Introducing Research Methodology by
Lecturers/instructors - request a free digital inspection copy here In the Second Edition of this textbook designed for new researchers, Uwe Flick takes readers through the process of producing a research project. The book gives readers the fundamental data collection and analysis skills that they need for their first project, as well as a good understanding of the research process as a whole. It covers both quantitative and qualitative methods, and contains plenty of real-life examples from the author's own research. The book will help readers to answer questions such as: why do social research in the first place? how do I develop a researchable question? what is a literature review and how do I conduct one? how could I collect and analyze data? what if I want to do my research online? Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Understanding Research with Children and Young People by 
Turning Ideas into Research by
How do you turn a really good idea into a really good question, and how do you turn this into successful research? Barbara Fawcett and Rosalie Pockett use their expertise as supervisors and researchers to provide you with the frameworks and the theoretical and practical guidance you need to design, carry out and communicate your research effectively. Using a range of examples that relate research to the real world, they demonstrate: how to develop research questions how to select appropriate theoretical frameworks how to integrate theoretical perspectives with empirical research how to gather and interpret data how to ensure that the research undertaken makes a difference. The authors' user-friendly approach emphasizes the importance of participation, collaboration and inclusivity, and examines worldviews and understandings of knowledge in order to enable greater critical reflection. Chapters provide guidance on achieving impact with your research, and feature reflective questions to enhance your engagement with the issues covered. This text is the ideal companion as you set about transforming your ideas into robust research.
The Good Study Guide by 
Developing Research Questions by
Undertaking a research project is a crucial, but often overwhelming aspect of any social sciences degree, and selecting a research question can be one of the toughest parts of the process. What makes an appropriate topic for research? How do you transform an idea into a 'researchable' question? And, once you've got a question, where do you go from there? Developing Research Questions steers readers through the complex process of starting a research project. The book explains how to break down initial ideas from broad topics into appropriate research questions, and gives detailed guidance on how to refine questions as the research project develops. Each chapter is packed with handy hints, tips and examples that show how to avoid common mistakes and pitfalls in the research process. Linking hypotheses and questions with research design and methods at every step, this texttakes readers from the start through to the final stage of answering their questions and drawing conclusions. This is a no-fuss, practical guide to forming your own research question. It is an indispensable resource for social scientists carrying out research projects at all levels.
Making Sense of Social Research by 
The Study Skills Handbook 5th edn. by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
Doing Research in the Real World. 3rd ed. by 
Techniques of Close Reading by
In a world in which messages increasingly ask us to believe, accept, buy, and follow, the ability to read texts closely in order to gain a deeper understanding of their meanings is an indispensable survival skill. Techniques of Close Reading is a brief book that helps students see what texts may be saying, be they written, oral, visual, or mediated. Renowned scholar and professor Barry Brummett explains and explores the various ways to "read" messages (such as speeches, cartoons, or magazine ads), teaching students how to see deeper levels of meaning and to share those insights with others. Students learn techniques for discovering form, rhetorical tropes, argument, and ideologies within texts. This book differs from other books in rhetorical criticism, textual analysis, or critical thinking by: Focusing on the act and techniques of criticism rather than on schools of thought, grand theories, and specific methods, thus helping students to engage in the act of critical close reading in ways that are congenial to a wide range of methods - making the book an ideal companion to texts focused on specific methods Explaining the relationships among theory, methods, and techniques of rhetorical criticism Examining the ethics and risks of doing and reading rhetorical criticism via plenty of examples, figures, and exercises taken from everyday life Serving as a brief, affordable text, thus allowing instructors the flexibility to assign other textbooks
Doing Research with Children by
The Third Edition of Doing Research with Children is practical introduction to the process of designing, doing and writing up research with children and young people. At the center is a commitment to engaging with children and young people as active research participants rather than as passive subjects. In this new edition, you'll find up to date information on the fast-changing political and ethical debates around research with children and young people as well as guidance on how to carry out research yourself. Divided into three sections, the new edition covers: The main theories and approaches of research with children and young people Expanded guidance on research ethics Techniques for conduction both qualitative and quantitative research More on analyzing your research A brand new chapter on communicating your research findings This is a must-have guide for students and practitioners who are engaging in research with children and young people. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
This links to UOS Learning Service's page where you can register for one of the many workshops aimed at developing study and research skills.
Learning Services - Referencing
This links to the UOS Learning Service's online guide to referencing.
The UK Data Service's resource page for students is filled with examples and activities using real data. You can fins method guides, examples of research reports, and simplified datasets specifically designed for undergraduate student use.
National Centre for Research Methods
This website offers podcasts.videos, online training resources and current publications. This is a great resource if you are looking for further information or looking for information in a different format.
This a free, online tutorial to help undergraduate students develop their research skills.
This blog is a fun read which critiques data in the news and critically discusses key concepts that will come up from class, including validity, reliability and presenting research skills.
This blog is another fun read which critically discusses current research on children and youth. This blog also provides ideas on how you can present and disseminate your research.