The Routledge International Handbook of the Sociology of Education by
This collection brings together many of the world#65533;s leading sociologists of education to explore and address key issues and concerns within the discipline. The thirty-seven newly commissioned chapters draw upon theory and research to provide new accounts of contemporary educational processes, global trends, and changing and enduring forms of social conflict and social inequality. The research, conducted by leading international scholars in the field, indicates that two complexly interrelated agendas are discernible in the heat and noise of educational change over the past twenty-five years. The first rests on a clear articulation by the state of its requirements of education. The second promotes at least the appearance of greater autonomy on the part of educational institutions in the delivery of those requirements. The Routledge International Handbook of the Sociology of Education examines the ways in which the sociology of education has responded to these two political agendas, addressing a range of issues which cover three key areas: perspectives and theories social processes and practices inequalities and resistances. The book strongly communicates the vibrancy and diversity of the sociology of education and the nature of #65533;sociological work#65533; in this field. It will be a primary resource for teachers, as well as a title of major interest to practising sociologists of education.
Understanding and Using Educational Theories by
" I expect that this book will equip and inspire students to engage first-hand with the texts of these creative and influential educational writers."-David Aldridge, Programme Lead: Professional Education, Oxford Brookes University If you're training to teach or studying education a clear understanding of major educational theories and the thinkers behind them is essential in order to appreciate how different practices impact on learning. This textbook gives you a clear overview of the most influential twentieth and twenty-first century thinkers on education, including established names (including Vygotsky, Bruner, Dewey), more recent writers (such as Freire, Kolb, Claxton) and many other important theorists whose writings have helped shaped our views on teaching and learning. Each chapter includes: Practical examples showing how theories can be used to inform classroom teaching Critiques of each theorist exploring opposing viewpoints and the strengths and weaknesses of different ideas Reflective tasks inviting you to apply what you've read to your own educational experiences Did you know about the exciting new companion title?Take students to the next level in learning theories - take a look at companion title Understanding and Using Challenging Educational Theories
The Routledge Falmer Reader in Sociology of Education by
The RoutledgeFalmer Reader in Sociology of Education brings together a carefully selected collection of articles and book chapters to reflect enduring trends in the field of Sociology of Education. Focusing on the major issues confronting education today, this lively and informative Reader provides broad coverage of the field and includes sections on crucial topics such as: social class globalization gender curriculum social inequality and social justice students and classrooms. With an emphasis on contemporary pieces that deal with issues relevant to the immediate real world, this book represents the research and views of some of the most respected authors in the field today. Stephen Ball offers a collection that is theoretically informed, internationally applicable, and universally accessible. In a specially written introduction, Ball provides a much-needed context to the current educational climate. Students of sociology and sociology of education will find this Reader an important route map to further reading and understanding.
The Education Debate by
In this fully updated edition of The Education Debate, Stephen J. Ball guides us through a flood of government initiatives and policies concerning education over the past twenty years, showing how these policy interventions have changed the landscape and meaning of education, turned children into learners and parents into consumers, and played their part in the reformation of contemporary governance. Analyzing current policies and ideas around education from a sociological approach, he addresses issues of class, choice, globalization, race, and citizenship. The book will interest student teachers, other students of politics and social policy courses, and the general reader who wants to go beyond the simplistic analyses of newspapers.
Sociology of Education by
'An essential student-friendly text for Education Studies.' Dr Gillian Forrester, Subject Head for Education & Early Childhood Studies, Liverpool John Moores University 'Introducing students to the complexities of Education Studies is a difficult task and this book will go a long way to making it easier. I will definitely be recommending this to all my students.' Kevin Brain, Programme Leader, Education Studies, Leeds Trinity University This textbook explains the basic principles of sociology and relates these concepts to today's society and education system in order to deepen your understanding of how these issues affect our lives and the world we live in, encouraging you to think critically and to develop a 'sociological imagination'. Coverage includes: the wider political and economic context for education in the UK, including an analysis of the reforms of the 2010 coalition government childhood, schooling and pupil voice non-traditional consideration of critical pedagogy, 'race' and gender the role of education in a multicultural society inequalities in educational opportunity in terms of class, ethnicity and disability. This is essential reading for students on undergraduate Education Studies degrees, and for sociology courses covering educational issues.
