Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Understanding the Entrepreneurial Spirit reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Opportunity-Centred Entrepreneurship by The second edition of this core textbook focuses on the practical elements of opportunity creation, recognition and exploitation. It aims not only to analyse what constitutes entrepreneurship but also enables readers to develop their own entrepreneurial skills. Taking a highly practical and accessible approach, this text connects the theory and practice of entrepreneurship in useful and insightful ways that can be applied in the real-world. This is a book that focuses on learning for, rather than about, enterprise. Written by a leading authority in the field, Opportunity-Centred Entrepreneurship will be essential reading for undergraduate, postgraduate and MBA students taking courses such as enterprise, new venture creation, creativity and innovation, small business management and corporate entrepreneurship. It has also been designed to support practitioners who are seeking to develop their entrepreneurial skills, whether they are start-up entrepreneurs, career-changers, or managers focusing on innovation and business development. It does not require prior knowledge of other business subjects.
Call Number: 658.421 RAE
Publication Date: 2014
Innovation Management: Context, Strategies, Systems and Processes by In a world of increasingly sophisticated customer needs, innovation is becoming central to corporate growth and prosperity, and is being recognised as a source of vitality and competitive advantage. What do we mean by 'innovation', and what must companies do to leverage it in order to support their short-term objectives and long-term strategies? This book attempts to answer these questions by progressively building up a common understanding of innovation and creativity, positioned strategically against business needs, and exploited through innovation frameworks and best-in-class practices. Throughout the book, a series of examples and case studies are introduced to aid understanding and provide insights across many industries and business scenarios.
Call Number: 658.4063 AHM + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Innovation and Entrepreneurship by Innovation and Entrepreneurship 3rd Edition is an accessible text on innovation and entrepreneurship aimed specifically at undergraduate students studying business and management studies, but also those on engineering and science degrees with management courses. The text applies key theories and research on innovation and entrepreneurship and then reviews and synthesises those theories and research to apply them in a much broader and contemporary context, including the corporate and public services, emerging technologies and economies, and sustainability and development and creating and capturing value from innovation and entrepreneurship. In this third edition the authors continue to adopt an explicit process model to help organise the material with clear links between innovation and entrepreneurship. This text has been designed to be fully integrated with the Innovation Portal at www.innovation-portal.info, which contains an extensive collection of additional resources for both lecturers and students, including teaching resources, case studies, media clips, innovation tools, seminar and assessment activities and test questions.
Call Number: 338.064 BES + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
New Venture Creation by If you are looking for an engaging textbook, rich in learning features, which will help you to guide your students through the process of developing and launching a start-up, this is it. With his innovative New Venture Creation Framework, Paul Burns breaks the venture creation process up into three key phases: Research, Business Model Development, and Launch. At every stage crucial steps and considerations are revealed, providing comprehensive coverage of the subject. Practical advice is combined with academic research, enabling you to run a course which is both relevant and rigorous. The second edition of this popular textbook is essential reading for any undergraduate or postgraduate course in new venture creation. It will also prove useful for shorter courses on entrepreneurship and in enterprise centres and entrepreneurship hubs.
Call Number: 658.11 BUR
Publication Date: 2018
Entrepreneurship by Entrepreneurship, 3rd Edition explores the trials and tribulations of entrepreneurship so that they'll have the necessary tools to start their own businesses. It offers coverage on social enterprises and ethics due to the rise in green trends and corporate scandals. A chapter on entrepreneurial selling that examines how to sell to multiple stakeholders is included in this text, as well as case studies that provide relevant views. Up-to-date examples and references provide entrepreneurs with the most useful information.
Call Number: 658.4 BYG
Publication Date: 2014
Entrepreneurship Fourth edition by Entrepreneurship, 4th Edition delves into the trials and tribulations of entrepreneurship so students will have the necessary tools to start their own businesses. It provides coverage on social enterprises and ethics due to the rise in green trends and corporate scandals. Up-to-date examples and references provide entrepreneurs with the most essential information
Call Number: 658.421 BYR
Publication Date: 2017
Innovation Management and New Product Development by Innovation Management and New Product development is an established, text for MBA, MSc and advanced undergraduate courses on innovation management, management of technology, new product development and entrepreneurship. It is also widely used by practitioners of innovation. Now in its 6th edition, Innovation Management & New Product Development has been fully revised. Its clear and informed coverage of the management processes of new product development, coupled with a practical orientation of taking you through real life challenges and dilemmas, results in a book that brings together the most up-to-date and accessible discussion of the literature in this area, as well as a wealth of examples and illustrations in every chapter.
Call Number: 658.575 TRO + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Strategic Entrepreneurship by The text offers an up-to-date, accessible and rigorous examination of a strategic approach to entrepreneurial management and emphasises its distinction from small business management. The text integrates both conceptual and practical ideas from a broad grounding within wider economic, psychological and other social science disciplines. The book is written in a clear style, with coherent and logical organisation of themes, and effective visualisation of key ideas to facilitate students' learning and lecturers' course planning & delivery. It provides comprehensive coverage of the fast-growing field of entrepreneurship teaching and research.
Call Number: 658.421 WIC + eBook
Publication Date: 2006