Understanding and Using Challenging Educational Theories by
Some of the most important developments in educational thought have been put forward by theorists who have challenged existing notions about the aims of education and its role in society. But how do these ideas relate to today's classrooms and how can you use them to improve your own teaching practice?This textbook gives you a clear overview of fifteen thinkers who have offered challenging perspectives on education, including influential sociological thinkers (Bourdieu, Foucault, Mezirow, Bernstein), those who have questioned the orthodoxy on schooling (Holt, Darling-Hammond) and other key names whose writing has helped shaped our views on teaching and learning.Each chapter includes:#65533; practical examples showing how theories can be used to inform classroom teaching#65533; critiques of each theorist exploring opposing viewpoints and the strengths and weaknesses of different ideas#65533; reflective tasks inviting you to apply what you've read to your own educational experiences.This is essential reading for anyone on university and school-based initial teacher education courses training to teach in different educational settings, including early years and adult education, or studying education at undergraduate and postgraduate level.
Successful Placements in Early Years Settings by
Students on Early Years placements face many challenges, from understanding the Early Years Foundation Stage, to coping with the immediate needs of individual children. This accessible guide begins by examining the diverse range of Early Years settings and how to prepare for placements. It goes on to look at the four areas of the EYFS and covers working with individual children, building positive relationships with children, colleagues and parents, creating and working in an enabling environment and supporting children′s learning needs. A complete guide to the placement experience, this book supports students on their journey from student to qualified practitioner.
A Quick Guide to Behaviour Management by
Even the best and most experienced teachers can struggle with classroom control and it is likely your experiences will vary day-to-day. Bestselling author of Learning Theories Simplified Bob Bates, together with former head teachers Andy Bailey and Derek Lever, offers one-stop support for all teachers in A Quick Guide to Behaviour Management. Whether you are working with children, young people or adults it will help you: · understand why challenging behaviour occurs · learn how to be a great teacher in the face of challenging behaviour · recognise a range of personalities you may encounter in the classroom and the strategies for dealing with them Blending learning theories with real-life case studies, it fosters a deeper understanding of what causes challenging behaviour and equips you with all you need to know to handle it!
STEM in the Primary Curriculum by
How can teachers harness the power of STEM education and learning in the primary curriculum? This book gives practical STEM ideas for the classroom and supports teachers to make the most of opportunities for rich STEM experiences across the primary curriculum. This book: Explores the nature of STEM education and why it matters Highlights the opportunities for STEM learning across the curriculum Supports teachers to design and innovate engaging STEM learning experiences Includes a chapter on STEM in the early years.
Teaching Children 3-11 by
Focusing on the major topics underpinning professional studies strands in primary and early years teacher education, Teaching Children Three-Eleven provides indispensable coverage of vital practical and conceptual issues that support good teaching practice. This Third Edition of the popular textbook has been carefully revised, following detailed lecturer feedback, to meet the evolving needs of students training to teach across the three to eleven age range. Featuring four new chapters on curriculum development, cross-curricular teaching, diversity and inclusion, and communication in the classroom, and engaging with the growing need for Master′s-level study in teacher education, the new edition offers a balanced contemporary overview of modern teaching practice in an engaging and accessible manner. This is essential reading for all students on primary and early years initial teacher education courses including undergraduate (BEd, BA with QTS), postgraduate (PGCE, SCITT), and employment-based routes into teaching. It will also be invaluable for those starting out on their professional careers. Anne Cockburn is Professor of Early Years Education at the University of East Anglia Graham Handscomb is Senior Manager in Strategic Development, for School Improvement and Early Years at Essex County Council
Assessment in the Primary Classroom by
Essential reading to support principled assessment decisions in the classroom Assessment has become an increasingly complex area for primary schools in recent years, with schools and academy trusts trying to create their own ways of assessing without levels. Trainee teachers find it hard to understand key principles in assessment when practice in each of their school experiences is so varied. This ′essentials′ text supports trainee and beginning teachers to understand the current context and consider essential principles for good practice in primary assessment. The book: - features explanations of key terminology - includes practical examples from classrooms and schools - supports teacher assessment literacy - explores the assessment system as a whole - covers formative and summative assessment, pupil progress, data and moderation.
