Young Children's Play and Creativity by
This book draws on the voices of practitioners, academics and researchers to examine young children¿s play, creativity and the participatory nature of their learning. Bringing together a wide range of perspectives from the UK and internationally, it focuses on the level of engagement and exploration involved in children¿s play and how it can be facilitated in different contexts and cultures. This new reader aims to challenge thinking, promote reflection and stimulate further discussion by bringing together research and practice on play and creativity. Divided into two parts, Part I is written by researchers and academics and explores key themes such as creative meaning making, listening to children¿s voices, risk and spaces, children¿s rights, play and technology. Part II is authored by Early Childhood professionals and reveals how practitioners have responded to the issues surrounding play and creativity. Each chapter is contextualised by an introduction to highlight the key points and a list of follow-up questions is also included to encourage reflection and debate. Drawing on the wide-ranging writing of academics, practitioners and researchers, this book is an invaluable resource for students, practitioners and all those who are interested in the essence of play and creativity, what it means for children, and the far-reaching benefits for their well-being, learning and development.
Young Children Playing and Learning in a Digital Age by
Young Children Playing and Learning in a Digital Age explores the emergence of the digital age and young children¿s experiences with digital technologies at home and in educational environments. Drawing on theory and research-based evidence, this book makes an important contribution to understanding the contemporary experiences of young children in the digital age. It argues that a cultural and critically informed perspective allows educators, policy-makers and parents to make sense of children¿s digital experiences as they play and learn, enabling informed decision-making about future early years curriculum and practices at home and in early learning and care settings. An essential read for researchers, students, policy-makers and professionals working with children today, this book draws attention to the evolution of digital developments and the relationship between contemporary technologies, play and learning in the early years.
.
SAGE Handbook of Play and Learning in Early Childhood by
Play and learning scholarship has developed considerably over the last decade, as has the recognition of its importance to children's learning and development. Containing chapters from highly respected researchers, whose work has been critical to building knowledge and expertise in the field, this handbook focuses on examining historical, current and future research issues in play and learning scholarship. Organized into three sections which consider: * Theoretical and philosophical perspectives on play and learning * Play in pedagogy, curriculum and assessment * Play contexts The Handbook's breadth, clarity and rigour will make it essential reading for researchers and postgraduate students, as well as professionals with interest in this dynamic and changing field.
Children's Play and Its Place in Education by
Published long before the importance of early childhood education was formally recognised in the educational landscape this book explores the significance of play for young children. The volume includes an appendix on Montessori education.
Creativity in Primary Education by
"An alien spaceship crash landed in my playground today" For one primary school in England, this was not an ordinary day. It was a fabulous day of inspiration, writing, drawing, discovering and learning for the pupils, the staff and the parents. But the best thing of all? The only truly out of the ordinary thing was the alien spaceship. So how do you make creativity a moreeverydaypart of primary teaching? Teachers and trainees agree that creativity is a fabulous thing. But to get creative approaches into everyday teaching, you need to tackle the question - what is creativity? This book explores this question in an accessible and practical way. It helps trainees to do more than 'know it when they see it', by helping them to understand the separate and very diverse elements of creativity. The third edition of this popular text retains key material, but it has been updated and revised to include two new chapters on the creative curriculum, along with links throughout to the Standards and the new National Curriculum. This book will help you enhance your teaching so you and the children in your class can be: fellow explorers, adventurous discoverers and spontaneous investigators!
Childhood, Culture and Society by
To download an e-inspection copy click here or for more information contact your local sales representative. ′Written with clarity and thoroughly argued, Wyness confirms his place as one of the key authors within contemporary social science writing on children and childhood. A formidable exploration of the nature of contemporary childhood in globally disparate regions.′ - Pia Christensen, Professor of Anthropology and Childhood Studies, University of Leeds, UKA multifaceted and extensive analysis of the study of children and childhood. Linking key concepts, themes and problems together, the text offers an interdisciplinary approach with its topical and timely case studies and illustrations which illuminate the latest research in the field. Key features include: A number of international case studies including children and military conflict, child migrants, children and networking sites, child trafficking, and children as consumers Questions which help you to make connections between topics and get you reflecting on your own childhood Engaging learning features including chapter aims, boxed sections, summaries and further reading suggestions
Can I Go and Play Now? by
In this book, Greg Bottrill explores how he ensures that, in his Early Years setting, continuous provision enables children. He shares his Early Years pedagogy through the '3Ms' and explains how to apply these in the classroom. Greg also explores the definition of play - what it is and what it isn't - and the challenging role of the Early Years teacher.
Handbook of the Study of Play by
The Handbook of the Study of Play brings together in two volumes thinkers whose diverse interests at the leading edge of scholarship and practice define the current field. Because play is an activity that humans have shared across time, place, and culture and in their personal developmental timelines--and because this behavior stretches deep into the evolutionary past--no single discipline can lay claim to exclusive rights to study the subject. Thus this handbook features the thinking of evolutionary psychologists; ethologists and biologists; neuroscientists; developmental psychologists; psychotherapists and play therapists; historians; sociologists and anthropologists; cultural psychologists; philosophers; theorists of music, performance, and dance; specialists in learning and language acquisition; and playground designers. Together, but out of their varied understandings, the incisive contributions to The Handbook take on vital questions of educational policy, of literacy, of fitness, of the role of play in brain development, of spontaneity and pleasure, of well-being and happiness, of fairness, and of the fuller realization of the self. These volumes also comprise an intellectual history, retrospective looks at the great thinkers who have made possible the modern study of play.
Pretend Play in Childhood: Foundation of Adult Creativity by
Converging evidence suggests that pretend play in childhood has an important role in providing a foundation for adult creativity. Indeed, many of the processes central to creativity occur in pretend play. In this book, Sandra W. Russ reviews the theory and research on pretend play and creativity, including cognitive and affective processes involved in play and creativity, possible evolutionary purposes of play, and its cultural variations. In particular, she highlights the importance of pretend play in helping children to access emotional memories and fantasies. She explains how creative processes in play can be measured using the Affect in Play Scale, which she developed and is included in the volume. Additionally, she describes play interventions designed to encourage creativity in children, with transcripts of sessions from a pilot intervention. Brief case studies of creative adult scientists and artists are also presented, illustrating similarities in play processes and creative processes in adulthood. Given the need for highly developed creativity in science, engineering, and the arts, the link between pretend play and creativity is important to explore. This book explores what we know about the topic and how researchers might approach future studies in this area.
