Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Developing Practice GP1 reading list. Here you will find the essential and recommended books as well as any additional resources for this module.
Understanding and Using Educational Theories by This textbook gives readers a clear overview of a selection of the most influential thinkers on education in the last hundred year, including established names (Vygotsky, Bruner, Dewey), more recent thinkers (Freire, hooks, Claxton) and other key names whose writing has helped shaped our views on teaching and learning. This second edition includes new chapters on Albert Bandura, Dylan Wiliam and Carol Dweck.Each chapter includes: Practical examples showing how theories can be used to inform classroom teaching Critiques of each theorist exploring opposing viewpoints and the strengths and weaknesses of different ideas Reflective tasks inviting you to apply what you′ve read to your own educational experiences. This book is not available as a print inspection copy. To download an e-version click here or for more information contact your local sales representative.
Call Number: 370.1 AUB
Publication Date: 2018
Successful Placements in Early Years Settings by Students on Early Years placements face many challenges, from understanding the Early Years Foundation Stage, to coping with the immediate needs of individual children. This accessible guide begins by examining the diverse range of Early Years settings and how to prepare for placements. It goes on to look at the four areas of the EYFS and covers working with individual children, building positive relationships with children, colleagues and parents, creating and working in an enabling environment and supporting children′s learning needs. A complete guide to the placement experience, this book supports students on their journey from student to qualified practitioner.
Call Number: 372.21 BAS
Publication Date: 2011
Primary Teaching by When learning to teach, practical experience in the classroom is as essential as learning from others and being able to reflect on your own learning and performance. Equally important is the ability to critically evaluate learning and teaching. This new, extensive, core text from Learning Matters tackles questions like: What drives schools and what challenges them? What can we learn from other countries? Does curriculum really matter? How do teachers manage behaviour? How do I prove that my children are learning? What does mastery really look like? Discussing these and many more, it comprehensively covers professional studies modules and goes beyond to support trainees on placements and in their learning on the course. Learning features throughout have been designed to help students develop their understanding, broaden their perspectives, think more critically and apply theory to practice. These include: Case Studies to apply learning to real-life school contexts. Key Readings to encourage wider reading, broaden perspectives and offer practical ideas for the classroom. Key Theory features introduce and summarise big ideas, theories and research. Critical Questions direct reflection, help students engage with what their reading and encourage critical responses. Classroom Links highlight good practice, provide practical ideas and show how to implement these in the classroom. Assignment features offer helpful points to consider and practical advice for writing assignments on chapter topics, which act as great starting points.
Call Number: 372.1102 CAR
Publication Date: 2018
Child Observation for the Early Years by This is a key text for all those studying for degrees and foundation degrees in early childhood, early years and related disciplines and for candidates on EYPS pathways. It enables students to appreciate the central role of observation for understanding, planning for and educating early years children. The theoretical background to child observation is covered in detail, the text highlights important works and considers the ethical implications. This Second Edition includes new chapters on recording and analysing and the curriculum and is fully updated throughout with links to the updated Early Years Foundation Stage. Interactive activities and real life case studies are included to help the reader engage with the text and make essential links between theory and practice. Ioanna Palaiologou is a lecturer and researcher at the Centre for Educational Studies at the University of Hull and a Chartered Psychologist of the British Psychological Society with specialism on child development and learning theories. Ioanna is currently leading the Masters in Early Childhood Studies, supervises a number of PhD students and is the Academic coordinator for Research Students Support. About the Early Years Series This series has been designed to support degree and foundation degree students of early years, early childhood and realted disciplines. Each text takes a focused look at a specific topic and approaches it in an accessible and user-friendly way. Activities pose questions to prompt thought and discussion, and further reading suggestions, including useful websites, are provided to help students access extended learning in each topic. Other titles in the series are Child Development for Early Childhood Studies, Successful Placements in Early Years Settings and Childhood in Society for Early Childhood Studies.
Call Number: 372.126 PAL
Publication Date: 2012
Meeting Special Educational Needs in Primary Classrooms by There are greater numbers of children with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) now attending mainstream schools. This fully updated and revised edition of Meeting Special Educational Needs in Primary Classrooms is written by an experienced teacher, adviser and SEN consultant and explains the challenges that these children face. This is a practical book full of guidance for teachers and teaching assistants who support children with SEND in mainstream primary classrooms. Now fully updated to include the requirements of the 2014 Children and Families Act and SEND Code of Practice, this book: contains photocopiable resources and templates promotes successful communication between teachers, parents and students covers all aspects of teaching children with SEND, including planning, teaching and learning. With practical guidance on how to make the curriculum more accessible for children with SEND, this book will help teachers and TAs work together to support pupils with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities more effectively.