The Reflective Early Years Practitioner by
Work-based reflective learning is a key part of the professional development of practitioners working in the early years sector. The Reflective Early Years Practitioner focuses on the practitioner's role and development within a wide range of contexts.Packed with case studies from different settings, and with points for reflection in each chapter, the author covers:Developing as an early years practitionerReflective vocational progressionPedagogical examples for Continuing Professional DevelopmentStudy skills to begin reflective practiceProfessionalism and reflective leadership in the early yearsVital aspects of practice, such as identifying and planning for children with Special Educational Needs, developing inclusive teaching strategies and safeguarding young children, are highlighted within the chapters. This is essential reading for students undertaking work-based and academic study in early years, and for those working towards graduate and professional qualifications. It provides readers with tools to practice work-based reflective learning on a daily basis, and going forward.
Primary Professional Studies by
The changing landscape of primary teaching requires trainees to consider learning and teaching in new ways. This new book supports trainee teachers working towards primary QTS in all aspects of primary professional studies. Exploring the curriculum, the developing child, the developing teacher and teaching skills, the text offers in-depth coverage of all aspects of teaching and learning alongside practical teaching suggestions. Chapters on inclusion, teacher identity and the wider school community consider key issues in teaching and learning today. This second edition is newly linked to the 2012 Teachers′ Standards and includes notes on the new National Curriculum. About the Transforming QTS Series This series reflects the new creative way schools are begining to teach, taking a fresh approach to supporting trainees as they work towards primary QTS. Titles provide fully up to date resources focused on teaching a more integrated and inclusive curriculum, and texts draw out meaningful and explicit cross curricular links.
Working with Children in the Early Years by
Working with Children in the Early Years is an accessible introduction to early years theories, policy and practice, offering practitioners in a diverse range of settings the opportunity to develop their knowledge, understanding and skills for working with young children. This fully updated second edition builds on new government agendas and interests in supporting quality provision for young children and their families. Bringing together current research and thinking in a broad range of areas, it covers: the diversity of practitioner roles and multi-agency working working with families listening to children observing and assessing developing professional roles health and well being curriculum and pedagogy the importance of play and learning in the early years All contributions are strongly practical and underpinned by relevant theory, and will support students and practitioners studying in the field of early years and early childhood studies as well as those aiming to achieve Early Years Professional Status. The book will also appeal to training providers, equipping them with a valuable and unique source to support a range of early years courses.
Beginning Teaching, Beginning Learning by
"This collection provides an excellent introduction to the practical skills which all student teachers have to develop but it also celebrates the unpredictability and excitement of working with interested, inquisitive children. [It] should inspire readers to see teaching, in universities as well as in classrooms, as the promotion of lively conversations between learners. " – Rod Parker-Rees, University of Plymouth "The second edition was invaluable and this is even better." – Yvonne Yule, University of Aberdeen The third edition of this highly successful text sets out to explore some of the wider issues to be investigated by beginning teachers - and those who support them - when working with early years and primary age children, while at the same time, exploring some of the delight and enjoyment in the teaching role. The book is organised into four parts - Early Beginnings; Beginning to Understand Children's Thinking and Learning; Organising for Teaching and Learning; Supporting and Enhancing Learning and Teaching - and reflects the current context of education and care by covering children from birth to 11-years. There are new chapters covering teaching assistants and interagency working, as well as children's independence and physical activity. Cameos and examples of practice in settings and classrooms help to illustrate the many different aspects of teaching. Comprehensively revised and updated throughout, this book is written in a lively style and offers guidance, encouragement and support for all those new to working in schools and other educational settings, and gives them the confidence to reflect upon, challenge and enhance their own learning and practices. Beginning Teaching Beginning Learningis essential reading for all students and newly qualified primary teachers.
