The Sociology of Education by
A comprehensive and cross-cultural look at the sociology of education. The text integrates important and diverse topics in the field by showing how they are related. The Sociology of Education: A Systematic Analysisprovides a sociological analysis of education using several theoretical approaches. The authors include practical applications and current educational issues to discuss the structure and processes that make education systems work. Learning Goals Upon completing this book, readers should be able to: Learn diverse theoretical approaches in the sociology of education Assess important current or emerging topics, including higher education, informal education ("climate" and the "hidden curriculum"), the school environment, education around the world, and educational movements and alternatives Understand how change takes place and what role sociologists play Become involved with educational systems where they can put to use the knowledge available in textbooks
Stratification by 
Real Bodies by
This introductory text sets out to make the links between sociological theories of the body and actual human behaviour and experience. It covers a broad range of topics, from long-standing sociological concerns to more contemporary issues. With a focus on the changeability of the body, it examines the part that bodies play in the social construction of categories such as race, sexuality and disability and explores how we express ourselves through our bodies, whether in eating, dress or pain. It also debates how the body is regulated, both through the life course and in reproduction.
Sex/Gender biology in a social world by 
Children, Morality and Society by 
Sociology by
The fourth edition of Fulcher and Scott provides an authoritative and theoretically grounded approach to sociology, covering both classic and contemporary research. It provides the context for debate and discussion that enables students to develop their critical awareness skills. Contemporaryissues such as anti-social behaviour, are backed with recent research, whilst the student-centred approach adopted in this edition looks at popular culture and recent developments such as social networking and online identities.A system of consistent cross-referencing and signposting signals where topics are explored to allow easy navigation of the text. Clear links between the main text and learning features emphasize the relevance of these features. A wealth of features support students and teachers.Online ResourcesFor students:* Case studies: each chapter has a case study that draws on recent sociological research and news from the popular media with questions* MCQs: bank of self-marking multiple-choice questions for each chapter* Web links: series of annotated web links organised by chapter* Interactive revision activities* Information and advice on careers: to provide guidance on careers available to students of sociology and links to sources of further information. This expands on the information on careers provided in chapter 1.For lecturers:* Further collection of case studies for group tutorial work and assignments, accompanied by critical thinking questions* Bank of essay and short answer questions for each chapter.* PowerPoint slides for lecturer presentations arranged by chapter.* Comprehensive Instructor's Manual, includes lecturer outline and teaching activities.* Guide to discussion points at the end of each chapter.
Socialising Children by 
The Sociology of Health and Illness by
Sarah Nettleton's The Sociology of Health and Illness has become a cornerstone text, popular with students and academics alike for its rigorous and accessible overview of the field. Building on these strengths, the fourth edition integrates fresh insights from the current literature with the core tenets of traditional medical sociology, providing students with a thorough grounding in the sociology of health and illness. The text covers a diversity of topics and draws on a wide range of analytic approaches, spanning issues such as the social construction of medical knowledge, the analysis of lay health beliefs, concepts of lifestyles and risk, the experience of illness and the sociology of the body. It also explores matters that are central to health policy, such as professional-patient relationships, health inequalities and the changing nature of health care work. A new chapter has been added, on the sociology of mental health; other chapters have been updated with illustrative examples and questions for discussion. Written for students of the social sciences, this book will also appeal to students taking vocational degrees, such as nursing, medicine and public health, who require a sociological grounding in the area. Thoroughly revised and fully updated, this fourth edition will prove invaluable to anyone looking for a clear and engaging introduction to contemporary debates within the sociology of health and illness.
Sociology : the basics by 
The Palgrave Handbook of Childhood Studies by 
Routledge International Handbook of Children's Rights Studies by