Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Supporting the Safe Management of Medicines reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Pathophysiology and Pharmacology for Nursing Students by Carefully designed to provide an integrated introduction to both the biology of disease and the therapeutic agents that are used to manage them, this book considers the underlying pathology of many common illnesses and diseases but by focusing on those conditions which have a pharmacological intervention is able to provide nurses with a broader understanding of bioscience that reflects care given in practice. It covers the basics of pharmacology, the core pathological concepts of inflammation, infection and cancer as well as a systems-based consideration of the pathophysiology and relevant pharmacology of common disorders. Providing the ideal starting point for student nurses to develop a robust, integrated knowledge of human disease and pharmacology, this book will enable them to provide care based on up-to-date knowledge of this important subject.
Call Number: 615.1 ASH
Publication Date: 2016
Essentials of pharmacology for nurses 3rd ed. by This ideal starter text for student nurses makes pharmacology less intimidating by focusing on the knowledge needed at pre-registration level in order to practice as a newly qualified nurse.
Noted for its clear layout and jargon-free language, this updated edition introduces pharmacology in a friendly, informative way. The book does not assume previous knowledge of pharmacology, or a level of confidence with maths and drugs calculations.
Call Number: 615.1 BAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures by Nationally recognised as the definitive guide to clinical nursing skills, The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures has provided essential nursing knowledge and up-to-date information on nursing skills and procedures for over 30 years. Now in its 9th edition, this full-colour manual provides the underlying theory and evidence for procedures enabling nurses to gain the confidence they need to become fully informed, skilled practitioners. Written with the qualified nurse in mind, this manual provides up-to-date, detailed, evidence-based guidelines for over 200 procedures related to every aspect of a person′s care including key information on equipment, the procedure and post-procedure guidance, along with full colour illustrations and photos. Following extensive market research, this ninth edition: contains the procedures and changes in practice that reflect modern acute nursing care includes thoroughly reviewed and updated evidence underpinning all procedures is organised and structured to represent the needs of a patient along their care pathway integrates risk-management into relevant chapters to ensure it is central to care contains revised procedures following 'hands-on' testing by staff and students at Kingston University is also available as an online edition
Call Number: 610.73 DOU + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Drug Calculations for Nurses by The administration of drug treatments in hospitals has become increasingly complex. It sometimes involves potent drugs that may be fatal if administered incorrectly. The ability to perform drug calculations accurately is therefore paramount to prevent placing patients at risk. Drug Calculations for Nurses: A Step-by-Step Approach teaches healthcare professionals how to perform drug calculations with confidence and competence. It provides step-by-step guidance to carry out accurate drug calculations, with units and drug strengths clearly explained. This bestselling pocket-size book begins with the basic mathematical skills required to perform calculations, including tips on estimating answers. It then covers drug strengths and concentrations, dosage calculations, IV infusion therapies, and pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics. Two separate chapters focus on children and the elderly, addressing specific challenges encountered in these populations. Helpful worked examples, key points, and objectives are included in every chapter. Useful tables with common prescription abbreviations, estimation of renal function, and body surface area estimates are easily accessible through the appendices. This new edition comes with an online pre-test enabling readers to benchmark their knowledge. Specific weaknesses can then be identified and addressed in the printed book. Also included is a revision test that allows readers to assess their ability to perform drug calculations after completing the book.
