Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics by
With an exciting new look, new characters to meet, and its unique combination of humour and step-by-step instruction, this award-winning book is the statistics lifesaver for everyone. From initial theory through to regression, factor analysis and multilevel modelling, Andy Field animates statistics and SPSS software with his famously bizarre examples and activities. What's brand new: A radical new design with original illustrations and even more colour A maths diagnostic tool to help students establish what areas they need to revise and improve on. A revamped online resource that uses video, case studies, datasets, testbanks and more to help students negotiate project work, master data management techniques, and apply key writing and employability skills New sections on replication, open science and Bayesian thinking Now fully up to date with latest versions of IBM SPSS Statistics©. All the online resources above (video, case studies, datasets, testbanks) can be easily integrated into your institution′s virtual learning environment or learning management system. This allows you to customize and curate content for use in module preparation, delivery and assessment. For instructions on how to upload the resources you want, please visit the Instructors′ page or alternatively, contact your local SAGE sales representative.Please note that ISBN: 9781526445780 comprises the paperback edition of the Fifth Edition and the student version of IBM SPSS Statistics. More information on this version of the software′s features can be found here.
Netnography by
Netnography is an adaptation of ethnography for the online world, pioneered by Robert Kozinets, and is concerned with the study of online cultures and communities as distinct social phenomena, rather than isolated content. In this landmark third edition, Netnography: The Essential Guide provides the theoretical and methodological groundwork as well as the practical applications, helping students both understand and do netnographic research projects of their own. Packed with enhanced learning features throughout, linking concepts to structured activities in a step by step way, the book is also now accompanied by a striking new visual design and further case studies, offering the essential student resource to conducting online ethnographic research. Real world examples provided demonstrate netnography in practice across the social sciences, in media and cultural studies, anthropology, education, nursing, travel and tourism, and others.
Qualitative Secondary Research by
Using secondary data offers unique opportunities and challenges. This practical book will guide you through finding, managing and analysing qualitative secondary data in an error-free way. Perfect for those doing dissertations and research projects, it provides an accessible introduction to the theory of secondary research and sets out the advantages and limitations of using this kind of research. Drawing on years of teaching and research experience, the authors · Offer step-by-step advice on how to use qualitative secondary data· Walk you through each stage of the research process· Provide practical, ethical tools to help you with your project· Show you how to avoid the potential pitfalls of using secondary data. Clear and easy to understand, this book is a ready-made toolkit for successfully using qualitative secondary data. From beginner level and beyond, this no-nonsense guide takes the confusion and worry out of doing a secondary research project.
Research Methods for Business Students by 
Doing Qualitative Research by
Need practical advice on how to do your first qualitative research project? This book will guide you through each step of the research process: from brainstorming ideas and working with your supervisor to navigating the field to writing up your results. Driven by examples from other students' projects, the book features discussions on translating social problems into research topics, collecting data in the wake of a pandemic, and guidance from Qualitative Data Analysis Software expert Christian Schmieder to help you summarise, categorise, and review qualitative data. A new chapter on how much data you need answers the age-old question: 'how many interviews or case studies are enough?' It also includes: - Articles and websites to build your bibliography - Questions to test your knowledge - Videos from world-leading qualitative experts - Activities to dig deeper into key concepts and think critically about research - Lessons-learned discussions with other researchers - Exercises to help you choose the right path for your project. Key features: in addition to the online Silverman Workshops, the book includes top tips, end-of-chapter checklists to test your understanding, and annotated further reading so you can develop your knowledge further.
Research Methods in Accounting by
This unique and popular text, now in a sixth edition, clearly and succinctly guides Accounting students and researchers in their understanding and conducting of research from conception to completion, across a wide range of research methods, including quantitative, qualitative and mixed-methods research.This latest edition provides new and extended coverage, including the role and impact of social media, big data analytics, data mining, and emerging and disruptive technologies, such as Blockchain. There is also a renewed focus on the role of ethics in Accounting research.This text remains essential reading for those completing a research methods course, project/dissertation or other form of individual study in Accounting.Malcolm Smith was Foundation Professor of Accounting at the University of South Australia.