A Broad and Balanced Curriculum in Primary Schools by
As pressures of standardised testing and the focus on English and maths impact on teaching time, how can teachers ensure that the curriculum truly is broad and balanced? How do we ensure that we are educating the whole child? This book provides both an exploration of the current challenges in the curriculum as well as practical guidance on how to tackle them. This book is needed to contextualise the current situation and to inform and inspire today′s teachers to teach across the curriculum.
Child Observation for the Early Years by
This is a key text for all those studying for degrees and foundation degrees in early childhood, early years and related disciplines and for candidates on EYPS pathways. It enables students to appreciate the central role of observation for understanding, planning for and educating early years children. The theoretical background to child observation is covered in detail, the text highlights important works and considers the ethical implications. This Second Edition includes new chapters on recording and analysing and the curriculum and is fully updated throughout with links to the updated Early Years Foundation Stage. Interactive activities and real life case studies are included to help the reader engage with the text and make essential links between theory and practice. Ioanna Palaiologou is a lecturer and researcher at the Centre for Educational Studies at the University of Hull and a Chartered Psychologist of the British Psychological Society with specialism on child development and learning theories. Ioanna is currently leading the Masters in Early Childhood Studies, supervises a number of PhD students and is the Academic coordinator for Research Students Support. About the Early Years Series This series has been designed to support degree and foundation degree students of early years, early childhood and realted disciplines. Each text takes a focused look at a specific topic and approaches it in an accessible and user-friendly way. Activities pose questions to prompt thought and discussion, and further reading suggestions, including useful websites, are provided to help students access extended learning in each topic. Other titles in the series are Child Development for Early Childhood Studies, Successful Placements in Early Years Settings and Childhood in Society for Early Childhood Studies.
Understanding and Teaching Primary History by
Primary history is one of the richest areas of teaching and learning, but in order to teach it well trainee teachers need a strong understanding of key historical concepts and the dynamics of the national curriculum. Combining a detailed focus on the core skills and principles underpinning good history teaching, this book helps students to: · appreciate the key concepts that underpin historical understanding · engage deeply with the programmes of study for Key Stage 1 and 2 · assess children's historical understanding · apply a cross-curricular approach to teaching This is essential reading for anyone studying primary history on initial teacher education courses including undergraduate (BEd, BA with QTS), postgraduate (PGCE, SCITT), school-based training (School Direct, Teach First), and qualified teachers who wish to enhance their professional knowledge.
Understanding Subject Knowledge for Primary Teaching by
How can trainee teachers begin their careers with a clear understanding of all the curriculum subjects? This book addresses the nature of subject knowledge in all foundation curriculum subjects. It deconstructs the elements of each subject through an exploration of the nature of the subject, a coverage of the ′skills′ a study of this subject develops and through detailed analysis of case studies from practice. At a time when concerns about the lack of breadth in the primary curriculum are being voiced, this book supports busy trainee teachers to truly understand and be ready to teach all curriculum areas.
Enriching Mathematics in the Primary Curriculum by
How do I enrich children′s learning of primary mathematics to bring the subject to life?This book inspires and supports you, the new and beginning teacher, to use talk-rich and open tasks that bring mathematics to life in your classroom. Tried and loved practical tasks that engage and motivate Supports you to create confident and resilient mathematicians in your classroom Explores ways to engage children in mathematics across the primary curriculum Focuses on understanding key mathematical concepts and the connections between them
Ways of Learning by
While most teachers are skilled in providing opportunities for the progression of children¿s learning, it is sometimes without fully understanding the theory behind it. With greater insight into what is currently known about the processes of learning and about individual learners, teachers are better equipped to provide experiences and situations that are more likely to lead to effective acquisition of knowledge, concepts and skills. Ways of Learning has been widely used and now, fully updated, it seeks to provide further insight into the ways in which learning takes place, which teachers can make use of in their planning and teaching, including: ¿ an overview of learning ¿ behaviourism and the beginning of theory ¿ cognitive and constructivist learning ¿ multiple intelligences and learning styles ¿ difficulties with learning ¿ the influence of neuropsychology ¿ other theories, philosophies and names ¿ relating theory to practice. The fourth edition of this book includes developments in areas covered in the preceding editions, as well as expanding on certain topics to bring about a wider perspective; most notably, a new consideration of learning styles and a new chapter detailing important thinkers and writers from the history of education and their continuing influence along with other theories, ideas and thoughts not included in the rest of the book. The book also reflects changes in government policy and is closely related to new developments in practice. Written for trainee teachers, serving teachers and others interested in learning for various reasons, Ways of Learning serves as a valuable introduction for students setting out on higher degree work who are in need of an introduction to the topic.