Call Number: 371.90472 BRU + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Children's Rights by Despite the existence of the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child there still exists a debate on whether children can really hold rights. This book presents a clear theory of children's rights by examining controversial case studies. The author presents a pathway to translating rights into practical social and political instruments for change.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
The Sociology of Early Childhood by The Sociology of Early Childhood is a theoretically and historically grounded examination of young children's experiences in contemporary society. Arguing that a sociology of early childhood must bring together and integrate different disciplines, this book: Synthesizes different sociological perspectives on childhood as well as incorporating multi-disciplinary research findings on the lives of young children Explains key theoretical concepts in early childhood studies such as investment, early intervention, professional power and discourse Examines the importance of play, memory and place Evaluates long term parenting trends Uses illustrative examples and case studies, discussion questions and annotated further reading to engage and stimulate readers Invigorating and thought provoking, this is an invaluable read for advanced undergraduates and postgraduate students looking for a more nuanced and progressive understanding of childhood.
Call Number: 372.21 GAB + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Foundations of Primary Teaching by Now in its fifth edition, Foundations of Primary Teaching will be an essential resource for any trainee or practicing primary teacher. Written in a friendly and accessible manner, this book has been updated in line with the new curriculum and provides a comprehensive introduction to all aspects of teaching within the primary school. It blends theory and practice to foster and develop effective pedagogy and, in so doing, to stimulate your thinking, expand your horizons and motivate you to relish one of the most thrilling, frustrating, exhausting, exciting and important jobs in the world. Written specifically for student teachers on BA, BEd and PGCE courses, as well as students taking Education Studies, this text will encourage you to develop a fuller understanding and appreciation of teaching as professional practice through an emphasis on: Reflective thinking and action Relationships and motivation in the classroom A full range of tried and tested teaching and assessment strategies Creativity and transferable teaching skills Personalised learning. Also incorporating new material on changes and innovations that have taken place in education; childhood; the process of, and context for, learning; and issues teachers face, as well as updated further reading lists, this wholly revised fifth edition should be on the bookshelf of all student teachers on initial teacher training courses at the primary level, newly qualified teachers and more experienced teachers wishing to enhance their practice.
Call Number: 372.13 HAY + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Good Practice in the Early Years by This third edition of Good Practice in the Early Years includes chapters on current key issues for early years practitioners such as multi-professional working, inclusion, child protection and children's rights and participation. As well as exploring key areas of good practice, the contributors explore the dilemmas that can arise from implementing good practice. An invaluable resource for all early years and childhood students and practitioners, this guide provides case studies and exercises to encourage readers to develop their understanding and knowledge of good practice in all early years settings.
Call Number: 372.210941 KAY
Publication Date: 2012
Playing to Learn by Sandra Smidt sets out to explain what play is and why it is so important as one of the key ways of learning, particularly - but not solely - for young children. She argues that all play is purposeful, and can only truly considered to be play when the child has chosen what to do, where and how to do it. Using case studies drawn from all over the world, Smidt challenges some of the prevailing myths relating to play and pays close attention to what it is that early years professionals need to do to interpet the play, understand its purpose for the child and sometimes extend it. Attention is paid to the close links that play has with creativity, and the author also highlights the importance of being able to explain to colleagues, parents and even those in government, why play matters so much in terms of learning and development. This book will be of interest to anyone involved in early years¿ education.
Call Number: 155.418 SMI + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Play, Learning and the Early Childhood Curriculum by Lecturers, why waste time waiting for the post to arrive? Request and receive your e-inspection copy today!The Third Edition of this popular book reflects contemporary research as well as thinking about the role and value of play in learning and development, within and beyond early childhood. The author explores recent developments across international contexts which endorse play, and argues for critical engagement with some aspects of policy discourse in how ′educational play′ is constrructed. This accesible book also reviews contemporary theoretical trends which focus on the meanings and intentions that children bring to their play. The new edition includes coverage of: - play in education policies; UK and international perspectives - working with parents - social and cultural diversity - children with special educational needs and disabilities - outdoor play Each chapter includes case studies provided by practitioners, along with questions and tasks to promote critical engagement and reflection on key issues and debates. This book is for students on Childhood Studies courses and those on Initial Teacher Education and Masters programmes in early childhood and primary education. Experienced practitioners on CPD courses will also find it useful. For additional online material visit www.sagepub.co.uk/wood
Call Number: 372.21 WOO
Publication Date: 2013