Managing Long-Term Conditions and Chronic Illness in Primary Care by
Effective management of long-term conditions is an essential part of contemporary nursing policy and practice. Systematic and evidence-based care which takes account of the expert patient and reduces unnecessary hospital admissions is vital to support those with long-term conditions/chronic diseases and those who care for them. Reflecting recent changes in treatment, the nurse's role and the patient journey and including additional content on rehabilitation, palliative care, and non-medical prescribing, this fully updated new edition highlights the key issues in managing long-term conditions. It provides a practical and accessible guide for nurses and allied health professionals in the primary care environment and covers: -　　　　　　　　　 the physical and psychosocial impact of long-term conditions -　　　　　　　　　 effective case management -　　　　　　　　　 self-management and the expert patient -　　　　　　　　　 behavioural change strategies and motivational counselling -　　　　　　　　　 telehealth and information technology -　　　　　　　　　 nutritional and medication management. Packed with helpful, clearly written information, Managing Long-term Conditions and Chronic Illness in Primary Careincludes case studies, fact boxes and pointers for practice. It is ideal reading for pre- and post-registration nursing students taking modules on long-term conditions, and will be a valuable companion for pre-registration students on community placements. 2288;　　　　　　　　 effective case management -　　　　　　　　　 self-management and the expert patient -　　　　　　　　　 behavioural change strategies and motivational counselling -　　　　　　　　　 telehealth and information technology -　　　　　　　　　 nutritional and medication management. Packed with helpful, clearly written information, Managing Long-term Conditions and Chronic Illness in Primary Careincludes case studies, fact boxes and pointers for practice. It is ideal reading for pre- and post-registration nursing students taking modules on long-term conditions, and will be a valuable companion for pre-registration students on community placements. dies, fact boxes and pointers for practice. It is ideal reading for pre- and post-registration nursing students taking modules on long-term conditions, and will be a valuable companion for pre-registration students on community placements.
Essentials of nursing practice by 
Health Behavior by
The essential health behavior text, updated with the latest theories, research, and issues Health Behavior: Theory, Research and Practice provides a thorough introduction to understanding and changing health behavior, core tenets of the public health role. Covering theory, applications, and research, this comprehensive book has become the gold standard of health behavior texts. This new fifth edition has been updated to reflect the most recent changes in the public health field with a focus on health behavior, including coverage of the intersection of health and community, culture, and communication, with detailed explanations of both established and emerging theories. Offering perspective applicable at the individual, interpersonal, group, and community levels, this essential guide provides the most complete coverage of the field to give public health students and practitioners an authoritative reference for both the theoretical and practical aspects of health behavior. A deep understanding of human behaviors is essential for effective public health and health care management. This guide provides the most complete, up-to-date information in the field, to give you a real-world understanding and the background knowledge to apply it successfully. Learn how e-health and social media factor into health communication Explore the link between culture and health, and the importance of community Get up to date on emerging theories of health behavior and their applications Examine the push toward evidence-based interventions, and global applications Written and edited by the leading health and social behavior theorists and researchers, Health Behavior: Theory, Research and Practice provides the information and real-world perspective that builds a solid understanding of how to analyze and improve health behaviors and health.
Public Health: power, empowerment and professional practice. 3rd edn. by
This highly anticipated new edition of Glenn Laverack's Public Health: Power, Empowerment and Professional Practice has been fully revised throughout to provide readers with a practical understanding of how to help others to empower themselves in public health practice. The book explores the key concept of power and offers practical solutions for transforming professional power relations; it introduces a methodology to plan, implement and evaluate public health programmes; and it investigates the implications of empowerment on public health practice. The book also offers two new chapters: 'Patient Empowerment' and 'Helping Migrant Populations to Become Empowered', both emerging international public health issues. The new edition is a timely and valuable literary addition that has been designed for those who want to work in a more empowering way. So whether you're studying or practising, if you aspire to be a more effective and empowering practitioner this book will help you realise your professional goals. Glenn Laverack has spent his whole life living and working with people who experience powerlessness and who suffer the consequences of poverty and inequality. He has a strong academic and practice background and has worked for more than 30 years in Africa, Asia, Europe and the Pacific regions.