Call Number: STSK 513.02461 WRI
Publication Date: 2015
Introducing Pharmacology by This third edition of Introducing Pharmacology provides an accessible and engaging introduction to the subject of pharmacology for nursing and healthcare students - and anyone needing to refresh their knowledge of this important area. The third edition recognises that many nursing and healthcare courses are now requiring students to engage with the subject of pharmacology at a higher level. Accordingly, this edition has been reinforced with more advanced pharmacology that will help these students, but without losing the clarity and accessibility of earlier editions. This popular text includes: * Clear explanations of how drugs work in the human body * The underlying physiology and pathophysiology necessary for an understanding of the action of drugs * Coverage of the common drug groups that nurses and other healthcare professionals are likely to encounter in practice * Case-studies, relating pharmacological theory to clinical practice * An extensive glossary of key terms and definitions New to this edition: A new 'beyond the basics' feature, providing a deeper explanation of the mechanism of action of key drugs, supporting students studying at a more advanced level A new section covering drugs for the treatment of nausea and labyrinthine disorders An expanded chapter on drug metabolism and pharmacokinetics Enhanced and more detailed illustrations Updated content that reflects latest guidelines and recently licensed drugs
Call Number: 615.1 MCF
Publication Date: 2019
Nursing Calculations by This internationally renowned guide to basic arithmetic for nursing students has been fully revised and updated for a new generation of readers. Now entering its ninth edition - with over 200,000 copies sold worldwide - this popular and friendly volume has been designed to make medication calculations straightforward and easy to perform in a variety of settings. Written in response to nurse educators, Nursing Calculations features an initial self-testing chapter to help readers to identify and address areas of difficulty before moving on to numerous practical examples. Chapters then cover the core areas of clinical practice including calculations relating to oral medications (including both tablets and liquid form), injections, intravenous infusions and intravenously administered medication, and paediatric specific medication. Throughout the book, emphasis is placed on giving confidence to the reader by explaining in a step-by-step manner how the correct answer is derived together with a wide range of practice questions and later revision opportunities. This edition comes with a quick-reference card to fit in the pocket to remind readers of essential formulae and an additional on-line question bank to allow readers to practice their calculations on the move! Nursing Calculations will be perfect for student nurses and midwives at different levels in a variety of courses, 'Return to Practice' students, student paramedics and anyone involved with medication administration in the healthcare setting. Over 200,000 copies sold since publication! Initial self-testing chapter allows readers to identify and address areas of difficulty before moving onto practical examples 'Important Boxes' highlight potential pitfalls for the reader Special section on paediatrics covers medication calculations relating to body weight and body surface area Contains glossary and useful abbreviations Brings together basic math skills and clinical examples to prepare readers for real life drug calculations Quick-reference card fits in the pocket and remind readers of essential formulae Questions have been revised and updated when necessary to reflect current practice New material includes the use of medication charts in questions that involve medication labels Additional worked examples facilitate understanding of the 24-hour clock Contains a new revision chapter to help consolidate learning NOW COMES WITH AN ON-LINE PROGRAM TO ALLOW FURTHER SELF-TESTING VIA THE USE OF MOBILE DEVICES!
Call Number: STSK 513.02461 GAT + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Medicines Management in Mental Health Nursing by Medicines are a crucial part of the jigsaw when considering how to provide recovery-focussed care in mental health. It is important that mental health nurses understand how psychiatric drugs work, what the common treatments are and appreciate the ethical and legal dimensions that affect how medicines can and should be used in mental health care. Using innovative activities and real-life case studies, this book has been carefully designed to provide all this and more making it the ideal resource to build knowledge and confidence in this crucial area of practice. Key features · Clear explanations of both the underlying biology and pharmacology as well as the wider practicalities of working with medicines · Provides accessible information on the most common conditions and treatments · Linked to the NMC standards and essential skills clusters · Activities and case studies help students to apply what they have learnt to practice and consider the full impact that medicines will have on service users
Call Number: 616.8918 MUT
Publication Date: 2017
