Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Childhood (with QTS), Early Childhood Studies, Child and Family Studies Reading Lists: Databases and Journals

Title

A-Z eResources List

Full list of eResources the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

A-Z eJournal List

Full list of eJournals the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

Requesting Articles

Requesting Articles 

If you're unable to find the article you're looking for, we can order articles for you using the resource request service. You should check the service details for your local University of Suffolk library.

University of Suffolk Ipswich students:
You can request to order an article by completing the correct form and returning a signed copy to the Information Desk at the library. 

The number of article requests available to you depends on your level of study.  
 

Database and Journal information

The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:

Child Development & Adolescent Studies
This database provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927-2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues.

Education Resource Information Center (ERIC)
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.6 million records and links to more than 631,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966

JSTOR Arts & Sciences
is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Oxford Journals
publishes the highest quality journals and delivers this research to the widest possible audience. We achieve this by working closely with our society partners, authors, and subscribers in order to provide them with publishing services that support their research needs.

ProQuest Central
is a multidisciplinary, full-text database that provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects.

ProQuest Education Journals
gives users access to around 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.Offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics, this database offers complete text and images.

ProQuest Family Health
covers an enormous range of subjects of value in the public library context including food and nutrition and children's health

ProQuest Psychology Journals
provides abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research.

SAGE Premier
is the world’s largest independent academic publisher and is committed to global dissemination of research. We have published Open Access journals for a number of years with the goal of disseminating vital research to the broadest community.

Taylor & Francis Online
collaborates with researchers, scholarly societies, universities and libraries worldwide to bring knowledge to life.  The collection encompasses over 1,600 titles and is one of the world's leading publishers of scholarly journals, spanning content areas such as Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology.

Wiley Online Library
provides a broad and deep multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities.

How to use Journals

Attribution

All images included in this guide are available from Flickr through Creative Commons licensing CC-BY-2.0