideal core text for courses on reproduction, sexuality, gender, the family, and public health.
Exploring the Dirty Side of Women's Health by
In this book, a team of international contributors examine bodies, leakage and boundaries, illuminating the contradictions and dilemmas in women's healthcare. Using the concept of pollution, this book highlights how women and health issues are categorised, and health workers and women are confined to roles and places defined as socially appropriate. The book explores in-depth current and historical practices, such as: childbirth and midwifery practice policies and social practices around breastfeeding gynaecological nursing, female incontinence and sexually transmitted infections miscarriages and termination of pregnancy. Addressing things out of place, from the idea of 'dirty work' to feeling 'dirty', from diagnoses that disrupt our self-image to beliefs and practices which undermine health service provision, this book uses the contradictions in our thinking around pollution and power to stimulate thinking around women's health.
Child Development from Infancy to Adolescence by
Chronologically organized, Child Development From Infancy to Adolescence, Second Edition presents topics within the field of child development through unique and highly engaging Active Learning opportunities. The Active Learning features integrated within the print text and digital program foster a dynamic and personal learning process for students. Within each chapter, authors Laura E. Levine and Joyce Munsch introduce students to a wide range of real-world applications of psychological research to child development. The in-text pedagogical features and the accompanying digital components help students discover the excitement of studying child development and equip them with skills they can use long after completing the course.
The Biology of Child Health by
All health care professionals involved in the care of children, well or sick, need an understanding of the biological processes underpinning child development. This text presents information covering many of the key aspects of the biology of child health from conception to adolescence. Explicit links are made between physiological development and the assessment of the child's health. This important text is a key resource for all students and professionals working in the area.
Childhood Today by
"This is an urgently needed book that explores a number of different concepts of childhood in 21st century. The book throughout considers enduring topics and new concepts of childhood, and initiates a number of questions that students of education, childhood and early childhood studies can engage as lines of inquiries. The book offers a multidisciplinary approach of the child today, that influences practice, policy, and education, and offers diverse dimensions to provoke our thinking." - Dr. Ioanna Palaiologou, Institute of Education, University College London How we understand what 'childhood' means in today's society is constantly changing, and the rate of this change is unprecedented. This new edited book explores what it really means to be a child of the 21st century, and how we as professionals, researchers, parents and adults can understand an environment seemingly in constant flux. Each chapter seeks to explore and problematise some of the different 'labels' that we give to children in an attempt to understand their contemporary experiences. From the Regulated Child to the Stressed Child to the Poor Child the book covers a wide array of key issues in contemporary childhood, including obesity, risk, special needs, wellbeing and poverty. The pace of change in childhood can be daunting but this book helps students, practitioners and researchers to explore and understand the variety of issues affecting children in the UK and all over the world.
Nutrition and Mental Performance by
Ideal for psychology, food science and nutrition students at a variety of levels, this text provides a unique lifespan perspective to guide students through nutrition and cognitive performance. With contributions from leading academics and professionals, it is an accessible and comprehensive guide to the connection between psychology and nutrition.
Developmental Psychology by
This popular, topically organized, and thoroughly updated child and adolescent development text presents you with the best theories, research, and practical advice that developmentalists have to offer today. Authors David R. Shaffer and Katherine Kipp provide you with a current and comprehensive overview of child and adolescent development, written in clear, concise language that talks "to" you rather than "at" you. The authors also focus on application showing how theories and research apply to real-life settings. As a result, you will gain an understanding of developmental principles that will help you in your roles as parents, teachers, nurses, day-care workers, pediatricians, psychologists, or in any other capacity by which you may one day influence the lives of developing persons. Available with InfoTrac Student Collections http://gocengage.com/infotrac.
