Social Research Methods by
This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with unrivalled coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods, making it invaluable for anyone embarking on social research. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Social Research Methods, Fifth Edition, is packed full of engaging examples and practical tips to equip students with the tools and knowledge needed for them to complete their own research projects. In addition to providing practical advice, author Alan Bryman deftly explores the nature of social research and the wider issues impinging on it.
A Student's Guide to Methodology by 
Research Design, qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods 5th edn. by 
An Introduction to Systematic Reviews, 2nd edn by
Focused on actively using systematic review as method, An Introduction to Systematic Reviews provides clear, step-by-step advice on the logic and processes of systematic reviewing. Stressing the importance of precision and accuracy, this practical text carefully balances a need for insightful theory with real-world pragmatism. The second edition features a new chapter on statistical synthesis and introduces a wide range of cutting-edge approaches to research synthesis, including text mining, living reviews, and new ideas in mixed methods reviews, such as qualitative comparative analysis. Packed with examples from across the social sciences, this book helps students and researchers alike in turning systematic reviews into recommendations for policy and practice. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
The Essential Guide to Doing a Health and Social Care Literature Review by
This step-by-step guide takes the reader logically through the process of undertaking a literature review, from determining when this methodology might be useful, through to publishing the findings. It is designed particularly for students undertaking a dissertation using literature review methodology. However, it also caters to practitioners who wish to review the existing evidence in order to develop practice. Key features of the text include: a chapter on what makes a good literature review, so that readers are clear and confident about what they're aiming f∨ discussion of the value of literature reviews, whether for fulfilling the requirements of a course or for developing practice; a chapter structure that reflects the structure of a typical dissertation by literature review, making the material intuitive and easy to navigate; case examples throughout to illustrate how methodological principles work in practice; a troubleshooting guide to provide support and advice on common problems when carrying out a literature review; advice on the dissemination of findings. Written by an established author with significant experience teaching and supervising students doing literature reviews, this invaluable text offers systematic and insightful advice on all aspects of literature review methodology, from problem identification to synthesizing information to forming conclusions. It is ideal for any student or practitioner in health and social care looking to undertake a literature review for study or practice purposes.
Doing Your Literature Review by 
Developing Effective Research Proposals by 
Doing Your Early Years Research Project by
This bestselling guide to undertaking your Early Years research project takes the reader on a practical step-by-step journey. Breaking down each section into accessible and digestible topics, and accompanied by a multitude of practical examples, case studies, research summaries and key points, the author brings this process to life. The updated and revised fourth edition includes: Useful additional resources at the end of each chapter Extended material on the child's voice within research Signposted glossary terms throughout the text Updated website materials for further study From learning how to structure and organise your project, through to the final presentation and written report of your findings, this is the essential guide and companion for undergraduate and postgraduate students throughout their early childhood and social science courses. Guy Roberts-Holmes will be discussing key ideas from Doing Your Early Years Research Project: A Step-by-Step Guide in the SAGE Early Years Masterclass, a free professional development experience hosted by Kathy Brodie. To sign up, or for more information, click here.
Qualitative Research Practice by
'This book is jam-packed with a wide range of material related to qualitative research.... [T]his is a quality text and has much to offer the reader, especially the novice researcher' - Nurse Researcher `This comprehensive collection of almost 40 chapters - each written by a leading expert in the field - is the essential reference for anyone undertaking or studying qualitative research. It covers a diversity of methods and a variety of perspectives and is a very practical and informative guide for newcomers and experienced researchers alike' - John Scott, University of Essex `The best ways in which to understand the issues and processes informing qualitative research is to learn from the accounts of its leading practitioners. Here they come together in what is a distinctive and wide-ranging collection that will appeal to postgraduates and social researchers in general' - Tim May, University of Salford `This excellent guide engages in a dialogue with a wide range of expert qualitative researchers, each of whom considers their own practice in an illuminating and challenging way. Overall, the book constitutes an authoritative survey of current methods of qualitative research data collection and analysis' - Nigel Gilbert, University of Surrey This concise paperback edition of the best selling handbook, Qualitative Research Practice, is particularly aimed at the student reader. The chapters are written by leading, internationally distinguished qualitative researchers who recount and reflect on their own research experiences as well as others, past and present, from whom they have learned. It demonstrates the benefits of using particular methods from the viewpoint of real-life experience. This is also a good philosophy for students to adopt in planing research work: to begin from a practical conception of the research process and to treat a book like this as an opportunity to learn a valuable craft. From the outside, good research seems to be produced through practitioners learning and following standard theoretical, empirical and procedural formats. But from the inside we learn that qualitative research (like other forms of scientific endeavour) is also a biographical engagement, rendering its scholarly and practical contributions in its own terms. Standards take on practical meaning as the distinct activities of qualitative research resonate throughout the enterprise, complicating its accountability to itself and to others. In an authoritative yet accessible manner, Qualitative Research Practice reveals the special features of this engagement, teaching us that qualitative research is as much a craft and practice as it is a way of knowing. Presenting a comprehensive examination of contemporary and traditional varieties of qualitative research practice, Qualitative Research Practice will be an invaluable resource for advanced students and researchers in any discipline. It is an essential and definitive guide to the major forms of qualitative methods in use today, written by leaders in the relevant fields of research practice.