Introduction to Education Studies by
Introduction to Education Studies has proven itself to be the key text for students of Education Studies for over a decade, leading readers through the field′s key ideas, concepts and debates. Drawing from the main educational themes of sociology, philosophy, history, psychology and policy, Bartlett and Burton introduce you to different ways of looking at education and the ideologies that shape educational systems. Tightly supported by accessible links to research literature and keenly aware of contemporary developments, this book encourages you to adopt a critical, questioning approach to your study in order to develop an engaged and informed understanding of education. This new edition includes: A range of video discussion boxes throughout the book and linked to the companion website exploring key issues related to each chapter. Enhanced coverage of special educational needs, discussing how policy has evolved historically and in more recent times throughout the New Labour and Coalition governments. New discussion of the 2014 National Curriculum in England and the political processes and ideologies underpinning it.
Learning Theories Simplified by
Are you struggling to get your head around John Dewey's educational pragmatism? What exactly is Jean Piaget saying about cognitive development? Maybe you're running out of time and patience making sense of Carol Dweck's mindsets? Have you reached breaking point reading Daniel T. Willingham on educational neuroscience? Written for busy teachers, trainers, managers and students, this dip-in dip-out guide makes theories of learning accessible and practical. It explores over 100 classic and contemporary learning theorists in an easy-to-use, bite-sized format with clear relevant illustrations on how each theory will benefit your teaching and learning. Each model or theory is explained in less than 350 words, many with accompanying diagrams, and the 'how to use it' sections, in less than 500 words. Every entry includes: Do it steps in order to apply the theory or model Reflection points & challenges to develop your understanding of how to apply it Analogies & metaphors from which understanding and meaning can be drawn Tips for the classroom Further reading if you want to explore a theory in greater depth. More titles by Bob Bates: Educational Leadership Simplified A Quick Guide to Special Needs and Disabilities
Disabled Children's Childhood Studies by
This collection offers first-hand accounts, research studies and in-depth theoretical explorations of disabled children's childhoods. The accounts oppose the global imposition of problematic views of disability and childhood and instead, offer an open discussion of responsive and ethical research approaches.
Changing education; a sociology of education since 1944. by 
The Sociology of Childhood by
Acclaimed as the best book on the sociology of children, this is the only textbook that thoroughly covers children and childhood from a sociological pespective. It includes updated coverage of peer relations, friendship, children and electronic media, and the social problems experienced by children, and there are new sections on immigrant children, changing perspectives of American families, and the problem of aggression and bullying among children and youth. Throughout the book, the author′s original research and the compelling photographs and vivid illustrations bring the topics to life.
Applying Theory to Educational Research by
Applying Theory to Educational Research provides educational researchers with an accessible introduction to the process of selecting and applying theories in their work. Offers an innovative and accessible approach to educational research by providing practical examples of the application of theory Gives 'hands-on' accounts for the researcher and practitioner Explains and discusses complex ideas in the light of experience in using and applying them Covers the application of major theorists such as Bourdieu, Foucault, Weber, Derrida, and Vygotsky For beginning researchers, theory can be one of the most stimulating - yet intellectually daunting - aspects of academic work. Applying Theory to Educational Research provides new educational researchers with a uniquely accessible introduction to the process of selecting and applying theories in their own work. Written by a team of leading educationalists writing from the perspective of new researchers, clearly structured chapters introduce individual theorists and their ideas, present their applications and limitations, and provide extensive references and suggestion for further reading. Major theorists such as Pierre Bourdieu, Michel Foucault, Max Weber, Jacques Derrida, and Lev Vygotsky are included, along with many more recent educational theorists. Throughout the text, helpful hints and signposts are provided to alert readers to the potential pitfalls of applying theory. Innovative and illuminating, Applying Theory to Educational Research offers a wealth of practical insights that will point the way for novice researchers struggling to navigate an often daunting intellectual obstacle course.