The Social Context of Birth by
Midwives and other health care professionals need to have a deep understanding of the various lives childbearing women live in order to support them insightfully and practise in a nuanced manner. The Social Context of Birth has been revised, updated and enlarged to provide an essential understanding of the different lives women live and in which they birth their children. For the first time, it also contains original primary research on the perspectives of student midwives as they progress through their three year training. This comprehensive guide provides countless valuable insights into the many different lives, experiences and expectations of women in their childbearing years in the twenty-first century, especially vulnerable women. Written by a team of highly experienced health professionals, it also covers contentious areas of maternity care, such as new reproductive technologies and fetal surveillance. A true essential for all healthcare professionals who work with women giving birth, such as midwives, nurses, health visitors and obstetricians, and wish to deepen their knowledge of women's lives.
Health Promotion by
""Stephens' important and timely book provides an urgently needed and insightful synthesis of the previously fragmented field of community health psychology. A wide range of case material from both rich and poor countries is framed within a skilfully articulated set of debates around core issues of theory, practice, research and ethics. This text should be compulsory reading for all practitioners and students of health promotion." Professor Catherine Campbell, Health, Community and Development Group, London School of Economics" Can the health of individuals be improved through community health programmes? How can community health promotion programmes be more effective? How is health awareness measured and evaluated? In recent years, health promoters have focused their attention not just on individual lifestyle change, but on daily social and physical conditions that surround the individual. They are now looking towards lifestyle change based on community or socially-based interventions. This book argues for the importance of theoretical explanations that inform investigations of the social context of daily life, the social relations that affect opportunities for healthy lives, and the needs of communities. Examining theories from a critical and values oriented perspective, it looks at current theories of health and health promotion, and discusses why health inequalities exist. The book includes a practical grounding, using examples of community health promotion practice, such as community arts and local community models, based on material and research from Britain, New Zealand, Canada, the USA and South America. The media's role in health promotion is also investigated, drawing on current media theory and examining media representation and the public's interpretative response. Issues surrounding the evaluation of health promotion programmes are also discussed. "Health Promotion: A Psychosocial Approach" provides a critical and theoretical basis for practice in social and community approaches to health promotion. It is key reading for postgraduate students of health psychology or community psychology, as well as qualified practitioners in public health areas who are developing theory based community programmes.
Pregnancy, Birth and Maternity Care by
With a focus on improving woman-centered midwifery care, this unique resource provides a thorough discussion of feminist theories and their relevance and application to midwifery practice, education, and research. Comprehensive in scope, it covers key issues - including clinical practice, management, and education - to familiarize readers with feminist theories and their relevance and application to midwifery practice, education, and research. Provides a comprehensive overview of the relevance of feminist thought to midwifery practice. Encourages readers to use feminist theories as a way of looking at the world and, in particular, as a tool to critique the provision of care given to women and families through pregnancy and childbirth. Offers a woman-centered approach to care from pregnancy to postnatal. Includes insightful contributions from experts in the field who focus on one or more theory to explore a particular issue. Presents a short introduction at the beginning of each chapter, highlighting what will be covered. Summarizes the main issues at the end of each chapter and identifies key shortcomings in present research or 'hunches' about where ideas should move in the future.
Child Health Psychology by
Winner of the British Psychological Society Book Award 2017 - Textbook category "A long overdue prioritisation of child and adolescent health psychology... Taking an interdisciplinary stance to a textbook can be a difficult task. However, despite introducing a variety of concepts, this text is very accessible and a joy to read. A use of both old and new case studies and examples helps to chart the progress in the field... an excellent book for health psychology modules and postgraduate teaching." - The Psychologist "This book is well evidenced, has a sound theoretical and scientific basis, and at the same time is insightful and readable - reflecting the author's enthusiasm for the topic. It will stimulate the reader to find out more about this fascinating area." - Vivien Swanson, University of Stirling "Engagingly written in a style that draws the reader in, it covers all the bases and provides an excellent introduction to the area." - Paul D. Bennett, Swansea University Child Health Psychology: A Biopsychosocial Perspective is the first sole-authored textbook dedicated to the topic of health psychology as it applies to children and adolescents, drawing on research from several related disciplines including psychoneuroimmunology and developmental psychobiology. With an overarching biopsychosocial lifespan perspective, Turner-Cobb examines the effects of early life experience on health outcomes, as well as covering the experience of acute and chronic illness during childhood. Lots of helpful aids are provided per chapter including key learning objectives, textboxes putting spotlights on key pieces of research, lists of key concepts to revise, useful websites and further reading suggestions. With a perspective designed to both inform and to challenge, this stimulating textbook will introduce you to the central relevance and many applications of child health psychology. It will be of interest to final year undergraduate and postgraduate students in health and clinical psychology, as well as to students in health sciences, nursing, and childhood studies.