Visual Research Methods by
Visual Research Methods: Image, Society, and Representation addresses the growing question in social research of how to critically incorporate visual data and visual methodologies in ways that expand and enhance the researcher's repertoire for understanding and teaching about the social world. Editor Gregory C. Stanczak crisscrosses disciplines in ways that highlight the multiple manifestations of this newer interdisciplinary trend. Beyond methodological interests, the rich diversity of subject matter provides this volume's pedagogical punch. Key Features Provides a valuable framework for classroom use and comparative analysis: Organized around three themes in visual research-methodology, epistemological reflection, and theoretical contribution of images Addresses a wide range of topics: Original and reprinted works by leading qualitative researchers from various fields, including Sociology, Education, Political Science, Religion, History, and Gender Studies Offers a roadmap to common issues and topics: Reader's guide connects different chapters to different conceptual themes and methodological approachesPresents vivid visual data: Methodologies go beyond photography alone and include video and virtual research Intended Audience: This is an excellent text for advanced undergraduate and graduate courses in social research across disciplines such as Sociology, Education, Cultural Studies, Anthropology, American Studies, Communications, Gender Studies, and Political Science.Vi
The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research by
Education has continued to grow in stature and significance as an academic discipline. In addition to world renowned research studies the growth of education has been seen in the methodology and methods underpinning its research. The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research provides a cutting edge account of the research and methodology that is creating new understandings for education research, policy and practice. Over two volumes, the handbook addresses educational research in six essential components: Section 1: Understanding Research Section 2: Planning Research Section 3: Approaches to Research Section 4: Acquiring Data Section 5: Analysing Data Section 6: Reporting, Disseminating and Evaluating Research Featuring contributions from more than 50 of the biggest names in the international field, The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research represents a very significant contribution to the development of education.
Your Dissertation in Education by
Are you struggling with your dissertation? Have you started too late and now you′re panicking? Help is here! Your Dissertation in Education is a straight-forward, plain English guide to doing and writing your project. It will take you from start to finish, with practical and friendly advice on every page. This second edition includes: - A new Foundations section with the concepts and tools you need to get started - An expanded guide to methodology and writing about methods - A new chapter on mixed methods An essential companion on your dissertation journey, this book is ideal for students across education, including teacher training, early childhood and education studies. The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips and resources for study success!
Doing Your Social Science Dissertation by 
Successful Dissertations by
Whether looking for guidance on the whole process, needing help with conducting a literature review or interpreting your quantitative and qualitative data, this accessible and empowering guide will take you through the dissertation process and provide all the information you need to make the most of your research project.This edition includes:- new discussions on critical analysis and the use of internet and social media research data- an expanded chapter on quantitative method and a new section on mixed methods research- case studies from a broader range of education and early childhood settings, both formal and informal- an extended range of types of data analysis discussed- updated references and recommended reading suggestions throughout, reflecting changes in legislation- a glossary of key terms- new end-of-chapter reflective tasks- a new companion website providing all checklists and templates in the book as downloadable resources as well as new mind mapping templates, a supervisor record form, sample ethics form, sample letters to research settings, a pre-submission final checklist, research proposal examples and guidance on setting out tables, figures, appendices and managing your endnotes and reference listSuccessful Dissertations is the essential guide for all undergraduate researchers starting a dissertation project in an Education department.