Health Studies: an introduction . 3rd edn. by
This new edition of a very successful textbook provides an up-to-date, broad and authoritative introduction to studying health. With chapters including biology, epidemiology, anthropology, politics and psychology, it is the only book to explore all the major disciplines and highlight how they can contribute to our understanding of health in one single volume. Comprehensive, accessible and written by leading experts in the different fields, this is the introductory text for all students of health studies. Highlights of this third edition include: * A whole new chapter on Geography and health: it explores the relationship between people's health and the natural and built environments * New example features in every chapter which apply each discipline to contemporary health issues- from the increase in obesity to the impact of changing social and welfare policies- along with bullet points that highlight the latest research in the field * A complete update on both the design and layout ensures an even more navigable and enjoyable read for current students, along with new contributions from experts from across the globe. Designed to engage readers and assist learning, each chapter features a Case Study on food, diet and obesity as a contemporary health issue; Questions for discussion, reading and reflection; Thinking about to enable the reader to use their experience to understand and apply concepts; Examples to illustrate concepts, methodologies and explore contemporary issues and Connections which make clear links to other chapters.
Introduction to Health Promotion by
Understand the foundations and applications of healthpromotion Introduction to Health Promotion gives students a workingknowledge of health promotion concepts and methods and theirapplication to health and health behaviors, with a special emphasison the philosophical and theoretical foundations of healthpromotion. The textbook also identifies and discusses theinnovative health campaigns, strategies, and policies beingimplemented and enacted to improve health behaviors and practicesthat ultimately improve quality of life. Written by a professorwith more than two decades of experience teaching and researchinghealth promotion, this comprehensive resource goes beyond thebasics, delving into issues such as the application of behaviorchange theories, planning models, and current wellness topics likenutrition, physical activity, and emotional well-being, amongothers. Provides a clear introduction to the most essential topics inhealth promotion and education Explains behavior change theories and program planningmodels Explores health promotion's role tackling issues of stress,tobacco use, eating behaviors, and physical activity Includes chapters dedicated to professions, settings, andcredentials available in the health promotion field Looks at future trends of health promotion Ideal for students in health promotion, health education, andpublic health fields, Introduction to Health Promotionprepares students with a comprehensive overview of the foundations,history, and current perspectives of health promotion, as well asits key methods and applications.
Death, Dying, and Bereavement by
Delivers the collective wisdom of foremost scholars and practitioners in the death and dying movement from its inception to the present. Written by luminaries who have shaped the field, this capstone book distills the collective wisdom of foremost scholars and practitioners who together have nearly a millennium of experience in the death and dying movement. The book bears witness to the evolution of the movement and presents the insights of its pioneers, eyewitnesses, and major contributors past and present. Its chapters address contemporary intellectual, institutional, and practice developments in thanatology: hospice and palliative care; funeral practice; death education; and caring of the dying, suicidal, bereaved, and traumatized. With a breadth and depth found in no other text on death, dying, and bereavement, the book disseminates the thinking of prominent authors William Worden, David Clark, Tony Walter, Robert Neimeyer, Charles Corr, Phyllis Silverman, Betty Davies, Therese A. Rando, Colin Murray Parkes, Kenneth Doka, Allan Kellehear, Sandra Bertman, Stephen Connor, Linda Goldman, Mary Vachon, and others. Their chapters discuss the most significant facets of early development, review important current work, and assess major challenges and hopes for the future in the areas of their expertise. A substantial chronology of important milestones in the contemporary movement introduces the book, frames the chapters to follow, and provides guidance for further, in-depth reading. The book first focuses on the interdisciplinary intellectual achievements that have formed the foundation of the field of thanatology. The section on institutional innovations encompasses contributions in hospice and palliative care of the dying and their families; funeral service; and death education. The section on practices addresses approaches to counseling and providing support for individuals, families, and communities on issues related to dying, bereavement, suicide, trauma, disaster, and caregiving. An Afterword identifies challenges and looks toward future developments that promise to sustain, further enrich, and strengthen the movement. KEY FEATURES: Distills the wisdom of pioneers in and major contributors to the contemporary death, dying, and bereavement movement Includes living witness accounts of the movement's evolution and important milestones Presents the best contemporary thinking in thanatology Describes contemporary institutional developments in hospice and palliative care, funeral practice, and death education Illuminates best practices in care of the dying, suicidal, bereaved, and traumatized
