Welcome to your Diploma Project reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Research with Children by Christensen, P. (Editor); James, A. (Editor)The entirely revised third edition of Research with Children forms a unique resource book on the methodology of childhood research with a core emphasis on theory driven practices. As in the previous two editions, this edition presents particular standpoints in the field, whilst also reflecting the latest developments in the now well-established interdisciplinary field of childhood studies. A rich collection of contributions from leading researchers across a range of disciplinary backgrounds, research practices and theoretical perspectives discuss central questions of epistemology and methodology, demonstrating the links between theory and practice. This edition includes exciting new chapters on: Internet-based research and contemporary technology, Family based research, Children as researchers, Participatory research in the global context, New directions for childhood research. Both theoretical and practical questions are set out in a well-argued fashion that enables easier navigation through the various complexities of the epistemological and methodological questions arising in contemporary research practices with children. As such, this text will appeal to both the newcomer to childhood studies and to experienced researchers in the field. With fully updated chapters, new material and a revised, clearer structure, this new edition will be a valuable resource for researchers working with children.
Research Methods in Early Childhood by Mukherji, P.; Albon, D.The Third Edition of Research Methods in Early Childhood provides a clear and comprehensive guide to the different types of research methods, with a particular focus on how these methods can be used in early childhood. Known for its supportive writing style, this best-selling text follows a linear and progressive structure that logically helps students work effectively through their course. Using examples, case studies, and reflection points, the book then expertly illustrates how to translate theory into practice. Penny Mukherji and Deborah Albon will be discussing ideas from Research Methods in Early Childhood in the SAGE Early Years Masterclass, a free professional development experience hosted by Kathy Brodie. To sign up, or for more information, click here.
Research Methods in Education by Cohen, L.; Manion, L.; Morrison, K.This thoroughly updated and extended eighth edition of the long-running bestseller Research Methods in Education covers the whole range of methods employed by educational research at all stages. Its five main parts cover: the context of educational research; research design; methodologies for educational research; methods of data collection; and data analysis and reporting. It continues to be the go-to text for students, academics and researchers who are undertaking, understanding and using educational research, and has been translated into several languages. It offers plentiful and rich practical advice, underpinned by clear theoretical foundations, research evidence and up-to-date references, and it raises key issues and questions for researchers planning, conducting, reporting and evaluating research. This edition contains new chapters on: Mixed methods research The role of theory in educational research Ethics in Internet research Research questions and hypotheses Internet surveys Virtual worlds, social network software and netography in educational research Using secondary data in educational research Statistical significance, effect size and statistical power Beyond mixed methods: using Qualitative Comparative Analysis (QCA) to integrate cross-case and within-case analyses. Research Methods in Education is essential reading for both the professional researcher and anyone involved in educational and social research. The book is supported by a wealth of online materials, including PowerPoint slides, useful weblinks, practice data sets, downloadable tables and figures from the book, and a virtual, interactive, self-paced training programme in research methods. These resources can be found at: www.routledge.com/cw/cohen.
Call Number: 370.72 COH
Publication Date: 2017
Introduction to Research Methods in Education by Punch, K.F. ; Oancea, A.E.Based on Keith Punch's bestselling Introduction to Social Research Methods, this book introduces the research process in a range of educational contexts. In this updated second edition, you'll find guidance on every stage of research, with chapters on developing research questions, doing a literature review, collecting data, analysing your findings and writing it all up. With a new chapter on ethics and additional coverage of Internet research and mixing methods, the second edition contains everything you'll need if you're studying on a research methods course or doing a research project for yourself. Introduction to Research Methods in Education provides you with: Balanced coverage of the range of methods employed by educational researchers Practical advice on collecting and analysing qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods data A range of examples from student projects to show how research is done in real-life educational settings A companion website with additional resources for lecturers and students. Keith F Punch is Emeritus Professor in the Graduate School of Education at The University of Western Australia.Alis Oancea is Professor of Philosophy of Education and Research Policy, as well as Director of Research at the University of Oxford, Department of Education.
Understanding early childhood : issues and controversies by Penn, H.Understanding Early Childhood is a comprehensive textbook which offers broad and insightful perspectives across a range of themes on the ways in which we understand and study young children. Engaging and clear, it provides students with a user-friendly introduction to a number of difficult concepts and theories in early childhood education, drawing on research evidence from various countries and taking an interdisciplinary approach.
Revised and updated throughout, the third edition brings contemporary theories and debates bang up-to-date in a concise, accessible and yet reflective style. Unique features include:
A substantial and critically informed discussion of child development
An updated overview of theoretical approaches and research methodologies
Considerable revisions on neuroscience and genetic research in light of recent developments
Extended coverage of ethics
The challenges and problematic nature of interdisciplinary working
''Main Messages'' provide helpful summaries of key points
''What to Read Next'' signposts stimulating reading
Understanding Early Childhood is an indispensable resource for early childhood students from undergraduate to postgraduate level, and practitioners working with young children.
The following are general examples of possible information searches that may be useful for your project. For further assistance searching for information on your chosen topic, book an appointment with your Librarian.