Research Methods in Education by 
Researching Young People's Lives by 
Qualitative Methodology by
Fresh, insightful and clear, this exciting textbook provides an engaging introduction to the application of qualitative methodology in the real world.nbsp;nbsp; Expert researchers then trace the history and philosophical underpinnings of different methodologies, explore the specific demands each places upon the researcher and robustly set out relevant issues surrounding quality and rigor. nbsp; Featured methodologies include action research, discourse analysis, ethnography, grounded theory, case studies and narrative inquiry.nbsp;nbsp; This practical book provides a helpful guide to the research process - it introduces the relevant methods of generating, collecting and analysing data for each discrete methodology and then looks at best practice for presenting findings. This enables new researchers to compare qualitative methods and to confidently select the approach most appropriate for their own research projects.nbsp;nbsp; Key features include: Summary table for each chapter - allowing quick checks to test knowledge 'Window into' sections - real world examples showing each methodology in action Student activities Learning objectives Full glossary Annotated suggestions for further reading Links to downloadable SAGE articles Links to relevant websites and organizations This is an invaluable resource for students and researchers across the social sciences and a must-have guide for those embarking on a research project. Visit the accompanyingnbsp;companion website for a range of free additional resources.
Research Methods for Education by
Research Methods for Education, Second Edition takes the student by the hand and guides them through the complex subject of research methods in an engaging, witty and clear way. The book covers the philosophical approaches and epistemology, as well as the practical aspects of research, such as designing questionnaires and presenting conclusions. Each chapter is split into 'Context' and 'Practice' and both sections are packed with exercises, examples and comparative international material from other educational contexts, Peter Newby's book is the student-friendly text which demystifies the research process with clarity and verve. Key features: -written in a clear and friendly manner to help students feel more confident dealing with the complexities of research and particularly useful for those new to research or less confident with numbers -a mixed methods approach, which doesn't simply prioritise quantitative or qualitative methods, allowing for greatest possible coverage contains guidance on analytic procedures that require more advanced tools such as SPSS and Minitab -many excellent international examples and case studies specifically from education, which breaks away from a parochial focus on UK education system.
Doing Educational Research by
`A welcome and helpful addition to the shelves of tutors and students working on masters programmes. It will be most beneficial supporting students on programmes where there is a substantial research training component. It offers important exemplars of using computer software in qualitative analysis' - Educational Review `This book is aimed at Master's students who are engaging in educational research for the first time. [It] provides teacher-researchers with the additional information they need so they can go on to read further and more in depth, having more confidence in the accessibility of such studies. I found it does this well, and is an ideal point of reference for those who are just embarking on a Master's degree. A useful glossary is provided, giving detailed but 'readable' explanations of key terms and phrases' - Primary Practice Doing Educational Research offers a hands-on guide for students engaged in educational research. It provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to the key qualitative and quantitative methods necessary for those commencing research for the first time. Through a detailed yet concise explanation, the reader is shown how these methods work and how their outcomes may be interpreted. Providing all the essentials for the first-time researcher, the book includes: · a variety of examples and case studies to illustrate how the methods and techniques can be used in `real-life' contexts · practical guidance on time management planning research projects and writing reports. · a broad coverage - including qualitative and quantitative methodologies, data analysis using computer software, ethical issues and the writing-up and presentation of data. This engaging book has been written by a team of leading researchers with over sixty years of cumulative experience. It has a student-friendly structure which will make it accessible and popular with undergraduates and postgraduates. It will be an invaluable resource for both students and researchers, helping them to undertake effective research in education.
Introduction to Social Research by 
Research Design by
Not for sale in the USA & Canada The eagerly anticipated Fourth Edition of the title that pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design is here! For all three approaches, Creswell includes a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research approaches, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. He also presents the key elements of the research process, giving specific attention to each approach. The Fourth Edition includes extensively revised mixed methods coverage, increased coverage of ethical issues in research, and an expanded emphasis on worldview perspectives. PRAISE FOR CRESWELL'S RESEARCH DESIGN: 'It provides all of the necessary information and tools to guide my doctoral students through writing their dissertation (research) proposals. Each chapter provides content information, examples that demonstrate the application of the content, suggestions for writing activities, and additional resources. All of this together in one textbook is phenomenal.' -- R.M. Cooper, Drake University 'Creswell's is a more comprehensive discussion of design. Most texts approach this issue as either a book on qualitative methods, or one on quantitative methods. Additionally, my students appreciate the language. While not simple, the language and tone in this book are both accessible and inviting.' -- Gilberto Arriaza, California State University-East Bay 'The accessibility of the content is a key strength. The students indicated that they will continue to use as a resource after the class is over.' -- Heather J. Brace, Whittier College
Doing Qualitative Research 5th edn. by International Journal of Social Research Methodology
International Journal of Social Research Methodology
British Educational Research Journal
British Journal of the Sociology of Education
Cambridge Journal of Education
Journal of Mixed Methods Research
American Educational Research Journal
The Review of Educational Research
International Journal of Qualitative Studies in Education
Children’s research centre The CRC is all about children by children. The primary objective is to empower children and young people as active researchers. The CRC recognises that children are experts on their own lives and they value the child's perspective and believe in promoting child voice by supporting children to carry out research on topics that are important to them. The CRC is based at the Open University in Milton Keynes and the website has links to numerous schools and community organisations nationally and internationally and exist to contribute to the body of knowledge on childhood and children's lived experiences.
Economic and Social Research Council The Research Methods Programme aimed to improve methodological quality by funding research that directly enhanced methodological knowledge and developed tools to enhance research quality. It also disseminated methodological developments and good practice through training courses, on-line resources, seminars and awareness-raising events.
