Finding Library Resources - A Glossary: Home

A

Abstracts

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more 

Annual reports

See Company reports 

Articles

Find articles:
Include File

B

Books

University of Suffolk Bury:
Include File

University of Suffolk Great Yarmouth:
Click here to search

University of Suffolk Ipswich: 
Include File

University of Suffolk Lowestoft:
Include File

University of Suffolk Otley:
Include File

Book reviews

Find Book reviews:
Include File

C

Case studies

Intute Case Studies includes a large number of case studies covering many different subject areas. This link takes you to the full list which you can then narrow to look at a particular area of interest. 

Census

England and Wales:

• Census 2011
• Census 2001 on nomis (official labour market statistics)

Northern Ireland:

• Northern Ireland Census of Population

Scotland:

• 2011 Census
• 2001 Census from the General Register for Scotland

Historical Census Data:

• Histpop - The Online Historical Population Reports Website

Citations

Company reports

CAROL (Company Annual Reports on-line) - offers direct access to companies’ balance sheets, profit & loss statements, financial highlights etc.  Access is free of charge, but you need to register to use the site.  Click the ‘Registration’ link in the main menu to do this.

Hoover's Company Profiles - users can integrate business information from one of the world’s leading electronic distributors of information about companies, industries, and the people who lead them.
 

Conference papers

D

Databases

Browse all databases from our A-Z of databases or look at our subject guides to find key databases for your subject.   

Dictionaries

Dictionaries available at:

• University of Suffolk Bury
• University of Suffolk Great Yarmouth
• University of Suffolk Ipswich
• University of Suffolk Lowestoft
• University of Suffolk Otley

Online:

• Webster's Third New International Dictionary America’s premier lexicographical work.

Dissertations (see also University of Suffolk dissertations)

Find dissertations:
Include File

DVDs 

S ee eStream and Films

E

eBooks

Find eBooks:
Include File
 

eJournals

Browse all journals from our A-Z of journals page or look at our Subject guides to find key journals for your subject

eStream video recordings

The majority of eStream and video recordings can found on Summon but you can also search eStream directly 

Exam papers

There is no central location for exam paper. Please check with your course lecturer to see if past papers are available.

F

Films (Also see eStream) 

Find films:
Include File

Film Archives 

Black and white movies provides access to free-to-view classic film genres, many out of copyright.

Screenonline encyclopaedia of British film and television featuring hundreds of hours of film and television clips 

Screen Search - a catalogue of films from the Screen Archive South East collection  

G

Government information 

http://www.legislation.gov.uk includes original and amended versions of both primary and secondary legislation (Acts, SIs and revised/IF legislation), from 1988 onwards, and material still in force from 1297.

• UK Public General Acts
• UK Statutory Instruments

Command Papers

House of Commons Papers

J

Journals

Browse all journals from our A-Z of journals page or look at our Subject guides to find key journals for your subject

L

Law cases

LexisLibrary - Law database the UK’s most authoritative and comprehensive collection of annotated legislation, cases, forms, precedents and commentary from Butterworths and Tolley. 

M

N

View all Newspapers resources

Newsstand - this database enables you to quickly search access to national and regional newspapers.

NewsVault - definitive cross-searching experience for exploring Gale’s range of historical newspaper and periodical collections

Newspaper article search: Include File

Please note this doesn't include historical newspapers

P

R

The following guides are available online:

• University of Suffolk APA
• University of Suffolk Footnotes (MHRA)
• University of Suffolk Harvard
• RefWorks

S

Office for National Statistics (ONS) UK Government body responsible for producing of a wide range of economic and social data and statistics for the UK. They also provide access to statistics from other UK government departments. Statistics for the regions and local areas are available in a separate section.

International statistics at the

T

access to scientific and technical research and development information from the US Department of Energy.

NASA Technical Reports NASA's current and historical technical literature since 1994.

NTIS – National Technical Information Service approximately 3 million US Federal Government technical reports

U