Doing a Literature Review by
The ultimate guide to the "what," "how," and "why" of literature reviewing, the Second Edition of the classic text shows how the literature review will unlock the full potential of one's research with: A thorough exploration of the literature review process from start to finish Two brand new chapters explaining the different types of review and evidence and evaluation Extended examples that show you how to apply key techniques and procedures A new "core skills" framework to help you turn your research experience into employability A critical thinking focus that will help you construct convincing arguments and improve your research decisions In combining a critical, philosophical approach with an expertly selected body of practical examples, the Second Edition of Chris Hart's landmark text provides both the intellectual understanding and the technical skills required to produce sophisticated, robust literature reviews of the very highest standard. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Reading Critically at University by
Have you ever been asked to critique an article, book, or past project and wondered what exactly was meant by `critique′? This book provides 13 different ways of undertaking a critique. It will help you to confidently use these critique methods to develop your own methods. Each chapter contains sample passages, example critiques and explanations of underlying theory to help you to consolidate your understanding and skills. Reading Critically at University will support undergraduate and postgraduate students across the social sciences, as they master different critique methods. It will also be an excellent resource for all undergraduate study skills modules. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
How to Read Journal Articles in the Social Sciences by
Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy hereThis superb guide teaches you how to read critically. Its no-nonsense, practical approach uses a specially developed reading code to help you read articles for your research project; this simple code enables you to decipher journal articles structurally, mechanically and grammatically. Refreshingly free of jargon and written with you in mind, it's packed full of interdisciplinary advice that helps you to decode and critique academic writing. The author's fuss free approach will improve your performance, boost your confidence and help you to: Read and better understand content Take relevant effective notes Manage large amounts of information in an easily identifiable and retrievable format Write persuasively using formal academic language and style. New to this edition: Additional examples across a range of subjects, including education, health and sociology as well as criminology Refined terminology for students in the UK, as well as around the world More examples dealing specifically with journal articles. Clear, focused and practical this handy guide is a great resource for helping you sharpen your use of journal articles and improve your academic writing skills. 'I have used the book over the last five years with my students with great success. The book has helped students to develop their critical thinking, reading and writing skills and when it comes to writing a dissertation they have used the code sheet in their own writing.' - Pete Allison, Head of the Graduate School of Education, University of Edinburgh The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips and resources for study success!
Doing Qualitative Research by
Need practical advice on how to do your first qualitative research project? This book will guide you through each step of the research process: from brainstorming ideas and working with your supervisor to navigating the field to writing up your results. Driven by examples from other students' projects, the book features discussions on translating social problems into research topics, collecting data in the wake of a pandemic, and guidance from Qualitative Data Analysis Software expert Christian Schmieder to help you summarise, categorise, and review qualitative data. A new chapter on how much data you need answers the age-old question: 'how many interviews or case studies are enough?' It also includes: - Articles and websites to build your bibliography - Questions to test your knowledge - Videos from world-leading qualitative experts - Activities to dig deeper into key concepts and think critically about research - Lessons-learned discussions with other researchers - Exercises to help you choose the right path for your project. Key features: in addition to the online Silverman Workshops, the book includes top tips, end-of-chapter checklists to test your understanding, and annotated further reading so you can develop your knowledge further.
Doing Your Undergraduate Social Science Dissertation by
Are you a final year social science student who has to do a dissertation or final year project? Do you have no idea where to start? If so, Doing Your Undergraduate Social Science Dissertationis the book for you, covering the whole dissertation journey from project planning to submission. Using a mixture of useful information, exercises, practical strategies, case study material and further reading, it helps you through the process, giving hints and tips on beginning and managing your research project and working with your supervisors. Packed with proven practical advice, it also identifies many other sources of information and resources, making it your most dependable starting point and guide on your dissertation journey. Also included are links to accompanying materials on the Routledge website. The authors have extensive experience in teaching at all levels in the social sciences, supervising social science undergraduates and dissertations.