Planning an Appropriate Curriculum in the Early Years by
Now its third edition, Planning an Appropriate Curriculum in the Early Years offers a comprehensive guide for early years practitioners and students on how to plan and implement a suitable curriculum for the children in an Early Years setting. It examines the key roles and responsibilities of practitioners working in early years settings and those with responsibility for leading and managing provision for EYFS in primary schools. Fully and completely revised and updated in line with the review of the Early Years Foundation Stage and the latest research evidence, this book covers all aspects of the curriculum including: The areas of learning and development; Assessment procedures and record keeping; Leadership and management in the early years; The role played by parents and carers in children¿s learning and development; Planning for child initiated learning and adult-led activities. With case studies of good practice and questions for reflective practice and group work, this fully updated best seller will be welcomed by students and practitioners looking to provide high quality and effective learning experiences for the under fives.
Classroom Behaviour by
Lecturers, why waste time waiting for the post to arrive? Request and receive your e-inspection copy today! In this Third Edition of his bestselling book, Bill Rogers looks at the issues facing teachers working in today′s classrooms. Describing real situations and dilemmas, he offers advice on dealing with the challenges of the job, and how building up a rapport with both students and colleagues can support good practice. New to this edition are sections on: - dealing with bullying; - teaching students on the autistic spectrum in a mainstream classroom; - working with very challenging students. New features included in the text are: - a wider range of case studies, covering students aged 4 to 18; - questions for discussion; - a Glossary of key terms. Bill Rogers understands the demanding nature of the job, and offers wise words and inspirational encouragement to all those involved in educating our children and young people. Watch a video of Bill Rogers discuss the main challenges facing teachers in schools today; his new book ′Classroom Behaviour, Third Edition′ and what advice he would give to aspiring teachers.
The Role of the Adult in Early Years Settings by
"This book offers a unique and critical approach to the theme of adults working in early years settings through a focus on seven key dimensions encompassed in the term 'the plural practitioner'. The discussion is strongly underpinned by a consideration of the two important principles of child centredness and social justice. The authors also draw on multiple perspectives, including the role of neuroscience and socio cultural perspectives, to consider who these early years professional are and the complexity of what they bring to their work." Linda Miller, Professor Emeritus, Early Years, The Open University, UK This essential book focuses on the adult role within early years education and care. The book introduces the concept of the 'plural practitioner', which acknowledges that the role of the adult in early years settings is complex and entails many different responsibilities. The book argues that the 'plural practitioner' can create quality early years provision by implementing child-centred and socially just practices. The idea of the 'plural practitioner' is embedded in theory and research, providing a robust rationale and framework to help early years practitioners understand of a range of theories and relate them to their work with young children. The book includes: Discussion of the seven different dimensions of the adult role - to help practitioners reflect on the multiple and complex ways in which they work with young children including: The Critical Reflector, The Carer, The Communicator, The Facilitator, The Observer, The Assessor and The Creator Key questions at the end of each chapter to stimulate further reflection and reading Case study examples of real practitioner experiences The Role of the Adult in Early Years Settings will appeal to all students and practitioners either planning to or currently working in early years settings and aiming to develop their practice.
