Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Applying Theory in Educational Research reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Applying Theory to Educational Research by Applying Theory to Educational Research provides educational researchers with an accessible introduction to the process of selecting and applying theories in their work. Offers an innovative and accessible approach to educational research by providing practical examples of the application of theory Gives 'hands-on' accounts for the researcher and practitioner Explains and discusses complex ideas in the light of experience in using and applying them Covers the application of major theorists such as Bourdieu, Foucault, Weber, Derrida, and Vygotsky For beginning researchers, theory can be one of the most stimulating ? yet intellectually daunting ? aspects of academic work. Applying Theory to Educational Research provides new educational researchers with a uniquely accessible introduction to the process of selecting and applying theories in their own work. Written by a team of leading educationalists writing from the perspective of new researchers, clearly structured chapters introduce individual theorists and their ideas, present their applications and limitations, and provide extensive references and suggestion for further reading. Major theorists such as Pierre Bourdieu, Michel Foucault, Max Weber, Jacques Derrida, and Lev Vygotsky are included, along with many more recent educational theorists. Throughout the text, helpful hints and signposts are provided to alert readers to the potential pitfalls of applying theory. Innovative and illuminating, Applying Theory to Educational Research offers a wealth of practical insights that will point the way for novice researchers struggling to navigate an often daunting intellectual obstacle course.
Call Number: 370.72 ADA + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Theoretical Frameworks in Qualitative Research by Contributors to this book share how they found and chose a theoretical framework, from what discipline the framework was drawn, what the framework posits, and how it influenced their study. Both novice and experienced qualitative researchers are able to learn first-hand from various contributors as they reflect on the process and decisions involved in completing their study. The book also provides background for novice researchers about the nature of theoretical frameworks and their importance in qualitative research; about differences in perspective about the role of theoretical frameworks in qualitative research; and about how to find and use a theoretical framework in their research.
Call Number: 001.42 ANF
Publication Date: 2014
Reason and Rigor by Exploring the conceptual framework that helps direct and ground researchers, this is a practical book that presents conceptual frameworks as a mechanism - process and product. The authors discuss a conceptual framework as both a guide and a ballast for empirical research with specific questions and strategies for exploring what is already known about a given topic or question. In the second edition two new chapters have been added; chapter 3 focuses on how conceptual frameworks are conceptualized and developed, profiling Angela Duckworth's seminal work on grit. The chapter addresses the question on the minds of graduate students preparing for the dissertation process: how do I get started? A second published work (along with Margaret Beale Spencer's featured in chapter 7) that utilizes quantitative methods and brings the book into greater balance in terms of methodological focus. Chapter 8 is the second new chapter and provides a student's perspective on the role of conceptual frameworks in the research process from beginning to end. Many more visuals have been included which assist in illustrating key ideas and relationships providing a clear roadmap for the reader, combined with a thorough updating of the relevant research.
Call Number: 001.42 RAV
Publication Date: 2016
Qualitative Research by This book helps readers understand what the authors call "criticality" in qualitative research by communicating the foundations and processes of qualitative research with clarity and simplicity while still capturing its complexity. Packed with real-life examples of questions, issues, and situations that stem from the authors' and their students' research, the book humanizes the qualitative research endeavour, illustrates the types of scenarios that arise, and emphasizes the importance of actively considering paradigmatic values throughout every stage of the research process. In every chapter, the authors illustrate the qualitative research process as decidedly ideological, political, and subjective using themes of criticality, reflexivity, collaboration, and rigor.
Call Number: 001.42 RAV
Publication Date: 2015
Theory and Methods in Social Research by This new edition provides a scholarly and readable introduction to all the key qualitative and quantitative research methodologies and methods, enabling postgraduate and masters-level students and new researchers to reflect on which ones suit their needs and to receive guidance on how to find out more. With chapters written by experienced research practitioners, this second edition has been extensively expanded and updated. There are seven completely new chapters, as well as: - new material on literature reviews - a new introduction to quantitative methods - an expanded glossary - Weblinks with free access to a wide range of peer-reviewed journal articles - an annotated bibliography with conversational notes from authors in each chapter. This book will act as your 'expert friend' throughout your research project, providing advice, explaining key concepts and the implications for your research design, and illustrating these with examples of real research studies.
Call Number: STSK 300.72 SOM
Publication Date: 2011
Understanding and Using Educational Theories by " I expect that this book will equip and inspire students to engage first-hand with the texts of these creative and influential educational writers."-David Aldridge, Programme Lead: Professional Education, Oxford Brookes University If you're training to teach or studying education a clear understanding of major educational theories and the thinkers behind them is essential in order to appreciate how different practices impact on learning. This textbook gives you a clear overview of the most influential twentieth and twenty-first century thinkers on education, including established names (including Vygotsky, Bruner, Dewey), more recent writers (such as Freire, Kolb, Claxton) and many other important theorists whose writings have helped shaped our views on teaching and learning. Each chapter includes: Practical examples showing how theories can be used to inform classroom teaching Critiques of each theorist exploring opposing viewpoints and the strengths and weaknesses of different ideas Reflective tasks inviting you to apply what you've read to your own educational experiences
Call Number: 370.1 AUB
Publication Date: 2015
The Routledge Falmer Reader in Sociology of Education by The RoutledgeFalmer Reader in Sociology of Education brings together a carefully selected collection of articles and book chapters to reflect enduring trends in the field of Sociology of Education. Focusing on the major issues confronting education today, this lively and informative Reader provides broad coverage of the field and includes sections on crucial topics such as: social class globalization gender curriculum social inequality and social justice students and classrooms. With an emphasis on contemporary pieces that deal with issues relevant to the immediate real world, this book represents the research and views of some of the most respected authors in the field today. Stephen Ball offers a collection that is theoretically informed, internationally applicable, and universally accessible. In a specially written introduction, Ball provides a much-needed context to the current educational climate. Students of sociology and sociology of education will find this Reader an important route map to further reading and understanding.
Call Number: 306.432 BAL
Publication Date: 2004
Introduction to Social Research by In the new edition of Introduction to Social Research, Keith Punch takes a fresh look at the entire research process, from formulating a research question to writing up your research. Covering qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods, the book focuses on matching research questions to appropriate methods. Offering concise, balanced coverage, this book clearly explains the underlying principles of social research and shows you how to put this understanding into practice. The third edition includes: A new chapter on literature searching and reviewing Expanded coverage of ethics A new section on using the internet in research A range of additional student learning features A brand new companion website including full-text journal articles, additional case studies and video tutorials. Using a range of examples from student research and published work, the book is an ideal introduction for any social science student taking a research methods course or embarking on their own undergraduate or postgraduate research project. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Call Number: 300.721 PUN
Publication Date: 2013
Mixed Methods Research by This book addresses basic questions including: What is the mixed methods research process? How is mixed methods research defined? Why is it used? What designs are available? How does mixed methods research intersect with other research approaches? What is mixed methods research quality? How is mixed methods shaped by personal, interpersonal, and social contexts? By focusing on the topics, perspectives, and debates occurring in the field of mixed methods research, the book helps students, scholars, and researchers identify, understand, and participate in these conversations to inform their own research practice.
Call Number: 001.42 PLA
Publication Date: 2015
There are no recommended websites for this module.