Welcome to your Fundamentals of human movement & rehabilitation reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Anatomy and Human Movement by Roger W. Soames; Nigel Palastanga; Richard Tibbitts (Illustrator)Since its first publication in 1989, Anatomy and Human Movement has grown to become a best-selling seminal textbook, helping students to understand and remember the mechanisms which allow movement to take place. Written specifically for physiotherapists and occupational therapists, this textbook is the ideal resource for students learning how to perform a musculoskeletal examination and for practising clinicians who need to refresh their functional anatomy. The approach used is the same as in the previous edition, which shows the physiotherapist's perspective during patient examinations through an intact skin: bones are presented first, followed by accurate descriptions of muscles, joints, nervous system and blood supply. New to this edition, the introduction of an e-learning course as a helpful study aid and an ideal complement to the text. Fully revised and updated text and introduction of online resources Excellent new full-colour images and photographs provide the highest level of clarity Summary boxes for quick reference and overview Detailed and focused account of anatomy for physiotherapists and other allied health professionals Part of the Elsevier Physiotherapy Essentials series, which are key textbooks for students and lecturers
Call Number: 612.76 SOA
Publication Date: 2018-10-04
Human Movement and Biomechanics by Andrew Kerr (Editor); Philip Rowe (Editor)Now in its seventh edition, this reputable textbook is an ideal introduction to the study of human movement and an excellent reference encouraging and directing further study. For the first time there is a chapter dedicated to measuring and understanding physical activity, recognising the importance of this area to many health and sports professionals. More time is spent explaining the basic principles of biomechanics and the way they can be used to improve practice,including tissue mechanics and movement analysis techniques. An Introduction to Human Movement and Biomechanics is the perfect guide for students and professionals all around the world to consolidate learning and apply to real clinical/sports situation. Information is given in a clear and accessible way, with case studies, illustrations, textboxes and practical examples. . A chapter on physical (in)activity. . More chapters explaining basic biomechanics and its application to understanding human movement. . A new section dedicated to measuring human movement including movement analysis techniques. . A whole chapter of case studies with real patient and athlete data . Scientific theory related to re-learning movement and movement control. . Problems posed to help students work through the theory and apply it to clinical scenarios . Written by well-known and multi-disciplinary researchers with extensive experience in the field It includes access to the Evolve online resources: . Log on to evolve.elsevier.com/Kerr/movement/ and test out your learning . Case studies, including videoclips and animations . Hundreds of self-assessment questions
Call Number: 612.76 KER
Publication Date: 2019-06-03
Essentials of Exercise Physiology by William D. McArdle; Frank I. Katch; Victor L. KatchHelp your students succeed in the course and their future careers with this Fifth Edition of the briefer version of the best-selling McArdle Exercise Physiology text. The book emphasizes nutrition as the foundation of exercise and uses a new student-friendly magazine-style design, hallmark pedagogy, and an engaging writing style to make exercise physiology interesting and understandable for today's undergraduate students. Featuring updates in every section that reflect the latest trends and research in the field, Essentials of Exercise Physiology helps students develop a deep understanding of the interrelationships among energy intake, energy transfer during exercise, and the related physiologic systems. As they progress through the book, students also master the how-tos of applying key concepts to enhance exercise training, athletic performance, and health. In addition, the Fifth Edition includes a suite of instructor and student resources designed to save you time and help your students succeed. Student Resources: An online Interactive Question Bank with study and quiz options helps students master the content of the course. Supplemental documentation relevant to the field includes The Internet and Exercise Physiology, Surgeon General's Vision for Health Fit Nation 2010, and a Guide to Reliable Supplemental Information Sources. A list of Frequently Cited Journals in Exercise Physiology enables students to increase their understanding of topics of interest. Animations of key exercise physiology concepts selected by reviewers help students understand complex processes. Instructor Resources:" PowerPoint presentations make it easy to integrate the textbook with your students' classroom experience via either handouts or slide shows. A complete image bank enhances lecture and exam preparation. A robust test generator helps you put together tests that assess your students' understanding.
Kinesiology by Carol A. OatisSelected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Equip your students with the knowledge they need to be effective physical therapists with the updated Third Edition of Kinesiology: The Mechanics and Pathomechanics of Human Movement. Now in vibrant full color, the Third Edition provides a clinical, applied look at anatomy and mechanics that reflects the latest research findings and the most current developments in the field. As your students move through the text, they don't just learn the principles of motion; they learn how these principles apply to patient care. New Thought Problems with critical thinking exercises ask students to think through the types of decisions they will be making as physical therapy professionals.