Mastery in Primary Science by
What does ′mastery′ look like in primary science? How can teachers plan for, assess and evidence it? This book explores how 'rich' learning tasks that enable children to apply, analyse, evaluate, and/or create to solve exciting and novel problems support the development of mastery level knowledge and skills in primary science. - Outlines how to recognise and use assessment opportunities - Focuses on the development of conceptual understanding - Highlights and demontrates the importance of teacher questioning - Explores the theories behind ′mastery′ for primary science
Supporting Pedagogy and Practice in Early Years Settings by 
The New Early Years Foundation Stage by 
Early Years Work-Based Learning by
This book supports students on foundation degrees and degrees in Early Years and Early Childhood Studies that have a work-based element. An essential introduction to becoming a professional in the sector, it begins by looking at work-based learning and goes on to cover study, research skills and essential subject knowledge. It includes activities to help students increase their confidence and get the most out of their course. Essential information on Early Years Professional Status (EYPS) considers the current scene and the future of the sector.
Understanding Transitions in the Early Years by 
Reflective Practice in the Early Years by 
Reflective Practice and Early Years Professionalism by
Reflective practice and early years professionalism provides you with detailed support for developing reflective practice in early years provision. Jennie Lindon explores the nature of reflective practice and shows you how to apply these skills for the benefit of children and families. The book covers key concepts about learning and ways to promote continued professional development in the workforce. Reflective practice offers practical advicefor individual professionals and also explores the dynamics of reflective practice within teams. This book is part of Jennie Lindon's series 'Linking Theory and Practice'. The established approach provides accessible descriptions of relevant theory and research, yet links this information closely to best practice with young children and families. The content and style of the series has beendeveloped to support students on Early Childhood degree programmes, Early Years Foundation Degree courses, practitioners working towards Early Years Professional Status and also experienced senior practitioners extending their professional development and that of their team.
A Practical Guide to the Early Years Foundation Stage by 
Themes and debates in early childhood by 
Play, Learning and the Early Childhood Curriculum by 
Understanding Schemas and Emotion in Early Childhood by
Understanding Schemas and Emotion in Early Childhood makes explicit connections between young children's spontaneous repeated actions and their representations of their emotional worlds. Drawing on the literature on schemas, attachment theory and family contexts, the author takes schema theory into the territory of the emotions, making it relevant to the social and emotional development strand in early childhood education. Based on research carried out alongside children, parents, workers and co-researchers at the world-famous Pen Green Nursery, and using case studies of a small number of individual children, the author shows new links between cognition and affect. The book includes a brief summary of a method of Child Study, using video and reflections on video sequences. This book will be of interest to students and practitioners on Early Childhood undergraduate and postgraduate courses, as well as those taking modules on schema theory.
Understanding Cultural Diversity in the Early Years by
Taking the discussion about cultural diversity beyond the usual topics of anti-racism and inclusion but without overlooking these issues, Understanding Cultural Diversity in the Early Years considers current debates around the alleged failure of multiculturalism, and encourages practitioners to utilize their own cultural backgrounds and experiences as a way of developing their teaching. With an optimistic outlook, and focusing on the advantages for learning that cultural diversity can offer, the book discusses the concepts of culture, multi-culturalism and inter-cultural competence, and describes the principles that underpin good practice. It is packed full of case studies from a variety of early years settings, with ideas to try out and interactive exercises to aid reflection. Issues covered in the book include: addressing cultural diversity in staff meetings, and on short training coursesplanning a critical audit of your settingworking with parents from a variety of cultural backgroundshow to explain diversity to young childrenthe overwhelmingly white British settingsettings where white British children are in the minoritycurriculum developments in different parts of the UK, post-devolutionWritten for all early childhood students and early years practitioners, it is relevant to anyone interested in inclusion, society and global citizenship.
