Opportunity-Centred Entrepreneurship by
The second edition of this core textbook focuses on the practical elements of opportunity creation, recognition and exploitation. It aims not only to analyse what constitutes entrepreneurship but also enables readers to develop their own entrepreneurial skills. Taking a highly practical and accessible approach, this text connects the theory and practice of entrepreneurship in useful and insightful ways that can be applied in the real-world. This is a book that focuses on learning for, rather than about, enterprise. Written by a leading authority in the field, Opportunity-Centred Entrepreneurship will be essential reading for undergraduate, postgraduate and MBA students taking courses such as enterprise, new venture creation, creativity and innovation, small business management and corporate entrepreneurship. It has also been designed to support practitioners who are seeking to develop their entrepreneurial skills, whether they are start-up entrepreneurs, career-changers, or managers focusing on innovation and business development. It does not require prior knowledge of other business subjects.
Business Model Generation by
Business Model Generation is a handbook for visionaries, game changers, and challengers striving to defy outmoded business models and design tomorrow's enterprises. If your organization needs to adapt to harsh new realities, but you don't yet have a strategy that will get you out in front of your competitors, you need Business Model Generation. Co-created by 470 "Business Model Canvas" practitioners from 45 countries, the book features a beautiful, highly visual, 4-color design that takes powerful strategic ideas and tools, and makes them easy to implement in your organization. It explains the most common Business Model patterns, based on concepts from leading business thinkers, and helps you reinterpret them for your own context. You will learn how to systematically understand, design, and implement a game-changing business model--or analyze and renovate an old one. Along the way, you'll understand at a much deeper level your customers, distribution channels, partners, revenue streams, costs, and your core value proposition. Business Model Generation features practical innovation techniques used today by leading consultants and companies worldwide, including 3M, Ericsson, Capgemini, Deloitte, and others. Designed for doers, it is for those ready to abandon outmoded thinking and embrace new models of value creation: for executives, consultants, entrepreneurs, and leaders of all organizations. If you're ready to change the rules, you belong to "the business model generation!"
Entrepreneurship : successfully launching new ventures by 
The Study Skills Handbook by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
Market Research in Practice by
Learn the fundamentals of market research with this bestselling guide that delivers an overview of the whole process, from planning a project and executing it, what tools to use, through to analysis and presenting the findings. Market Research in Practice provides a practical and robust introduction to the subject, providing a clear step-by-step guide to managing market research and how to effectively to obtain the most reliable results. Written by an industry expert with over 35 years' practical experience in running a successful market research agency, tips and advice are included throughout to ground the concepts in business reality. This text also benefits from real-world examples from companies including Adidas, Marks & Spencer, Grohe and General Motors. Now in its fourth edition, Market Research in Practice is now fully updated to capture the latest changes and developments in the field and explores new tools of qualitative research using online methods as well as expanding further on online surveys such as SurveyMonkey. Accompanied by a range of templates, surveys and resources for lecturers, this is an invaluable guide for students of research methods, researchers, marketers and users of market research.
Business Plan Project by
This book is designed to meet important needs of each segment; (1) the business plan serves as a means for college students to learn about the major functions of business and how they are interrelated, (2) entrepreneurs need a business plan to provide direction in the organization and launch of a new business and secure initial capital from funding sources, (3) consultants need a user-friendly business plan format to assist clients that have limited or no business experience, and (4) instructors and trainers need a turn-key text with supplements that require no lecture and little prep-time to teach student how to write a business plan.
Innovation Management by
In a world of increasingly sophisticated customer needs, innovation is becoming central to corporate growth and prosperity, and is being recognised as a source of vitality and competitive advantage. What do we mean by 'innovation', and what must companies do to leverage it in order to support their short-term objectives and long-term strategies? This book attempts to answer these questions by progressively building up a common understanding of innovation and creativity, positioned strategically against business needs, and exploited through innovation frameworks and best-in-class practices. Throughout the book, a series of examples and case studies are introduced to aid understanding and provide insights across many industries and business scenarios.
How to Argue by
The new and expanded edition of this short skills text elucidates key techniques and best practice for ensuring a cohesive, rigorous and convincing argument can be presented within an academic context. Appropriate for students across the disciplines, the author first deconstructs the basic principles that make good argument, and then - using appropriate examples and case studies to illustrate develops practical skills and techniques for students to apply in their academic career and beyond. Practical exercises encourage self-learning and application of the techniques.
Critical Thinking Skills by
Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
Experiential Learning by
Experiential learning is a powerful and proven approach to teaching and learning that is based on one incontrovertible reality: people learn best through experience. Now, in this extensively updated book, David A. Kolb offers a systematic and up-to-date statement of the theory of experiential learning and its modern applications to education, work, and adult development. Experiential Learning, Second Edition builds on the intellectual origins of experiential learning as defined by figures such as John Dewey, Kurt Lewin, Jean Piaget, and L.S. Vygotsky, while also reflecting three full decades of research and practice since the classic first edition. Kolb models the underlying structures of the learning process based on the latest insights in psychology, philosophy, and physiology. Building on his comprehensive structural model, he offers an exceptionally useful typology of individual learning styles and corresponding structures of knowledge in different academic disciplines and careers. Kolb also applies experiential learning to higher education and lifelong learning, especially with regard to adult education. This edition reviews recent applications and uses of experiential learning, updates Kolb's framework to address the current organizational and educational landscape, and features current examples of experiential learning both in the field and in the classroom. It will be an indispensable resource for everyone who wants to promote more effective learning: in higher education, training, organizational development, lifelong learning environments, and online.
Developing work and study skills by 
Critical Thinking by
In this book, Jennifer Moon explores and clarifies critical thinking and provides practical guidance for improving student learning and supporting the teaching process. Key themes covered include: different views of and approaches to critical thinking with an emphasis on a practical basis that can be translated into use in the classroom. links between learning, thinking and writing the place of critical thinking alongside other academic activities such as reflective learning and argument critical thinking and assessment, class environments, staff knowledge and development, writing tasks and oral tasks. Teachers in all disciplines in post-compulsory education will find this approach to defining and improving students#65533; critical thinking skills invaluable.
A Handbook of Reflective and Experiential Learning by
This handbook acts as an essential guide to understanding and using reflective and experiential learning - whether it be for personal or professional development, or as a tool for learning. It takes a fresh look at experiential and reflective learning, locating them within an overall theoretical framework for learning and exploring the relationships between different approaches. As well as the theory, the book provides practical ideas for applying the models of learning, with tools, activities and photocopiable resources which can be incorporated directly into classroom practice. This book is essential reading to guide any teacher, lecturer or trainer wanting to improve teaching and learning.
Educating the Reflective Practitioner by
Building on the concepts of professional competence that he introduced in his classic The Reflective Practitioner, Schon offers an approach for educating professional in all areas that will prepare them to handle the complex and unpredictable problems of actual practice with confidence, skill, and care.
What Is Strategy and Does It Matter? by
In this revision of his classic book Richard Whittington challenges the basic assumptions of management orthodoxy. By applying four basic theoretical approaches of strategy-making to a series of key strategic issues, Whittington demonstrates the practical implications of different theories with many examples. Students are then challenged to critically evaluate their own personal approach to strategy-making in practice. The new edition is fully updated to cover the latest issues in strategy including expanded coverage of the resource-based and knowledge-based views of the firm, and utilises new examples from the international, service and 'ebusiness' sectors.