Research Methods for Arts and Event Management by
Research Methods for Arts and Event Management provides a compelling and comprehensive guide to research methods for undergraduate and postgraduate students in arts and event management, as well as for managers in the arts/culture/events industries. This book provides students and practising managers with the following: * Essential skills in designing their own qualitative and quantitative research studies that can be implemented in a real working environment * Guidance in designing, managing, and monitoring research work which students and practising managers may commission from consultants * The necessary theoretical and practical basis to identify and implement appropriate methodologies to conduct research for academic dissertations and theses in the fields of arts, cultural and event management. Furthermore, the book provides readers with multiple test questions, exercises and further resources, as well as a section on specialist terminology. A. J. Veal is Adjunct Professor at the School of Leisure, Sport and Tourism, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia. Christine Burton is an Associate Professor with the UTS Business School, University of Technology, Sydney. Her research focuses on audience development in the museum and arts sectors. Prior to becoming an academic, Christine worked as an arts consultant in Australia and the United Kingdom. Christine has worked on a number of research projects and consultancies including social impact of the arts, arts facilities development and public art planning and development.
Essentials of Business Research by
Written specifically for business students, this best-selling, jargon-free textbook highlights each stage of the research process, guiding the reader through actionable steps and explicitly setting out how best to meet a supervisor′s expectations. Easy to navigate and full of practical advice, it shows you how to choose a topic and write a proposal, with easy to follow tips and detailed screenshots and diagrams. Key student features include: ′You′re the Supervisor′ sections - helps students to meet learning objectives ′Common questions and answers′ - real-world advice on how to tackle common challenges Examples from different types of international businesses Detailed guidance on software packages such as SPSS Student case studies Annotated further reading Accompanied by a fully integrated companion website designed to support learning. Free to access, it includes author podcasts, guides to online tools, links to downloadable journal articles, examples of completed projects, PowerPoint slides and students′ multiple choice questions to test progress. Available on publication: www.uk.sagepub.com/jonathanwilson2e. A must-have title for all business and management students; this is the ideal companion for achieving success in your research project. Lecturers/instructors - request a free digital inspection copy here
Quantitative Methods for Decision Makers by
Were you looking for the book with access to MyMathLab Global? This product is the book alone and does NOT come with access to MyMathLab Global. Buy Quantitative Methods for Decision Makers, 6th edition with MyMathLab Global access card (ISBN 9780273770763) if you need access to MyMathLab Global as well, and save money on this resource. You will also need a course ID from your instructor to access MyMathLab Global. Appealing both to students on introductory courses for quantitative methods and MBA students, this well-respected text provides an accessible introduction to an area that students often find difficult. As a manager, developing a good understanding of the business analysis techniques at your disposal is crucial. Knowing how and when to use them and what their results really mean can be the difference between making a good or bad decision and, ultimately, between business success and failure. Quantitative Methods for Decision Makers helps students to understand the relevance of quantitative methods of analysis to manager's decision-making by relating techniques directly to real-life business decisions in public and private sector organisations and focusing on developing appropriate skills and understanding of how the techniques fit into the wider management process. Key features: Student Activities with a solutions Appendix Fully worked examples and exercises supported by Excel data sets "QMDM in Action" case studies illustrating how real-life organisations benefit from the use of quantitative techniques Chapter on financial decision-making "Wisniewski makes numerical and statistical concepts understandable and brings them to life using excellent scenarios and case studies. This book was a valuable resource during my MBA studies and I am encouraging all my non-statistical colleagues and anyone who works with statistics or performance measurement data to read this book!" Brian J Pickett, Assistant Director, Local Government Data Unit, Wales Mik Wisniewski is Senior Research Fellow at Strathclyde Business School in Scotland. He also works as a freelance management consultant with clients including PriceWaterhouseCoopers, ScottishPower and Shell, and a variety of public sector organisations in the UK and internationally.