Children in Society by
This reader provides a critical and comprehensive account of the theoretical and practical issues raised in working with children and families. It draws on debates from a range of disciplines to shed light on different perspectives, forms of practice and dimensions of policy. Its strong applied focus allows it to address a rich variety of issues of concern to professionals working with children in a range of settings. The contributing authors consist of leading academics in the field as well as those with first-hand knowledge and experience; all write in a clear and engaging style.
Marriages and Families in the 21st Century by
Marriages and Families in the 21st Century puts contemporary relationships and family structures in context for today's students. Using a bioecological framework, the book reveals how families are shaped by multiple influences, from biological to cultural, that interact with one another. Chapters cover topics from parenting to gender issues within an interdisciplinary context, weaving in stories, visuals, and examples of diverse families to dispel longstanding myths. The book creates a personalized learning experience with frequent self-assessments and strengths exercises, while ensuring that students come to understand the research and build scientific analysis and critical thinking skills along the way. Robust digital tools and resources including SAGE edge and an interactive eBook with SAGE Premium Video help readers develop a multi-layered understanding of today′s modern families while challenging them to re-evaluate their own assumptions and experiences. SAGE Premium Video included in the Interactive eBook! Families Today videos boost comprehension and bolster analysis--easily accessible via the interactive eBook. SAGE coursepacks: Our Content Tailored to Your LMS! SAGE coursepacks makes it easy to import our quality instructor and student resource content into your school's learning management system (LMS). Intuitive and simple to use, SAGE coursepacks allows you to customize course content to meet your students' needs.
Health Studies by
This new edition of a very successful textbook provides an up-to-date, broad and authoritative introduction to studying health. With chapters including biology, epidemiology, anthropology, politics and psychology, it is the only book to explore all the major disciplines and highlight how they can contribute to our understanding of health in one single volume. Comprehensive, accessible and written by leading experts in the different fields, this is the introductory text for all students of health studies. New to this Edition: - A whole new chapter on geography and health: it explores the relationship between people's health and the natural and built environments - New example features in every chapter which apply each discipline to contemporary health issues -from the increase in obesity to the impact of changing social and welfare policies- along with bullet points that highlight the latest research in the field - A complete update on both the design and layout ensures an even more navigable and enjoyable read for current students, along with new contributions from experts from across the globe
Public Health Ethics and Practice by
Ethical dilemmas are not new in the area of health care and policy making, but in recent years, their frequency and diversity have grown considerably. All health professionals now have to consider the ethical implications of an increasing array of treatments, interventions and health promotion activities on an almost daily basis. This goes hand in hand with increasing medical knowledge, and the growth of new and innovative medical technologies and pharmaceuticals. In addition, the same technology and knowledge is increasing professional and public awareness of new potential public health threats (e.g. pandemic influenza). At the level of public policy, concerns over the rising costs of health care have led to a more explicit focus on 'health promotion', and the surveillance of both 'patients' and the so-called 'worried well'. Health professionals and policy makers also have to consider the implications of managing these risks, for example restricting individual liberty through enforced quarantine (in the wake of SARS and more recently swine flu) and the more general distribution of harms and benefits. Balancing the rights and responsibilities of individuals and wider populations is becoming more complex and problematic. This book will play a key role in opening out a discussion of public health ethics. It examines the principles and values that support an ethical approach to public health practice and provides examples of some of the complex areas which those practising, analysing and planning the health of populations have to navigate. It will therefore be essential reading for current practitioners, those involved in public health research and a valuable aid for anyone interested in examining the tensions within and the development of public health.