The Sociology of Education by
A comprehensive and cross-cultural look at the sociology of education. The text integrates important and diverse topics in the field by showing how they are related. The Sociology of Education: A Systematic Analysisprovides a sociological analysis of education using several theoretical approaches. The authors include practical applications and current educational issues to discuss the structure and processes that make education systems work. Learning Goals Upon completing this book, readers should be able to: Learn diverse theoretical approaches in the sociology of education Assess important current or emerging topics, including higher education, informal education ("climate" and the "hidden curriculum"), the school environment, education around the world, and educational movements and alternatives Understand how change takes place and what role sociologists play Become involved with educational systems where they can put to use the knowledge available in textbooks
Niklas Luhmann: Education as a Social System by
This book provides an insight into the ideas of one of the world's greatest sociologists: Niklas Luhmann. It explains, in clear and concise language, the basic concepts of Social Systems Theory and their application to the specific case of the Education System, which was considered by Luhmann as a primary subsystem of modern society. It illustrates the complex and sophisticated thinking that characterises Luhmann's work and explains that Luhmann's theory has given an important and original contribution to the study of education from a sociological point of view. His contribution has some resonance in recent social constructionist and relational approaches to education, as well as in studies of educational interaction. In addition, research methodologies, in particular mixed methods strategies, draw heavily on epistemological issues. The book finally argues that educationists can appreciate the extent of Luhmann's contribution to the field of education, although their perspective cannot be fully harmonised with, nor reduced to, the sociological one. This divergence of perspectives can stimulate pedagogy to call into question its conceptual framework as well its approach to social situations in the classroom.
Spiritual, Moral, Social, and Cultural Education by
First published in 1999, this book, by a range of teachers and teacher trainers, explores specified values in the curriculum as well as whole curriculum issues, including religious education, drama, citizenship and vocational education, as well as the National Curriculum subjects. As a hugely controversial topic area, without general consensus on many key points, this book provides an introductory platform, consistently pointing to sources of further reading and suggesting signposts through the issues. Readers will get a wider insight into spiritual, moral, social and cultural issues, as well as the development of values in general, by reading the specialist chapters.
Constructing and Reconstructing Childhood by
First published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Contemporary Debates in the Sociology of Education by
Some of the most prominent sociologists working in education today have collaborated to address a wide range of empirical and theoretical issues. Adopting an international perspective, this book foregrounds cutting-edge research that highlights both the diversity and complexity of understanding education in society.
Education and Social Change by
No Marketing Blurb
Reconceptualising Agency and Childhood by
By regarding children as actors and conducting empirical research on children's agency, Childhood Studies have gained significant influence on a wide range of different academic disciplines. This has made agency one of the key concepts of Childhood Studies, with articles on the subject featured in handbooks and encyclopaedias. Reconceptualising Agency and Childhood is the first collection devoted to the central concept of agency in Childhood Studies. With contributions from experts in the field, the chapters cover theoretical, practical, historical, transnational and institutional dimensions of agency, rekindling discussion and introducing fundamental and contemporary sociological perspectives to the field of research. Particular attention is paid to connecting agency in the social sciences with Childhood Studies, considering both the theoretical foundations and the practice of research into agency. Empirical case studies are also explored, which focus upon child protection, schools and childcare at a variety of institutions worldwide. This bookis an essential reference for students and scholars of Childhood Studies, and is also relevant to Sociology, Social Work, Education, Early Childhood Education and Care (ECEC) and Geography.
Understanding Education by
What purposes should education serve? Why does education matter? What should be done about education? These fundamental questions of value are not always seen as central to the sociology of education. However, this book argues that they are pivotal and provides a sophisticated and engaging invitation to the field that is designed to open up these important issues. It draws attention to the many points of disagreement that exist between major thinkers in the sociology of education, and the values on which their ideas are based. By involving readers in crucial questions about the potential contribution of sociology to education policies and practices, it aims to bridge the divide between education as it is talked about by academics, and the concerns of policymakers and educators who have to make practical decisions about what is to be done. The book reviews competing approaches in the sociology of education - structural functionalism, symbolic interactionism, Marxism, feminism, critical race theory and poststructuralism - and shows how these can be applied to major themes such as social reproduction, the politics of knowledge, multicultural education, identity and teachers' work. Throughout, the authors emphasise the importance of understanding social and educational values and the ways in which these underpin and impact upon the work of both academics and educators.
Equity in Education by
Based on the views of teenagers across Europe and in the Far East, this book argues that we need to reconsider how we judge schools and what they are for. It shows that the treatment of pupils in schools makes more difference to teenagers' views on society, and on what it means to be fair, than it does to differences in attainment.