Managing Long-Term Conditions and Chronic Illness in Primary Care by 
Health Promotion by
Promote health and wellness for all ages and population groups! Health Promotion Throughout the Life Span, 9th Edition provides a comprehensive guide to leading health promotion concepts, from assessment to interventions to application. Its lifespan approach addresses patients' unique needs with case studies and care plans, with an assessment framework based on Gordon's Functional Health Patterns. New to this edition is expanded coverage of genomics and QSEN competencies. Written by nursing experts Carole Edelman and Elizabeth Kudzma, this bestselling text covers all the latest research and trends in health promotion and disease prevention. Separate chapters on population groups - the individual, family, and community - highlight the unique aspects of assessment and health promotion for each group. Coverage of growth and development helps you apply health promotion concepts to each age and each stage of development through the lifespan. Case studies present realistic situations with questions asking you to apply key concepts, and care plans include nursing diagnoses, defining characteristics, related factors, expected outcomes, and interventions. Quality and Safety Scenario boxes focus on QSEN-related competencies with examples of health promotion. Innovative Practice boxes outline unique and creative health promotion programs and projects currently being implemented. Healthy People 2020 boxes present goals and objectives relating to national health issues and priorities. Research for Evidence-Based Practice boxes summarize current health-promotion studies showing the links between research, theory, and practice. Diversity Awareness boxes address cultural perspectives relating to planning care. Hot Topics boxes introduce significant issues, trends, and controversies in health promotion. Think About It clinical scenarios open each chapter, and include questions to encourage critical thinking. NEW! An increased focus on genomics reflects scientific evidence supporting the use of genetic tests and family health history to guide public health interventions. NEW! Expanded discussion of QSEN competencies is included, as related to health promotion. NEW! Guidelines and recommendations are included from the latest Guide to Clinical Preventive Services from the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. NEW! The latest information about the Affordable Care Act is included. NEW! Updated photos reflect the latest in health promotion and disease prevention.
Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care by
This introductory textbook relates theory to practice and enhances students' learning and understanding of cultural issues that impact on patient care and their own practice as nurses, while considering wider social and political issues. 　 Now in its third edition, Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care has been updated to include new research, evidence and a completely new chapter focusing on the health care workforce itself and the issues it's facing. Other topics include: Health, illness and religious beliefs; Mental health and culture; Women's and men's health in a multicultural society; Caring for the elderly; Death and bereavement. 　 Key features: Includes international perspectives and issues relating to overseas nurses studying and working in the UK; Case studies, reflective exercises, summary boxes and website links designed to stimulate discussion and shared practice; Fully updated with guidelines for practice and education. amp;lt;/UL> 　 Key features: Includes international perspectives and issues relating to overseas nurses studying and working in the UK; Case studies, reflective exercises, summary boxes and website links designed to stimulate discussion and shared practice; Fully updated with guidelines for practice and education.
Delivering Person-Centred Care in Nursing by
Delivering effective and responsive person-centred care is a key requirement of nurses' professional practice and a core skill nurses must develop throughout their degree. This book explains and demonstrates how nurses can transform the ideals of person-centred care into reality for patients throughout their healthcare journey, in a variety of settings. Through the use of varied case studies, this book applies this practice to all fields of nursing, allowing students on any course, at any point in their degree to find useful guidance within its pages. To download an e-inspection copy click here or for more information contact your local sales representative.
Case Management of Long-Term Conditions by 