Anatomy TV by
Anatomy TV is an interactive educational resource on human anatomy. It provides interactive 3D models as well as text, slides and video clips.
This link opens in a new window
Anatomy and Human Movement by
Since its first publication in 1989, Anatomy and Human Movement has grown to become a best-selling seminal textbook, helping students to understand and remember the mechanisms which allow movement to take place. Written specifically for physiotherapists and occupational therapists, this textbook is the ideal resource for students learning how to perform a musculoskeletal examination and for practising clinicians who need to refresh their functional anatomy. The approach used is the same as in the previous edition, which shows the physiotherapist's perspective during patient examinations through an intact skin: bones are presented first, followed by accurate descriptions of muscles, joints, nervous system and blood supply. New to this edition, the introduction of an e-learning course as a helpful study aid and an ideal complement to the text. Fully revised and updated text and introduction of online resources Excellent new full-colour images and photographs provide the highest level of clarity Summary boxes for quick reference and overview Detailed and focused account of anatomy for physiotherapists and other allied health professionals Part of the Elsevier Physiotherapy Essentials series, which are key textbooks for students and lecturers
Tortora's principles of anatomy & physiology by
This is designed as an introductory course and assumes no prior knowledge by the student. Completely revised, it includes some new and innovative learning devices, and interesting, new clinical applications.
Neuroscience by
Use your knowledge of the nervous system to understand and treat neurologic disorders! Neuroscience: Fundamentals for Rehabilitation, 6th Edition provides an illustrated guide to neurology and how it affects the practice of physical and occupational therapy. Case studies and first-person stories from people with neurologic disorders make it easier to develop clinical reasoning skills and apply your knowledge to the clinical setting. This edition includes an enhanced eBook free with each purchase of a new print book. Written by noted PT educator Laurie Lundy-Ekman, Neuroscience uses evidence-based research to help you evaluate and treat clients who have physical limitations due to nervous system damage or disease. Logical, systems approach to neuroscience makes it easier to master complex information and provides a framework for conducting a neurologic examination and evaluation. Clinical perspective of neuroscience is provided through case studies, personal stories written by people with neurologic disorders, and summaries of key features of neurologic disorders and the body systems they affect. Six sections - Overview of Neurology, Neuroscience at the Cellular Level, Development of the Nervous System, Vertical Systems, Regions, and Neurologic Tests - first show how neural cells operate, and then allow you to apply your knowledge of neuroscience. Coverage of key physical rehabilitation topics includes abnormal muscle tone, chronic pain, control of movement, and differential diagnosis of dizziness. Hundreds of color-coded illustrations show body structures and functions across systems. Full-color atlas includes photographs of the human brain along with labeled line drawings. Clinical Notes case studies demonstrate how neuroscience concepts may be applied to clinical situations. Pathology boxes provide a quick summary of the features of neurologic disorders commonly encountered in rehabilitation practice. NEW! Quick Reference Lists on the inside book covers make it easy to find frequently consulted figures, reflexes, tables, and summaries within the text. NEW! Updated chapters include Pain as a Disease and as a Symptom, Motor System: Upper Motor Neurons, Motor and Psychologic Functions, Brainstem Region, and Neurologic Tests. NEW! 85 new or updated figures are added to this edition. NEW! Nearly 600 new references are added to this edition. NEW! Enhanced eBook version - included with print purchase - allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. NEW! Answers to the book's case studies and a student workbook with approximately 1,000 practice questions and answers are included in the eBook.
Cardiorespiratory Physiotherapy: Adults and Paediatrics by
The fifth edition of this seminal textbook continues to provide those who are studying or are in practice with comprehensive evidence-based coverage of all the main aspects of respiratory and cardiac physiotherapy throughout the whole lifespan - neonates, infants, children, adolescents and adults - with the patient at centre and advocating a problem-based approach. For the new edition, Jennifer Pryor and Ammani Prasad hand the baton of editorship and their lasting legacy over to Eleanor Main and Linda Denehy. With a team of over 60 international expert authors, the new editors have incorporated major changes reflecting current cardiorespiratory physiotherapy education and practice. These changes are heralded by a new title - Cardiorespiratory Physiotherapy: Adults and Paediatrics (formerly Physiotherapy for Respiratory and Cardiac Problems: Adults and Paediatrics) - and a significant restructure of the content with a new set of chapters. A new key chapter on anatomy and physiology of the respiratory system lays the foundation which is then followed by a chapter on clinical assessment of adults, infants and children, and acutely ill or deteriorating patients. Additional new content includes a chapter on outcome measurement in practice and a large chapter describing rehabilitation in acute and chronic conditions in special populations including spinal cord injury, oncology, trauma and paediatrics. The chapter on therapeutic interventions is comprehensive and reflective of evidence based practice. Integrates evidence with clinical practice Case studies used to facilitate problem solving Boxes throughout highlighting key issues and points Emphasizes the need for a holistic approach to patient care Bank of 350 images on Evolve Resources. Log on to https://evolve.elsevier.com/Main/cardiorespiratory and register to access. Newly appointed editors - Eleanor Main (UK) and Linda Denehy (Australia) Content restructure and overhaul with contributions from over 60 world leading experts Chapters on: Anatomy and physiology of the respiratory system Clinical assessment of the adult, infant/child and the acutely ill/deteriorating patient Outcome measurement in practice Therapeutic interventions Managing special populations Over 180 new figures including additional full-colour photographs
Musculoskeletal examination and assessment : a handbook for therapists. 5th edn. by
Now in its fifth edition, this core textbook continues to provide a comprehensive, systematic guide to the examination and assessment of patients with neuromusculoskeletal dysfunction.
Tidy's Physiotherapy by
A classic textbook and a student favourite, Tidy's Physiotherapy aims to reflect contemporary practice of physiotherapy and can be used as a quick reference by the physiotherapy undergraduate, for major problems that they may encounter throughout their study, or while on clinical placement. Tidy's Physiotherapy is a resource which charts a range of popular subject areas. It also encourages the student to think about problem-solving and basic decision-making in a practice setting, presenting case studies to consolidate and apply learning. In this fifteenth edition, new chapters have been added and previous chapters withdrawn, continuing its reflection of contemporary education and practice. Chapters have again been written by experts who come from a wide range of clinical and academic backgrounds. The new edition is complemented by an accompanying online ancillary which offers access to over 50 video clips on musculoskeletal tests, massage and exercise and an image bank along with the addition of crosswords and MCQs for self-assessment. Now with new chapters on: Reflection Collaborative health and social care / interprofessional education Clinical leadership Pharmacology Muscle imbalance Sports management Acupuncture in physiotherapy Management of Parkinson's and of older people Neurodynamics Part of the Physiotherapy Essentials series - core textbooks for both students and lecturers! Covers a comprehensive range of clinical, academic and professional subjects Annotated illustrations to simplify learning Definition, Key Point and Weblink boxes Online access to over 50 video clips and 100's of dowloadable images (http://evolve.elsevier.com/Porter/Tidy) Online resources via Evolve Learning with video clips, image bank, crosswords and MCQs! Log on and register at http://evolve.elsevier.com/Porter/Tidy Case studies Additional illustrations
Atlas of skeletal muscles by
The 7th edition includes changes reflecting modern understanding, terminology and teaching of the musculoskeletal system. There are changes on 42 different pages including many new or enhanced notes on function and 20 new descriptions or explanations of anatomical relationships. All muscle illustrations are new.