How to Do Your Research Project by
How to Do Your Research Projectcontinues to lead the way as an essential guide for anyone undertaking a research project in the applied social sciences. The newThird Editionof this best-selling title now includes further advice on concluding, writing, and presenting research, using social media and digital methods, and understanding how to effectively work with supervisors. Setting out a clear and detailed road map, author Gary Thomas guides the reader through the different stages of a research project, explaining key steps, and processes at each level in refreshingly jargon-free terms.Readers will learn: How to choose your research question Project management and study skills Effective literature reviews Methodology, theory, and research design frames Ethics and access Data collection tools Effective data analysis Discussing findings, concluding, and writing up
Success with Your Early Years Research Project by
'Action research and Early Years practices go together, as naturally as the new day rising. This book is a celebration of new days. Early Years research is a practice for creative thinking for new tomorrows; the book shows us how to do this, and is to be commended for anyone who wishes to find innovative ways to think and act for all new beginnings.' -Jean McNiff, Professor of Educational Research, York St John University Where do you start with a research project? How do you choose a good question? What are tutors looking for in an outstanding project? This book will help you answer all of the above and that is just the beginning. With examples of real research projects from students just like you, it takes you through each step of the process including: Choosing your question and approach Making sure your research is ethical Gathering and analysing data Reaching conclusions Putting your findings into practice. After each example the authors provide commentary on what made each project so good, or what needed more work, helping you see what a good project really looks like. Suitable for anyone tackling a research project as part of the Early Years course, at foundation or degree level, this book will help you make sure your project is interesting, relevant and impacts on your practice.
Your Research Project by
In the third edition of this bestselling book, you'll find everything you need to embark upon your research project and write your proposal with confidence. Written with the needs of undergraduate and postgraduate students as well as practitioners in mind, Your Research Project will guide you through the process of formulating a research question, choosing your research methods, planning your research, and writing your proposal. Fully updated and revised, the new edition features: o A comprehensive introduction to the purpose and nature of research o Expanded coverage of writing a research plan or proposal o An overview of qualitative and quantitative methods of data collection and analysis, as well as more on mixed methods research designs o New sections on digital media and online research methods o Exercises and examples to provide students from across the social sciences with the practical tools needed to succeed in their project. Nicholas Walliman is Senior Lecturer in the School of the Built Environment at Oxford Brookes University.
How to Write Dissertations and Project Reports by 
Reflexive Methodology 3rd edn. by
Praise for the Second Edition: "In opposition to most literature on how to conduct good social science research which is either empirically oriented or gives priority to theoretical and philosophical considerations, which tends to make empirical research look odd or irrelevant, this volume on ′Reflexive Methodology′ explicitly turns towards a consideration of the perceptual, cognitive, theoretical, linguistic, political and cultural circumstances as backdrop of data interpretation and research design. It showed up to be the most important and informative resource and a source of enlightenment to my lecture on methodology at our institute. I can highly recommend the volume to lecturers and students alike." Professor Sabine Troeger, Geography Institute - Library, University of Bonn Reflexivity is an essential part of the research process. Mats Alvesson and Kaj Sk#65533;ldberg make explicit the links between techniques used in empirical research and different research traditions, giving a theoretically informed approach to qualitative research. The authors provide balanced reviews and critiques of the major schools of grounded theory, ethnography, hermeneutics, critical theory, postmodernism and poststructuralism, discourse analysis, genealogy and feminism. Useful reading for students and researchers across the social sciences. The first edition established itself as a ground-breaking success, providing researchers with an invaluable guide to a central problem in research methodology - namely, how to put field research and interpretations in perspective, paying attention to the interpretive, political and rhetorical nature of empirical research. The second edition introduced a new chapter on positivism, social constructionism and critical realism, and offered new conclusions on the applications of methodology. This third edition of Reflexive Methodology provides further updates on new research, including neorealism, and illustrations and applications of reflexive methodology in formulating research strategies, that build on the acclaimed and successful previous editions
Doing a Literature Review in Health and.Social Care.4th edn. by
This bestselling book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in health and social care. It is vital reading for all those undertaking their undergraduate or postgraduate dissertation or any research module which involves a literature review. The book provides a practical guide to doing a literature review from start to finish. This third edition includes: Even more examples of real life research scenarios More emphasis on how to ask the right question New and updated advice on following a clear search strategy Expanded guide to using a range of critical appraisal tools More coverage of how to write up your results Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care, 3rd Edition is essential reading for students at all levels within the health and social care field and a useful text for anyone new to reviewing and appraising evidence. Amazon reviews for the 2nd edition: "This really helped me complete my dissertation. Well set out, easy to understand and for literature review beginners a very good place to start." "This book has really helped me understand what a literature review is, and gives great insight into what is expected from your literature review." "Buy this book: it's a God send!" Over 25,000 copies sold "This deceptively small book provides a comprehensive, user-friendly, step-by-step guide to the development of a literature review. Key strengths are the clarity of expression and the logical flow of information. Chapters match the stages of a literature review, from start to finish. Useful examples and key questions will help to keep the reader on track. With this book as your guide, developing a literature review need not be a daunting or overwhelming task." Dr Merryl E Harvey, Senior Academic, Faculty of Health, Birmingham City University, UK