Play and Learning in the Early Years by 
Observation, Assessment and Planning in the Early Years - Bringing It All Together by
Children develop and learn best when their environment is tailored to their individual needs, supported through careful observation, informed assessment and dynamic planning - a cycle which is the bedrock of good early years practice. Although the EYFS recommends that observation, assessment and planning should be linked in a constant, cyclical process, in practice this can be a significant challenge. This book presents an integrated framework which puts the cycle into practical terms, bringing it all together to ensure a seamless process and to support you in this vital part of your work. The focus is on the critical links within the cycle and combines theory with proven good practice, including: Making and recording observations effectively and efficiently How observations should inform next steps, assessment and planning Bringing all the information together into a cyclical process Exploring potential challenges Using reflective practice to refine and improve your techniques Rich in practical examples and case studies that illustrate how the cyclical framework works in practice, this is an excellent resource for early years practitioners and students looking to improve their observation, assessment and planning techniques. "Observation, Assessment and Planning in the Early Years - Bringing it All Together, actually does bring it all together. Kathy Brodie has linked theorists from the past to the present, skilfully connecting to the revised EYFS. Early Years students and practitioners will have the opportunity to reflect on the innovative ideas that she has suggested. Kathy has also included detailed information on observing SEN children. This modern update to observation, assessment and planning is a must read for the early years sector." Laura Henry, Managing Director, Childcare Consultancy "This is a very well researched and practical guide to observation, planning and assessment in the Early Years. Kathy has collected together both historical and current thinking and ideas around the subject and then presented them in a way that is easy for the reader to access, understand and, more importantly, apply. The structure and format of the book helps the reader to check their understanding of the key learning points and then supports them in working through any challenges that they may have along with answers to key questions. Observation, Planning and Assessment in the Early Years is an essential read for all Early Years Practitioners from those with experience to those just starting out." Alistair Bryce-Clegg, Early Years Consultant "This is a wonderful and timely resource to help practitioners make and use well informed judgements of young children's learning and achievement. The four threads of observation, assessment, next steps and planning are skilfully woven together. Plentiful exemplifications and case studies vividly illustrate theoretical points and give young children a central place in the book." Marion Dowling, Early Years Specialist and Vice President of Early Education
Essentials of Literacy from 0-7 by
Children flourish in their development and learning when practitioners and parents work together. Children's development and learning are further enhanced when interconnected knowledge and understanding work together. In this new edition the authors guide readers in understanding of child development. They highlight the need for those who work with young children to become reflective practitioners. Through a focus on the introduction of nursery rhymes, finger rhymes, action songs and poetry cards, the authors provide a gentle, child-friendly way to develop literacy 0-7. Thoroughly revised and updated, this book includes: Case studies and examples Discussion of the primary frameworkInclusion of schools as an educational settingAge-appropriate activitiesFurther reading suggestions at the end of each chapterThis book is useful for teachers, practitioners, teaching assistants and for anyone working with children from birth to seven years in nursery and primary schools, children's centers, foundation units, and at home.
Development and Learning for Very Young Children by 
Starting from the Child by
Starting from the Child supports early years practitioners to be advocates for young children and their learning needs. In the fourth edition of this highly influential and inspirational book, Julie Fisher outlines the important theories and research which should underpin best early years practice. She takes a robust and principled stand against downward pressure to formalise young children’s learning too soon, and offers practical and meaningful ways to develop high quality learning and teaching in the early years. Starting from the Child challenges all early years practitioners to consider: How to build on children’s innate desire to learn and their competence and autonomy as effective early learners How to plan environments indoors and out that make learning irresistible How to plan for high quality child-initiated learning to take place seamlessly alongside learning that is adult-initiated The role of the adult in supporting and extending young children’s learning How daily observation of children informs and underpins planning for their individual and unique learning needs Revised and updated throughout, this fourth edition includes the latest research on early brain development and reference to recent government initiatives including the revised Early Years Foundation Stage. Starting from the Child is essential reading, not only for early years