The Sociology of Children, Childhood and Generation by
Outlining sociology's distinctive contribution to childhood studies and our understanding of contemporary children and childhood, The Sociology of Children, Childhood and Generation provides a thought provoking and comprehensive account of the connections between the macro worlds of childhood and the micro worlds of children's everyday lives.Examining children's involvement in areas such as the labour market, family life, education, play and leisure, the book provides an effective balance between understanding childhood as a structural phenomenon, and recognising children as meaning makers actively involved in constructing, co-constructing and reconstructing their everyday lives.Through the concept of ′generagency′ Madeleine Leonard offers a model for examining and illuminating how structure and agency are activated within interdependent relationships influenced by generational positioning. This framework provides a conceptual tool for thinking about the continuities, challenges and changes that impact on how childhood is lived and experienced.
Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy by
Education is a field sometimes beset by theories-of-the-day and with easy panaceas that overpromise the degree to which they can alleviate pressing educational problems. The two-volume Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy introduces readers to theories that have stood the test of time and those that have provided the historical foundation for the best of contemporary educational theory and practice. Drawing together a team of international scholars, this invaluable reference examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them and presents them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. In addition to interpretations of long-established theories, this work offers essays on cutting-edge research and concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures. Available in a choice of print or electronic formats, Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy is an ideal reference
Making Sense of Mass Education by
Making Sense of Mass Education provides an engaging and accessible analysis of traditional issues associated with mass education. The book challenges preconceptions about social class, gender and ethnicity discrimination; highlights the interplay between technology, media, popular culture and schooling; and inspects the relevance of ethics and philosophy in the modern classroom. This new edition has been comprehensively updated to provide current information regarding literature, statistics and legal policies, and significantly expands on the previous edition's structure of derailing traditional myths about education as a point of discussion. It also features two new chapters on Big Data and Globalisation and what they mean for the Australian classroom. Written for students, practising teachers and academics alike, Making Sense of Mass Education summarises the current educational landscape in Australia and looks at fundamental issues in society as they relate to education.
The Student's Companion to Social Policy by
This fully updated and expanded edition of the bestselling Student's Companion to Social Policy charts the latest developments, research, challenges, and controversies in the field in a concise, authoritative format. Provides students with the analytical base from which to investigate and evaluate key concepts, perspectives, policies, and outcomes at national and international levels Features a new section on devolution and social policy in the UK; enhanced discussion of international and comparative issues; and new coverage of 'nudge'-based policies, austerity politics, sustainable welfare, working age conditionality, social movements, policy learning and transfer, and social policy in the BRIC countries Offers essential information for anyone studying social policy, from undergraduates on introductory courses to those pursuing postgraduate or professional programmes Accompanied by updated online resources to support independent learning and skill development with chapter overviews, study questions, guides to key sources and career opportunities, a key term glossary, and more Written by a team of experts working at the forefront of social policy
Making Sense of Education Policy by
The particular strength of this book is Geoff Whitty's grasp on and insights into the politics of education... he is able to bring to bear an authoritative perspective which is unrivaled in the United Kingdom. there is no other current book which compares in terms of the breadth and depth of this' - Professor Stephen Ball, Institute of Education, University of London This book aims to make sense of the changes in education policy over the past decade, using the resources of the sociology and politics of education. The author shows that wider sociological perspectives can help us to appreciate both the limits and the possibilities of educational change. Geoff Whitty illustrates this through studies of curriculum innovation, school choice, teacher professionalism and school improvement. He considers how far education policy can be used to foster social inclusion and social justice and the book concludes with an assessment of New Labour education policy in these terms. The book deals with education policy in England and Wales, as well as making comparisons with contemporary education policy in other countries. This book is relevant to students of education at masters and doctoral levels, students of social policy, and policy-makers.
Childhood and Society by
This inspiring new book explores a range of sociological approaches to researching the fascinating lives and social worlds of children, and the phenomenon of childhood. In doing so, it reviews competing theoretical positions on childhood discussing issues such as poverty, abuse and rights, as well as ethical issues relating to research with children.
Reproduction in Education, Society and Culture by
The way in which the ruling ideas of a social system are related to structures of class, production and power, and how these are legitimated and perpetuated, is fundamental to the sociological project. In this second edition of this classic text, which includes a new introduction by Pierre Bourdieu, the authors develop an analysis of education (in its broadest sense, encompassing more than the process of formal education). They show how education carries an essentially arbitrary cultural scheme which is actually, though not in appearance, based on power. More widely, the reproduction of culture through education is shown to play a key part in the reproduction of the whole social system. The analysis is carried through not only in theoretical terms but through the development of empirically testable propositions within the wider framework of the historical transformation of the educational system.
