Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Legal Ethics reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Legal Ethics by
Who would or should defend a potential murderer in court?How do professions regulate themselves?Is "no win-no fee" an ethical system?Where is the line in a "suitable" client-advocate relationship? Jonathan Herring provides a clear and engaging overview of legal ethics, highlighting that the issues surrounding professional conduct are not always black and white and raising interesting questions about how lawyers act and what their role entails. Key topics, such as confidentiality, negligence,and fees are covered, with references throughout to the professional codes of conduct. Features throughout the textbook to aid student learning include the highlighting of key cases, principles, and definitions; the inclusion of a variety of viewpoints through coverage of cases, popular media, and scholarly articles; and use inclusion of "digging deeper" and "alternative viewpoint"boxes which encourage critical reflection and better understanding of key theories and topics.The well developed online resource centre includes Podcasts linked to the "what would you do" chapter features, video debates, relevant updates and web links.
Call Number: 174.3 HER
Publication Date: 2017
The regulatory codes of solicitors and barristers. You will be directed to specific parts of these codes:
Professional Ethics by
Written by experienced practitioners, Professional Ethics equips the reader with a solid understanding of the key ethical and professional conduct issues which underpin all types of practice at the Bar. Including full discussion of the letter and spirit of the Code of Conduct issued by the Bar Standards Board, the manual provides full coverage of the professional conduct principles which govern the working relationships of the barrister with the client, prosecution or defence counsel, the courts and other members of the legal profession. The manual also features a dedicated chapter which identifies the key principles of professional conduct applicable to the core skills of the barrister ensuring that the reader is fully able to uphold the high professional standards of the Bar across all areas of practice. Potentially problematic areas of practice are identified throughout, and practical guidance is given on the correct approach to follow in such situations should they be encountered in practice. The manual also features a number of exercises designed to encourage the reader to consider how professional conduct principles apply to realistic scenarios. For ease of reference, the full Code of Conduct is provided as an appendix at the end of the manual. Professional Ethics is essential reading for all trainee barristers, and is a useful source of reference for practitioners seeking to refresh their knowledge of the rules and principles of professional conduct which govern practice at the Bar.
Call Number: 340.02342 DUN
Publication Date: 2018
Ethics and Law by
Can someone be a good person yet act in a professional role that may involve deception, procedural trickery, withholding information, and working on behalf of terrible people and institutions? This question is at the heart of legal ethics. Using cases from around the common-law world, W. Bradley Wendel looks at issues including confidentiality, the moral responsibility of lawyers, and truth and deception in advocacy. He then examines the classic questions of philosophy of law, including the nature of law, positivism, natural law, the relationship between law and morality, unjust legal systems, and the obligation to obey the law. Finally, he considers the ethical issues surrounding the role of lawyers, including criminal defense and prosecution, civil litigation, counseling clients on the law, and representing corporations. Combining the theoretical, philosophical, and practical, his book will be of vital interest to students of law, the philosophy of law, ethics, and political philosophy.
Call Number: 174.3 WEN
Publication Date: 2014
Legal Ethics and Human Dignity by
David Luban is one of the world's leading scholars of legal ethics. In this collection of his most significant papers he ranges over such topics as the moral psychology of organisational evil, the strengths and weaknesses of the adversary system, and jurisprudence from the lawyer's point of view. His discussion combines philosophical argument, legal analysis and many cases drawn from actual law practice, and he defends a theory of legal ethics that focuses on lawyers' role in enhancing human dignity and human rights. In addition to an analytical introduction, the volume includes two major previously unpublished papers, including a detailed critique of the US government lawyers who produced the notorious 'torture memos'. It will be of interest to a wide range of readers in both philosophy and law.
Call Number: 174.3 LUB
Publication Date: 2009
Ethics and the Rule of Law by
An introduction to the philosophy of law, which offers a modern and critical appraisal of all the main issues and problems. This has become a very active area in the last ten years, and one on which philosophers, legal practitioners and theorists and social scientists have tended to converge. The more abstract questions about the nature of law and its relationship to social norms and moral standards are now seen to be directly relevant to more practical and indeed pressing questions about the justification of punishment, civil disobedience, the enforcement of morality, and problems about justice, rights, welfare, and freedom. David Lyons is a shrewd, clear and systematic guide through this tangled area. The book presupposes no formal training in law or philosophy and is intended to serve as a textbook in a range of introductory courses.
Call Number: 174.3 LYO
Publication Date: 1983
Ashes and Sparks by
As a practising barrister, the Rt. Hon. Lord Justice Sedley wrote widely on legal and non-legal matters, and continued to do so after becoming a judge in 1992. This anthology contains classic articles, previously unpublished essays and lecture transcripts. To each, he has added reflections on what has transpired since or an explanation of the British legal and political context that originally prompted it. Covering the history, engineering and architecture of the justice system, their common theme relates to the author's experiences as a barrister and judge, most notably in relation to the constitutional changes which have emerged in the last twenty years in the United Kingdom.
Call Number: 349.41 SED + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Tomorrow's Lawyers by
Tomorrow's Lawyers predicts that we are at the beginning of a period of fundamental transformation in law: a time in which we will see greater change than we have seen in the past two centuries. Where the future of the legal service will be a world of internet-based global businesses, online document production, commoditized service, legal process outsourcing, and web based simulation practice. Legal markets will be liberalized, with new jobs for lawyers and new employers too. This book is a definitive guide to this future - for young and aspiring lawyers, and for all who want to modernize our legal and justice systems. It introduces the new legal landscape and offers practical guidance for those who intend to build careers and businesses in law. Tomorrow's Lawyers is divided into three parts. The first is an updated restatement of Richard Susskind's views on the future of legal services, as laid out in his previous bestselling works, The Future of Law , Transforming the Law, and The End of Lawyers? . He identifies key drivers of change, such as the economic downturn, and considers how these will impact on the legal marketplace. In the second part, Susskind sketches out the new legal landscape as he predicts it, including the changing role of law firms, and in-house lawyers, with virtual hearings and online dispute resolution. The third part focuses on the prospects for aspiring lawyers, predicting what new jobs and new employers there will be, and equipping prospective lawyers with penetrating questions to put to their current and future employers. This new edition has been fully updated to include an introduction to online dispute resolution, Susskind's views on the debates surrounding artificial intelligence and its role in the legal world, a new analysis of new jobs available for lawyers, and a retrospective evaluation of The Future of Law , Susskind's prediction published in 1996 about the future of legal services. This is the essential introduction to the future of law for those who want to succeed in the rapidly changing legal landscape.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017