practitioners, but for all those who manage and make decisions about early learning. “In the fourth edition of this book, Julie Fisher once again demonstrates a comprehensive understanding of the history of early childhood education, and the enduring principles that continue to underpin practice. She has skilfully blended these principles with contemporary research and theory in order to provide readers with deep understanding of young children as capable, competent and eager learners. Julie draws on her extensive work with practitioners to present the everyday realities and complexities of their practice, and to sound welcome notes of caution about the ways in which policy frameworks are used. She offers vignettes to illustrate key issues, provocations and challenges to stimulate thinking, and questions to engage readers with contemporary issues and dilemmas. The book also reflects deeply held convictions about the moral and ethical responsibilities we have to teach young children in ways that respect their extraordinary enthusiasm for learning. This book will be invaluable for students of early childhood education, especially those on professional development programmes such as Early Childhood Studies, Early Years Professional Status, and Post Graduate Certificate of Education.” Professor Elizabeth Wood, University of Sheffield, UK “The fourth edition of this classic text has been updated with recent research. This is very helpful in supporting readers but it’s the underpinning philosophy that makes this a continuing classic. The title says it all. Julie takes the reader by the hand and says ‘Look and listen, give these children your full and respectful attention and they will teach you how to be with them.’ All the practical ideas in the book support practitioners in using their skills and knowledge to recognise early childhood as valuable in its own right - to be relished and enjoyed, not to be rushed through or seen merely as preparation for the next stage. We owe it to our children to take heed.” Helen Moylett, Early Years Consultant and writer “Julie Fisher’s work has been a staple of Early Childhood Education since the first edition of Starting from the Child in 1996. Her fourth edition does not disappoint, and is a welcome development of her thinking. She delves in more detail, for example, into brain development, and leads her readers further into the latest scientific thinking on how children learn. She is, as ever, insightful about how adults work with children, with helpful advice about how to observe (and record) children’s learning, and how to plan effectively. Her inclusion of her own latest field work ensures that Julie’s advice on early years practice remains rooted in the everyday, while making accessible a range of theoretical and scientific perspectives. This is a book for students, teachers and other early years workers seeking to find their way through the conflicting needs of a rapidly changing area of work.” Nick Swarbrick, Programme Lead for the Undergraduate Modular Programme in the School of Education, Oxford Brookes University, UK
Treasure Baskets and Beyond by 
Assessment for Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage by 
The Early Years Foundation Stage in Practice by
"The changes detailed in the EYFS framework 2017 affect the most important aspect of child care: safeguarding and welfare. This revised guide helps you to understand and implement the mandatory requirements detailed in the government's Working Together to Safeguard Children 2015 and The Prevent Duty 2015. The book also provides guidance on how to implement the learning and development requirements of the EYFS by exploring the most valuable aspects of current and non-statutory guidance, including the Early Years Foundation Stage Profile: 2018 Handbook."--Back cover.
Effective Practice in the Early Years Foundation Stage by
In this compelling new book Vicky Hutchin provides an accessible and readable guide to effective practice in the revised EYFS which Explains the revised EYFS areas of learning and development Considers the three ''characteristics of effective learning'' and the implications for practitioners in their interactions with children and the provision they make for them Explores in detail the role of practitioners and parents in supporting children''s learning and development Examines the importance of partnership with parents in their children''s learning and development and how to develop this Details the observation, assessment and planning cycle with a particular focus on the statutory summative assessment, the ''Progress Check at Age Two'' This is the revised EYFS brought to life for early years practitioners, professionals and students. Threaded throughout the book are real case studies taken from a range of inspiring early years settings. These are backed up by interviews with practitioners as they reflect on and develop their practice to ensure the best support for young children''s development, learning and wellbeing. Each chapter makes reference to relevant research and includes ''top tips for effective practice''. "Effective Practice in the EYFS is a clear, comprehensive and accessible exposition of the new EYFS and its requirements for practitioners. Using case studies, examples from settings and observations of children, Vicky Hutchin brings breadth and depth to each aspect of the EYFS and ensures that practitioners have a principled understanding of the importance and relevance of each aspect of their work with young children. The Characteristics of Early Learning are given appropriate significance and can be seen to underpin all subsequent chapters. The