British Educational Research Association BERA encompasses psychologists, sociologists, historians, and philosophers among the discipline-oriented members; a strong contingent of educationists with special interests in curriculum, pedagogy, assessment, or management; and those taking either a theoretical, or evaluative or action-research perspective on education. The BERA website offers conferences, events and publications, including ethical guidelines for conducting educational research, good practice guidelines in educational research writing and good conduct charters for educational researchers.
British Education Index The BEI supports the professional study of education by facilitating the identification and use of specific reading matter and event-related information. It is an independent subject and author index to the contents of significant education journals published in the UK as well as providing information from an increasingly diverse research environment, particularly addressing texts on the Internet and conference events.
Centre for the Use of Research and Evidence in Education CUREE translates large-scale technical research findings and resources into materials that teachers and policy makers can use in their day to day work.
The Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Co-ordinating Centre The EPPI-Centre is part of the Social Science Research Unit at the Institute of Education, University of London. Since 1993, they have been at the forefront of carrying out systematic reviews and developing review methods in social science and public policy. EPPI-Centre are dedicated to making reliable research findings accessible to the people who need them, whether they are making policy, practice or personal decision
The Ethics of Research with Children and Young People by 
Using Research to Lead School Improvement by
This one-of-a-kind book takes readers beyond thinking about school improvement to leading the process of creating excellent learning environments. Beginning with fundamental principles of whole school leadership, the book demonstrates how action research and published studies can work hand-in-hand to explain the nature of student achievement gaps and the reasons that underlie them. Using examples from education leadership classrooms, research, and practice, the authors bring to life the processes of problem identification and diagnosis, developing solutions, and project implementation and evaluation.
Making Sense of Qualitative Data by 
The Good Research Guide by 
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research. 5th edn. by 
Researching Children's Experience by 
Ethnography by
Now in its third edition, this leading introduction to ethnography has been thoroughly updated and substantially rewritten. It offers a systematic introduction to ethnographic principles and practice. New material covers the use of visual and virtual research methods, hypermedia software and the issue of ethical regulation. There is also a new prologue and epilogue. The authors argue that ethnography is best understood as a reflexive process. What this means is that we must recognize that social research is part of the world that it studies. From an outline of the principle of reflexivity the authors go on to discuss and exemplify main features of ethnographic work, including: the selection and sampling of cases the problems of access observation and interviewing recording and filing data the process of data analysis and writing research reports. Throughout, the discussion draws on a wide range of illustrative material from classic and more recent studies within a global context. The new edition of this popular textbook will be an indispensable resource for students and researchers utilizing social research methods in the social sciences and cultural studies.
Video in Social Science Research by
In this digital age the use of video in social science research has become commonplace. As sophistication has increased along with usability, as spiralling staff costs push out direct observation, the researchers training today are grasping video as a means of coming to terms with the continued pressure to produce accessible research. However, the 'fit' of technology with research is far from simple. Ideally placed to offer guidance to developing researchers, this new text draws together the theoretical, methodological and practical issues of effectively using video across the social sciences. This book concentrates on how researchers can benefit from the use of video in their own research, whether it is: Video as representation Video as an aid to reflection Video that generates participation Video, voice and articulation, or Video that acts as a provocation. In turn each of these five central functions is discussed in relation to different stages of the research process, consisting of: Research design Fieldwork and data collection Analysis of data and findings Dissemination. As a practical research tool this book shows how, why and when video should be used, representing an invaluable guide for postgraduate and doctoral students conducting research in the social sciences, as well as any researchers, academics or professionals interested in developing technologically informed research.
Research Methodology by
Lecturers - request an e-inspection copy of this text or contact your local SAGE representative to discuss your course needs. Research Methodology: A Step by Step Guide for Beginners has been written specifically for those with no previous experience of research or research methodology. Written in a logical and accessible style and providing helpful techniques and examples, it breaks the process of designing and doing a research project into eight manageable operational steps. The book guides you through your project from beginning to end by offering practical advice on: formulating a research question ethical considerations carrying out a literature review choosing a research design selecting a sample collecting and analysing qualitative and quantitative data writing a research report. The book is essential reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students in the social sciences embarking on quantitative or qualitative research projects.
The Reality of Research with Children and Young People by 
Qualitative Data Analysis by
The latest edition of this bestselling textbook by Miles and Huberman not only is considerably expanded in content, but is now available in paperback. Bringing the art of qualitative analysis up-to-date, this edition adds hundreds of new techniques, ideas and references developed in the past decade to the corpus contained in the first. The increase in the use of computers in qualitative analysis is also reflected in this volume. There is an extensive appendix on criteria to choose from among the currently available analysis packages. Through examples from a host of social science and professional disciplines, Qualitative Data Analysis remains the most comprehensive and complete treatment of this topic currently available to scholars and applied researchers.
Research Methods in Early Childhood by 
Introduction to Educational Research by
Introduction to Educational Research: A Critical Thinking Approach 2e is an engaging and informative core text that enables students to think clearly and critically about the scientific process of research. In achieving its goal to make research accessible to all educators and equip them with the skills to understand and evaluate published research, the text examines how educational research is conducted across the major traditions of quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods and action research. The text is oriented toward consumers of educational research and uses a thinking-skills approach to its coverage of major ideas. 2e is an engaging and informative core text that enables students to think clearly and critically about the scientific process of research. In achieving its goal to make research accessible to all educators and equip them with the skills to understand and evaluate published research, the text examines how educational research is conducted across the major traditions of quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods and action research. The text is oriented toward consumers of educational research and uses a thinking-skills approach to its coverage of major ideas. W. Newton Suter received his Ph.D. in Educational Psychology in 1983 from Stanford University. He is Professor in Educational Foundations in the Department of Educational Leadership at the University of Arkansas
Key Concepts in Ethnography by 
Researching with Children and Young People by 