Pharmacology by Get the right dosage of pharmacology content to succeed on the NCLEX and as a professional nurse with Pharmacology: A Patient-Centered Nursing Process Approach, 9th Edition. Using a streamlined prototype approach and an emphasis on nursing care, this text makes it easy for today's nursing students to better understand the complicated subject of pharmacology. The book's detailed chapter on dosage calculation, the nursing process framework for drug therapy, strong QSEN focus, and summaries of prototype drugs help deliver the perfect pharmacology foundation. UNIQUE! An extensive, color-coded Drug Calculations chapter presents six methods of dosage calculation, providing a helpful review and supplement to a dosage calculations textbook. UNIQUE! Nursing Process summaries present patient care and drug therapy within the framework of each step of the nursing process, including information on patient teaching and cultural considerations. UNIQUE! Illustrated overviews of normal anatomy and physiology open each unit and provide a critical foundational review for understanding how drugs work in each body system. Chapter on safety and quality discusses medication errors, specific nursing measures to promote safety, National Patient Safety Goals, and many other safety issues and concerns. Cultural considerations icons highlight important cultural considerations in the Nursing Process sections. QSEN focus emphasizes patient-centered care, safety, quality, and collaboration and teamwork. Application-level NCLEX Study Questions at the end of each chapter help prepare readers for the growing pharmacology coverage on the NCLEX Examination. Consistent RN-standard chapter pedagogy includes objectives, outlines, key terms with page references, and activities on the Evolve companion website. Coverage of prioritization throughout the text helps readers learn to prioritize nursing care and differentiate need-to-know from nice-to-know content. NEW! Streamlined content and improved organization makes this edition even more user-friendly. NEW! Patient Safety boxes reinforce concepts related to medication safety, and more. NEW! New chapter on Transplant Drugs discusses key drugs prescribed for organ transplants. NEW! Updated Prototype Drug Charts provide easy access to key information for the most commonly used drugs, including dosages, contraindications, drug-lab-food interactions, pharmacokinetics, and more. NEW! New pregnancy categories regulations are addressed in all chapters where pregnancy categories were mentioned. NEW! Additional QSEN icons will be included in boxes that discuss patient-centered care, teamwork and collaboration, evidence-based practice, quality improvement, safety, or informatics. NEW! Expanded chapter on cultural considerations now includes new information on community-based nursing content. NEW! Complementary and Alternative Therapies boxes (formerly Herbal Alert boxes) more appropriately reflect the content, which covers more than just safety information. NEW! New or updated Critical thinking case studies are included at the end of every chapter to challenge readers to apply knowledge and analytical skills to realistic patient scenarios.
Call Number: 615.58 MCC
Publication Date: 2017
Clinical Pharmacy and Therapeutics by From reviews of the previous edition: 'This new edition of Clinical Pharmacy and Therapeutics was really very helpful when I was doing an MSc course in Advancing Pharmacy Practice and it was really very helpful in all the clinical diseases I have to read for my PBL. I also used it as one of my most reliable reference books for the in-course simulation ward rounds and other clinical case studies. It is a great book to have as a practising clinical or hospital pharmacist or even community pharmacist. It will also be of great use to anyone doing a course in pharmacotherapy. This book will always be of use to you throughout your studentship or when practising after graduation. It is also more portable than most other pharmacotherapy textbooks with the same amount of information.' Now in its sixth edition, this best-selling, multi-disciplinary textbook continues to draw on the skills of pharmacists, clinicians and nurses to present optimal drug regimens. The authors integrate an understanding of the disease processes with an appreciation of the pathophysiological processes, clinical pharmacy and the evidence base. Each chapter is co-written by a pharmacist and a clinician, and each chapter begins with key points and ends with cases to test understanding. The sixth edition is now on StudentConsult for the first time, giving online access to the full text. Key points boxes at the beginning of each chapter Case-study boxes throughout the chapters Each chapter co-written by a pharmacist and a clinician In-depth treatment of therapeutics to support pharmaceutical prescribing Logical order and format: key points, epidemiology, aetiology, disease, clinical manifestations, investigations and treatment, drugs used in treatment. Dosage reference sources given where appropriate, along with useful websites and further reading for each chapter. New co-editor, Karen Hodson Over 10 new authors Now in 4-colour On StudentConsult for the first time New chapter on Dementia Many new and revised illustrations Chapters revised to include advances in therapeutics and changes to dose regimens and licensed indications Updated case studies
Call Number: 615.58 WHI + eBook
Publication Date: 2018