Prime and Specific Areas of Learning are each highlighted with great clarity and every chapter concludes with ''Top Tips for Effective Practice'' which could be used to create a development plan by any setting wanting to reflect on current practice. This book would be valuable for all practitioners but particularly those new to the early years and wanting a clear reference guide to all that is important about teaching in this phase." Julie Fisher, Independent Early Years Advisor "This book will guide practitioners on their journey into the new requirements of the EYFS, and will build confidence. It is written with clarity, encourages common sense and draws on the good practice of real settings together with useful reference to research and literature. Just what is needed!" Professor Tina Bruce CBE, University of Roehampton, UK "As an Essential Guide to the revised EYFS Vicky Hutchin''s book covers everything a practitioner needs to know and think about. The emphasis on the Characteristics of Effective Learning ensures that the reader understands right from the outset that HOW children learn rather than WHAT they learn is a priority. There are clear explanations of the Characteristics which are underpinned by the theory of how children learn and develop, including important connections to the psychology of children''s early learning. Vicky has woven together the statutory requirements of the EYFS with examples of good early years practice and the voice of the child. The central strand of observation and interpreting how children are learning supports practitioners''understanding and gives them helpful directions to the work of Ferre Laevers, Julie Fisher and others. There is a strong reflective element running through the book with helpful case studies, questions to think about and useful summaries at the end of each chapter. Chapter 12 helpfully directs the reader to think about the EYFS as an evaluative tool to improve the quality of practice. These are the strengths of Vicky''s book along with the following A good explanation of school readiness Clear explanations of child initiated and adult- led thinking and learning Links to parental involvement throughout the book as well as a dedicated chapter Assessment which is child focussed and based in the context of observation and planning next steps. The messages are clear and respectful of children Unpicking each area of learning and making the linksbetween theory and practice as well as a frequent reminderof the holistic nature of children''s development and learning Top tips for effective practice and points for reflection" Di Chilvers, Advisory Consultant in Early Childhood
Supporting Early Mathematical Development by 
Mathematics in Early Years Education by
This third edition of the best-selling Mathematics in Nursery Educationprovides an accessible introduction to the teaching of mathematics in the early years. Covering all areas of mathematics learning - number and counting, calculation, pattern, shape, measures and data handling - it summarises the research findings and underlying key concepts and explains how adults can help children to learn through practical experiences, discussion and more direct intervention. This new edition has been fully updated to incorporate the latest research and thinking in this area and includes: why mathematics is important as a way of making sense of the world how attitudes to mathematics can influence teaching and learning how children learn mathematics new material on sorting, matching and handling data ideas for observation and questioning to assess children's understanding examples of planned activities suggestions for language development assessment criteria. This textbook is ideal for those training to be teachers through an undergraduate or PGCE route, those training for Early Years Professional Status and those studying early childhood on foundation or honours degrees as well as parents looking to explore how their young children learn mathematics. This will be an essential text for any Early Years practitioner looking to make mathematics interesting, exciting and engaging in their classroom.
The Excellence of Play by
Play as a successful learning and teaching experience remains key to early education. The new edition of this popular book continues to clearly illustrate key play theories in practice. It has been comprehensively revised to include the latest research and practice in the field. Key features include: Contributions from leading experts in the field who are passionate about the excellence of play Helpful features in every chapter including practical examples, boxed chapter summaries, cameos and end of chapter questions References and further reading The new edition includes: A new Foreword by Wendy Scott, President of TACTYC 10 new chapters that reflect the latest thinking in play and early years curriculum practice This book is essential reading for everyone working or training to work in the early years. Contributors Angela Anning, Pat Broadhead, Tina Bruce, Tricia David, Dan Davies, Bernadette Duffy, Aline Wendy Dunlop, Hilary Fabian, Jan Georgeson, Kathy Goouch, Rose Griffiths, Justine Howard, Alan Howe, Helen Jameson, Neil Kitson, Sara Knight, Janet Moyles, Theodora Papatheodorou, Rod Parker-Rees, Jane Payler, Linda Pound, Sacha Powell, Wendy Scott, David Whitebread, Marian Whitehead
Child Development for Early Childhood Studies by 
Developing Reflective Practice in the Early Years by 
Safeguarding Babies and Young Children by 
Good Practice in Nursery Management 3rd Edition by 
Early childhood studies : a multidisciplinary and holistic introduction 3rd ed. by 