Research Methods in Education by
This thoroughly updated and extended eighth edition of the long-running bestseller Research Methods in Education covers the whole range of methods employed by educational research at all stages. Its five main parts cover: the context of educational research; research design; methodologies for educational research; methods of data collection; and data analysis and reporting. It continues to be the go-to text for students, academics and researchers who are undertaking, understanding and using educational research, and has been translated into several languages. It offers plentiful and rich practical advice, underpinned by clear theoretical foundations, research evidence and up-to-date references, and it raises key issues and questions for researchers planning, conducting, reporting and evaluating research. This edition contains new chapters on: Mixed methods research The role of theory in educational research Ethics in Internet research Research questions and hypotheses Internet surveys Virtual worlds, social network software and netography in educational research Using secondary data in educational research Statistical significance, effect size and statistical power Beyond mixed methods: using Qualitative Comparative Analysis (QCA) to integrate cross-case and within-case analyses. Research Methods in Education is essential reading for both the professional researcher and anyone involved in educational and social research. The book is supported by a wealth of online materials, including PowerPoint slides, useful weblinks, practice data sets, downloadable tables and figures from the book, and a virtual, interactive, self-paced training programme in research methods. These resources can be found at: www.routledge.com/cw/cohen.
Qualitative inquiry & research design by
Winner of the 2018 Textbook & Academic Authors Association's The McGuffey Longevity Award In the revised Fourth Edition of the best-selling text, John W. Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N. Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of five qualitative inquiry approaches: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. Preserving Creswell's signature writing style, the authors compare the approaches and relate research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry in a highly accessible manner. Featuring new content, articles, pedagogy, references, and expanded coverage of ethics throughout, the Fourth Edition is an ideal introduction to the theories, strategies, and practices of qualitative inquiry. Learn more about John W. Creswell's qualitative research and mixed methods research titles as well as his 2017 spring/summer mixed methods research workshops! Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics by
Hear about student feedback on the character features that make this book special...With an exciting new look, new characters to meet, and its unique combination of humour and step-by-step instruction, this award-winning book is the statistics lifesaver for everyone. From initial theory through to regression, factor analysis and multilevel modelling, Andy Field animates statistics and SPSS software with his famously bizarre examples and activities. What's brand new: A radical new design with original illustrations and even more colour A maths diagnostic tool to help students establish what areas they need to revise and improve on. A revamped online resource that uses video, case studies, datasets, testbanks and more to help students negotiate project work, master data management techniques, and apply key writing and employability skills New sections on replication, open science and Bayesian thinking Now fully up to date with latest versions of IBM SPSS Statistics©. All the online resources above (video, case studies, datasets, testbanks) can be easily integrated into your institution′s virtual learning environment or learning management system. This allows you to customize and curate content for use in module preparation, delivery and assessment. For instructions on how to upload the resources you want, please visit the Instructors′ page or alternatively, contact your local SAGE sales representative.Please note that ISBN: 9781526445780 comprises the paperback edition of the Fifth Edition and the student version of IBM SPSS Statistics. More information on this version of the software′s features can be found here.
Introducing Research Methodology by
Lecturers/instructors - request a free digital inspection copy here In the Second Edition of this textbook designed for new researchers, Uwe Flick takes readers through the process of producing a research project. The book gives readers the fundamental data collection and analysis skills that they need for their first project, as well as a good understanding of the research process as a whole. It covers both quantitative and qualitative methods, and contains plenty of real-life examples from the author's own research. The book will help readers to answer questions such as: why do social research in the first place? how do I develop a researchable question? what is a literature review and how do I conduct one? how could I collect and analyze data? what if I want to do my research online? Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Research Methodology by
Designed with students, for students and now shortlisted for the British Book Design and Production Awards 2019! Eight steps, two pathways, one book. The Fifth Edition of the bestseller Research Methodology has reimagined, redesigned, and fully renovated how a textbook can help students achieve success in their methods course or research project. Eight steps: Foolproof for any beginner researcher, the book breaks the process of designing and doing a research project into achievable stages. It delivers students from research problem to their written research report at the pace they need, with clear explanations, DIY tasks and study skills support. In a new landscape format it presents figures, models and visualizations elegantly, so they don′t break over a page, making even complex concepts easier to understand. Two pathways: With an innovative, beautiful design, regular progress checkpoints have been built into the book and its online resources. As students proceed through the 8 steps, each chapter provides regular opportunities for students to check understanding or give themselves a challenge. Each pathway then gives them the resources they need. Confused? Stop, practise with quizzes and flashcards, or use a video to look at a concept a different way. Up for a challenge? Access a wealth of additional material including research articles, readings, case studies, activities, bibliography tools and inspiration to pursue your curiosity, impress your lecturer, and nail your assignments. With this one book, every student gets what they need to succeed. It is the perfect essential text for students and beginner researchers across the social sciences.