The Ecology of Human Development by
To understand the way children develop, Bronfenbrenner believes that it is necessary to observe their behavior in natural settings, while they are interacting with familiar adults over prolonged periods of time. His book offers an important blueprint for constructing a new and ecologically valid psychology of development.
Ethics : subjectivity and truth : Essential works of Foucault 1954-1984 by 
Frames of Mind by
The book that revolutionized our understanding of human intelligence. Howard Gardner's theory of multiple intelligences has been hailed by educators for decades and applied in hundreds of schools worldwide. In Frames of Mind, Gardner challenges the widely held notion that intelligence is a single general capacity possessed by every individual to a greater or lesser extent. Amassing a wealth of evidence, Gardner posits the existence of eight different intelligences, each as important as the next, that comprise a unique cognitive profile for each person. In this updated edition, the author reflects on thirty years of work on Multiple Intelligences theory and practice.
Capitalism and Modern Social Theory by
Giddens's analysis of the writings of Marx, Durkheim and Weber has become the classic text for any student seeking to understand the three thinkers who established the basic framework of contemporary sociology. The first three sections of the book, based on close textual examination of the original sources, contain separate treatments of each writer. The author demonstrates the internal coherence of their respective contributions to social theory. The concluding section discusses the principal ways in which Marx can be compared with the other two authors, and discusses misconceptions of some conventional views on the subject.
Constructing and Reconstructing Childhood by
First published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Teaching, Learning and the Curriculum in Secondary Schools by
The articles which make up this reader provide both overview and analysis of the central issues in secondary education. Focused closely upon what it means to teach and learn in the modern secondary classroom, this book provides invaluable insight into the development of secondary education today. It is an ideal introduction to the task of teachers in secondary schools. Issues covered in the book include: the new agenda around teaching and learning effective pedagogy the teacher-student relationship teaching, learning and the digital age grouping by ability managing the curriculum change assessment equal opportunities and educational change This is the lead book in a series which bring together collections of articles by highly experienced educators which introduce, explore and illuminate the issues surrounding teaching in secondary schools. They are invaluable resources for those training to become teachers, newly qualified teachers and more experienced practioners, particularly those mentoring NQTs.
The Reflective Practitioner by
A leading M.I.T. social scientist and consultant examines five professions - engineering, architecture, management, psychotherapy, and town planning - to show how professionals really go about solving problems. The best professionals, Donald Schön maintains, know more than they can put into words. To meet the challenges of their work, they rely less on formulas learned in graduate school than on the kind of improvisation learned in practice. This unarticulated, largely unexamined process is the subject of Schön's provocatively original book, an effort to show precisely how 'reflection-in-action' works and how this vital creativity might be fostered in future professionals.
Childhood by
What is childhood? In recent years, a cluster of critical and complex ideas have emerged around the nature of biological, social and psychological growth in the early years, reflecting the changing nature of adult - child relations, and political and cultural understandings of childhood in the twenty-first century. In this clear and concise book, Michael Wyness offers fresh insights into the current state of play within childhood studies. Drawing on work from a number of disciplines including sociology, geography and history, he discusses the contested terrain of theoretical and research advances with particular attention to the notion of children's agency and the concept of global childhoods. Key conceptual debates are illustrated through a range of contemporary issues that affect children and adults, including inequality, child abuse, ill-health, child labour, sexualization and identity formation. This book will appeal to students and academics within the fields of sociology, education, geography, history and childhood studies.
Culture, Relevance, and Schooling by
In Culture, Relevance, and Schooling: Exploring Uncommon Ground, Lisa Scherff, Karen Spector, and the contributing authors conceive of culturally relevant and critically minded pedagogies in terms of opening up new spatial, discursive, and/or embodied learning terrains. Readers will traverse multiple landscapes and look into a variety of spaces where attempts to tear down or build up pedagogical borders based upon socially-just design are underway. In disciplines ranging from elementary science, to high school English, to college kinesiology, the contributors to this volume describe their attempts to remake schooling in ways that bring hope and dignity to their participants.