Call Number: 612.76 OAT
Publication Date: 2016-02-13
Physical management for neurological conditions by Lennon, S., Verheyden, G. and Ramdharry, G. (eds)"Following the success of the previous three editions, Physical Management for Neurological Conditions 4th edition remains the most up-to-date evidence-based textbook for undergraduate students in health professions and qualified therapists. Written by an international team of clinicians and researchers, it is applicable to a number of healthcare systems, with a special focus on physiotherapy. New chapters have been added to cover both common and rare conditions, such as Hereditary Disorders, Functional Motor disorders and Neuromuscular diseases."--Publisher's description
Publication Date: 2018
Cardiorespiratory Physiotherapy: Adults and Paediatrics by Eleanor Main (Editor); Linda Denehy (Editor)The fifth edition of this seminal textbook continues to provide those who are studying or are in practice with comprehensive evidence-based coverage of all the main aspects of respiratory and cardiac physiotherapy throughout the whole lifespan - neonates, infants, children, adolescents and adults - with the patient at centre and advocating a problem-based approach. For the new edition, Jennifer Pryor and Ammani Prasad hand the baton of editorship and their lasting legacy over to Eleanor Main and Linda Denehy. With a team of over 60 international expert authors, the new editors have incorporated major changes reflecting current cardiorespiratory physiotherapy education and practice. These changes are heralded by a new title - Cardiorespiratory Physiotherapy: Adults and Paediatrics (formerly Physiotherapy for Respiratory and Cardiac Problems: Adults and Paediatrics) - and a significant restructure of the content with a new set of chapters. A new key chapter on anatomy and physiology of the respiratory system lays the foundation which is then followed by a chapter on clinical assessment of adults, infants and children, and acutely ill or deteriorating patients. Additional new content includes a chapter on outcome measurement in practice and a large chapter describing rehabilitation in acute and chronic conditions in special populations including spinal cord injury, oncology, trauma and paediatrics. The chapter on therapeutic interventions is comprehensive and reflective of evidence based practice. Integrates evidence with clinical practice Case studies used to facilitate problem solving Boxes throughout highlighting key issues and points Emphasizes the need for a holistic approach to patient care Bank of 350 images on Evolve Resources. Log on to https://evolve.elsevier.com/Main/cardiorespiratory and register to access. Newly appointed editors - Eleanor Main (UK) and Linda Denehy (Australia) Content restructure and overhaul with contributions from over 60 world leading experts Chapters on: Anatomy and physiology of the respiratory system Clinical assessment of the adult, infant/child and the acutely ill/deteriorating patient Outcome measurement in practice Therapeutic interventions Managing special populations Over 180 new figures including additional full-colour photographs
Call Number: 616.1206 CAR + E-Book
Publication Date: 2016-08-10
Principles of musculoskeletal treatment and management: a handbook for therapists by Petty, N. J. and Barnard, K. (eds)
Publication Date: 2017
Tidy's Physiotherapy by Stuart Porter (Editor)A classic textbook and a student favourite, Tidy's Physiotherapy aims to reflect contemporary practice of physiotherapy and can be used as a quick reference by the physiotherapy undergraduate, for major problems that they may encounter throughout their study, or while on clinical placement. Tidy's Physiotherapy is a resource which charts a range of popular subject areas. It also encourages the student to think about problem-solving and basic decision-making in a practice setting, presenting case studies to consolidate and apply learning. In this fifteenth edition, new chapters have been added and previous chapters withdrawn, continuing its reflection of contemporary education and practice. Chapters have again been written by experts who come from a wide range of clinical and academic backgrounds. The new edition is complemented by an accompanying online ancillary which offers access to over 50 video clips on musculoskeletal tests, massage and exercise and an image bank along with the addition of crosswords and MCQs for self-assessment. Now with new chapters on: Reflection Collaborative health and social care / interprofessional education Clinical leadership Pharmacology Muscle imbalance Sports management Acupuncture in physiotherapy Management of Parkinson's and of older people Neurodynamics Part of the Physiotherapy Essentials series - core textbooks for both students and lecturers! Covers a comprehensive range of clinical, academic and professional subjects Annotated illustrations to simplify learning Definition, Key Point and Weblink boxes Online access to over 50 video clips and 100's of dowloadable images (http://evolve.elsevier.com/Porter/Tidy) Online resources via Evolve Learning with video clips, image bank, crosswords and MCQs! Log on and register at http://evolve.elsevier.com/Porter/Tidy Case studies Additional illustrations
Call Number: 615.82 POR + E-Book
Publication Date: 2013-03-21
ACSM's Exercise Testing and Prescription by American College of Sports MedicineACSM'S Exercise Testing and Prescription adapts and expands upon the assessment and exercise prescription-related content from ACSM's Resource Manual for Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription, 7th Edition, to create a true classroom resource. Fully aligned with the latest edition of ACSM's flagship title, ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription , this practical resource walks students through the process of selecting and administering fitness assessments, using Guidelines to interpret results, and drafting an exercise prescription that is in line with Guidelines parameters . Designed for today's learners, the text is written in a clear, concise style, and enriched by visuals that promote student engagement. As an American College of Sports Medicine publication, the book offers the unsurpassed quality and excellence that has become synonymous with titles by the leading exercise science organization in the world. The nuances of fitness assessment and the particulars of crafting exercise prescriptions are explored in expansive sections throughout the book. A full section devoted to Special Populations prepares students to meet the needs of the full range of both typically healthy and special needs clients they'll see in practice. Comprehensive case studies written by experts to reinforce practical applications of concepts. A wide range of online resources includes laboratory materials and activities that provide opportunities for hands-on learning, and a library of journal articles that helps students connect research to practice. 100% alignment with the most up-to-date version of the ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription enhances the learning experience, making it easy to go back and forth between Guidelines and the text.eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more.