Focus Group Methodology by
Focus Group Methodology is an introductory text which leads readers through the entire process of designing a focus group study, from conducting interviews to analysing data and presenting the findings. It also includes discussions on cross-cultural and virtual focus group. Liamputtong presents clear, practical advice in simple terms which will be appropriate for undergraduate and postgraduate students who are undertaking research, making this an ideal starter text for anyone new to focus group research. Like her previous book, Researching the Vulnerable, Liamputtong's latest work pays close attention to research ethics and will also be of great interest to researchers who are working with different social groups - such as women, men, older people, children and ethnic groups - and anybody who is engaging in cross-cultural research. Illustrated with case studies and examples throughout, this is a perfect introduction to focus group methods for students and new researchers alike.
Research Methods in Early Childhood by 
Research methods for health and social care by 
The Student's Guide to Research Ethics by
Why should every researcher consider the ethical implications of their work? What constitutes ethical research? How can best practice be maintained throughout a research project? This reader-friendly book examines the ethical issues and questions that occur in university and professional research and will help both beginning and experienced researchers to identify ethical issues when they are conducting research. The book thoroughly examines the broader ethical issues that arise throughout research, from the design stage through to data collection and analysis. It also investigates topical issues such as content, confidentiality and ethical questions in the dissemination of research. There are also discussions of ethical theories as well as case studies that highlight dilemmas and how they can be avoided or resolved. This new edition is thoroughly updated to reflect the greater emphasis researchers must now place on ethics and includes information on: Ethical concerns of the internet and technology Regulatory frameworks and research governance Ethical requirements of funding bodies The involvement of research participants in research design Codes of ethics within different disciplines 'Ethical Dialogue' and 'Ethical Dilemmas' boxes feature throughout the book in order to highlight key issues. There are also further reading sections at the end of each chapter as well as expanded coverage of plagiarism. The Student's Guide to Research Ethics is an invaluable tool for both undergraduate and postgraduate students as well as professionals who research as part of their jobs.
Real World Research by
Real World Research provides a clear route-map of the various steps needed to carry out a piece of applied research to a high professional standard. It is accessible to those without a social science background while providing rigorous and fully up-to-date coverage of contemporary issues and debates. It brings together materials and approaches from different social science disciplines, seeing value in both quantitative and qualitative approaches, as well as their combination in mixed-method designs.
The Limitations of Social Research by
'Does the evidence reflect the reality under investigation?' This is just one of the important questions Marten Shipman asks in the fourth edition of his highly successful book, The Limitations of Social Research. Substantially revised and up-dated it probes not only the technical stages of research, but also its assumptions, procedures and dissemination.
Interpreting Qualitative Data by
In this fifth edition of his field-defining text, David Silverman, a true guru of qualitative research, walks the reader through the basics of gathering and analyzing qualitative data. The book offers beginners unrivalled hands-on guidance to help them get the best out of a research methods course or research project. New to the fifth edition: A streamlined structure to aid navigation and guide readers smoothly through the research process. A new chapter on generalizing from case-study research which addresses the perennial issue of 'how many cases do you need?' New material on doing qualitative research online and the ethics of internet research. Additional sections covering organizational documents and documents of everyday life, including blogs and diaries. Many more recent case study examples drawn from a broad range of disciplines including business, education, social work and geography as well as health studies. A new and improved companion website, full of additional resources for students and lecturers. This is the perfect companion for all those new to qualitative research. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Qualitative psychology : a practical guide to research methods by
Undertaking qualitative research in psychology can seem like a daunting and complex process, especially when it comes to selecting the most appropriate approach for your project or assignment. This book, written and edited by a world-leading group of academics and researchers, offers an accessible, critical and practical way into qualitative research in psychology. Each chapter provides a detailed, step-by-step guide to using a qualitative research method - from Conversation Analysis or Focus Groups to Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis or Narrative Psychology. Whatever approach you choose to take, this book will ensure you get it right from the start. New to this Third Edition: A chapter on Thematic Analysis A section on how to choose and select the most appropriate method for your project
Student Research and Report Writing by
This is an invaluable, concise, all-in-one guide for carrying out student research and writing a paper, adaptable to course use and suitable for use by students independently, it successfully guides students along every step of the way. Allows students to better manage their research projects Exercises and worksheets break down the research process into small steps and walk students through each stage of the research project Offers real-world and lively examples that are attractive and relevant to students Based on twenty years of experience in teaching research techniques to students in a way that avoids the methodology "overkill" from encyclopaedic and intimidating textbooks Accompanying website includes powerpoint lecture slides for instructors and helpful links to video resources for student. Visit www.wiley.com\go\wang\researchreportwriting
Doing Classroom Research by
Are you worried about doing your classroom-based research project? Do you feel daunted at the prospect of carrying out a literature review? Does the thought of collecting and analyzing data make you panic? If you answer 'yes' to any of these questions, then this is the book for you! Written in an informal style, this is the essential, practical and accessible step-by-step guide for all teacher-training students, who in addition to facing the enormous challenge of training to become a teacher, also have to conduct their own classroom-based research. It contains three sections that mirror the process of doing classroom research. From getting started and choosing appropriate research strategies, to making your findings public, the book covers the whole range of issues to help you succeed with what can seem like a daunting task. Each of the chapters offers gentle guidance and support at every stage of the research process. Topics covered include: The purpose of school-based research Guidance on how to carry out a literature review Research ethics The impacts of research on children's and students' learning Methods of data collection and analysis Ways of sharing research with a wider audience Opportunities for continued professional development Doing Classroom Research is a must for every teacher-training student.
Doing Action Research in Early Childhood Studies by
"This is a very useful and practical resource that will help the reader create the structured approach essential to any successful action research project." Early Years Update Are you worried about doing your early years action research project? Does the thought of choosing the right research question feel daunting? Are you concerned about the challenges you might face? If you answer 'yes' to any of these questions, then this is the book for you! Written in a lively and accessible style, this is the essential step-by-step guide to conducting your own action research project. The book introduces and evaluates different approaches to action research and explores how they can be applied in early childhood settings to create positive change and to improve practice. Using varied illustrations and case studies of contemporary projects in diverse early childhood contexts, the book addresses specific issues and challenges that you might face when conducting action research in such settings. Each chapter offers gentle guidance and support at a specific stage of the research process, from choosing your initial topic to formulating your research question, through to sharing the lessons of your project. The book's key features include: 16 'Steps' that walk you through the process of conducting your action research project References to real life research projects to illustrate key ideas, themes, practices and debates Advice on creating an action research journal, with sample extracts 'Thinking Boxes' in each chapter to encourage you to review and reflect on the chapter's contents as you plan your research project Checklists in each chapter of key concepts, processes and themes, together with further resources The authors explore some difficult issues associated with action research, including ethics, rigour, validity, critical reflection, and social and professional change. They show that there is more than one 'right' way to perform an action research project and advise you how to choose an approach that is appropriate for your particular interests and circumstances. Doing Action Research in Early Childhood Studies is an essential resource for students and practitioners of early childhood studies.
Action Research: a Guide for the Teacher Researcher by
"Action Research"provides support for teachers, lecturers and trainees going through the action research process. It is written in a clear and accessible style and is suitable for those studying for academic qualifications or researching for professional development, offering practical and academically sound guidance."
School-based research : a guide for education students by
Focused on the needs of the new classroom researcher, and those studying education on Masters-level courses, this is a thorough and thoughtful guide to the research process, covering qualitative, quantitative and mixed research methods. It guides you through research design, data collection and analysis and how to write up your research findings. This third edition has been updated to provide further coverage on the best ways to approach, construct and carry out educational research within the classroom including: a new chapter on disseminating research knowledge expanded coverage of formulating research questions a reworked chapter structure better reflecting the research process This is essential reading for students on education degree programmes including a research methods component, including education studies, undergraduate (BEd, BA with QTS) and postgraduate (PGCE, School Direct, Teach First, SCITT) initial teacher education courses, MEd and professional development courses. Online resources expanding on and complementing the contents of the book can be found at: study.sagepub.com/wilsonsbr3e
